Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Cheap Birth Control Can Still Be Trustworthy

SodaHead News 2012/03/13 22:00:28
The price of birth control is an issue because the government is pushing to ensure that birth control is covered by employer health insurance, but to the side of that issue is another topic of discussion. Is it safe to use cheap birth control? The most effective methods can run women more than $1,000 for an implant, or $3,000 for high-end pills. But there are generic pills available at Target for just $9 a month. We asked the public if they would trust pills that cheap.

birth control sodahead

Admittedly, this issue ran into a lot of political potholes related to whether or not birth control should be funded by the government, but we can only go by the numbers, and it seems like most people believe that $9 a month will do the job. Part of it is a trust in generic medicine in general. One commenter wrote, "A company the size of Target knows better than to market snake oil." They might not be as effective as IUDs, but they're probably just as effective as the more expensive pills. Another commenter claimed, "The cost of birth control is a manufactured issue."

Conservatives and Health Care

We would be amiss to ignore the political difference here, though it's not as simple as it might appear. Some conservatives were worried the demographics would be interpreted to suggest conservatives are against birth control, but the difference is more likely due to the health care issue. Conservatives are clearly against government funding, and as a result may have been more enthusiastic about cheap birth control.

Suspicious Students

All of the younger demographics -- students, singles, and the lower age groups -- were particularly suspicious of cheap birth control. That could just be that they're suspicious of birth control in the first place, as they've likely had less experience with it.


It Does the Job If You Drink

Interestingly, the most trusting demographic was the drinkers. 82% of them said they'd trust $9 birth control. That could suggest that drinkers are a little less... concerned. Then again, that slight lack of concern could result in more experience with cheap birth control, which means they might know what they're talking about. The public agrees, after all.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about cheap birth control. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • politicaljunkie 2012/03/14 02:15:47 (edited)
    politicaljunkie
    +10
    If insurance covers Viagra it damn well should cover birth control. We pay over $10,000 a year in health care premiums w/$5000 deductible and still pay 65 -80% for all basic care (if we have enough money in the budget to pay for a Dr visit). I had to pay $30mth for name brand but the Viagra is covered?
    WTF?
    *I was put on bc to regulate my cycle.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • jackolantyrn356 2012/03/28 17:15:30
    jackolantyrn356
    And it can be no more than a good condom and the guy taking care of th Lady and is carefull about her safety. If he can't do that thenm why is she msking Love with him?????
  • Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄ƷTisdragonflyƸ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ
    It's a personal choice in the first place and some medical insurance pick it up already. Why fund more things? People should decide rather they want it or not like we always have not all this garbage rammed down our throats.
  • Scoobe 2012/03/15 23:20:27
    Scoobe
    Just go back to the rhythm method.
  • susan 2012/03/15 17:57:40
    susan
    Birth control pills are PRESCRIPTION drugs, not over-the-counter pills. All drugs in the US are regulated by the FDA. Any such drug that does not meet the regulatory criteria would never make it to the market. Target, Walmart, and the other low cost pharmacies do not have the ability to buy from non-regulated suppliers.
    IF someone is buying on the black market, ordering from India or Singapore, then they should be concerned about potency and effectiveness, but not from any retail pharmacy in this country.
  • intolerantrwj 2012/03/15 14:17:50
    intolerantrwj
    ...... will the Anal Cavity (a$$hole for those of you in DC + San Fran) who said that Birth Control + Abortion are Political / Presidential Topics ... Please Stand Up ! ! !
  • gr8American 2012/03/15 12:38:12
    gr8American
    +1
    Many women and many teenagers need the contraceptives for non-birth control issues, it is complete GOP ignorance that see this simply as a pill for sex without procreation.
    We must get a supper majority in the Senate and give the house back to Nancy to rid our Nation of the self-righteous morons from the right that will use women health for political gain, regardless of the consequences to them (women).
  • Marine 2012/03/15 11:11:25
    Marine
    I've always used generic birth control.
  • USAF Vet 2012/03/15 07:48:43
    USAF Vet
    +1
    Birth Control Pills.......

    argh
  • sash 2012/03/15 04:46:13
    sash
    It's $4 at Wal-mart. I have been on BC since I was 17, I'm 44 now and it's always worked and I don't recall ever paying more than $20/mo at any time. This is so stupid. If generic and cheaper equivalents are so ineffective shouldn't people be more alarmed about their blood pressure, seizure, diabetes, etc. medicine (for real medical issues) being substandard if generic and cheap meds are so horrible?
  • Jiorgia 2012/03/15 01:44:54
    Jiorgia
    $1000 for the implant, i paid $5 for mine (top end), this is why you need a national healthcare scheme.
  • les_gvt Jiorgia 2012/03/15 05:42:19
    les_gvt
    a national health care scam will make everything more expensive- just as the CBO has already put out- instead of $904B, we are looking at $1.76T ( and in case you haven't noticed, we are already broke)
  • Jiorgia les_gvt 2012/03/15 05:45:22
    Jiorgia
    no you are talking about obamacare, i just mentioned a national health care scheme.

    out of interest so that we can actually talk prices how much do you spend on health insurance?
  • les_gvt Jiorgia 2012/03/15 05:56:11
    les_gvt
    don't have it- when I was with my last 3 companies never more than $50/month (single). helath insurance is part of the benefits of working at many jobs.

    But government healt care is not free- the people pay for it through their taxes
  • Jiorgia les_gvt 2012/03/15 06:13:18
    Jiorgia
    yes it is paid through taxes, i pay 1% of my income taxes towards medicare, which for me at the moment is $250 per year.
    to cover all ongoing medical costs.
  • Scoobe Jiorgia 2012/03/15 23:19:20
    Scoobe
    Have you ever used mediscare? I think not.
  • Jiorgia Scoobe 2012/03/15 23:24:12 (edited)
    Jiorgia
    yes i have i use *medicare everytime i go to the doctors, dentists, hospital, get a prescription etc. everything medical for my entire life has been put on medicare.
  • Scoobe Jiorgia 2012/03/15 23:29:52
    Scoobe
    Not US mediscare though.
  • Jiorgia Scoobe 2012/03/15 23:37:34
    Jiorgia
    i wasn't talking about the us medicare was i?
  • Krissy 2012/03/14 23:58:22
    Krissy
    +1
    Abstinence is trustworthy.
  • les_gvt Krissy 2012/03/15 05:40:45
    les_gvt
    +1
    too old faswhioned for many
  • Krissy les_gvt 2012/03/15 22:07:59
    Krissy
    +1
    tru. but their still a chance to get pregnant with the best birth control.
  • Cricket 2012/03/14 23:56:39 (edited)
    Cricket
    +1
    Nope! As long as my ovaries are releasing eggs, there should always be a back-up even with the best BC.
  • shenendoah 2012/03/14 23:28:02
    shenendoah
    +1
    Anybody heard about abstinence? Most reliable birth control out there and it doesn't cost a dime.
  • Bigbrowneyes 2012/03/14 21:06:36
    Bigbrowneyes
    Well...Why not? They list the ingredients...Even the weakest pill has several times the amount that your body needs to prevent pregnancy. The only thing that isn't that reliable is progesterone-only pills...But they are still sold because some women (especially smaller ones) have a very bad reaction to that much estrogen, like vomiting. There is no point in taking a pill if you're gonna throw it up...Anyway, not sure if progesterone-only pills are actually cheaper...
  • Squiddie 2012/03/14 20:43:22
    Squiddie
    +1
    Newt Gingrich is going to win

    I want that moon base
  • hari 2012/03/14 20:25:27
    hari
    too early to comment until repercussions / merits demerits / Dos and Don't NOTICED and viewed with variety of angles - lest , its cheap beurocratic stunt
  • scbluesman13 2012/03/14 20:17:35
    scbluesman13
    Not sure why the cost of birth control would change your trust of it working? Typically the rate that you pay for birth control isn't changed up or down because of its true cost, but because of the amount that's being covered by your health insurance provider.
  • skyperkins1 2012/03/14 18:50:29
  • les_gvt skyperk... 2012/03/15 05:43:34
    les_gvt
    +1
    good point- between Planned Parenthoood and city/county clinics, there should already be mor than enough free bc around
  • skyperkins1 2012/03/14 18:48:19
  • TheDewd 2012/03/14 18:16:29
    TheDewd
    Women & couples would have to do their research, but otherwise why not...

    Watch out Target you will be the next "target" of the extremist nut jobs... I am sure they will find a way to make this a controversy... Better stock up on condoms while we still can...
  • hari 2012/03/14 16:22:08
    hari
    lots of development shall undergo ..... this is the teething trouble of very concept
  • Firestartah 2012/03/14 15:25:40
    Firestartah
    well it really depends if the company really tries to make it effective, they can make it cheap for two main reasons. A) Because not as expensive packedging or coloring or B) not enought chemicals to be truley effective.
  • Lynn DC 2012/03/14 15:11:08
    Lynn DC
    The penny method works the best!
  • hellokitty 2012/03/14 14:20:50
    hellokitty
    +1
    I think if they can sell headache capsules in the form of a variety of different brands in supermarkets then why not other types of medication, although i think there needs to be still some form of trained chemist who serves them to people.
  • Lady Wh... hellokitty 2012/03/14 16:42:23
    Lady Whitewolf
    +1
    agreed
  • Bill 2012/03/14 13:04:42
    Bill
    Why not! Less fortunate people have to contend with sub-standard medical care under ObamaCare.
  • iHatespam Bill 2012/03/14 13:38:30
    iHatespam
    So you use birth control eh?
  • Bill iHatespam 2012/03/15 15:22:18
    Bill
    Sure do! As a man, I have the best birth control in the world. I keep my tools in my pants where they belong. How does that grab you?
  • Gwen 2012/03/14 12:50:13
    Gwen
    +2
    of course it can...we don't need the fancy packaging, eye-catching colors, extra convenience dispensing if you are serious about medication important to you...and if you want the extra's that's fine...but having different options is always a good thing for the consumer.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/04/17 10:20:45

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals