Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > The Zimmerman Controversy Is Going Too Far

SodaHead News 2012/04/02 21:00:00
George Zimmerman fatally shot Trayvon Martin on February 26, and it took about one month for the case to reach the national spotlight. Now it's easily the most controversial item in the daily news, dividing the public at every turn. In addition to the ambiguous details surrounding the shooting, a big part of the controversy concerns its racial implications. Some suspect Zimmerman attacked Martin because of his race, and as a result the case has taken on elements reminiscent of the Rodney King case in 1991. There's even a Twitter movement called #KillZimmerman demanding street justice. We asked the public if this is getting out of hand.

martin zimmerman sodahead

No one is short on an opinion when it comes to this case, but most people can agree that the whole thing is getting just a little out of hand. One thing we noticed from both sides of the argument was a finger pointed at the media. The Top Opinion read, "Newspapers and television news don't care whether or not [Zimmerman] might be innocent or guilty so long as it drives ratings up, they'd dance for joy while America burned if they got ratings." Sadly, it's probably true. Very little has been confirmed about the case, but the media has done an excellent job at recklessly speculating.

The Dividing Line

Obviously, there was a fine political line between the left and the right; liberals tend to give Martin the benefit of the doubt, and conservatives tend to give Zimmerman the benefit of the doubt. However, a third of liberals agreed the opposition against Zimmerman is going too far. It's one thing to take Martin's side, but resorting to further violence will only aggravate tensions further.

College Controversy

One of the only non-political demographics that came close to justifying the level of controversy was college students. It could be that the issue is being tossed around at greater velocity in university classrooms, where debate is generally encouraged. High school students did not feel the same.

More Women Want Resolution

Beyond politics and the classroom, there was very little difference of opinion. We suspected men would be more willing to continue the controversy, and that was true, but only by a small margin. Ultimately, it doesn't matter what side of the fence you're on. Most people just want to take it down a notch.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about George Zimmerman. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • TheThin... adam ggg 2012/04/04 16:07:28
    TheThingsIDo
    +2
    I like you.
  • CheezLo... TheThin... 2012/04/06 07:50:21
    CheezLouise
    You're just like him. Uninformed.
  • BwaHa CheezLo... 2012/04/09 01:29:53
    BwaHa
    and you ARE informed??? Nope. No one is until this investigation is over. You might be right, you might not be right... you don't know. No one knows until it's done and the info is released via grand jury, criminal trial or public disclosure.
  • CheezLo... adam ggg 2012/04/06 07:37:20
    CheezLouise
    SOOOOOOOO True! I don't know what planet some of these other folk are on! It's a shame and it makes me wanna kick Zimmerman's you know what! He really should experience what Trayvon experienced. If there were stiffer laws such as "The same will be done unto you" , I bet you crime would go down drastically. A person would think twice before they drug somebody by the neck with a truck or force someone to swallow something that will kill you. These are just a few of the many injustices the so called justice system have let people get away with. There are two unsolved disappearances right now in Naples , Florida that Tyler Perry is bringing awareness to where two young men (eight years ago), one Black and one Hispanic were last seen being put in the back seat of a white deputy sheriff's car. He is still walking around, never been arrested. It won't be the case for long I hope. He will be brought to justice one way or another.
  • CheezLo... CheezLo... 2012/04/06 07:48:39
    CheezLouise
    This info came from Tyler Perry himself after he was recently stopped in Atlanta by two white police officers who were giving him a hard time after stopping him for making a left turn from the right lane. When he tried to explain that he thought someone was following him, they started mocking him asking him "what's wrong with you". One officer reached in his car and tried to turn his car off and the other banged heavily on the passenger side so he could roll his window down while still harrassing him. Just as he said, this could have escalated into something much worse had it not been for another officer approaching (Black) and recognizing him. The Black officer pulled the two white officers aside and apparently explained who Tyler was.They then began to apologize but it was too late. The damage had been done. This was clearly a case of profiling. They saw a Black Man in a very nice car he shouldn't be in so they wanted to intimidate him even though he committed no major violation such as drinking and driving. I hope they get what they deserve as well. I'm sure they haven't heard the last of Tyler Perry!
  • Corkey adam ggg 2012/04/07 03:03:08
    Corkey
    That's right!!!
  • BwaHa adam ggg 2012/04/09 01:17:34
    BwaHa
    Let's see what shakes out re: the investigation. If you're in line with the investigation results bravo, you're psychic... if not, are you going to admit you might've jumped the gun? You seem to be a logical chap.
  • Justin ... Papo 2012/04/04 19:41:48
    Justin Teufel Hunden
    +1
    Too many morons jump to conclusion before having all facts. Our society.
  • CheezLo... Justin ... 2012/04/06 07:52:35
    CheezLouise
    Please my comments above. You are clearly the moron if you can't see that Zimmerman was the aggressor! Hello! He followed Trayvon. He pursued him! Come on! What if it had been you being pursued like an animal?
  • BwaHa CheezLo... 2012/04/09 01:27:18 (edited)
    BwaHa
    Is it alright if I wait for the investigation to be completed before I draw my own conclusion based on the facts, evidence and information obtained. I've seen too many people get burned (bad and good) because of slipshod police work and the application of public pressure to get it done. Haste makes waste. What might appear obvious isn't always the case.

    I read your comments... all speculation. All from MSM and tidbits released prematurely. There's not enough there for me to vote for someone to go get the rope and find a tree... I'll defer to those who make a living at putting puzzles like these together, not someone driven by a pressing need for street justice.
  • jimmie Papo 2012/04/05 15:59:37
    jimmie
    I agree 100% case closed.
  • BwaHa jimmie 2012/04/09 01:27:46
    BwaHa
    Not closed... let's let the investigation run it's course.
  • CheezLo... Papo 2012/04/06 07:25:36
    CheezLouise
    You are clearly an idiot.
  • BwaHa CheezLo... 2012/04/09 01:32:57
    BwaHa
    and you aren't? You're doing the same thing except in the other direction!
  • talli 2012/04/04 03:40:42
    talli
    +4
    Interesting, that two thirds of liberals don't think it's gone too far. It is scary to think that they are in agreement with a bounty on Zimmerman! Politicians need to shut up too. They are seeking to inflame the masses and curry favor with their voter base. Can we please just let the facts come out before racing to judgement!
  • Dan Zel... talli 2012/04/04 16:05:50
    Dan Zellman
    +1
    Actually That number is very close to 50%. I believe the Constitution sets the standard for these situations. It would have been much better if Sanford's authority's had followed those laws and guidelines. We could all just watch the proceedings on the nightly news. I joined the Republican party in 1963, was an advisor to Ford on the Republican National Committee. Feel totally betrayed by the lies and corruption in todays party.
  • talli Dan Zel... 2012/04/05 00:52:25
    talli
    +1
    I agree Dan. We were remiss in handing over the keys and not holding them accountable all these years. With the Internet, information is more readily and widely available, so the
    Politicians can no longer hide from their records. Term limits across the board, for ALL of Congress would get part of the cancer out, but we have a LOT of fixing to do. I fear for our country.
  • teltalheart 2012/04/04 03:25:40
    teltalheart
    +8
    I am a law enforcement officer. That's what I do. I believe there is a rush to judgement at this time. We do NOT know what those cops know about this case. Everyone should try to keep an open mind until the facts, all the facts, are presented. However some people make up there minds based on race hatred, for one side or the other. I have learned no amount of facts will change the minds of people with an axe to grind!
  • Mr. Won... teltalh... 2012/04/04 03:51:45
    Mr. Wonderful
    +2
    Well what's you opinion on the police report? Two uniformed officers filed a report. Both claim they got the call at 19:17 hours and both claim they arrived on scene at that time. That's means they had to be really close. If true barely more than a minute lapsed from the time Zimmerman called 911 till the time he shot Martin dead. Doesn't add up.

    Also some other curious facts. One officer put in his report he placed Zimmerman in his squad car after first pointing his gun at him and disarming him. Other officers arrive and start to do CPR on Martin. Shortly, literally 13 minutes according to the police officer's reports a paramedic declares Martin dead. That sure doesn't seem long to try to save a life and it violates common sense. Paramedics don't usually and in many states don't have the legal authority to declare somebody dead. Almost always it is a mad dash to the trama center. More so if a young person.

    Now this part gets really interesting. Officer puts in his written report paramedics LOOK at Zimmerman while he stay in the squad care and give what he calls 'first aid". Look at the police tape when Zimmerman arrives at the police station 34 minutes later. No bandages, no wraped head nothing.

    More curious as I'm sure you know, the Sanford Fire Department did not take Zimmerm...
    Well what's you opinion on the police report? Two uniformed officers filed a report. Both claim they got the call at 19:17 hours and both claim they arrived on scene at that time. That's means they had to be really close. If true barely more than a minute lapsed from the time Zimmerman called 911 till the time he shot Martin dead. Doesn't add up.

    Also some other curious facts. One officer put in his report he placed Zimmerman in his squad car after first pointing his gun at him and disarming him. Other officers arrive and start to do CPR on Martin. Shortly, literally 13 minutes according to the police officer's reports a paramedic declares Martin dead. That sure doesn't seem long to try to save a life and it violates common sense. Paramedics don't usually and in many states don't have the legal authority to declare somebody dead. Almost always it is a mad dash to the trama center. More so if a young person.

    Now this part gets really interesting. Officer puts in his written report paramedics LOOK at Zimmerman while he stay in the squad care and give what he calls 'first aid". Look at the police tape when Zimmerman arrives at the police station 34 minutes later. No bandages, no wraped head nothing.

    More curious as I'm sure you know, the Sanford Fire Department did not take Zimmerman to any emerency room. That pretty much confirms he had no serious injury. Also they can't find the refusal form Zimmerman would have had to sign if he refused medical treatment. So curious.
    (more)
  • Bureauc... Mr. Won... 2012/04/04 05:17:30
    Bureauc 0Blunder
    +2


    We can all agree that the death of Trey Von was a tragedy but we all need to have an open mind as it is investigated and people like you should not convict anyone on tainted evidence.
    ABC first reported ''no injuries to Zimmerman''
    NBC edited the 911 call to make Zimmerman out to be a racist.

    ''More curious as I'm sure you know, the Sanford Fire Department did not take Zimmerman to any emerency room. That pretty much confirms he had no serious injury.''
    How serious does an injury need to be before a 5 ft 9 man begins to defend himself from a 6 ft 3, 200 pound Trey von?
  • dallas Bureauc... 2012/04/04 12:26:52
  • CAPISCE dallas 2012/04/04 13:41:48
    CAPISCE
    +1
    Your a racist against Hispanic's or maybe just unimformed
  • dallas CAPISCE 2012/04/04 23:44:32 (edited)
  • Bureauc... dallas 2012/04/05 04:25:49
    Bureauc 0Blunder
    To use the term ''murderer'' proves you have already convicted the man in your own mind without having all the facts.
    I credit you for having made my point better than I did. Thanx.
  • dallas Bureauc... 2012/04/05 05:36:34
  • Bureauc... dallas 2012/04/06 03:11:04
    Bureauc 0Blunder
    Trey Von did not deserve to die that night and it is tragic that he did.
    Per Zimmerman and at least one eye witness, Zimmerman shot and killed Trey von who had punch him, broke his nose, knocked him to the ground and was pounding his head on the pavement.
    You do understand that this case is receiving National attention, right?
    For that reason alone, officials will make every effort to 'get it right'.
    You do understand that an investigation is ongoing, right?
    As of yet no arrest has been made, obviously the authorities do not believe the evidence, so far, warrants an arrest.
    You however are jumping to conclusions based on what, your blog you wrote?
  • dallas Bureauc... 2012/04/06 03:16:30 (edited)
  • dallas Bureauc... 2012/04/06 03:20:30 (edited)
  • Bureauc... dallas 2012/04/06 04:51:17
    Bureauc 0Blunder
    ''........and allows someone who is threatened to respond with lethal force if it is believed that they are going to escape bodily harm.''
    Clearly zimmerman was being harmed by having his head pounded on the pavement. Responding with lethal force allowed him to escape bodily harm. You have made Zimmerman's case for him. Well done
  • dallas Bureauc... 2012/04/06 05:55:53
  • Bureauc... dallas 2012/04/08 05:03:47
    Bureauc 0Blunder
    He is right. Stand your ground law does not apply here.
    Self defense does however.
  • dallas Bureauc... 2012/04/06 05:58:32
  • Latti I... Bureauc... 2012/04/04 14:12:01
  • Mr. Won... Bureauc... 2012/04/04 14:19:50
    Mr. Wonderful
    +2
    You are being exceptionally partisan.

    Lets address your last comments. If you have paramedics on the scene (called for Martin, not him) and they don't even so much as put a bandaid on Zimmerman's head, he refuses to go to the hosptial ER for "treatment", he's seen getting out of the squad car in prestine condition 34 minutes later, no limping, no assist needed to walk, no visble burising, no blood, no swelling, no sign of claimed "broken" nose my question to you is HOW seriously could he be hurt?

    Zimmerman got into a fist fight. That seems obvious. You don't bring a gun to a fist fight then use it and try to claim self-defense, yet that's what happened. The only question should be WHY hasn't Zimmerman been charged yet?
  • Bureauc... Mr. Won... 2012/04/05 04:38:57
    Bureauc 0Blunder
    The report said Zimmermans nose was bloody. I have no idea how YOU can tell if a nose is broken in the police garage video. You know, the video ABC first put out and said ''no evidence of blood or scrapes on zimmerman's head'' but later revised to say it visible.
    Niether man ''came'' to a fist fight. Trey Von started one however, with a man with a gun.
    The police interrogated Zimmerman for 5 hours, obviously the police decided an arrest was not warranted. At least not without more investigation. You obviously are ready to jump to conclusions based on biased TV reports. Both ABC's and NBC's reports have proven to be faulty.
  • dallas Bureauc... 2012/04/05 05:42:51
  • Mr. Won... Bureauc... 2012/04/05 14:07:24 (edited)
    Mr. Wonderful
    Because a broken nose and someone just in a fight 34 minutes before looks like below. Note dried blood, brusing about the cut (what should have been seen on Zimmerman's head, the discoloration, etc.. NONE if that is seen. In fact so little is seen several tv networks admit they ENHANCED the video in order to bring out what they now show in doctored videos. This is looney.

    The right wing crowd tired to make a big stink out of NBC simply editing out one line the dispatcher said, and fake outrage, yet not a single peep when the tv networks freely admit they had to tinker a lot to enhance the video many are now using. Pathetic!

    Further you have no idea who started the fight. You blindy accept one witness, BECUASE it supports your narrow view, he was not under oath and had no cross examination.

    broken nose
  • Bureauc... Mr. Won... 2012/04/06 03:15:20
    Bureauc 0Blunder
    ''he was not under oath and had no cross examination''
    Paw-leeez. Zimmerman was grilled by the police for 5 hrs.

    I will accept the ''view'' of the investigators upon CONCLUSION OF THEIR ONGOING INVESTIGATION.
    You on the other hand have convicted the man from your arm chair.
  • Mr. Won... Bureauc... 2012/04/06 03:28:49
    Mr. Wonderful
    Grilled my ass. They treated him with kid gloves, even allowed his father to go with them back to the crime scene to re-enact the CRIME.

    Damn you right wingers sure specialize in trying to distort the truth!
  • Bureauc... Mr. Won... 2012/04/06 04:52:01
    Bureauc 0Blunder
    Was legal counsel present?

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/04/19 02:10:20

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals