Quantcast

Public Opinion: Should We Know If Our Food Is Genetically Modified?

Buoyant Leadraft 2012/10/26 23:11:11
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Public Opinion Should we know if our food is genetically modified by stating it on the label
Just a simple label—like in 61 other countries, indicating if our food has been genetically engineered Put on the ballot by a million Californians just like you Enables us to make an informed choice about what foods are right for our families.

Read More: http://www.gmfreecymru.org/news/Press_Notice19dSep...

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • Gone baby gone 2012/11/09 10:48:22
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Gone baby gone
    +4
    well nobody would like being served food that has been engineered to perform better or worse than originally created.. nobody really knows the second and third order effects of messing with a crop's DNA. The consumer is the true test subject.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • perch38 2012/12/31 19:01:39
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    perch38
    Its already know. 100% of corn and wheat is modified and 94% of all the other seeds in the world are modified, that's why there's no such thing as organic . To get your hands on some of the 6% of seeds that aren't modified will cost you big $$
  • Bacci 2012/12/27 01:17:17
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Bacci
    And I for one, want to absolutely know!!!
  • Buoyant... Bacci 2012/12/27 01:38:08
    Buoyant Leadraft
    nO KIDDING bACCI!!!
  • Bacci Buoyant... 2012/12/27 08:16:15
    Bacci
    Yeah no kidding bUOYAnt
  • Kat ♪ ~BTO-t-BCRA-F~ ♪ 2012/12/27 01:01:04
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Kat ♪ ~BTO-t-BCRA-F~ ♪
    +3
    They already allow stuff in our food that's banned in other civilized countries, we don't need this garbage too.
  • Buoyant... Kat ♪ ~... 2012/12/27 01:39:13
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +1
    I agree Kat! Hope you had a merry Christmas!
  • Kat ♪ ~... Buoyant... 2012/12/27 01:40:27
    Kat ♪ ~BTO-t-BCRA-F~ ♪
    Yes, I did, hope yours was Merry as well.
  • Buoyant... Kat ♪ ~... 2012/12/27 01:42:14 (edited)
    Buoyant Leadraft
    Thank you honey I sure did have a merry one. I think I put on 3 pounds in one night! :o(
  • ☆stillthe12c☆ 2012/12/26 21:00:40
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    ☆stillthe12c☆
    +2
    I want nothing but good old fashion food. No enhancements. Most corn today is altered.
  • Buoyant... ☆stillt... 2012/12/27 01:41:13
    Buoyant Leadraft
    You better start gowning your own and getting some really good Heirloom Seeds!
  • Racefish 2012/12/26 14:50:49
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Racefish
    +2
    All of our food is "genetically" modified to some extent. It should be known whether that is done naturally through selective breeding or by gene splicing.
    People who write these proposals should understand the difference before doing anything, because it makes them sound like idiots.
  • EllЕ Racefish 2012/12/27 01:52:30 (edited)
    EllЕ
    +1
    Selection & Hybridization is different from Genetic Engineering (GMO - genetically modified organisms).

    Hybridization & selection are not GMO.
  • dill fazie 2012/12/26 13:02:35
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    dill fazie
    +2
    however, it's no longer our rights that matter, just ask the epa and the obama administration...
  • noha 2012/12/25 22:01:26
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    noha
  • EllЕ 2012/12/25 15:28:34
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    EllЕ
    +3
    Never gonna happen in US.
    FDA is infiltrated by Monsanto.

    Obama appointed Monsanto's VP as Senior Advisor to the FDA.
  • Buoyant... EllЕ 2012/12/25 20:12:28
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +1
    That is unforgivable!
  • Cookielane 2012/12/24 20:35:54
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Cookielane
    +2
    Kind of frightening, really.
  • Razoreye001 2012/12/24 06:12:28
    No we should not know what we put in our bodies.
    Razoreye001
    +1
    unless you eat wild fruits and berries and hunt to sustain yourself your eating genetically modified food. All farm animals and almost all produce had been altered at the genetic level since we tamed them. For instance corn as we know it can never exist in nature because of how much we altered it since the days of the Mayans where corn was originally a type of tall grass.
  • Stan Kapusta 2012/12/24 03:39:47
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Stan Kapusta
    +3
    I'd like to know what is frankenfood and what isn't.
  • Earthly Resident 2012/12/13 07:43:08
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Earthly Resident
    +3
    we should b made aware, that way ppl can actually form an informed educated opinion on it and not just random speculations becuz they dont "believe in it". the validity of gm food is still up in the air, good or bad, time will tell
  • Flintastic 2012/11/28 15:26:02
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Flintastic
    +3
    As consumers, we have the right to know what is in the food we choose to eat. If your belief is that GMO foods and pesticides are harmless, then you should know to shop for those foods. I want to know what I'm eating, whether I eat organic vegetables or highly toxic but super-yummy non-foods like Twinkies. If there is no reason to fear GMO foods or pesticides, etc, then why the struggle to not let consumers know they are eating them?
  • Trish 2012/11/14 06:57:16 (edited)
  • holly go lightly 2012/11/13 17:32:02
    Vote yes on prop 37
    holly go lightly
    +2
    How else can we excercize our right to choose?
  • Buoyant... holly g... 2012/11/13 23:24:19
    Buoyant Leadraft
    Apparently we can't. Did you see the poll results? Something stinks.
  • George Zook 2012/11/12 14:07:56
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    George Zook
    +2
    yes we should know
  • SIMPATTYCO 2012/11/09 11:52:42
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    SIMPATTYCO
    +2
    MONSANTO is foods BIG BROTHER
  • Buoyant... SIMPATTYCO 2012/11/13 23:13:44 (edited)
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +1
    Adventures Thru Genetically Modified Foods And Cancer Causing Agents.

  • Gone baby gone 2012/11/09 10:48:22
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Gone baby gone
    +4
    well nobody would like being served food that has been engineered to perform better or worse than originally created.. nobody really knows the second and third order effects of messing with a crop's DNA. The consumer is the true test subject.
  • Buoyant... Gone ba... 2012/11/13 23:25:22
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +1
    THANK YOU Ronin!! ....Sorry for shouting. :o(
  • SIMPATTYCO Gone ba... 2012/11/13 23:58:32
    SIMPATTYCO
    +2
    And MONSANTO is their MASTER
  • Buoyant... SIMPATTYCO 2012/11/14 00:57:48
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +1
    So true pumpkin!
  • ladyvoldemort 2012/10/31 20:32:24
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    ladyvoldemort
    +3
    I want to know what goes into my food. If GMO food was labelled, we can make informed decisions on food purchases. Frankenfood does not sound appealing to me.
  • Buoyant... ladyvol... 2012/11/01 01:07:56
    Buoyant Leadraft
    +2
    I agree... Often times I think I am buying one thing and I am getting another!

    NOT COOL!

    DANGEROUS!
  • SheShe 2012/10/31 03:33:49
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    SheShe
    +2
    Yes, we should know. I am in a position to know that young girls are developing sexually at a much younger age than usual, like 8 to 10 ( some younger like my 4 year old grand daughter) that are beginning their periods... which means they are fertile. I have to attribute that to increased antibiotics and genetically altered food offerings. Let's get back to the natural way of life... including normal childhood diseases.
  • SIMPATTYCO SheShe 2012/11/14 00:00:22
    SIMPATTYCO
    +1
    I don't think we can go back on GMOs they are cross polinating
  • Laura 2012/10/28 05:39:02
    Yes we should know! Yes on Prop 37
    Laura
    +2
    We definitely should know if our food is genetically modified, as there is some controversy on the subject.
  • bill.fleming.77 2012/10/27 17:39:50
    No we should not know what we put in our bodies.
    bill.fleming.77
    +1
    A company can use it to market their product then public opinion can dictate whether the public wants it.I do not need the government to get involved. There is enough busy body watch dog groups to inform the people without the use of the government with the use of the tax payers dollars to do so, WE HAVE ENOUGH GOVERNMENT REGULATIONS!
  • ladyjane bill.fl... 2012/12/26 06:43:10
    ladyjane
    +1
    How many people have to die to change your mind?
  • bill.fl... ladyjane 2012/12/26 18:32:00
    bill.fleming.77
    +1
    100,000,000,000
  • Buoyant... bill.fl... 2012/12/26 21:27:16
    Buoyant Leadraft
    Bill that's awful...lol!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/08/29 01:38:17

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals