Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Vietnam's Smoking Ban Is a Good Idea

News 2012/06/20 16:00:00
Vietnam passed a landmark bill recently banning public smoking completely. Some places in the States have banned smoking in certain public places, like schools and bars -- Vietnam did the same in 2010. But in Vietnam, those limited bans weren't working, and some organizations projected 70,000 deaths per year in the country by 2030. So the country upped the ante and extended the ban. We asked the public if it's a good idea.



There was plenty of opposition, but in the end, most people agreed the ban was acceptable. We wouldn't go so far as to call it a "great" idea, based on results, but it did win a majority vote. There was, of course, plenty of opposition from those suggesting smoking should be a choice, regardless of the consequences. Still, a complete ban would theoretically cut back on annual deaths. That's definitely a plus.

Smokers Say Heck Naw

Since smokers make up approximately 19% of the populations (17% in the context of this poll), we should probably point out the difference in opinion between smokers and nonsmokers. Nearly three-fourths of non-smokers think the ban sounds like a great idea; however, a mere eight percent of smokers agree. If nearly half of Vietnam's male population smokes (currently 47.4%), they'll have a hard time enforcing this law.

Liberals Lay Down the Law

Outside of the smoking demographic, there were a couple of very strong correlations. Politics, for example, brought out a 36% difference in opinion. Only 36% of conservatives felt a complete public smoking ban would be a good idea, while exactly twice the percentage of liberals felt the same. Usually, progressives and libertarians prove to be extremes, but in this case liberals took the strongest approach on the issue.

Older Voters Oppose

There was one demographic that was even more telling than politics: age. The age gap here fell at about 25 years old, where support for the ban more than doubled. Most likely, these are young people who have lost loved ones to cigarettes, or at least people who have heard horror stories. Older voters have no doubt lost loved ones as well, but they've seen the decisions made first-hand, and have perhaps come to believe that those deaths were preventable by the deceased.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Vietnam's smoking ban. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • KaTy BeAr 2012/06/20 16:43:47
    KaTy BeAr
    +8
    Seriously? It's a TERRIBLE idea! And I'm not even a smoker. That is absolutely RIDICULOUS outright ban smoking publicly. Way too extreme.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • A Founding Father 2012/06/21 06:59:41
    A Founding Father
    Discouraging people from killing themselves in public is admirable and a good idea. Whether a gunshot to the head, a pint of gasoline on the body, or just the slow death of poisions sucked into the lungs, none of it is a pretty sight for the public to witness. And,
    someone must be paid to clean up the mess afterward. Unfortunately, the cigarette method costs thousands of times the amounts that the first two methods do. So, I think
    the intense discouragement of smoking is the most sensible and reasonable of all suicide
    prevention measures.

    Perhaps, as an alternative, cheap single shot pistols or cyanide pills could be given to those intent on taking their own life, with assurances they will be used only in the privacy of one's home.

    Three cheers for Vietnam.
  • Jiorgia A Found... 2012/06/22 00:01:44
    Jiorgia
    +1
    You know what, we are all going to die eventually.
    In my country we already have packets of cigarettes costing $25, a ban on smoking 'inside' public buildings and at train stations, a ban on smoking in the car (if there is a child in the car), a ban on smoking in pubs, bars and clubs including cigar clubs and a minimum age for buying cigarettes.
    Smoking has already been forced outside, in the fresh air, it cant hurt anyone but the smoker now.

    Did you know that obesity is actually the leading cause of death (in my country anyway), perhaps we should ban junk food and force restaurants to only serve healthy food, the only place that people would be able to have food that is bad for them is in the home, no that is far to extreme isn't it.
  • A Found... Jiorgia 2012/06/22 03:06:56
    A Founding Father
    We can only do for the foolish so much. Indeed, trying to police the home dinner table would be futile.

    As for "dying eventually", it is not surprising how one's attitude toward that event changes as it approaches. Assuming reasonably good health and a decent lifestyle, it is not somethng to wish for.
  • GoatHorns 2012/06/21 06:54:31
    GoatHorns
    +3
    "liberals" voting for banning behaviors? typical.

    liberals voting banning behaviors typical
  • Maryos3 GoatHorns 2012/06/21 22:58:07
    Maryos3
    Eating or not eating pork does not affect the next person sitting next to you. If your Jewish, then that's your tradition. In the Biblical times, pork was considered bad because the pigs ate just about anything. Improper cooking was also another concern (under cooking the meat).
    Smoking affects any one near the smoker. Smoking since it has been banned in public places, seems to make more smokers quit. I've seen it happen all over. It is a good thing even if they smoke only outside - that means they have actually to think about a cigarette and move themselves outdoors. Before, they would light up one after another, without even thinking what they were doing to themselves and others around them. My dad was one of those... he would set up the next cigarette before the other was finished. When you asked what he was doing, that he just finished one.. he'd said, Oh, I did?
  • GoatHorns Maryos3 2012/06/22 03:30:06
    GoatHorns
    +1
    so because people like your dad couldn't control themselves, I would be fined and punished if i were walking by myself in a park and wanted to light one up when nobody else was around. i see.
  • AngelArs GoatHorns 2012/06/22 00:10:40
    AngelArs
    Conservatives voting for banning something that makes sense? typical.
  • GoatHorns AngelArs 2012/06/22 03:31:02
    GoatHorns
    i was referring to the statistic printed above

    "Outside of the smoking demographic, there were a couple of very strong correlations. Politics, for example, brought out a 36% difference in opinion. Only 36% of conservatives felt a complete public smoking ban would be a good idea, while exactly twice the percentage of liberals felt the same. Usually, progressives and libertarians prove to be extremes, but in this case liberals took the strongest approach on the issue."
  • Dick Nixon 2012/06/21 04:56:34 (edited)
    Dick Nixon
    No its not a good idea... I am cancelling my vacation to Vietnam tomorrow!!! This is an act of war!!! Lol... Joking so no one with shiny badges pick me up please...
  • politicalsoldier 2012/06/21 04:36:43
    politicalsoldier
    +2
    What's the big deal about that. They're communist, that's what they do. Control every aspect of life of their subjects. And with the Marxist in Chief, Comrade Obama, we're keeping right up with them. Our government is even telling us what we can eat and drink more and more everyday. The commies in Vietnam are probably taking lessons from us now.
  • JanHopkins 2012/06/21 04:23:21
    JanHopkins
    +1
    Oh yeah! Let's hold up Vietnam as a shining example of democracy in action.
  • beach bum 2012/06/21 04:19:01
    beach bum
    ok
  • Jiorgia 2012/06/21 03:56:15
    Jiorgia
    +2
    you know just a couple of weeks ago you were all pissed off about a ban on a 32 ounce soda cup, but no a ban on smoking in public is fine.
  • lcky9 2012/06/21 02:50:10
    lcky9
    +2
    I find the Polls very misleading.. I KNOW a lot of LIBERALS and they all SMOKE and are Pissed about ANY ban or tax on smoking.. I am going to say this is a biased Poll..
  • Maryos3 lcky9 2012/06/21 23:01:51
    Maryos3
    Smoking crosses both parties - one has to consider the health care costs of those that smoke, and the people that surround the smoker. Their chances of getting lung cancer and other cancer disorders are far greater... who is going to pay their medical bills? Taxing the smoker makes sense. They tax alcoholic beverages and soda - have done that way before they put a ban on cigarettes and taxes on cigs. Taxes on lots of things - cars, boats, clothing, etc. So Vietnam is helping its citizens become more healthy.
  • lcky9 Maryos3 2012/06/22 03:21:12
    lcky9
    As Holder said the people were BRAINWASHED into believing that (must say YOUR one).. IF smoking did all they said it did we wouldn't have so many now 80/90 year olds collecting SS.. and more 60/70 years old still working (most do more work then their younger counterparts) .. SO don't give me that BS.. Matter of fact IF we all listened to the government and their FEAR tactics as truth.. WE SHOULD ALL BE DEAD.. there is NO more of a risk of getting cancer or any other disorder from cigarettes.. THERE HOWEVER is a BIGGER RISK breathing recirculated AIR 24/7 from the fact windows no longer open in public buildings.. PEOPLE putting hundreds of chemicals on their bodies daily because they were told it makes them SMELL better.. you do know your body breathes and it is sucking in all those lotions.. fabric softeners.. etc you put on them daily and that DOES effect others who are allergic to the chemicals another fact is PEOPLE all have different body chemistry that inter acts with the chemical they are using sometimes making them TOXIC to the person who's body is breathing them in.. One of the best examples is .. the government (researchers) were telling everyone that a dental cream can cause all these problems because they had ZINC in it.. HOWEVER.. they thing it's perfectly accepta...
    As Holder said the people were BRAINWASHED into believing that (must say YOUR one).. IF smoking did all they said it did we wouldn't have so many now 80/90 year olds collecting SS.. and more 60/70 years old still working (most do more work then their younger counterparts) .. SO don't give me that BS.. Matter of fact IF we all listened to the government and their FEAR tactics as truth.. WE SHOULD ALL BE DEAD.. there is NO more of a risk of getting cancer or any other disorder from cigarettes.. THERE HOWEVER is a BIGGER RISK breathing recirculated AIR 24/7 from the fact windows no longer open in public buildings.. PEOPLE putting hundreds of chemicals on their bodies daily because they were told it makes them SMELL better.. you do know your body breathes and it is sucking in all those lotions.. fabric softeners.. etc you put on them daily and that DOES effect others who are allergic to the chemicals another fact is PEOPLE all have different body chemistry that inter acts with the chemical they are using sometimes making them TOXIC to the person who's body is breathing them in.. One of the best examples is .. the government (researchers) were telling everyone that a dental cream can cause all these problems because they had ZINC in it.. HOWEVER.. they thing it's perfectly acceptable to use ZINC in sunblock and tell you to reply it every few hours all day.. because it SOAKS into your skin (which would hit your system) .. doesn't make much sense YET people blindly FOLLOW what they are TOLD ..
    (more)
  • redhorse29 2012/06/21 01:51:54
    redhorse29
    +2
    The nanny-state is very much a part of the socialist communist way of government control. This is not news. It is just an ever growing expansion of government intrusion into everyday personal life.
  • Trish 2012/06/21 01:51:40
  • Jiorgia Trish 2012/06/21 03:58:14
    Jiorgia
    +1
    smokers have already been kicked outside.
  • T A Trish 2012/06/21 17:38:44
    T A
    +1
    Unless you cannot afford your own (detached) home and your apt. or condo forbade it after having paid $200k+ to live there. The only upside is the non-smokers who support police states have to pay for them or suffer the same consequences as those who violate the bans...except government employees, who, of course don't pay taxes, though are forced to labor to make that pretense.
  • Maryos3 T A 2012/06/21 23:03:53
    Maryos3
    Government employees, whether federal, state, city, or local - have to pay taxes... where have you gotten that idea? My dad was a city bus driver, they took taxes out every week.
  • T A Maryos3 2012/06/22 01:37:21
    T A
    His pay was taxed by county, state and fed insofar as none of those constituencies subsidized it. He paid zero city taxes since he could not pay his own salary.
  • Odinsown 2012/06/21 01:45:37
    Odinsown
    +1
    I am severely disappointed.
  • Elementer 2012/06/21 01:02:18 (edited)
    Elementer
    +2
    Smoking in public is the equivalent of spraying pesticide everywhere. No one should have to breathe your poison.
  • GoatHorns Elementer 2012/06/21 06:55:25
    GoatHorns
    +2
    give smokers some room then, and go away.
  • Elementer GoatHorns 2012/06/22 04:01:21
    Elementer
    No, I shouldn't have to move because someone is inconsiderate enough to blow toxins everywhere. You wouldn't accept people spitting everywhere, why not do the same with smokers?

    Again, smoke your deadly addictions in your own home.
  • jackie 2012/06/21 00:21:55
    jackie
    +1
    Good for them. I worked for a while with people my age and older (im 19) and they people act like drug addicts when it came to their cigarettes. it looked very sad.. :/
  • Georgia50 2012/06/20 23:36:11
    Georgia50
    +1
    MAU! MAU! DI-DI MAU!
  • Pm 2012/06/20 22:59:55
  • T A Pm 2012/06/21 17:40:06
    T A
    +1
    Were you forced to go those bars and clubs?
  • Pm T A 2012/06/22 02:57:20
    Pm
    NO but I was forced to breathe in a toxin which kills millions of people a year....
  • T A Pm 2012/06/23 08:19:00
    T A
    When you chose of your own volition to enter an establishment that you knew would have smoke you were forced to breath it? How is that not choosing to breath it?
  • Pm T A 2012/06/23 19:52:50
    Pm
    IF someone lights up a cigarette right next to me, I breathe it in, I cannot stop myself from breathing. Before, when smoking was allowed inside almsot every public area, non smokers are forced to breathe it in. The rest of the world will not stay home because of the smokers.
  • T A Pm 2012/06/23 21:43:39
    T A
    Did you not consider availing yourself of the opportunity to inform the management that you would not frequent their establishment whilst smoking was permitted there or did you continue to show the owners it didn't matter to you enough to spend your money elsewhere?
  • Pm T A 2012/06/23 23:13:12
    Pm
    Its took 40 years of people complaining for these polices to finally pass. I was 18 when they started implementing the no smoking policies. I was too young and dumb to and usually under age to inform the management.
  • T A Pm 2012/06/24 00:28:09
    T A
    In other words there wasn't a market for smokeless clubs and bars so rather than go somewhere else you'd prefer to use guns to get the owners to do what you want.
  • Pm T A 2012/06/24 01:06:38
    Pm
    Guns? Obviously there is a market for smokeless clubs, seeing the policies are currently enforced.
  • T A Pm 2012/06/24 03:23:39 (edited)
    T A
    Guns caused the owners to enforce those policies against their will. They didn't choose it. There is a market for smokeless clubs when there is no competition allowed.
  • T A Pm 2012/06/24 04:21:46
    T A
    I also forgot to ask, to whom did they complain? To the government that subsidizes the tobacco industry or the club and bar owners who allowed a popular legal activity to take place in their establishments by those who paid to be there and those who didn't vote with their feet to go somewhere else?
  • Lisa 2012/06/20 22:40:55
    Lisa
    I don't think it's extreme, I think it's tough love. Besides, what good comes out of smoking anyway?

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/10/25 07:17:27

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals