Quantcast

What is your opinion of "canned hunting " ?

Stormy 2012/03/30 07:16:33
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Canned hunting, in case you didn't know, is where the super rich pay hundreds of thousands of dollars to kill an endangered animal, for example a rare white lion, which will set you back about $ 200,000 whilst a tawney lion is round $100,000. All lions are endangered in the wild now, with around only 3000 left in the wild. There are more in captivity than in the wild.

These "great white hunters" armed with high powered rifles or bows, shoot at an animal in an enclosure, sometimes the animal is tethered or drugged. The animals are bred in captivity for the express purpose of being "hunted". This practise is common in South Africa and rich Americans are the best customers. What say you people.?

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Kristin <3 2012/04/04 18:37:02 (edited)
    This is utterly disgusting.
    Kristin <3
    +1
    these people who participate...we must leave them in texas to be chased by leatherface.. >:(
  • Jane Austen 2012/04/02 21:42:08
  • La 2012/03/31 03:10:46
    This is utterly despicable.
    La
    +1
    Wtf.....what is the fun in shooting a drugged, endangered animal in an enclosure....
  • Stormy La 2012/03/31 04:22:01
    Stormy
    +1
    What kind of lying coward would commit such an atrocity so he show a photo to his buddies pretending he took on a lion. A very rich lying coward trying to compensate for his peanut sized dick. canned hunting
  • I. Car Rus 2012/03/31 02:55:14
    This is utterly disgusting.
    I. Car Rus
    +2
    What's the point????
  • Stormy I. Car Rus 2012/03/31 03:06:23
    Stormy
    +1
    I know it's horrible isn't it. It made me cry.
  • seattleman 2012/03/31 00:39:59
    This has got to be banned.
    seattleman
    +3
    Pathetic. Words fall short....
  • Stormy seattleman 2012/03/31 01:12:50
    Stormy
    +1
    Yep. It's vile beyond comprehension. South Africa should clamp down on the breeders doing this. It 's an incredibly bad look. Tourists should boycott any game park/ breeder practicing this form of "tourism ". I think.
  • twocrows 2012/03/30 18:11:58 (edited)
    This is utterly despicable.
    twocrows
    +3
    but not surprising.
    once again, Americans show our seamy underside to the world.
    this is the way humans need to deal with lions and other living things:
  • Stormy twocrows 2012/03/31 01:15:58
    Stormy
    Hey twocrows ! Thanks for your no doubt valuable contribution, unfortunately I have no access to broadband and it would take me two hours to download. I'd love to know the jist of it though.
  • twocrows Stormy 2012/03/31 16:20:52
    twocrows
    +1
    oops. sorry.
    it's the story about 2 guys in London who bought a lion at Harrods [the product of 2 zoo lions]. of course, the lion [Christian - cute name for a lion, no?] quickly outgrew their London flat. so they worked tirelessly to transport him to a refuge in Africa that rehabilitates lions and reintroduces them to the wild. they took 2 years off their jobs in order to get the job done.

    a year after they left him there, they asked the caregiver who had rehabilitated him if they could visit and were told that, no, he was totally wild now and wouldn't remember them. they made the trek anyway and managed to find him and his pride. not only did
    he remember, he was overjoyed to see them.
    the video gives a synopsis of his time living with them in London and the reunion in Africa.

    they went back one or two times after that and got to visit with him at least one more time.
    since then, he has disappeared so they don't know his current situation. but they do know that he lived wild for at least 7 years.

    [omg. as I was writing this I had a horrible thought. Christian might be a prime candidate for canned hunting. having been raised by humans and reparented by the owner of the refuge, he might be more trusting and thus more vulnerable to human contact than most lions are.]
  • Stormy twocrows 2012/04/01 05:09:02
    Stormy
    What a touching story ! I think I caught the last half of it on TV maybe. I distinctly remember a lion and two guys having the amazing reunion !
    Thanks for taking the trouble to type all that out.
    Ooh no ! Don't even go there. I can't even bear the thought...but then it is possible. The hard work of decent people can so easily be undone by unscrupulous ones.
  • Mikewlf337 2012/03/30 10:16:55
    What sort of an a--hole would pay to shoot a tethered drugged animal for fun/
    Mikewlf337
    +2
    I have gone hunting before. Deer hunting. What these rich a$$holes are doing is not hunting it is just killing an animal for kicks. I am totally cool with actual hunting.
  • Stormy Mikewlf337 2012/03/30 10:19:51
    Stormy
    As in hunting to eat ?
  • Mikewlf337 Stormy 2012/03/30 10:28:34
    Mikewlf337
    +1
    Yes. Of course. Also where I live there are so many deer that they constantly get hit by cars. Hunting is a way of controlling the population.
  • Stormy Mikewlf337 2012/03/30 10:35:47
    Stormy
    People hunt deer and pigs and possums here. All three are not indigenous to NZ and destroy the natural bush. I don't have a problem with that as long as it's done humanely and for food.
  • Stormy Mikewlf337 2012/03/30 10:46:23
    Stormy
    Hey Mikewlf since you go into the forest to hunt tell me, have you ever come across a Bigfoot or heard tell of anyone who has ?
  • Mikewlf337 Stormy 2012/03/30 20:08:08
    Mikewlf337
    +1
    I have heard stories but I have never seen a bigfoot like creature. I have a friend who claimed to have heard it yell. I think one guy claimed to have seen it.
  • Stormy Mikewlf337 2012/03/31 01:06:20
    Stormy
    Wow ! Really. There seems to be an awful lot of sightings and by pretty solid people. It fascinates me to think there could possibly be a giant hairy apeman who is smart enough to know he doesn't want to be seen by humans wandering around in the wilderness.
  • Kirino 2012/03/30 07:38:57
  • Stormy Kirino 2012/03/30 07:47:54
    Stormy
    +1
    Brilliantly stated thankyou Rainbow Dash
  • JustMe 2012/03/30 07:29:06
    This is utterly despicable.
    JustMe
    +1
    But I suppose they gotta make themselves feel big and bad somehow
  • Stormy JustMe 2012/03/30 07:34:09
    Stormy
    +1
    I bet they all have an extremely small penis. Like a peanut. Thanks JustMe!
  • JustMe Stormy 2012/03/30 07:36:14
    JustMe
    +1
    You're welcome. I feel they should get the full effect, let the cats go without food for a few days and turn em loose.
  • Stormy JustMe 2012/03/30 08:07:02
    Stormy
    +1
    Yes yes. Good idea. Take their high powered rifles away and give them a sling shot instead. Charge them double for the extra buzz oh and.... and get the payment in advance.
  • JustMe Stormy 2012/03/30 17:07:16
  • Mikewlf337 JustMe 2012/03/30 10:21:06
    Mikewlf337
    +1
    How does killing a tethered and drugged animal count as feeling big and bag. That is what I don't get. The animal is tethered and drugged and that makes it nothing more than target practice.
  • JustMe Mikewlf337 2012/03/30 17:08:12
    JustMe
    +1
    I agree, but the small peckered pansies must get off on it, I say let the cats go and make it a real hunt
  • Stormy JustMe 2012/03/31 01:23:54
    Stormy
    +1
    Make that peanut peckered which is three sizes smaller than small. Ha ha.
  • JustMe Stormy 2012/03/31 05:49:37
    JustMe
    +1
    hehe, yup buy huge rifles to hide a tiny pistol
  • Stormy JustMe 2012/03/31 06:01:35
    Stormy
    +1
    Hehe and the tiny pistol is probably firing blanks no doubt. Good one JustMe ! That's clever.!
  • JustMe Stormy 2012/03/31 06:10:50
    JustMe
    +1
    hehe, just callin it as i see it
  • Stormy 2012/03/30 07:23:17
    This is utterly despicable.
    Stormy
    +1
    This horrifies me. Those poor animals. canned hunting

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/04/17 06:57:23

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals