Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Vietnam's Smoking Ban Is a Good Idea

News 2012/06/20 16:00:00
Vietnam passed a landmark bill recently banning public smoking completely. Some places in the States have banned smoking in certain public places, like schools and bars -- Vietnam did the same in 2010. But in Vietnam, those limited bans weren't working, and some organizations projected 70,000 deaths per year in the country by 2030. So the country upped the ante and extended the ban. We asked the public if it's a good idea.



There was plenty of opposition, but in the end, most people agreed the ban was acceptable. We wouldn't go so far as to call it a "great" idea, based on results, but it did win a majority vote. There was, of course, plenty of opposition from those suggesting smoking should be a choice, regardless of the consequences. Still, a complete ban would theoretically cut back on annual deaths. That's definitely a plus.

Smokers Say Heck Naw

Since smokers make up approximately 19% of the populations (17% in the context of this poll), we should probably point out the difference in opinion between smokers and nonsmokers. Nearly three-fourths of non-smokers think the ban sounds like a great idea; however, a mere eight percent of smokers agree. If nearly half of Vietnam's male population smokes (currently 47.4%), they'll have a hard time enforcing this law.

Liberals Lay Down the Law

Outside of the smoking demographic, there were a couple of very strong correlations. Politics, for example, brought out a 36% difference in opinion. Only 36% of conservatives felt a complete public smoking ban would be a good idea, while exactly twice the percentage of liberals felt the same. Usually, progressives and libertarians prove to be extremes, but in this case liberals took the strongest approach on the issue.

Older Voters Oppose

There was one demographic that was even more telling than politics: age. The age gap here fell at about 25 years old, where support for the ban more than doubled. Most likely, these are young people who have lost loved ones to cigarettes, or at least people who have heard horror stories. Older voters have no doubt lost loved ones as well, but they've seen the decisions made first-hand, and have perhaps come to believe that those deaths were preventable by the deceased.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Vietnam's smoking ban. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • KaTy BeAr 2012/06/20 16:43:47
    KaTy BeAr
    +8
    Seriously? It's a TERRIBLE idea! And I'm not even a smoker. That is absolutely RIDICULOUS outright ban smoking publicly. Way too extreme.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • David Lisa 2012/06/21 02:44:22
    David
    lung cancer. (:
  • T A Lisa 2012/06/22 01:38:33
    T A
    What love? Forcing them not to smoke by putting a gun to their heads? Interesting trade off.
  • Lisa T A 2012/06/23 04:46:22
    Lisa
    well when asking them nicely doesn't work, you have ti force at that point. They should realize it's for their own good, like I said, name one pro to smoking
  • T A Lisa 2012/06/23 08:20:34
    T A
    So you prolong their lives by shooting them if they don't obey? Something doesn't make sense here.
  • Lisa T A 2012/06/23 15:05:47
    Lisa
    Well it's not only their lives, they're being disrespectful to everyone else's lives by exposing them to secondhand smoking, especially young children and pregnant women
  • T A Lisa 2012/06/24 00:30:51
    T A
    So we shoot people for disrespectfulness now?
  • Lisa T A 2012/06/24 15:33:37
    Lisa
    Did they say they were gonna shoot them?
  • T A Lisa 2012/06/24 19:46:13
    T A
    How do laws get enforced?
  • Lisa T A 2012/06/24 23:24:19
    Lisa
    fining, arresting, not necessarily executing on the spot
  • T A Lisa 2012/06/25 00:13:09 (edited)
    T A
    And if you refuse to pay the fines unilaterally imposed upon you or resist arrest for non-violent activity?
  • Lisa T A 2012/06/25 01:33:06
    Lisa
    it is basically violent activity, it's subtle violent activity. You're hurting yourself and if you don't care about that then, like I said, you're hurting the people around you
  • say what? 2012/06/20 22:33:56
    say what?
    +2
    Next they can ban cars and buses. They pollute and walking is healthier. And those goofy hats that keep the healing sunlight off their faces.
  • Bill 2012/06/20 22:31:22
  • Katherine 2012/06/20 22:19:41
    Katherine
    +3
    In other words, the majority agreed with a communist government?
  • GoatHorns Katherine 2012/06/21 06:56:27
    GoatHorns
    +1
    by "majority" you mean "liberals," so is it really that surprising?
  • Delete 2012/06/20 21:58:54
  • Stan Kapusta 2012/06/20 21:26:55
    Stan Kapusta
    +2
    Now it's going to be done inside. Then underground for more money. Just like illegal drugs. Dumb idea. How about leaving people alone. They opened up a can of worms.
  • M A 2012/06/20 21:20:32
    M A
    +1
    I cant imagine how they will enforce it
  • T A M A 2012/06/21 17:42:27
    T A
    With guns and forced labor of course.
  • kobidobidog 2012/06/20 21:07:24 (edited)
    kobidobidog
    How are you going to stop that? I think we have a run away legal freight train.
  • cupcakes 2012/06/20 19:15:39
    cupcakes
    for once i agree with the conservatives
  • jessica.belsky 2012/06/20 19:14:11
    jessica.belsky
    +3
    I dont agree with it...but let's face it folks...how much SAY do the people of this nation have anyway? Was there a vote? No. It is an order. And WHAT, I would like to know, is the punishment for being caught on the street smoking a cig? Is it a fine? Is it the loss of their smoking fingers?? Their hand? Their LIFE? In the grand scheme of things...this is an EPIC FAIL. Thank God for America!
  • T A jessica... 2012/06/21 17:43:43
    T A
    There are similar bans in the U.S.
  • Semper Fi 2012/06/20 19:05:57
    Semper Fi
    +1
    Dammit!
    old vietnamese woman smoking cigar
  • Mark 2012/06/20 18:48:47
    Mark
    Should do what the British government does and tax the bollocks off smokers. A packet of 20 Bob Marleys now costs £7.20
    marlboro
  • Eagle 2012/06/20 18:36:13
    Eagle
    If you ever smoked a pack of them smokes of theirs, that would be enough to make you quit.
  • IslamRULES567 2012/06/20 18:33:48
    IslamRULES567
    Yes
  • Rubyking 2012/06/20 18:31:29
    Rubyking
    it's great
  • Lord Emperor of Dune 2012/06/20 18:26:11
    Lord Emperor of Dune
    +2
    Healthy or no, removing people's rights in a blanket ban is never a good idea. But hey, this IS Vietnam we're talking about here...
  • Frank 2012/06/20 18:14:46
  • Pedro Doller ~Inc. 2012/06/20 18:04:40
    Pedro Doller ~Inc.
    "Vietnam bans public smoking", YEAH RIGHT! Maybe in Hanoi. Can still smoke inside at restaurants. What they need to ban is those damn motorbikes.

    bans public smoking yeah hanoi smoke restaurants ban damn motorbikes

    As for banning smoking, make it illegal to manufacture, transport or sell. Most will quit if it ain't around. Otherwise get off of it. Many Cities have smog equal to smoking a pack a day.
  • luke Pedro D... 2012/06/20 18:12:24 (edited)
    luke
    +1
    A normal plain-jane car over there costs as much as a Lamborghini or Ferrari costs to the average American/European. Only the insanely rich in Vietnam drive cars.
  • Pedro D... luke 2012/06/20 18:28:17
    Pedro Doller ~Inc.
    They have an import tariff of 72-82% depending on the car size. That is supposed to go away in 6 years for cars manufactured in Asean countries. All those motorbikes will then be replaced with cars. I just hope they stay off the sidewalks.
  • KeithL 2012/06/20 17:58:07
  • Amy.[: 2012/06/20 17:56:54
    Amy.[:
    yes.
  • spencerc143 2012/06/20 17:50:43
    spencerc143
    +1
    Yes! Maybe people wont smoke as much now!
  • Maryos3 spencer... 2012/06/21 23:10:13
    Maryos3
    +1
    Maybe? Surely it has. NYS banned inside smoking in public places. My son was a heavy smoker, now that he has to go outside to smoke I think he only smokes about 8 or 10 a day.Before I think he was into a full pack or more. It encourages people to stop smoking, what with the price nearly $9 a pack, and having to think about getting up and moving outside, they smoke less. It's good for all concerned. Second hand smoke is worse for non smokers than for the actual smoker according to studies done.
  • spencer... Maryos3 2012/06/22 01:19:46
    spencerc143
    Amen!
  • Lili13 2012/06/20 17:45:35
    Lili13
    +3
    All countries should do that
  • MissAsianCherryBlossom 2012/06/20 17:31:50

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/23 16:17:05

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals