Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Small Majority Say the 'Good Guys' Didn't Win in Dorner Case

News 2013/02/14 23:00:00
California has been on edge this week as the battle unfolded between the state's police departments and ex-cop Chris Dorner. After allegedly murdering four people and wounding four others, Dorner was cornered in a cabin in Big Bear, CA. A shootout with police resulted in Dorner barricading himself inside a cabin and ultimately dying from a fire erupting in the building.

Public support was divided throughout the duration of the manhunt, as some found themselves sympathizing with Dorner's manifesto and weren't sure if police authorities were completely just, while others couldn't excuse the taking of innocent lives for any reason. Because of this divide, after the hunt for Dorner was officially over, we asked you whether the good guys won -- and the majority of you (57%) voted that they didn't. Let's dive.



Before we break down the stats, we have to point out the complexities within this question. Inquiring if the "good guys" won, we left users to interpret amongst themselves who they considered the good guys in this case. Most may have thought it was the police, while others could have interpreted it to mean the entire anti-establishment movement or even Dorner himself. But one thing is certain: thoughts on this case were varied and complex.

RELIGIOUS PEOPLE ARE KEEPING THE FAITH


The majority of agnostic and atheist users (69% and 65% respectively) had a hard time putting their faith in the "good guys." Maybe they are just more skeptical than religious SodaHeads -- 51% of Christians and 53% of Jewish people voted that the good guys won. Although this was a close vote, there was still a significant difference between the religious and the non-religious users.

CONSERVATIVES ARE CONVINCED

66% of conservatives claim the good guys won, while almost the same amount of liberals (64%), progressives (63%), moderates (63%) and libertarians (66%) disagree. At first glance, you might think conservatives view the cops as the "good guys" while the other political persuasions view Dorner as the "good guy," but in reality, liberal voters probably had a hard time saying that there are any good guys in this scenario. Yet again, the subjectivity of who the "good guys" really were in this case took its course.

MINORITIES MOVE TOWARD 'NO'

About one-fourth of the SodaHeads voting in this poll were minorities, and the majority of them voted that the good guys didn't win. This is significant because of Dorner's claims of racial prejudice and discrimination among the LAPD and other police departments. Though minorities aren't necessarily standing behind Dorner's actions, they're also not quick to say that all ended well in this case. Maybe they think there's still a lot of work to be done as far as authorities and race relations are concerned.

If you'd like to vote on these questions, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion, visit our original polls about Chris Dorner. We'd love to hear from you.
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • boyerdus 2013/02/15 02:55:36
    boyerdus
    +19
    I have been glad to see the cops on a couple of occassions in my lifetime. But over all and based on personal experience they are not to be trusted. All to often I have found them to be hostile, provocateurs and bullies.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Master-V-Libertarian 2013/05/05 19:11:16
  • ~HopelessRomanticM17~ 2013/04/15 03:51:10
    ~HopelessRomanticM17~
    So i'm a Christian and a Progressive...and I say neither.

    First of all, you can't just say "These people believe this" because that's not true. don't just clump people together because some people in that group believe that way...not all Christians are the same. Not all Liberals are the same...and on and on

    Second, we all focus way too much on "Good and Bad". When in most situations, it's not that simple. Hardly anything is that black and white. Stop thinking that one side has to be bad and one has to be good. This is a really lame example, but in Star Wars they even had the "dark side" and all of that. But in the end, you realize that the dark side wasn't completely evil (Well, Darth Vader anyway). My point is, there is never a side that is completely bad. Ever. Each 'side' has a good side and a bad side. And that's life.
  • jgh57 2013/03/24 22:58:51
    jgh57
    Dorner was a murdering cowardly thug who got what he deserved.
  • dirty h... jgh57 2013/05/10 21:12:52
    dirty harry 2
    You'r flush out ignorant sheeple and slave,that's what parasites exactly want.Dumb zombies.Christopher Dorner kill nobody. LA cops are thugs and criminals,just naive and gullible fools believe their lies and deceptions.
  • Phoenix2014 2013/03/07 06:43:07
    Phoenix2014
    Nobody is the good guy in this. Ah everything in this country is not a black and white issue. There is no such thing as "good guys" and "bad guys". I mean can we really say that the LAPD are the good guys. Ha I bet many of the Jews and Christians who voted on this are spoiled, rich people. (Gasp, I'm anti-Semite, smh to the morons who like to play the race card on everything).
  • Gary 2013/03/02 02:44:19
    Gary
    +4
    LAPD wanted him dead at all cost even if you have to shoot everyone that looks like him or looks like his truck . shoot it took more then 50 cops to kill him dident even give him a chance to give up .
  • Dan ☮ R P ☮ 2012 ☮ 2013/02/22 00:34:17
    Dan ☮ R P ☮ 2012 ☮
    Nice oxymoron.

    The problem with saying the good guys won is that I dont know who the good guys were? Dorner that shot the innocent family of supposedly corrupt cops and a cop? The Police that shot at innocent civilians in their blood thirsty man hunt and denied dorner the right to a jury trial by burning him alive? Personally I cant call either side good. Both are corrupt and evil. Therefore no good guys won. The only possible "good guys" were the victims, and I doubt any of them will ever find true justice.
  • juneathomas 2013/02/21 18:08:26
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/21 19:10:51
    SamakiBilakichwa
    +1
    Is there any reason to believe that he didn’t accept his fate?
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/21 19:46:14
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/25 02:24:45
    SamakiBilakichwa
    I am asking for reason. Your childish and base response suggests that you don’t have any.
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/25 17:03:42
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/25 23:01:56
    SamakiBilakichwa
    Lost already? The question was about someone “accepting his fate.”
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/26 06:56:16
  • Avi Rosen 2013/02/21 11:10:47
    Avi Rosen
    We will probably never really know for these policemen cover each others asses...
  • juneath... Avi Rosen 2013/02/21 18:09:01
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/21 19:12:46
    SamakiBilakichwa
    +2
    It's good that somebody knows what other people SHOULD. (irony)
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/21 19:46:40
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/25 02:16:12
    SamakiBilakichwa
    My comment on your moralizing was not an answer, and it wasn’t dumb, either. It looks like you are are unable to respond in a civil adult manner or use reason to defend your position.
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/25 17:04:16
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/26 06:09:41
    SamakiBilakichwa
    No surprise. The ‘tu quoque’ logical fallacy is a favorite of those lacking reasoning competence.
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/26 06:56:47
  • Sal Monella ~PWCM~JL 2013/02/21 04:58:05
    Sal Monella ~PWCM~JL
    +2
    Dorner, idolized by the liberal progressive left, cry in they're latte's for his death. He factually is old news.

    What bugs me is the recent spate of blanket stories by the media about that nut job in Sandy Hook. New stories and re-hashing of stuff that was mis-reported months ago.

    If all the victims were shot multiple times with a "long gun" according to the ME, why was it shown being removed from the car that the perpetrator used?
  • SamakiB... Sal Mon... 2013/02/21 19:21:12
    SamakiBilakichwa
    +3
    Exactly. All patriotic supporters of the President are murderers.
  • Dogzebra~PWCM~JLA 2013/02/21 04:06:20
    Dogzebra~PWCM~JLA
    +3
    There's no win, when innocents get shot up and people die.
  • Tina 2013/02/21 02:44:32
    Tina
    +2
    He shouldn't have killed anyone, but this whole thing could of been avoided had the police not been the corrupted bunch of pathetics that they are. (And yes, some cops are cops, others are just cowards with a superiority complex.)
  • juneath... Tina 2013/02/21 18:09:49
  • LeroyRogers 2013/02/20 18:52:23
    LeroyRogers
    +3
    hired because he was black, fired because he wasn't worth a f*ck.
  • foxhoun... LeroyRo... 2013/02/21 02:46:52
    foxhound BN0
    +1
    racist
  • juneath... foxhoun... 2013/02/21 18:10:17
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/21 19:15:20
    SamakiBilakichwa
    +2
    So, according to logic; if it hurts it probably is true?
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/21 19:47:25
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/25 02:28:32
    SamakiBilakichwa
    Then tell me; what is the purpose of blurting out platitudes?
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/25 17:05:09
  • SamakiB... juneath... 2013/02/26 06:12:18
    SamakiBilakichwa
    +1
    I see. Dumbness is your reason for blurting out platitudes.
  • juneath... SamakiB... 2013/02/26 06:57:20
  • LeroyRo... foxhoun... 2013/02/21 18:33:01
    LeroyRogers
    +2
    i'll bet you think he was hired because he was a good candidate, then fired because he was black.

    remember - "equal opportunity" and "affirmative action" - all they do is make people hire someone because of skin color.
  • foxhoun... LeroyRo... 2013/02/22 01:13:03
    foxhound BN0
    +1
    i'll bet you're wrong again, racist.
  • LeroyRo... foxhoun... 2013/02/25 17:56:00
    LeroyRogers
    +1
    against obama care? you're a racist. against higher taxes? you're a racist. against bigger government? you're a racist.

    fact is, most people that call others racists are the real racists.
  • foxhoun... LeroyRo... 2013/02/25 19:09:03
    foxhound BN0
    no douchebags always talking about people's color are racist. i notice you left that out of your little set of examples even though you brought it up twice before. that's because you know exactly what you did. now you insult me and everyone here by pretending we are all too stupid to notice.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/24 12:23:07

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals