Quantcast

Tea Party Hits Record Level Of Unpopularity In Public Opinion Poll

sodasmash 2013/01/08 11:43:50
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Does this surprise anyone ?

"The Tea Party is more unpopular than ever before, according to a Rasmussen poll released Monday, with just three in 10 voters holding favorable views of the movement. Half of respondents said they view the party unfavorably.

Those numbers represent a considerable dive in support since the Tea Party's heyday in 2009, when a majority of voters rated it favorably.

Many of the Senate challengers with Tea Party backing were defeated in 2012, and the movement suffered another PR blow after a falling out among the leadership of the Tea Party group FreedomWorks.

Although most members of the House's Tea Party Caucus were reelected in November, the group had some high-profile losses, including the defeats of former Reps. Joe Walsh and Allen West. Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.), the chairwoman of the House Tea Party Caucus, barely retained her seat.

The movement is now widely seen by the public as declining, according to the Rasmussen poll -- 56 percent of voters said the Tea Party became less influential over the past year, and just 8 percent said they identified as part of the Tea Party movement."

The Tea Party was supported by Senior citizens but after the Ryan budget was exposed cutting SS and Medicare for seniors they lost that support.

They lost more support when Romney attacked the 47% and when Rush attacked women that wanted contraception to be covered and Aiken made the idiotic rape comments.

Add in all the racist birther talk, attacks on hispanics, exposure of the Koch oil agenda and the massive amounts of money the tea part leaders stole in contributions and is it any wonder the tea party movement failed and is destined to go down in history as the worst political movement ever ?

You thoughts ?



Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • Farnsworth 2013/01/08 17:27:34
    I'm a little tea pot....
    Farnsworth
    +12
    Of course. People wanting a smaller government, low taxes and a return to God and traditions is something to hate.....

    Yes sir, lets hate all the Grannies and Granddads and middle class families that keep the lazy scum sucking lazy Americans in all the freebies they get with our redistributed taxes.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • T. James H 2013/01/15 06:45:18
  • Marcus Clark 2013/01/11 09:41:06
    Doesn't surprise me...
    Marcus Clark
    You can run and spin a poll to show any conclusion you want to. All you have to do is pick your respondents and ask the right questions. Pollsters have been doing this since the beginning of polling.
    Most of the people with negative statements about the T.E.A. Party Movement don't have a clue what it is and are just regurgitating sound bytes that they pick up from others.
  • Q 2013/01/10 19:34:51
    Doesn't surprise me...
    Q
    Even a lot of Republicans are against them since the Tea Party whack a doodle Senate candidates cost them control of the Senate two elections in a row! For the most part they're a bunch of self righteous morons, thier minions in the House are doing everything they can to hurt our economic recovery by putting their idealogical needs over the many needs of the counrty during the worst economic crisis since the great deppression. tea party dead political cartoons
  • Swampdog PWCM 2013/01/10 00:29:37
    Doesn't surprise me...
    Swampdog PWCM
    +2
    The mass hysteria media did it's job quite thoroughly, unsubstantiated lies and misleading half truths will always tend to gather a following of fools. When or rather if the American public ever wakes up and finds out what the congress of this country has done to them..... heaven help those worthless bastards in congress!
  • Hamilton 2013/01/09 22:22:34
    Doesn't surprise me...
    Hamilton
    +1
    Sheeple say "Tea Party Baaaaaaaaaad."
  • skyster 2013/01/09 18:21:45
    Doesn't surprise me...
    skyster
    +4
    The media did a number on the TEA party. Read the last 3 paragraphs of this article.
    They "exposed" Ryan's budget cutting SS & medicare? Why didn't they "expose" the deep cuts caused by obamacare?
    Romney did not "attack" 47%. He was talking about his emphasis in campaigning.
    "Birther" talk has nothing to do with race.
    There was no "attacks" on Hispanics - ever. We don't like ILLEGAL entry across our borders - ever.
    Constant lies about TEA partyers while drooling over occupiers?
    On and on it goes.
    The majority believe what they read and are not involved enough to sort through the garbage.
  • JL skyster 2013/01/09 21:13:32
    JL
    +1
    TAXED ENOUGH ALREADY!!! YES!
  • Q skyster 2013/01/10 19:38:24
    Q
    A Tea Party supporter blaming the media for their floundering popularity....who ever would have thunk it?
  • rocker1446 2013/01/09 16:23:37
    I'm a little tea pot....
    rocker1446
    +4
    It doesn't help that the majority of media outlets try their best to paint the Tea Party as something sinister.
    If news companies were HONEST, and reported news (not their opinion), then this would not be the case.
  • skyster rocker1446 2013/01/12 08:48:06
    skyster
    +1
    Ain't that the truth.
  • overdog001 2013/01/09 15:00:25
    Doesn't surprise me...
    overdog001
    +2
    The political process has almost never been about truth or reality. Julius Caesar understood this. The masses believe whatever they're told to believe the most often, or most stridently.
  • Michael Mcconnell 2013/01/09 11:00:12
    The tea party is dead...
    Michael Mcconnell
    +1
    So is the hypocritical 'Occupy Wall Street' movement.
  • Wohuz 2013/01/09 09:45:35
    Doesn't surprise me...
    Wohuz
    +1
    They are a very uneducated bunch.
    uneducated bunch
  • JL Wohuz 2013/01/09 21:14:22
    JL
    YOU PROOVE TO BE A FOOL...
  • Wohuz JL 2013/01/10 09:59:18
    Wohuz
    You prove my point.
  • JL Wohuz 2013/01/10 13:22:11
    JL
    IF YOUR POINT WAS TO SHOW YOUR IGNORANCE...YOU DO IT WELL, BY POSTING PURE UN-ADULTERATED BS....
  • Wohuz JL 2013/01/13 08:45:30 (edited)
    Wohuz
    No. My point was the Tea Party folk are a largely uneducated bunch. Your spelling proved my point.

    Also, you're choice of using the words "pure" and "unadulterated" in the same sentence is a rhetorical tautology.
  • mwg0735 2013/01/09 09:44:54
  • Patent1 2013/01/09 05:45:21
    Doesn't surprise me...
    Patent1
    +1
    The Repug party also has bad ratings. People rate bedbugs, head lice and a root canal higher than the republicans in congress.
  • roxie 2013/01/09 03:25:22
    The tea party is dead...
    roxie
    +1
    Time
    cures all evils!
  • gvc roxie 2013/01/09 04:04:48
    gvc
    When can we expect you to be cured?
  • Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA 2013/01/09 03:09:42
    I'm a little tea pot....
    Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA
    +4
    "Public" poll? You mean leftwing poll. Did you miss the 2010 election?


    USER DEACTIVATED
  • flrdsgns 2013/01/09 01:55:57
    The tea party is dead...
    flrdsgns
    +2
    Someone should just shoot those traitors
  • Torchma... flrdsgns 2013/01/09 03:05:30
    Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA
    +4
    That's what the British said about us before we booted them out of our country.
  • roxie Torchma... 2013/01/09 03:26:42
    roxie
    BS!
  • flrdsgns Torchma... 2013/01/09 05:55:59
    flrdsgns
    +1
    Yeah, but this isn't your country
  • Michael... flrdsgns 2013/01/09 11:04:20
    Michael Mcconnell
    +4
    Funny but that is what Lenin, Stalin, Mao, Pol Pot, Hitler and Castro said.
  • lark 2013/01/09 01:10:56
    I'm a little tea pot....
    lark
    +7
    Sorry it is not dead Liberal lies The TEA Party is a movement and is not like the Dems or Republicans. They have local issues, county issues, State issues & Federal Issues that they fight for or against. Each party is their own but have 1 thing in common and that is the Constitution. They Stand for the Constitution. Media has tried to make them into a political party.
  • roxie lark 2013/01/09 03:27:02
    roxie
    +1
    Wrong!
  • lark roxie 2013/01/09 03:50:19
    lark
    +1
    on what
  • flrdsgns lark 2013/01/09 05:57:44
    flrdsgns
    Tea party is just the ultra right wing extremists arm of the republican party.
  • Elaine ... flrdsgns 2013/01/09 13:55:06
    Elaine Magliacane
    +2
    Nope.... attend a meeting sometime and find out the truth for yourself.
  • lark flrdsgns 2013/01/09 23:27:04
    lark
    +2
    Wrong They are people that are having a hard time paying taxes and watching their tax $'s handed to others. They are people who fought in wars for this country to uphold the Constitution and protect it's citizens and do not want their rights taken away. They are Democrats, Republicans, & Independents who work hard for an honest living and want their Towns, County's & States to run the right way. You need to attend a meeting and ask your questions to the people at the meetings.
  • flrdsgns lark 2013/01/10 02:46:01
    flrdsgns
    You allowed your little group to be hijacked by people like Sarah Palin, Michele Bachman, Eric Cantor, Rick Santorum and a few more lunatics.
    People like that have made the tea party a laughingstock and will never be taken seriously.
  • lark flrdsgns 2013/01/10 03:47:16
    lark
    +2
    that is what I am saying. We are little groups not 1 big party some people are with her some are not. You just don't understand the TEA Party, it is across the Country but in small groups dealing with the problems they have to face & standing with the Constitution. That is the only true principle we all share, The Constitution. You can not just take the media on face value. We are Conservative but when did it become a bad thing not to spend money you don't have or keeping the rights that are ours as a country. Yes most do back & support the outspoken Conservatives but people like Menendez NJ Chuck Schumer NY Barney Frank turn my stomach. Nancy with her vote on it before you read it is a prime example of giving the Government full control & that just doesn't make it. You have people you don't like & so do I. I consider them the lunatics.
  • Marcus ... lark 2013/01/11 09:44:48
    Marcus Clark
    +1
    Very well said.
  • strawberry 2013/01/09 00:56:40
    Doesn't surprise me...
    strawberry
    +2
    Just look at the losers involved in the movement, and what really is their point.? By the way what happened to Sarah Palin.?
  • HillaryLover 2013/01/09 00:41:47
    Doesn't surprise me...
    HillaryLover
    +1
    Sarah Palin, Marco Rubio, Michelle Bachmann, Jan Brewer, Rick Santorum, Rick Perry, Sharron Angle, Sheriff Joe Arpiao, Christine O'Donnell (cute, but c'mon), Allen West, and on and on and on...
  • sick'n'tired PWCM 2013/01/09 00:24:32
    I'm a little tea pot....
    sick'n'tired PWCM
    +7
    Bullshit. The media has tried everything to kill the TEA PARTY and can't. It is the REAL grass roots movement that liberals, progressives, democrats, and media are terrified of. They will do anything to destroy it. Lying about it is the least of them.
  • roxie sick'n'... 2013/01/09 03:29:47

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/08/23 03:34:42

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals