Quantcast

Public Opinion Says Accidentally Bringing Pot Brownies to Work Is Hilarious [INFOGRAPHIC]

SodaHead Infographics 2011/09/07 23:00:00
Last week we asked SodaHeads what they thought about a woman who accidentally brought "special brownies" to work. Was it a laughing matter or a horrible mistake?

Here's a quick recap of the original story:

After divulging on the chocolate treats, three of the co-workers said they started feeling lightheaded, numb and disoriented and were taken to the hospital.

Investigators later found that the brownies were of the marijuana variety. It turns out, the co-worker's son had baked the pot brownies about a year ago -- nasty, we know -- and put them in the freezer, only to be discovered by his mother a year later and brought into the office.


The majority of people who responded, and there were a lot of you, thought the story was hilarious, so we've sent out notices to all of your employers informing them you might be under the influence of marijuana at work.

Just kidding! Your secret is safe with us.

But we did dig into your responses to look for interesting trends, and took a quick dip into the government's database to fill you in on some big-picture statistics.

Let's dive.

safe dig responses interesting dip governments database big-picture statistics dive
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Fef 2011/09/08 00:02:09
    Fef
    +9
    Duuuude? Funny to get people high accidentally? More evidence America has headed in the wrong direction.

    We don't mind if we get people high on illegal drugs, but don't dare knowingly smoke a cigarette or cigar at work.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Tallulah 2012/09/02 04:53:27
    Tallulah
    Haha sorry it's kind of funny. But then not funny because that woman's life is probably ruined.
  • Princess 2011/09/15 15:17:53
    Princess
    That isn't the very smartest thing to do, how would you not notice.
  • LifeIsComedyPHAET 2011/09/12 03:56:25
    LifeIsComedyPHAET
    +1
    I still think it's hilarious.
  • Muver 2011/09/11 03:51:18
    Muver
    It is to bad that this worker has an idiot son,,,,I hope she did not lose her job over this matter...
    But more to the point, who would even want to eat year old, previously frozen then thawed out
    brownies anyway...Yuck !!! Just picking one up should have given the clue they were not edible,
    but apparently some office workers will eat anything....bet they will think twice about doing that again.
  • Walks_on_Clouds 2011/09/10 19:55:05
    Walks_on_Clouds
    +1
    I need some of those brownies like now would be fine!
  • Diane 2011/09/10 19:47:13
    Diane
    Statistics here do not lie. The same people who are for it now will be against it at 35. Why? Because they learned through experience what the dangers of the world are.
  • pjwinkler65 2011/09/10 05:28:31
    pjwinkler65
    It's awful. Something like that takes away someone's choice whether to do it. I'm pro weed but am totally against someone not having the choice not to partake. Something like that could be very scary. I personally would have been super pissed.
  • Walks_on_Clouds 2011/09/09 20:49:35
    Walks_on_Clouds
    +2
    It was probably the most enjoyable day they ever had at work! I can drink to that!

    enjoyable work drink
    enjoyable work drink
  • PDenoli Walks_o... 2011/09/12 20:34:45
    PDenoli
    "the most enjoyable day they ever had at work!"

    Did you miss the point that they were taken to the hospital? I've never had a fun time at the hospital. Have you? As someone else said, I'm amazed by the number of people laughing about a non-consensual drugging.
  • Walks_o... PDenoli 2011/09/12 22:16:55
    Walks_on_Clouds
    OK people did consent, but no one has ever over-dosed from marijuana, EVER! You can't. The reason is because you would have to smoke 1,500 pounds of it all at once.

    http://druglibrary.org/schaff...
  • PDenoli Walks_o... 2011/09/12 22:27:30
    PDenoli
    No, they did not consent to being drugged.

    I don't care how much you like the stuff, it's not funny for people that people were drugged without their knowledge and consent.
  • Walks_o... PDenoli 2011/09/12 22:37:34
    Walks_on_Clouds
    +1
    My mistake, I meant to say many didn't...my bad.
    And OK, I can agree it's not funny for people to be drugged without their consent. As for me, I'm bringing milk and standing first in line for brownies. Having smoked and eaten it, I'd recognize what was happening immediately and be able to continue to be fairly productive. I wouldn't go back to work if I worked around machinery though.
  • Kris Says Hi 2011/09/09 18:59:33
    Kris Says Hi
    It is nothing to laugh at. Those people never consented to having pot in those brownies. I'm for legalization but against putting unwanted substances in people's food. I know it was an accident but the fact that they were a year old makes me think that the woman wasn't all too caring about her co-workers.
  • Sheled Umlal 2011/09/09 16:08:53
  • Raven Oktober 2011/09/09 15:58:34
    Raven Oktober
    its hilarious, until someone loses his job because of it
  • TheTacoTickler 2011/09/09 12:54:56
    TheTacoTickler
    +1
    It's really not funny.. What if that person has a random drug test and gets fired & can't support his family anymore because some jackass decided it'd be funny to get him high unknowingly.. Congratulations.
  • S123 TheTaco... 2011/09/09 18:08:04
    S123
    +1
    But according to the story, it was a mistake.
  • faith weighall 2011/09/09 05:33:33 (edited)
    faith weighall
    +3
    Horrible but hilarious
  • The Nixus 2011/09/09 00:44:42
    The Nixus
    Funny, way to go, well they all left work that day on a high then :-)
  • amber 2011/09/09 00:03:13
    amber
    It is nasty that she took sum old ass brownies she knew had been in the freezer unless she had not bben in the freezer in a year in which case that can't b true cuz she decided for whatever the reason or occasion she knew them MF 's was OLD AS DIRTwhat teenager gonna leave weed brownies in a freezer for a year ?? She IS LYING
  • dlsofsetx 2011/09/08 22:02:41
    dlsofsetx
    A little bit of both.
  • Joe Falzone 2011/09/08 14:46:48
    Joe Falzone
    This is good for the brownie eater, not good for the others who are trying to get a job done.. Situation:: If I were trying to get into the pants of an fellow office worker I may wish for her to be a little more accepting with my flirting. Giving her a brownie could be a way just like buying a drink for her after work, However it should be with her knowledge and then what does that say about the two of them..Your Fired!
  • MustangSally 2011/09/08 14:33:02
    MustangSally
    Well, this is hardly scientific... that's for sure.
  • Beanybudd 2011/09/08 14:32:17
    Beanybudd
    I read this and lol'ed. Risky, but pretty funny
  • lm1b2 2011/09/08 14:02:15
    lm1b2
    +1
    Funny to get people high without their knowledge? Shows how far our society morals have gone down hill,and what a lot of degenerates out their running around!
  • wilsonmja lm1b2 2011/09/08 19:53:31 (edited)
  • Leo 2011/09/08 13:27:57
    Leo
    +2
    I don't see anything new about this. It's like the old "Vita Meata Vegamin" I Love Lucy show where she accidentally gets drunk. There are many examples of that sort of thing and pot is less dangerous than alcohol.
  • intolerantrwj 2011/09/08 13:09:12
    intolerantrwj
    +1
    .... wow .... wow .... well, all I can attribute that Poll Result to is .. ahem .. ' A Deficiency in the Gene Pool '
  • Pake Jitts 2011/09/08 11:05:28
    Pake Jitts
    its disgusting to rig something like that!!! idiots!! ppl just dont think sometimes!!!!!! stupid ppl trying to get a good laugh over making a person high!!
  • Peon of the Masses 2011/09/08 08:44:14
    Peon of the Masses
    +1
    Those hospital visitation stats are BS. Think about it. 365 days in a year. Nearly 2000 people a day are hospitalized for alcohol poisoning effects? almost 1200 a day for cocaine? Over a 1000 a day for marijuana? Yeah, right.
  • Todd *R... Peon of... 2011/09/08 22:56:36
    Todd *RP 2012*
    If you include the forced visits for court-mandated substance abuse counseling to get out of jail time for possession for weed, it makes sense.
    Or if anyone with metabolites in their system, since cannabis metabolites hand around for a while
  • KC Peon of... 2011/09/10 00:33:40
    KC
    +3
    Do you realize how many people there are in the world?
  • Myrle Hulme 2011/09/08 08:43:19
    Myrle Hulme
    +1
    I would of found it hilarious, I bet it was uproarious
  • Peon of the Masses 2011/09/08 08:38:03
    Peon of the Masses
    It really depends on the job and what was expected of the people. If they were air traffic controllers it would be a different story, but if it was your typical subsidized place of employment, then you're talking about people who aren't hired on a performance basis, but as a matter of quota fulfillment, and they tend to veer towards the highly incompetent part of the spectrum in the first place and the effect of the brownies might yield a substantial, but meaningless improvement in their working performance.
  • ZERO 2011/09/08 08:27:40
    ZERO
    If she had continued to feed her co workers pot brownies for 2 to 3 months and one of them had cancer, that person would be CURED. THC is the most effective anti-cancer drug ever discovered by humans, no wonder it's illegal.
  • Todd *R... ZERO 2011/09/08 22:59:48
    Todd *RP 2012*
    +1
    not quite. his oil is extracted and then distilled for a POUND of cannabis, and then the resulting oil is enough to treat ONE person at a time. Repeated treatments may be required.
    It's looking like CBD may be the most effective part of cancer treatment, not THC.
    Let's hope everyone stops to read this. The government lies are beginning to annoy me on this subject
    Cannabis and Cancer
    Targeting the endocannabinoid system in cancer therapy:
    A call for further research
    http://www.fuoriluogo.it/medi...
    Endocannabinoids in the immune system and cancer.
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/p...
    Inhibition of tumor angiogenesis by cannabinoids
    http://www.fasebj.org/content...
    Established and potential therapeutic applications of cannabinoids in oncology
    http://www.springerlink.com/c...
    Cannabinoids: potential anticancer agents
    http://www.nature.com/nrc/jou...
    Cannabinoid receptor systems: therapeutic targets for tumor intervention
    http://informahealthcare.com/...
    Cancer Killer
    U.S. War on Drugs Stalling Mind-Blowing Research into Pot's Cancer-Healing Properties
    http://www.november.org/stayi...
    Derivatives of cannabis for anti-cancer treatment win Kaye Award for Hebrew University student
    http://www.eurekalert.org/pub...
    CANNABINOIDS: POTENTIAL
    ANTICANCER AGENTS
    http://americanmarijuana.org/...
    Anti-Tumor Effects
    by G...



    not quite. his oil is extracted and then distilled for a POUND of cannabis, and then the resulting oil is enough to treat ONE person at a time. Repeated treatments may be required.
    It's looking like CBD may be the most effective part of cancer treatment, not THC.
    Let's hope everyone stops to read this. The government lies are beginning to annoy me on this subject
    Cannabis and Cancer
    Targeting the endocannabinoid system in cancer therapy:
    A call for further research
    http://www.fuoriluogo.it/medi...
    Endocannabinoids in the immune system and cancer.
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/p...
    Inhibition of tumor angiogenesis by cannabinoids
    http://www.fasebj.org/content...
    Established and potential therapeutic applications of cannabinoids in oncology
    http://www.springerlink.com/c...
    Cannabinoids: potential anticancer agents
    http://www.nature.com/nrc/jou...
    Cannabinoid receptor systems: therapeutic targets for tumor intervention
    http://informahealthcare.com/...
    Cancer Killer
    U.S. War on Drugs Stalling Mind-Blowing Research into Pot's Cancer-Healing Properties
    http://www.november.org/stayi...
    Derivatives of cannabis for anti-cancer treatment win Kaye Award for Hebrew University student
    http://www.eurekalert.org/pub...
    CANNABINOIDS: POTENTIAL
    ANTICANCER AGENTS
    http://americanmarijuana.org/...
    Anti-Tumor Effects
    by GW Pharmaceuticals
    http://www.ukcia.org/research...
    Anandamide Induces Apoptosis in Human Cells via Vanilloid Receptors
    EVIDENCE FOR A PROTECTIVE ROLE OF CANNABINOID RECEPTORS
    http://www.jbc.org/content/27...
    (more)
  • ZERO Todd *R... 2011/09/08 23:18:07
    ZERO
    CBD, a derivative of cannabis (pot), may have shown impressive results in reducing the size of tumors and in stopping the spread of cancers, but I would still advise using all natural cannabis oil as it contains that compound plus many more.

    Since the exact mechanisms behind cannabis' effect on healing are still not completely understood, I think it would be unwise at this time to try to separate out one compound and use it excluding the rest. Cannabis oil has a proven track record.

    Of course if someone has done a study which shows conclusively that CBD is a more effective anti-cancer drug than cannabis oil, I will be happy to eat my words.
  • Chukroast 2011/09/08 06:45:30
    Chukroast
    +2
    Maybe instead of Girl Scouts selling mint cookies, they should be selling spiked brownies. Heck, maybe even Brownies could be selling brownies. (Would that be legal?)
  • Beanybudd Chukroast 2011/09/08 14:31:34
    Beanybudd
    lol
  • Helmholtz 2011/09/08 05:12:26
    Helmholtz
    +1
    Still funny

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/08/23 19:47:21

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals