Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Stephen Colbert Shouldn't Run for President

News 2012/01/16 14:00:00
Just when we thought the candidates were starting to cement, Comedy Central's token "Republican" starts making a move. Granted, it's a mostly satirical move in the first place, but it's not the first time Stephen Colbert has tipped his hat toward the presidential election. He ran a pseudo-campaign in 2008, but failed to get his name on the ballot. This time, Colbert is entering the scene with a legal Super PAC in the hands of fellow comedian and business partner Jon Stewart, and it sounds like he might want to jump into the South Carolina primary. As a Republican. We asked SodaHeads if he should throw in again for 2012.

Should Stephen Colbert Run for President?


54% Said Stay Out of It, Colbert!

We can sum up both sides of this argument pretty quickly. There were two kinds of "No" responses: The ones who legitimately think he would make a bad president, and the ones who refuse to crack a smile at the presidential election. This is serious, guys! The "Yes" responses were more varied. A few suggested it would be an interesting way of splitting the Democratic vote. However, most of the "Yes" votes were straight-forward: "F--- yes! He's a freakin' boss!" "Stephen Colbert and Jon Stewart... They're so freakin' hot..." You get the picture. Although one commenter wrote, "I appreciate his effort to bring focus to the abusive use of super PACs by both parties."



Colbert Nation

Colbert often talks about the "Colbert Nation," which he uses to refer to his assumed viewers. But just who is this elusive Nation? Judging by our results, age is an important factor. There was a huge spike of interest in respondents between the ages of 18 and 24 -- a prized demographic in the entertainment business, but not so much in political spheres.

Conservatives Quash Colbert

What?! Conservatives don't like Colbert? We're speechless. Liberals were 54% more likely to support a Colbert campaign. It's almost like... like he's really a liberal in disguise. In all seriousness, though, it doesn't look like Colbert stands a chance in the Republican primary.


Big Money Gets Behind Him

Maybe that Super PAC idea will get him somewhere, after all. We were a little surprised to see high income voters siding with liberals to support Colbert, but it could be that they're more eager to see political action committees take a beating. Not everyone with money is throwing it at candidates. He won't win, but a little fairness could benefit everyone.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about Stephen Colbert. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • greg 2012/01/22 09:16:43
    greg
    What a putz. We don't need some loud mouthed fool playing games to deliberately muddy the waters in hopes of keeping the socialist idealogy in the white house.
  • Guido greg 2012/02/24 13:21:29
    Guido
    Why not add one more loud mouthed fool playing games
  • vis_viva 2012/01/21 17:52:34
    vis_viva
    +1
    It looks like a lot of right-wingers don't like Colbert exposing how ridiculous the whole Super-PAC system is. All they can come back with is "Oh yeah! What about Unions and George Soros?"

    That isn't a freaking response!

    The system is broken. Pointing out that both the Democratic Party and the Republican Party use it doesn't make it NOT broken.
  • Nina 2012/01/19 06:21:05
    Nina
    I am Nausious with some or I should say most of these comments. With everything we have been through for the past almost 11 years, the Stress, the heartache, losing loved ones, losing homes, our food supply being poisened, Chemtrails, Monsanto food poisening to name a few and this is funny?! The most Important election in history and it should be Mocked?!! It should be thought of as funny?!! Psychopaths should be laughed at?!!! omg Everyone should say a prayer that Ron Paul gets nominated, and elected, and resides in the peoples house, it IS our only hope. I have Researched him Extensively.
  • Jorge Enriquez 2012/01/18 17:37:53
    Jorge Enriquez
    yeahh it´s a jokeeee!! April¨s fool day
  • Rono 2012/01/18 17:33:51
    Rono
    This is a joke - right? right?
  • David W.Levingston 2012/01/18 01:57:31
    David W.Levingston
    He thinks the Republican party and conservatives are a joke, of course he would want to make fun of them
  • Jack the Dude 2012/01/17 22:32:53
    Jack the Dude
    Hahahaha wow, so the people who ACTUALLY WATCH HIM voted yes by a HUGE AMOUNT!! WOW!! I want Jon Stewart to run actually, but I'd be happy with either.
  • Zomba Fett 2012/01/17 20:10:21
    Zomba Fett
    HA! I think Colbert should run as a Republican! Let's see how quickly Liberal Media will turn on his ass!
  • skroehr 2012/01/17 19:24:57
    skroehr
    Sigh...No, he should not run for anything. He's a comedian. I sure hope people can still discriminate between satire and reality.
  • Manster 2012/01/17 19:11:55
    Manster
    Why not? It's long overdue for someone to take Pat Paulsen's constant campaign! LMAO! pat paulsen for president
  • Gino™ 2012/01/17 19:07:57
    Gino™
    +2
    Colbert a Republican? HAH!

    What a joke that would be...

    Wolf in sheeps clothing
  • twocrows 2012/01/17 18:39:17
    twocrows
    +2
    uh, Colbert is a COMEDIAN. anyone who thinks his run was serious last time or is serious this time is a fool.

    what he IS interested in doing is pointing out the absurdities of our system. and he's doing a damn fine job on that score.
  • MegaFortunateSon 2012/01/17 18:34:59
    MegaFortunateSon
    He's pretty good.
  • Contarded Guru Chickenhawk 2012/01/17 16:51:15
  • bob 2012/01/17 16:41:50
    bob
    +2
    Run steve Run
  • glendajb4 2012/01/17 15:13:13
    glendajb4
    Where was I during this poll?
  • All American 2012/01/17 14:57:30
    All American
    He's a sideshow like Trump was. It's time to get serious, as if that's possible.
  • Cyan9 All Ame... 2012/01/17 17:00:42
    Cyan9
    +2
    He's running to make a political statement about corporations having constitutional rights and how easy it is to make a mockery of our campaign finance laws.
  • All Ame... Cyan9 2012/01/17 17:06:40 (edited)
    All American
    +1
    I figured as much; he has a lot of material to work with. Congress is like the gift that keeps on giving for a comedian.
  • twocrows All Ame... 2012/01/17 18:43:16
    twocrows
    +1
    Colbert WANTS to be a sideshow. he set up the joke. he did it on purpose. he's a satirist making a point.
    Trump, however, was running for president. he wasn't making a joke or a point.

    that's the difference between the two.
  • All Ame... twocrows 2012/01/17 19:14:27
    All American
    Trump was never going to run, he's just enjoying the limelight.
  • twocrows All Ame... 2012/01/17 23:53:15
    twocrows
    +1
    true enough. I stand corrected. still, I will continue to maintain that he wasn't making a joke or a point. BEING a joke, on the other hand . . . .
  • All Ame... twocrows 2012/01/18 00:02:54
    All American
    Can't argue with you on that.
  • BloodMist 2012/01/17 12:46:12
  • sue 2012/01/17 12:17:35
    sue
    +5
    I think that the amount of money Colbert's superpac has raised and the fact that he can have his friend and business partner manage it as a "separate" organization from his campaign is important to point out to voters. The more attention given this ridiculous superpac method of buying the presidency, the better. It's not like he will win. And it's not like Colbert is any more ridiculous than some of the people that have been "darlings" of the republican field this time around. At least he is aware of current events and can name more than a few supreme court cases.
  • alonnastorm 2012/01/17 10:56:59
    alonnastorm
    +2
    Run Steven Run! Steven Colbert
  • Bob DiN 2012/01/17 10:29:05
    Bob DiN
    +1
    Colbert is a fool who is trying to fabricate a career as a funny man. He's making a mockery of our democracy in order to increase his ratings.
  • BloodMist Bob DiN 2012/01/17 12:48:32
    BloodMist
    +7
    A false democracy deserves to be mocked, frankly.
  • Bob DiN BloodMist 2012/01/17 18:19:53
    Bob DiN
    True but by it's constituents not by a comedian looking to further his so called career. The Country is more important than a cheap PR stunt.
  • twocrows Bob DiN 2012/01/17 18:47:50
    twocrows
    +1
    so are you saying that Colbert is not a constituent of the US? I'm sure he'll be surprised to hear that.

    hey! another birther conspiracy! that name DOES sound French, doesn't it? it's got a silent 't' and everything.
    why don't you take him to court to prove he wasn't born here and can't run? that would solve the problem you're so determined to create.
  • Bob DiN twocrows 2012/01/17 18:54:34
  • twocrows Bob DiN 2012/01/17 23:49:43
    twocrows
    YOU were the one who said only constituents were allowed to criticize the country. I simply made the point that Colbert IS a constituent. unless, of course, you want to contest his birth.

    so - - do you?
  • Bob DiN twocrows 2012/01/18 07:40:52
    Bob DiN
    I never said such a thing. Again is a moot point as it's a PR stunt.
  • twocrows Bob DiN 2012/01/18 14:21:18
    twocrows
    you said, and I quote, "True but by it's constituents not by a comedian looking to further his so called career."

    your statement suggested that Colbert is not a constituent. I simply challenged that statement.

    however, you claim you never said something which is right there, a few posts above, for all to see. good job.
  • Bob DiN twocrows 2012/01/18 21:55:06
    Bob DiN
    I never said he was never said he was not a constituent. As he works here I assume he lives here as well. I did say he was a comedian implying a constituent clown and I stand by that.
  • flrdsgns Bob DiN 2012/01/17 15:47:32
    flrdsgns
    +1
    People like you with no sense of humor are who make a mockery of our democracy
  • No-to-n... Bob DiN 2012/01/17 16:18:30
    No-to-neocons
    +2
    no, he is making a mockery of the Super Pac law that Republicans loved when they thought it would help them, now they hate it. Why? because its coming back to bite them in their butt. as the saying goes, "Be careful of what you wish for, because you just might get it." There is only one way to get out country back on track and that is to get money out of politics. Until then, its just going to get worst.
  • Cyan9 Bob DiN 2012/01/17 17:01:15
    Cyan9
    or in order to expose the broken links so they can be fixed.
  • WannaBeRSC the Contrarian SOB 2012/01/17 08:06:15
    WannaBeRSC the Contrarian SOB
    +5
    Well, he does have the hair for it. Gotta give 'im that.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/23 18:12:17

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals