Quantcast

Public Opinion Rules Prop 8 Unconstitutional [INFOGRAPHIC]

SodaHead Infographics 2012/02/13 16:31:53
California's controversial ban on same-sex marriage voted into effect in 2008, known as Prop 8, could soon land in the Supreme Court as smaller courts have decided the amendment might be unconstitutional. It was passed by a tight margin four years ago, and when we asked SodaHeads what they thought about the proposition's constitutionality we found that it hasn't gotten any less controversial. Political views were obviously an enormous factor, but we decided to zero in on other demographics, instead -- gender, age, location. We hope you find the results as interesting as we did! Let's dive.

prop 8
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • WGN 2012/02/15 01:43:11
    WGN
    +5
    Proposition 8 is a sham.
    It will be declared unconstitutional. There is no legal (non religious) reason for it to be
  • BrianD3 WGN 2012/02/15 17:35:15
    BrianD3
    +5
    there is no good reason for gays to marry
  • WGN BrianD3 2012/02/16 02:40:55
    WGN
    +2
    With the rate of divorce over 50% and the number of unmarried couples living together is higher than ever there is no need for heterosexuals to get married either.

    Your logic is overwhelming!

    Maybe it is that want to enjoy the tax and medical benefits that are given to people who are married?
  • BrianD3 WGN 2012/02/16 12:54:36
    BrianD3
    so let them have civil unions to address the rights issue....

    Just because the institution of marriage is hurting does not mean that we should further dillute and weaken it
  • WGN BrianD3 2012/02/17 01:39:08
    WGN
    +1
    Then it should not be considered sacred. And just what is the difference between a civil union and a marriage?
    Not much!
  • BrianD3 WGN 2012/02/17 13:28:52
    BrianD3
    +1
    in legal terms you are right, as a matter of tradition there is much that is different.
  • WGN BrianD3 2012/02/17 16:07:51
    WGN
    +2
    Only tradition in a religious setting.
  • BrianD3 WGN 2012/02/17 21:09:07
    BrianD3
    and in our culture/ society
  • WGN BrianD3 2012/02/19 23:24:06
    WGN
    Not if you are not religious.

    "One denomination that does track marriage numbers regionally is the Roman Catholic Church. In the 26-county Diocese of Peoria, the number of church weddings has fallen 27% since 2000 — from 923 weddings performed in 2000 to 672 in 2010 — according to the Official Catholic Directory.
    The Rev. William Gardner, pastor of St. Valentine and St. Mary churches in Peru, said he wasn’t surprised by the trend. Gardner said he’s observed a growing shift toward secular ceremonies and attributes it to a societal change: Marriage is viewed more as “a partnership of life and love,” he said, and less as a solemn institution for raising children.
    By way of context, the number of Catholic church weddings nationwide declined 33% from 2000 to 2010.
    A report from the Diocese of Rochester shows 1,962 local Catholic marriages in 2000 while the 2010, 1,049, for a drop of some 47% in just 10 years."

    Another county but, "In Australia, by 2002 religious weddings were already in a minority... and presently they're outnumbered about two-to-one."

    Civil marriage on rise across USA
    By Cathy Lynn Grossman and In-Sung Yoo, USA TODAY
    Fewer American couples who marry today see the need for religion's approval. The rate of civil marriage is on the rise coast to coast, a USA TODAY an...






    Not if you are not religious.

    "One denomination that does track marriage numbers regionally is the Roman Catholic Church. In the 26-county Diocese of Peoria, the number of church weddings has fallen 27% since 2000 — from 923 weddings performed in 2000 to 672 in 2010 — according to the Official Catholic Directory.
    The Rev. William Gardner, pastor of St. Valentine and St. Mary churches in Peru, said he wasn’t surprised by the trend. Gardner said he’s observed a growing shift toward secular ceremonies and attributes it to a societal change: Marriage is viewed more as “a partnership of life and love,” he said, and less as a solemn institution for raising children.
    By way of context, the number of Catholic church weddings nationwide declined 33% from 2000 to 2010.
    A report from the Diocese of Rochester shows 1,962 local Catholic marriages in 2000 while the 2010, 1,049, for a drop of some 47% in just 10 years."

    Another county but, "In Australia, by 2002 religious weddings were already in a minority... and presently they're outnumbered about two-to-one."

    Civil marriage on rise across USA
    By Cathy Lynn Grossman and In-Sung Yoo, USA TODAY
    Fewer American couples who marry today see the need for religion's approval. The rate of civil marriage is on the rise coast to coast, a USA TODAY analysis of marriage license statistics suggests.
    Experts say the trend could influence a larger debate: As fewer Americans see a need for religious blessings on a marriage, they may be more supportive of same-sex unions.
    There's no national data on how many U.S. marriages are performed by clergy vs. a civil authority such as a notary, judge or justice of the peace. But in the 18 states that have tracked data for any significant period of time since 1980:
    • 14 showed a growing or essentially steady rate of civil marriages — more than 40% of marriages in 2001. That's up from about 30% in 1980.
    The pattern probably is similar nationwide. "My daughter (Jane Campbell), the mayor of Cleveland, does more weddings than I do," says the Rev. Joan Brown Campbell of Chautauqua, N.Y., who is ordained in both the Disciples of Christ and the American Baptist churches.
    What's behind the changing view of "I do"?
    University of Washington sociologist Pepper Schwartz, author of American Couples, cites high divorce and remarriage rates, more interfaith marriages and more personalized ideas on spirituality.
    "We believe more in the church of 'My Way,' a shift in the sense of the ultimate authority from God and church elders to our own soulful searches," she says."
    (more)
  • Xinea BrianD3 2012/02/16 07:41:36
    Xinea
    There's no good reason for straights to marry, what with the whole pre-marital sex stigma being soo last century.
  • Peter B... BrianD3 2012/03/04 02:15:44
    Peter Burgess
    +1
    So you're arguing semantics? "Oh, it's traditional. There's no actual difference between the two terms, but because we have a tradition to uphold, why not create two separate words for the same thing?" Or why not simplify issues and we can call everyone one of the two, and if Christians want to make the difference known, they can. Semantics are argued by people who don't have anything else to argue with. It's pathetic.
  • BrianD3 Peter B... 2012/03/06 11:58:42
    BrianD3
    you are pathetic to equate a custom that is centuries old with some simple semantic dissagreement. Marriage is/was & always be between a man and a woman. Get used to that 99.9% of the world is not going to change their customs to accomodate deviants. You all want civil unions then take them, that is the best offer you will get.
  • Of Thee I Sing... 2012/02/15 01:04:26
    Of Thee I Sing...
    +9
    There is nothing wrong with Prop 8......Homo's should NOT be allowed to marry.
  • Thisism... Of Thee... 2012/02/15 15:56:14
  • BrianD3 Thisism... 2012/02/15 17:36:02
    BrianD3
    +3
    people who have no better argument but to impune punctuation should not be allowed to marry
  • Blunder... BrianD3 2012/02/19 09:50:01
  • BrianD3 Blunder... 2012/02/19 13:12:13
    BrianD3
    an excellent reply, made me laugh. However, my point about not being able to impune any other part of the comment still applies to the post above.
  • rk 2012/02/15 00:04:09
    rk
    +8
    Homosexuals should be able to have their won contrived ceremonies and receive all of the rights of others but not CORRUPT the word Marriage. I am truly offended by homos wanting to demean marriage by corrupting it's definition. They stole gay, fag, bi, . Enough come up with a new term that means homo joined. How about
    I now pronounce you Homogenized. Great word and more appropriate.
    How about Butt bound? how about coupled ?
    Here is a most disgusting photo
    Homos
  • reaper rk 2012/02/15 08:39:01
    reaper
    +7
    wait, the gays corrupted it? so divorce did nothing? or all those other changes?
    wait gays corrupted divorce
    or how about how we don't seem to follow what the bible sees fitting.
    wait gays corrupted divorce bible sees fitting
  • Torchma... reaper 2012/02/15 13:50:19
    Torchmanner ~PWCM~JLA
    +6
    The secularists corrupted it first. Secularist politicians prevented the freedom of slaves after this country was founded (read a history book). Secularist KKK murdered God fearing blacks and WHITEs for a hundred years. They murdered MLK.
    Now the secularists sacrifice children (abortions) to their God Satan and try to denigrate our religious precept of Marriage by applying it to a disgusting, uncivilized and disease spreading behavior.
  • reaper Torchma... 2012/02/15 18:05:10
    reaper
    +1
    lol, kkk is chirstain. and the excuse some people used for slavery was they said the bible says it's cool to have them.
  • WGN Torchma... 2012/02/16 02:45:49
    WGN
    +1
    And you know this because...?
    So, let's see. By your reasoning, all secular people worship satan (who does not exist) and took part in murdering MLK!
    Right.....
    Get a life!!!
  • Blunder... Torchma... 2012/02/19 09:52:40
  • J reaper 2012/02/15 17:47:38
    J
    +1
    Then why MARRY in the first place?
  • reaper J 2012/02/15 18:10:25
    reaper
    +1
    because today people marry because they want to be together. and now that it is also a legal matter they should also get the same benefits for it.
  • Glee_ky rk 2012/02/15 15:39:50
    Glee_ky
    +1
    that photo totally doesn't represent gay people.
  • J Glee_ky 2012/02/15 17:48:47
    J
    +1
    Yes it does. At least a few that I know. And those that aren't this "open" totally support this type of "lifestyle" choice.
  • Glee_ky J 2012/02/15 17:51:45
    Glee_ky
    +1
    Okay, lets get this STRAIGHT. ( See what I did there... ) . I'm gay and pretty much every gay person I know, which are a lot , isn't like that. I hate that stereotype, it creates a negative image of gay people.
  • reaper J 2012/02/15 18:08:11
    reaper
    +2
    no, thats like saying every christian acts like this

  • rk Glee_ky 2012/02/18 20:32:16
    rk
    It does represent some and if all gays do not speak out against this in you face example then you are no better. Rude is rude.
  • Thisism... rk 2012/02/15 15:58:33
  • rk Thisism... 2012/02/18 20:30:30
    rk
    Sorry butthead I find that plus all deviant behaviors abhorrent. I did however find it a perfect example of the rude and disgusting behavior of many of the Radical Homosexual
    movement. IT is also the best example of how this behavior wanting to use the Sacred term Marriage is and Abomination
  • WGN rk 2012/02/16 02:42:15
    WGN
    +1
    What, you don't like fresh buns? So good for breakfast!
  • rk WGN 2012/02/18 20:31:08
    rk
    SICK and disgusting
  • WGN rk 2012/02/19 23:24:35
    WGN
    +1
    Whatever!
  • Xinea rk 2012/02/16 07:43:13
    Xinea
    +2
    They 'stole' gay fag and bi? Like, "Hey, you should call us fags! We love that!"
    Um.
  • Blunder... rk 2012/02/19 09:59:32
    BlunderWoman ~ FTGOP~ BN 0
    mardi gras

    Look at the way these heteros are behaving...and in front of children and the elderly, no less! Maybe we shouldn't let anyone get married...
  • rk Blunder... 2012/02/20 05:54:23
    rk
    Just as bad and the homos
  • Blunder... rk 2012/02/20 06:37:31
    BlunderWoman ~ FTGOP~ BN 0
    If you say so. Since public displays of debauchery seem to be your reason to keep people from being married, do you also feel that it is an "abomination" when straight people who act that way get married?
  • Of Thee... Blunder... 2012/02/24 10:01:00
    Of Thee I Sing...
    thats photoshopped moron.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/04/21 15:05:48

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals