Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Sugar Should Not Be Taxed

SodaHead News 2012/02/07 17:44:03
In an attempt to kill two birds with one stone (the deficit bird and the obesity bird) some scholars have suggested the government start taxing sugar. It could easily generate billions of dollars, and simultaneously discourage the over-consumption of a product that has played a big part of the obesity epidemic. They're saying it would be kind of like the excise taxes on tobacco and alcohol. But sugar isn't just in soda and cotton candy. It's a diverse product, and it would essentially affect everyone. We asked SodaHeads if it sounded like a good idea.

Should Sugar Be Taxed?


83% Said Absolutely Not

Alright, don't toss the Pepsi overboard just yet. The tax hasn't been passed, but if it does you can expect to see some infuriated American folks. Even the "Yes" votes were a little bit timid, and there was nary an uncertain comment on the "No" side. Some respondents noted that sugar prices are already higher than they are in most countries, suggesting it would be an unnecessary tax that negatively impacts the wrong people -- the buyers.

chart

Teens Want Tax-Free Sugar

It should come as no surprise that younger voters were most adamant about keeping those sugar prices down. Maybe it was that part about doubling the price of soda. Two dollars for a can of sugar water? Outrageous! We're already a little peeved that the vending machines around here have been for a dollar and a quarter.

Progressives Push for It

There were very few demographics that sided with the tax. Liberals were more likely to support it than conservatives, but they still only came in at about 30%. Progressives, on the other hand, had no problem with the idea. Some argued that sugar shouldn't be taxed as a whole, but rather we should follow in France's footsteps -- tax a few cents on soda and leave it at that.

Love Handles Are More Likely to Tax

We haven't really touched on the obesity factor much, so we checked out the breakdown by weight. Results show that users who selected the highest weight class ("Love handles") were actually more likely to support the tax. Not by much, though. Just 4% more than "Slim" voters.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about taxing sugar. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Kit_Kat 2012/02/12 19:27:41
    Kit_Kat
    +26
    Food is not taxed because it is a necessity...Sugar is in the food genre. Its not right.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • bigeasy628 2012/04/30 03:32:40
    bigeasy628
    The diet bpop would be raised in price so there is no incentive to stop consuming sugar
  • phil white 2012/04/22 22:46:11
    phil white
    I bet there's significant over lap between people who want to tax sugar and those who want to legalize pot.
  • ScoutLdr 2012/03/09 03:40:47
    ScoutLdr
    No,sugar shouldn't be subject to an special tax on it.
  • Phil_will1 2012/03/08 00:53:39
    Phil_will1
    I am reading a book called Republic, Lost. In it, I found out that we protect domestic sugar producers by putting tariffs on imported sugar. That is why we have the highest sugar prices in the world. Then we subsidize corn producers. Because of this market distortion, high fructose corn syrup has displaced sugar as a sweetener in many prepared foods, especially prepared snacks.

    Largely as a result, obesity and Type II diabetes have skyrocketed in the US over the past 20 years since these policies have been in effect.

    When you create marketplace distortions, they almost always have unintended consequences and these consequences are almost universally negative.
  • ed Phil_will1 2012/04/04 12:54:26
    ed
    THANKS PHIL. Is there a single source which can be accessed pon the net that orovidses koiatss of all products which the U.S subsidizes and those which it taxes or otherwise negatively impacts or places at some disadvantage> please post what you can, or send it to me at eddystarfish@gmail.com. Thank you so very much. I will put it to good use.
    ed
  • Phil_will1 ed 2012/04/04 20:02:23
    Phil_will1
    I am not aware of any place, Ed.
  • Peon of the Masses 2012/03/06 13:53:19
    Peon of the Masses
    Progressives will never be happy until every free person is a slave of their ideological stupidity.
  • BrainAbnormality 2012/02/16 17:30:48
    BrainAbnormality
    Wow!!!...i like it
  • Rich Luna 2012/02/16 16:10:32
    Rich Luna
    Everything (but air) should be taxed. Nothing is free.
  • Kit_Kat 2012/02/12 19:27:41
    Kit_Kat
    +26
    Food is not taxed because it is a necessity...Sugar is in the food genre. Its not right.
  • AngelArs Kit_Kat 2012/03/23 15:17:17
    AngelArs
    First of all sugar is NOT a necessity, it is an addictive substance. It is more addictive than cocaine and harms your body just as much if not more. Sugar is NOT a food. It is used as a sweetener "in food" - big difference! Sugar manufactures don't want it to be taxed because they are losing money to other sweeteners like high fructose corn syrup. Neither are needed and both have harmful heath effects. We tax cigarettes for a good reason, and sugar falls into that same category.
  • Kit_Kat AngelArs 2012/03/29 02:06:05
    Kit_Kat
    in no way shape or form can you even consider putting sugar into the same catagory as cigarettes.
  • Jorge Enriquez 2012/02/11 19:46:32
    Jorge Enriquez
    in this way, salt will be taxed in the future...SPLENDA oh my good in the clouds...
  • Drifter 2012/02/10 21:15:09
    Drifter
    Sugar has not played a part in obesity! Its called lack of PE in school these days. But lets notice the amount of progressives that voted to tax it. They seem not to understand that its their dollars that are being taxed as well.
  • AngelArs Drifter 2012/03/29 16:06:03
    AngelArs
    Actually sugar can't help but to play a part in obesity, that's how your body is designed.
  • caroline.albrectsen 2012/02/09 18:49:57
    caroline.albrectsen
    Denmark has THE highest tax rate in the world (and yes, also have taxes on sugar) and our economy is in much better shape than the American economy (who by the way, more or less started the financial crisis). We have free health care, free school (with one of the highest educational levels in the world) and an incredibly high standard of living as well as very low power distance. Still think taxes are bad, America?
  • carolin... carolin... 2012/02/09 18:53:00
    caroline.albrectsen
    And we're not all obese like Americans. Obesity in America, by the way, is caused because unhealthy fattening food is extremely cheep meaning that the majority of those in America would rather buy that than higher-priced, healthy food. Maybe it would do you some good to bring the prices of sugary food up, and lower the prices of healthy food.
  • Swampdo... carolin... 2012/02/12 15:01:16
    Swampdog PWCM
    You in Denmark have an indigenous group, we in America have all races. You are socialist, we are individualist. If you want to pay more of the money you earn so someone can sit at home doing nothing, I'm happy for you. We have a work ethic in America, and sadly it is deteriorating to the point that we will be Denmark or Sweden soon. Our work ethic used to be "If you don't work, you don't eat." I know that some are unable to work but those who are should get NOTHING from the government.
  • Anonymous 2012/02/08 21:06:56
    Anonymous
    +2
    I say their should be no more taxes. we have enough stuff taxed already. taxes are too high. No kind of food, drink, clothing, or plants (tobacco) should never be taxed!
  • Rick from Overland Park 2012/02/08 19:10:55
    Rick from Overland Park
    +3
    Kick them all out, Ah say, kick them all out.
  • merlin 2012/02/08 16:26:04
    merlin
    +2
    Any form of food should never have been taxed! period! Politicians change and find ways to make things good or bad to their own favor! We all know this! But it goes on! when will tax's end! ill tell you when! form food taxed period politicians change ways favor taxs ill
  • AMo45 2012/02/08 15:44:37
    AMo45
    +1
    The researchers were from University of California,San Fransico where else could something so ridulous come from? It's been the mantra of the left-particularly women that we are in control of our bodies.I guess that only applies to abortion and birth control or anything reproductive related. We are NOT so helpless and stupid that we can not make our own choices.We should be more concerned with how the ever growing nanny state now aided and abetted by the food gestopo will contribute to sterile,joyless lives where everything we ingest must be approved by the govt.But of course all done under the guise of "It's [wink-wink] all for your own good" No it's yet another Tax and more regulation.
  • Swampdog PWCM 2012/02/08 15:43:14
    Swampdog PWCM
    Sorry I forgot to answer the question. Sugar is NOT taxed, neither is flour. The only foods that are supposed to be taxed are prepared foods, not items that are used to create something edible. No taxes on salt, dried beans, rice. Check it out when you go grocery shopping.
  • Rick fr... Swampdo... 2012/02/08 19:12:32
    Rick from Overland Park
    I don't know where you shop, but where we shop, everything is taxed.
  • Swampdog PWCM 2012/02/08 15:36:58
    Swampdog PWCM
    +1
    The only time Oblamer says tax, he attaches a name along side it that he wants to demonize. Such as, those who need to pay their "fair share" or "the Wealthy" . This fellow has done ALL he can to to create and perpetuate class envy, instead of creating an environment conducive to wealth creation. I hope he joins the ranks of the unemployed, as he has helped so to do before him.
  • Rick fr... Swampdo... 2012/02/08 19:15:44
    Rick from Overland Park
    Oblamer has lied. I'm 80, on Medicare, and pension. One company turned me down dued to a previous condition, i.e., cancer. Another company added a $500.00 deduction to take me on. My social security has not been increased, but my medicare deduction will eventually increase. My 2010 income taxes have quadripled. etc. Where's the closest tea party?
  • matty 2012/02/08 15:27:29
    matty
    it shouldnt because of the small amounts!!
  • LdyLeo 2012/02/08 15:07:45
    LdyLeo
    That's just stupid. Where I live there is taxes on household materials.
  • lum-the-oni 2012/02/08 14:36:17
  • Seonag 2012/02/08 14:12:48
    Seonag
    +1
    Did you notice that "progressives" lead the yes vote for taxing sugar? They'll tax anything they possibly can!
  • Aksana 2012/02/08 12:37:13
    Aksana
    Yeah
  • Paul Adam 2012/02/08 11:18:39
    Paul Adam
    Y not? ThereĀ“s a lot of money in it? Girls digg seets beyond words ( ;
  • kimlyn 2012/02/08 09:26:55
    kimlyn
    +1
    this debate has been going on for days i dont understand when everyone will come to realise that your body is yours to do what you will with you dont see tax on tattoos because its a personal choice same as to what you put in your body... which is why drugs should be legalized
  • goatman112003 2012/02/08 08:52:46
    goatman112003
    They will be taxing fruit next because they contain sugar. TAX, TAX, TAX is the only thing they say.
  • Lanikai 2012/02/08 04:31:33
    Lanikai
    +3
    I have a much better plan. How about, instead of subsidizing sugar and selling it super cheap to the rest of the world, we let the rest of the worl subsidize all of the farmers that the FED currently pays to grow sugar cane, and we sell it to them for enough to make a profit, but in a unique twist of fortune, Americans now get sugar for the 18 to 25 cents a pound the REST of the world gets it for from us?

    Stop subsidizing it, then giving it away, and stop taxing us while GIVING the foreigners a major price break on it.

    How about the FEd do aomething NICE for taxpayers for a change.
  • James 2012/02/08 04:27:18 (edited)
    James
    +1
    "Boston Tea Party" anyone? ;)
  • Welshtaff 2012/02/08 03:39:14
    Welshtaff
    +3
    What are they going to tax next Condoms.........
  • goatman... Welshtaff 2012/02/08 08:51:18
    goatman112003
    Its part of Obamacare.
  • Aqua Surf BTO-t-BCRA-F 2012/02/08 03:37:50 (edited)
    Aqua Surf BTO-t-BCRA-F
    +1
    No. Leave us some pleasures in life. Truth be told, people stopped smoking not because they wanted to but because they had to. With cigarettes taxed to the sky, they couldn't afford it. Now they want to do the same with sugar?!
  • Lanikai Aqua Su... 2012/02/08 04:32:45
    Lanikai
    +2
    by hook or by crook, moochelle WILL force Americans onto a diet she approves of.

    Probably a subsistence diet-cornbread, collards and chicken on Sundays.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/04/17 19:02:14

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals