Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > The Death Penalty Is Necessary

SodaHead Infographics 2012/04/30 16:00:00
California is getting ready to vote on whether or not to repeal capital punishment, so we took it to the broader public first, asking one basic question: Is the death penalty necessary? Though capital punishment is not practiced in most countries, it is practiced in the four most populous countries (China, India, Indonesia, and most of the U.S.), making it a complex and controversial topic. But don't worry, we broke it down for you by country, state -- and much more. Want to know how they feel about it in California? You might be surprised. Let's dive!

death penalty sodahead infographic
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Striker 2012/04/30 17:24:35
    Striker
    +14
    Tell ya what. That 35% who think horrid criminals should live and stay in prison can now pay the costs of storing them and providing their care and feeding.

    The rest of us will pay for a bullet.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • diane RN Oaces_b... 2012/05/02 05:30:37
    diane RN
    +2
    I am pro choice too but only in the first trimester. A woman knows when she is pregnant and can do something about it before this stage!
  • Oaces_b... diane RN 2012/05/02 05:36:06
  • VERYwis... John James 2012/05/02 02:34:42
    VERYwiseguy
    +1
    Look up murder in law.
  • diane RN VERYwis... 2012/05/02 05:33:08
    diane RN
    +1
    I dont care what websters or "law" definition is. I have a strong belief of whats right and wrong, I wont be influenced by what I read. I have eyes that can see and a conscience.
  • VERYwis... diane RN 2012/05/02 17:01:38
    VERYwiseguy
    Scary a RN can't read or has any desire to? The comment was to John James not you. :)
  • diane RN VERYwis... 2012/05/02 18:42:15
  • diane RN VERYwis... 2012/05/02 02:32:30
    diane RN
    +3
    I think many women who get abortions are desperate. If they want to get one then use the morning after pill or abort in the first trimester. I told you I am pro choice but only very early on. To do late term abortion where the child could live with medical intervention is abominable.
  • Oaces_b... diane RN 2012/05/02 05:21:04
  • diane RN John James 2012/05/01 04:16:09
    diane RN
    +5
    Have you ever seen a late term abortion? That is one of the very few things our current dope voted on when he was a senator. Baby is born alive.....
  • VERYwis... diane RN 2012/05/02 02:37:25
    VERYwiseguy
    +1
    What RN? If it's aborted (dead) how is that possible?
  • diane RN VERYwis... 2012/05/02 02:41:28
    diane RN
    +2
    Late term is different from early. Late term the birth is induced, the baby is born alive and dies on the table. Early the fetus is sucked out in pieces and is of course dead.
  • VERYwis... diane RN 2012/05/02 03:01:18 (edited)
    VERYwiseguy
    +1
    I really am no expert on it I'm a guy and I just read less than 1% (0.17) of the time this happens.But I agree if the baby IS alive outside the womb No.
  • diane RN VERYwis... 2012/05/02 03:10:44
    diane RN
    +3
    I dont care what the percentage is ....thanks for at least listening to an opposing educated view:)
  • VERYwis... diane RN 2012/05/02 03:12:51
    VERYwiseguy
    +1
    Nor do I but it seems most talk like this is the general routine.
  • diane RN VERYwis... 2012/05/02 03:20:34
    diane RN
    +3
    Thanks for at least listening to an opposing view. I am speaking from experience, this is SO wrong. You have to see it to believe it. I had trouble sleeping for months after I saw this.
  • diane RN VERYwis... 2012/05/02 02:48:08
    diane RN
    +3
    http://www.nrlc.org/abortion/... this will show you what happens
  • Mack John James 2012/05/01 04:22:07
    Mack
    +2
    EXACTLY!
  • Katherine John James 2012/05/09 07:03:47
    Katherine
    Of course. That way when they murder innocent people, then just get thrown in jail, to await the moment that enough leftists get into power that they can be freed to terrorize the last remaining innocent people.
  • KenjaiRo 2012/04/30 20:07:12
    KenjaiRo
    +1
    If there is no fear of penalty from the law, there will be no deterrent for wrong doing. It would be nice if we lived in a world with rational people who always weighed their decisions and did the most rational thing, however we don't. Our laws are meant to protect everyone from the heinous acts of the few. Those few must fear the consequences of their actions. The death penalty is the ultimate consequence.
  • Prime T... KenjaiRo 2012/04/30 20:10:59
    Prime Time Lime
    +1
    It does not defer murder,as it could be a crime of passion,thus should not be deemed a death penalty offense. Society always is progressing as it changes throughout the centuries,and things that are no longer useful fall aside,the death penalty is one of them.
  • John James Prime T... 2012/04/30 20:27:23
    John James
    +2
    It does deter murder, as the executed would be unable to kill someone else
  • Prime T... John James 2012/04/30 21:48:24
    Prime Time Lime
    +1
    Life imprisonment does the same and no one else dies,that sounds much better.and more humane.
  • John James Prime T... 2012/04/30 22:18:00
    John James
    +2
    Wrong, that forces the faimily of the victim to pay to keep the murderer alive
  • lonewolf Prime T... 2012/04/30 21:48:53
    lonewolf
    +1
    it kept me from killing someone. we still use electric chairs. an injection i can take, but a deadly shock? no.
  • Joanna ... KenjaiRo 2012/05/02 00:56:34
    Joanna the Great
    +1
    so you really think that the only reason we aren't out just murdering each other right and left is because we fear the death penalty?

    The hundreds of countries where they do NOT have the death penalty, do those people have stronger morals than we do, and therefore do not need the threat of execution looming over their heads?
  • JohnT 2012/04/30 20:05:50
    JohnT
    +3
    I am for it without tons of appeals. It needs to be accomplished in one year from date of sentence, and the person gets one appeal and if it is denied that is it.
  • Joanna ... JohnT 2012/05/02 00:58:03
    Joanna the Great
    +1
    ... so what if the court was, I don't know, WRONG, and the person is innocent?
  • JohnT Joanna ... 2012/05/02 04:53:42
    JohnT
    +1
    You get no debate from me, my opinion is firm as well as yours is to you, enough said.
  • Joanna ... JohnT 2012/05/02 20:09:19
  • Ron in Oregon 2012/04/30 19:57:37
    Ron in Oregon
    +2
    There is a man in Oregon that wants to be executed because he admittedly committed murder before being sentenced to death and then again on death row and Kitshaber will not allow his own wishes to be carried out.
    He is appealing this decision, but in Oregon the governor has more say than the Oregon Supreme Court.
  • ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠ 2012/04/30 19:52:17
    ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠
    +6
    I agree. It is necessary sometimes. I never understood how people can value the lives of depraved, violent criminals so highly.
  • JohnT ☠ Live ... 2012/04/30 20:08:32
    JohnT
    +4
    I agree, it should be for the most egregious crimes or as I call them the monsters. We don't need to feed and house serial killers and child killers.
  • ☠ Live ... JohnT 2012/04/30 20:13:54
    ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠
    +3
    Indeed we don't.
  • Prime Time Lime 2012/04/30 19:43:30
    Prime Time Lime
    +3
    I hope Californians are sensible,sane,and compassionate and do not reinstate the death penalty. Maybe other states will come to their senses and do the same.It is the only right thing to do,outlaw the death penalty.
  • diane RN Prime T... 2012/05/01 03:01:03
    diane RN
    +2
    OK....
    i love you
    you love me
    were a happy family
    with a great big hug
    and a kiss from me 2 you
    wont you say you love me 2
    i love you
    you love me
    we are friends like friends should be with a great big hug and
    a kiss from me 2 you
    wont you say you love me 2
  • Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦ 2012/04/30 19:34:00
    Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦
    +3
    I think that if we're in a position where the death penalty is even on the table, that speaks more of an underlying social issue than anything else. The death penalty is a poor solution to a symptom, rather than a cure for the problem.
  • diane RN Yuki ~ ... 2012/05/01 03:02:26
    diane RN
    +3
    You dont think that some people are just born evil? you are kidding yourself, in the animal world it is called culling.
  • Yuki ~ ... diane RN 2012/05/01 12:28:10
    Yuki ~ ♦Lion King of PHÆT♦
    +1
    Did I say that?

    I do think some people are just born evil. But I think that most of the people who make it to death row might not belong there, not because they didn't commit the crimes, but because they're the product of a society that doesn't care for them.
  • Tomus Megalomania 2012/04/30 19:30:44
    Tomus Megalomania
    +3
    The death penalty is barbaric and primitive. Hopefully, in 50 years, we will see just how wrong we have been.
  • aherbert 2012/04/30 19:29:05
    aherbert
    +3
    As a native CA .... I am voting for repeal .... once you kill someone there is no do overs if you make a mistake!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/04/20 18:49:39

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals