Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'Slutty Wednesday' Was Inappropriate

News 2012/06/14 13:00:00
Students at New York City's Stuyvesant High School have been protesting the school's dress code in an interesting way lately, by setting aside a single day and refusing to follow the code. They called the revolt "Slutty Wednesday." It doesn't necessarily mean the students tried to dress like "sluts" -- in fact, photos suggest it was pretty tame -- but the message was clear. We asked the public if it was appropriate.

slutty wednesday sodahead

Though the majority decided Slutty Wednesday was inappropriate, a good deal of respondents stood up for the students. Many of them argued that the outfits pictured in the photographs were not "slutty," and the name was clearly just a device used to make a point. However, more had a problem with kids trying to push in that direction when they could be fighting, say, that soft drink ban.

Teens Toy With the Idea

As you might expect, teens were much more likely to go for the idea. Teens came up with it, after all. But it was still split, which means there are probably a lot of students at Stuyvesant who aren't onboard with Slutty Wednesday. As respondents got older, their support steadily dropped. Likewise, parents were one of the least supportive demographics.

Females Fight It

The pictures mostly show girls walking the Stuyvesant halls, but results suggest girls are quite a bit more resistent. This is almost certainly due to the word "slutty," which can mean a lot of different things to a lot of different people. Some girls will obviously be offended by the word, while others might use it more as a metaphor or symbol. More often than not, it's taken as offensive.

Looks Good to Liberals

The political correlation was expected, but we didn't think it would be the most divisive demographic. There are definitely parallels here to feminist and liberal movements, such as Rock The Slut Vote. So, even though it's a dress code issue, Slutty Wednesday is more likely to appeal to those who sympathize with reactionary women's rights movements.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Slutty Wednesday. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Tallulah 2012/09/14 03:31:44
    Tallulah
    not slutty. but either way hahaha that's awesome
  • Bill 2012/08/23 17:40:36
    Bill
    MyFavorite
    My favorite slutty dresser - Andrea Dworkin. Yum
  • Todd The Libertarian 2012/08/22 22:38:10
    Todd The Libertarian
    This is what happens when Parents do not bust their kids ass anymore.
  • valeria la potra 2012/07/12 09:17:06
    valeria la potra
    +3
    I don't see a pronlem with it at long as they are adults:)
  • P. Sturm 2012/06/29 07:23:25
    P. Sturm
    +1
    I thought it was great. "Up The Revolution, Sisters!!!"
  • Lina Blub 2012/06/28 14:22:38 (edited)
    Lina Blub
    My classmates dress more appealing and revaling than these girls. On normal school days.
  • jmc07806-PWCM-JLA 2012/06/26 17:53:13
    jmc07806-PWCM-JLA
    I Agree
  • jackolantyrn356 2012/06/18 23:59:15 (edited)
    jackolantyrn356
    Slutty and like words degrade American women. and makes the women more open to attacl from men who are interested in usinfgg the disrespect to rape. Thanx a lot girls. Const=ideer it a case of the stupids your School may be teaching you
  • jamiecooper187 2012/06/18 14:10:53
    jamiecooper187
    what kind of a quaker would be offended by women dressing "slutty"? go found a new right wing community outside of the USA for the conservatives to live please!
  • wgossett99 2012/06/18 13:31:00
    wgossett99
    Speaking as a guy, I think I would not have been paying attention to the teachers if the girl students were dressed so provocatively. Such distractions are unnecessary.
  • Kibbles wgossett99 2012/06/19 09:51:47
    Kibbles
    +1
    I agree, those boys who say they are offended are full of it.
  • fire wgossett99 2012/07/06 18:30:16
    fire
    +3
    Why not teach boys to control their urges? Am I to assume that teenage boys are under the complete control of their libido?
  • wgossett99 fire 2012/07/06 19:17:56
    wgossett99
    Certainly not "under the complete control of their libido". BUT it would be distracting to most teenage boys. As I said, the distraction is unnecessary.

    I have no problem with kids exploring their sexuality (hopefully safely) but school is not the place for it. Kids need to learn a great deal if they are to succeed in the real world.
  • jimmie 2012/06/18 12:18:52
    jimmie
    What I see in the picture doesn't look bad, But sometimes Teenage girls tend to under dress. Either on purpose or not the wrong attire tends to send the wrong message. Remember their are some people that tend to over read in someones dress.
  • SavageS0ul 2012/06/18 11:59:14
    SavageS0ul
    +1
    Appropriate, pat on the back. It's not slutty, at least what I've seen so far, they just call it "slutty" as a toy word in comparison of the strict dress code.
    jat
  • Kibbles SavageS0ul 2012/06/18 12:06:33
    Kibbles
    The dress code isn't strict, if anything its pretty standard, now let them have uniforms then that is strict.
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/06/18 04:56:49
    Fariborz-Zak
    agree
  • msteresa87 2012/06/18 02:34:48
    msteresa87
    yeah, I have to agree that SLUTTY Wednesday is pretty inappropriate
  • GUY FAWKES 2012/06/18 02:31:21
    GUY FAWKES
    +1
    The less clothes the better! If I could I would spend the rest of my life naked.
  • firelooker 2012/06/17 23:07:22
    firelooker
    What do you expect of today's kids, very inapropriate.
  • I NEED A HORSE 2012/06/17 22:00:38
  • Zach 2012/06/17 21:18:16
    Zach
    +3
    I don't find anything they are wearing to be slutty.
  • Tim Upham 2012/06/17 21:04:53
    Tim Upham
    +2
    I am a slut everyday of the week, so I am glad that I have company.
  • Bibliophilic 2012/06/17 18:34:29
    Bibliophilic
    +3
    Clothing is not slutty. How many times do I need to say this? Clothing has nothing to do with behavior.
  • Bob DiN 2012/06/17 18:29:52
    Bob DiN
    Sluts will be sluts.
  • realist 2012/06/17 06:45:17 (edited)
    realist
    +2
    Eh just one more step closer to a deviant society...
  • c.ruth93 2012/06/17 01:38:01
    c.ruth93
    +1
    Isn't this just like the old days where you wear a skirt at the knees it was inappropriate. Just another thing for people to complain about. Let's go back to the days of Al Capone where men wore suits everywhere and women wore dresses all the time. I'd like to live in those times.
  • grantdisher 2012/06/16 23:43:42
  • Red_Horse grantdi... 2012/06/17 00:32:14
  • mishka1220 2012/06/16 23:00:13
    mishka1220
    +1
    I also think it is interesting that conservatives were so against this ... 80%... aren't they always the ones complaining that the government and big brother are interfering too much in our personal lives, hindering our personal freedoms, and controlling too much? Freedom of self expression? I think in this case the school is a good example of big brother. If what those girls were wearing for slutty Wednesday is truly considered to be that "slutty"... I think that the school clearly has its priorities confused and could better utilize it's time concerning it self with something more important.
  • mishka1220 2012/06/16 22:29:04
    mishka1220
    +2
    Super idea! It's great to see people taking action in protest. This is a small scale thing but in a way it teaches a very important lesson... you have the power to change the world. I think that this lesson may be much more important than somethings you learn in a textbook.
  • Kibbles mishka1220 2012/06/17 04:24:00
    Kibbles
    No clothing choice is not as important as knowledge, hell I would wear rags in exchange for knowledge. We live in a society where young people now are feeling to special, they need to be shown they're completely normal and are not individuals.
  • Mitri 2012/06/16 21:15:52
    Mitri
    Girls should just be themselves, if someone does not like it... then it is their pointless problem to deal with.
  • Kibbles Mitri 2012/06/17 04:22:44
    Kibbles
    They're complaining about simple rules that have been there for awhile now. My thought on how all this was started is simple, some idiot teenager said "Oh we should protest this" and them being of the popular crowd someone said, "Oh that's brilliant" and thus "slutty Wednesday" was created.
  • Doctor Sherlock Daae 2012/06/16 20:30:59
    Doctor Sherlock Daae
    +1
    I think that dress code is ok. But, at times it can be too much or too little. I see girls at my school get away with clothing that don't even look like clothing. But we all should be able to have a fair hand in the "game". The real question is, why can some people get away with wearing close to nothing whereas others get suspension for it?
  • dragon88 2012/06/16 19:06:46 (edited)
    dragon88
    +1
    This is being done by the Zionist who have tried to demoralize Americans since the 60's. The demoralization in this country is complete. After that the country becomes destabilized and after that the country goes into a crisis (which is happening right now). After the crisis, society will be normalized.

    To the sheep that don't understand watch this:
  • Kibbles dragon88 2012/06/17 04:20:48
    Kibbles
    Oh balls, com back to me in twenty years with that ideology, your age leads me to think you're full of crap.
  • dragon88 Kibbles 2012/06/18 03:10:44
  • Tim Upham dragon88 2012/06/17 21:07:49
    Tim Upham
    +1
    Blame it all on the Zionists. Must be an updated version of "The Protocol of the Learned Elders of Zion."
  • dragon88 Tim Upham 2012/06/18 03:11:00

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/04/25 07:38:14

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals