Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > 'Slutty Wednesday' Was Inappropriate

News 2012/06/14 13:00:00
Students at New York City's Stuyvesant High School have been protesting the school's dress code in an interesting way lately, by setting aside a single day and refusing to follow the code. They called the revolt "Slutty Wednesday." It doesn't necessarily mean the students tried to dress like "sluts" -- in fact, photos suggest it was pretty tame -- but the message was clear. We asked the public if it was appropriate.



Though the majority decided Slutty Wednesday was inappropriate, a good deal of respondents stood up for the students. Many of them argued that the outfits pictured in the photographs were not "slutty," and the name was clearly just a device used to make a point. However, more had a problem with kids trying to push in that direction when they could be fighting, say, that soft drink ban.

Teens Toy With the Idea

As you might expect, teens were much more likely to go for the idea. Teens came up with it, after all. But it was still split, which means there are probably a lot of students at Stuyvesant who aren't onboard with Slutty Wednesday. As respondents got older, their support steadily dropped. Likewise, parents were one of the least supportive demographics.

Females Fight It

The pictures mostly show girls walking the Stuyvesant halls, but results suggest girls are quite a bit more resistent. This is almost certainly due to the word "slutty," which can mean a lot of different things to a lot of different people. Some girls will obviously be offended by the word, while others might use it more as a metaphor or symbol. More often than not, it's taken as offensive.

Looks Good to Liberals

The political correlation was expected, but we didn't think it would be the most divisive demographic. There are definitely parallels here to feminist and liberal movements, such as Rock The Slut Vote. So, even though it's a dress code issue, Slutty Wednesday is more likely to appeal to those who sympathize with reactionary women's rights movements.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Slutty Wednesday. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Matt jennife... 2012/06/14 21:54:22
    Matt
    +1
    dress like that and they may end up with jobs where standing on their own 2 feet will be unnecessary... (jk)
  • BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROC... 2012/06/14 18:58:16
    BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROCK-N-R
    +6
    What is the big deal? You would think the kid came to school with fire arms. so, let it go.
  • Herb BOOGIE-... 2012/06/14 20:32:28
    Herb
    +3
    they broke school rules if you broke work policey you would wrote up or fired they broke the rules a ticket and suspension is warrented.
  • BOOGIE-... Herb 2012/06/15 12:35:03 (edited)
    BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROCK-N-R
    even though she did not when a blue ribbon, and seal of approval from the city transit system, Rosa Parks also broke the rules in Montgomery Alabama. and we have tauht all of our young people that we now live in a country where peaceable, non-violent procedures are proper. now, perhaps, the school can come to a happy medium. as we teach, not only with our words, but with our actions. and the young people will learn a little more too, to be politically correct, to spread around some sugar and some honey wow freedom of the press goes along way. now that school is out for the summer.....
  • Herb BOOGIE-... 2012/06/15 22:56:47
    Herb
    Rosa Parks was civil rights, this was clothes rights, not the same. if you boss at work says wear this and saftey gear and you dont your written up or fired. same with these girls they have set of rules by there boss the school. they will learn a harsh lesson in the job world one day.
  • BOOGIE-... Herb 2012/06/16 12:46:01
    BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROCK-N-R
    Sorry but I disagree with you.As to the part of your statement about rights,everybody has civil rights in reference to all men are created equal.Clothes rights,that's something I've never heard of.Sounds like something you just made up.But, I kind of understand where your coming from,as we live in a country where we can speak up against our government without fear of retribution.(In this case it's the government schools) As to the 2nd part of your comment about the work place,as I have always ran my own businesses does not mean that my employees under my supervision was my property.As to the 3rd part of your comment,these are high school students we're talking about,their not adults.Yes their still in high school and their in the learning process,such as freedom of speech.Thank you for your interest in my comment.
  • Herb BOOGIE-... 2012/06/17 16:22:39
    Herb
    Like said if some job or companies sets a rule and you break it what happens? or breaking speed limit or not wearing your seat belt? rules and laws are there for a purpose, we may not like them but we have to follow them all the same. school's have rules like no one can give pills out except the nurse. libs have screamed because or anti gay shirts etc as much as i am for free speech rules are rules. i don't like speech zone so far, form the whitehouse but its the law. same with school dress code if you don't like it, and break the rules you suffer the consequenses, of your action, that should ticket and suspention. they have a right to protest, but there is also rules and laws that can be broken. look at OWS for a sec how much they have destroyed in the name protest, and how laws they broke in the name of free speech.
  • BOOGIE-... Herb 2012/06/17 18:29:16
    BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROCK-N-R
    Clubs have rules governments vote law. If we don't keep it that way then there will be no separation of church and state. not a free country, that's for sure.
  • Herb BOOGIE-... 2012/06/17 20:06:05
    Herb
    rules and laws are close, your parents had rules. what time to be in, or nor sex in the house etc, if you didnt abide by their rules you got in trouble. same with a school they in some way are a day parent, you break their rules you get in trouble. some school stil do pops, or tickets or up to suspension. if we don't teach rules now they will start protesting rules at work. they are there for a reason, lest prostest why we have to have key cards to get into school or not being able to do drugson campus those are all rules set down bt the school. i wouldn't let my daughter were have tje slutty clothes or hutchy mom shorts they have these day and neither should the schools. maybe that school should go to uniforms for year to teach them a lesson.
  • Cookie BOOGIE-... 2012/06/15 18:03:10
    Cookie
    +1
    No private areas are hanging out,so how can this be called slutty?
  • BOOGIE-... Cookie 2012/06/15 19:00:45
    BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROCK-N-R
    +1
    At the office, we have what is called casual Friday. we wear jeans, tennis shoes, and T shirt. but we still work our asses off. and there's nothing casual about that. but, in this world of so-called do-gooders? I believe they really need to on screw there Halos because life is too short for nonsense.
  • Cookie BOOGIE-... 2012/06/16 11:19:51
    Cookie
    +1
    Casual Friday's a good thing.You can go from work to a bar,have a drink,a game of pool and be comfortable without having to drive all the way home to change.
  • BOOGIE-... Cookie 2012/06/17 19:27:07
    BOOGIE-WOOGIE-MUSIC-MAN-ROCK-N-R
    +1
    I remember back when I was in school, Wednesday was a really good day because it was the middle of the week. I would go to a movie or a baseball game, do you remember an old song HARPER VALLEY P. T. A?
  • FanOreilly 2012/06/14 18:56:08
    FanOreilly
    +7
    Women with self-respect conduct themselves with dignity.
  • Laura W... FanOreilly 2012/06/14 19:01:37
    Laura Walker
    +6
    Of course, that's your view. People who dress less conservatively don't necessarily have less self-respect. You may see them that way, but that doesn't make it true. And again, acting with "dignity" can also have a wide range of meanings.
  • Herb Laura W... 2012/06/14 20:33:01
    Herb
    +1
    they broke the rules a ticket and suspension is warrented.
  • FanOreilly Laura W... 2012/06/18 17:17:16
    FanOreilly
    They self-label as 'slutty'.

    This is not a grey area.
  • Beat Ma... FanOreilly 2012/06/14 20:22:42
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    I know a young woman who hates herself and wraps herself in frumpy rags. But you don't see any skin, so I guess she's dignified...
  • Sofahead Beat Ma... 2012/06/14 21:33:32
    Sofahead
    +1
    FanOreilly didn't say or imply that merely being completely covered makes one dignified.
    But dressing appropriately and with self respecting care usually is.
  • FanOreilly Beat Ma... 2012/06/18 17:17:39 (edited)
    FanOreilly
    Modesty denotes self-respect.

    Women who self-label as 'slutty' lack self-respect.
  • Cookie FanOreilly 2012/06/16 11:15:19
    Cookie
    +1
    You are absolutely right!
  • werewolf 2012/06/14 18:55:11
    werewolf
    +1
    no way that should be every day.!
  • JCD aka "biz" 2012/06/14 18:50:59
    JCD aka "biz"
    +2
    I like (well, sort of) the "slutty" boy in the picture, he wears a tie, but no shirt!
  • me4ever JCD aka... 2012/06/14 19:04:26
    me4ever
    +1
    I (sort of) like the boy with the blue shirt in the background
  • JCD aka... me4ever 2012/06/14 19:17:32
    JCD aka "biz"
    Does he live with his parents?
  • me4ever JCD aka... 2012/06/14 19:20:04
    me4ever
    Idk
  • JCD aka... me4ever 2012/06/14 19:30:16
    JCD aka "biz"
    That's one question you might want to ask him. Boys love it when charming young ladies ask questions about them.
  • me4ever JCD aka... 2012/06/14 19:34:24
    me4ever
    +1
    Lol thanks for the advice
  • arsalkhan.AK47 2012/06/14 18:32:44
    arsalkhan.AK47
    +1
    before casual friday......nice idea
  • Charlotte 2012/06/14 18:31:13
    Charlotte
    +2
    If they are protesting about uniforms they should call slutty Wednesday something else; Abolish uniform Wednesday or Defeat dress code Wednesday.. The title they have now is misleading.
  • S123 Charlotte 2012/06/14 18:38:27
    S123
    +1
    Maybe it's supposed to be ironic like the "Rock the Slut Vote" campaign.
  • Laura W... S123 2012/06/14 19:04:11
    Laura Walker
    +1
    I think it's definitely in response to the use of the word slut lately, which Rush Limbaugh started with his rant. Anyone who doesn't like the use of the word "slut" used ironically like this can thank him for it.
  • Charlotte S123 2012/06/14 23:34:31
    Charlotte
    Maybe, never thought of that angle.
  • Vieuphoria 2012/06/14 18:30:30
    Vieuphoria
    +4
    They have the right to protest in any which way they please
  • vet4freedom 2012/06/14 18:28:56
    vet4freedom
    +1
    If a kid wants to act like an idiot , let them .
  • the d*ck 2012/06/14 18:23:25
    the d*ck
    +2
    That's fine...crochless edible panties is slutty...
  • Jorge Enriquez 2012/06/14 18:18:13
    Jorge Enriquez
    +1
    MMM soooo....dont repeat LOL
  • President Camacho 2012/06/14 17:58:38 (edited)
    President Camacho
    +1
    Fap away...slutty high school girls rule
  • Inquisitve Kat 2012/06/14 17:55:30
    Inquisitve Kat
    +1
    "However, more had a problem with kids trying to push in that direction when they could be fighting, say, that soft drink ban." - yeah, because that issue is so important. rolling eyes gif
  • Eyes See Wide North 2012/06/14 17:49:59
    Eyes See Wide North
    +6
    Should not be a gender thing, men are just as capable of being sluts too.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/10/30 13:54:27

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals