Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > The Economy Will Overshadow Social Issues in 2012 Election

News 2012/02/23 23:43:08
We're hardly two months into the year, and it already feels like election season has been underway for an eternity. The Republican primary is winding down a bit, but it's still too soon to call anything. Now people are starting to look toward November, when President Obama will try to protect his office from the chosen Republican candidate, and both parties are stacking their decks.

Because of the recession, the economy has been at the forefront of the political landscape, but social issues (same-sex marriage, illegal immigration, abortion, drug laws) could take the spotlight at any time. Shepard Smith polled the public on whether they think social issues or the economy will dominate the election.

Bigger Topic in the General Election: Social Issues or the Economy?


77% Think the Economy Will Be a Bigger Topic

The economy has been the biggest issue of the season so far. Why should it be any different in the general election? There are, of course, important debates in both fields, but the economy seems to be the most pressing of the two. If we can't even afford to fill up our gas tanks, social issues aren't going to matter very much. One commenter wrote, "Freedom you are unable to afford to exercise is no freedom at all. Just ask the Greeks."



Conservatives Are Concerned About the Economy

The most obvious difference here was, not surprisingly, between political parties. Conservatives felt more strongly that the economy would be a bigger talking point than social issues in the general election (80%), while fewer than half of liberal respondents felt the same way (44%).

Women Are More Worried About Social Issues

Both genders felt the economy would be a bigger topic in the election, but women were 13% more likely to side with social issues. This could be because one of the bigger issues in the social hemisphere, abortion, applies directly to them. But that's not the only major issue...

Homosexuals Hold on Social Issues

We thought maybe women were more interested in social issues because of abortion, but under that assumption it would make sense to assume the homosexual vote might swing that way as well. It didn't. Only 12% of gay and lesbian respondents though social issues would take the spotlight. Bisexual voters, on the other hand, voted strongly in favor of social issues.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about election issues. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Civic Minded 2012/02/24 04:31:47
    Civic Minded
    +14
    First it is government's out of control spending. Second is the massive regulations which make American companies leave and employ people in foreign nations. Get government off our backs and things will improve dramatically!
    big government big government

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Wizard Wizard 2012/02/25 08:22:44 (edited)
    Wizard
    Just an injection here a day later.
    How long does a 850 watt hour heavy duty battery last? Well use a minor 100w to 200w converter. You can enjoy an evening of entertainment. Plug into it a 50 watt 42" flatscreen LCD, a 25w DVD player, and a 13w - 60w eq bulb...and enjoy almost 8 hours of 'free' AC. If you want to experiment - try charging the batt with your car then bring it inside.

    If you use a cheaper car battery...of 550 watt hours...it will last about 5 hours.
  • Bob DiN GoDucks5 2012/02/25 22:55:36
    Bob DiN
    +1
    With Obama it will be much more.
  • Angry in MO 2012/02/24 00:46:14
    Angry in MO
    +4
    Hey...Obumbles said from the git go that he would like to see higher gas prices.....and YET the idiots STILL voted for him !!!
  • 2012 Obama Angry i... 2012/02/24 00:52:14
    2012 Obama
    +2
    There is amassive oil boom going on in texas, North Dakota, Virginia and Ny.

    The gas prices will come back down just have a little patience:

    http://www.usatoday.com/money...
  • Swany 2012 Obama 2012/02/24 02:20:23
    Swany
    +2
    As long as the oil companies are allowed to ship the oil overseas without paying an export tax the gas prices will not come down. us exports more oil than it imports
  • 2012 Obama Swany 2012/02/24 11:08:04 (edited)
    2012 Obama
    +1
    Yes we need to address the taxes on exports of oil and as the demand from China is going to increase we should be charging them much more. I expect that will happen. We should also quadruple the National oil storage system and states should be looking at long term storage of oil supplies.
  • Swany 2012 Obama 2012/02/24 11:37:22
    Swany
    If you will not pander to big oil you should run for office. Your ideas will not happen under our current leadership.
  • 2012 Obama Swany 2012/02/24 11:47:55
    2012 Obama
    +1
    Obama can only do so much with a congress working against him. Big oil has many paid lobbyists on capital hill to make sure they stay in power.
  • Swany 2012 Obama 2012/02/24 13:23:46
    Swany
    +1
    Obama has no problem using executive orders to do as he pleases, but big oil has nothing to fear, Berry will do what he is told in this case. obama ndaa yes i can
  • 2012 Obama Swany 2012/02/24 14:16:18 (edited)
    2012 Obama
    +1
    Here I thought you were educated and then you post this completely uneducated bigoted and ridiculous picture!
  • Angry i... 2012 Obama 2012/02/24 17:46:15
    Angry in MO
    But it was OK when the Libs painted bush as a war mongering Nazi?
  • 2012 Obama Angry i... 2012/02/24 18:06:01
    2012 Obama
    +1
    No it wasn't OK then and it isn't OK now!
  • Wizard Angry i... 2012/02/25 00:12:43
    Wizard
    The Bush family have traces back to Nazi Germany with German heritage...Obama does not. I guess that could be a difference.
  • Becky Swany 2012/02/24 17:55:19
    Becky
    This is Ridiculous. Swany.....you need some brains!
  • Becky 2012 Obama 2012/02/24 17:54:21
    Becky
    +1
    And Congress members LINE THOSE POCKETS WELL......Obama needs to stay and Congress needs to CLEAN OUT THE WHOLE BUNCH and start all over again with MEN and WOMEN who can THINK WITH THEIR BRAINS instead of what is best for their OWN interests.....Greed and Money in their pockets.
  • 2012 Obama Becky 2012/02/24 18:07:32 (edited)
    2012 Obama
    I would like to see more women in congress (I am a man) and maybe more young people without corporate ties. They all need a good flush!
  • Wizard 2012 Obama 2012/02/25 00:08:52 (edited)
    Wizard
    They are hiring ( in American oil) I hear up to 18,000 jobs a month. It just may be a major leg of the United States economic recovery.
  • 2012 Obama Wizard 2012/02/25 00:55:17
    2012 Obama
    +1
    yes it will create jobs at least for a few years and right now we really need them and having the extra oil should bring down gas prices and that helps everyone so I am hopeful!
  • Wizard 2012 Obama 2012/02/25 08:29:22
    Wizard
    But as always...we need to improve on all of our energy technologies.
  • 2012 Obama Wizard 2012/02/25 14:35:11
    2012 Obama
    Agreed!
  • Lynda D... Angry i... 2012/02/24 05:38:53
    Lynda Deming
    +1
    And...bankrupt the coal industry.
  • nanmx 2012/02/24 00:21:13
    nanmx
    +5
    The powers that be always want to shove discussion of the moral decline of America under the rug....its just as important if not more than the economical....because frankly if we are thriving financially but kids are destroying their lives and their families lives with drug abuse, crime is thru the roof and the like....having money in your pocket will not ease the growing suffering in America due to this forced decline by those that wish to destroy our nation.
  • Massaro... nanmx 2012/02/24 03:35:18
    Massaro1150
    I agree except the poorer the people the higher the crime rate--And the stress of trying to make money for a dfamily will be of no help to your children. If u can pay u'r bills u can give more time to u'r kids in a family setting--It's sad all the way around.
  • Golden Panther 2012/02/24 00:18:33
    Golden Panther
    +3
    All social issues should be forgotten or, at least, be put on the back burner. I do not consider illegal immigration to be a social problem and the same goes for drugs. These problems are the matrix of our laws being blatantly broken and ignored by the federal government...this must cease. The economy is the major concern, and will be, until we rid ourselves of the Marxists we have in the white house, congress, and the supreme court. National defense is also a problem if we continue to be appeasers instead of telling the world you can do what you want in your little worlds, as long as it does not present any danger to us politically or economically. There could be one social issue worth debating and that would be whether or not Obama is a radical Muslim...survey says, yes.
  • nanmx Golden ... 2012/03/03 19:54:00
    nanmx
    Really not a problem...the over-the-top crime crawling over the borders is unbelievable...you have third world people that come from a brutal country that are bringing that brutality to America...whether its muslims sneaking over the southern borther, MS-13 and their machete-swinging thugs, folks that can't read and don't follow our laws screaming thru traffic lights killing loads of innocent Americans, the mexican drug lords are manufactduring strawberry flavored meth to sell to grade school kids.......do a little homework (the internet makes that easy)...this isn't just about a few innocent folks creeping over the border...they are not only bringing crime, but depleting America's economy, destroying our healthcare...have you tried going to an emergency room lately...good luck you can't even be seen there are so many illegals using it as their personal medical facility to get free services...Americans can't get jobs because non-Americans have stole them....I could go on for about a week....think maybe you haven't really thought this one out there!
  • talking jaguar 2012/02/24 00:09:13
    talking jaguar
    +3
    I hope they address it. So far in all the rebublican debates it has been laughable with the exception of Ron Paul
  • Jackie ... talking... 2012/02/24 00:43:36
    Jackie G - Poker Playing Patriot
    +1
    And he is a joke all by himself
  • talking... Jackie ... 2012/02/24 00:49:16
    talking jaguar
    To each their own..
  • Swany talking... 2012/02/24 02:15:06
    Swany
    Paul is the man. His opponents have poo for brains. I can't understand why any of them persist.
  • apachehellfire65 2012/02/24 00:07:09
    apachehellfire65
    +5
    and this fact will spell the doom of obummer! obama s bad economy
  • jason 2012/02/24 00:04:27
    jason
    +4
    Most likely. The economy is in the toilet and no one has flushed recently.
  • Wizard jason 2012/02/25 08:33:26 (edited)
    Wizard
    It has recently been discovered we do not have to completely let a Capitolist state hit total bottom. That is the old fashioned conservative way.

    If the economic activity is held at a certain level for 24 to 36 months...it will reset at the higher level as consumer confidence returns.
  • Bob DiN jason 2012/02/25 22:50:03
    Bob DiN
    It seems like this recession has no end regardless what the Lamestream Media won't say.
  • jason Bob DiN 2012/02/28 14:35:28
    jason
    Yes. That media has for quite some time been in bed with the power brokers and polititians. Just watch TV and the same figure laugh and giggle their way through the current events. Lets not forget they are all nearly if not millionaires with lucrative book deals and TV contracts. We are their pawns.
  • Bob DiN jason 2012/02/28 15:36:55
    Bob DiN
    They are running cover for fellow liberal Obama as well.
  • voice_matters 2012/02/23 23:57:25
    voice_matters
    +1
    economy always takes the front seat on all presidential elections
  • SoD voice_m... 2012/02/24 01:15:56
    SoD
    +1
    Hopefully the effect the Marxist in cheif has had on the economy will sour the people on wealth redistribution for a generation or two.
  • voice_m... SoD 2012/02/24 14:50:48
    voice_matters
    libby it is the wealth redistribution that got him elected, and the ignorance of the issues will keep him as president.
  • Becky voice_m... 2012/02/24 18:23:15
    Becky
    All I have to say is all of the doom and gloom is overeacting.....The President, isn't in charge of any of us, GOD IS, (and thankfully our current President understands that, give your worries to him, GOD knows who is best to lead us as a PEOPLE, just allow HIM to make the decision.
  • SoD Becky 2012/02/24 20:38:11
    SoD
    I choose freewill and self determination, which is what God allegedly wants.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/12/18 21:02:05

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals