Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Ron Paul's Online Support Is Impressive

News 2012/03/14 22:38:03
It might seem a little strange that Republican candidate Ron Paul is doing so poorly in the primaries when he seems to have so much public support, but much of that support is online. An article by Yahoo! News suggests Paul's supporters are not nearly as populous in "the real world" as they appear to be online. And as a result, the presidential candidate has virtually no chance of winning. But the Internet is, and will continue to become, an important part of campaigning, so maybe he's on to something. We asked the public if his online support is as impressive as it seems.



Not everyone is impressed, but a narrow majority are. Granted, it's a little tough to objectively gauge an online phenomenon through the Internet, but there's not much else you can do. One reason Paul might be doing so well online, and we'll have more on this in a bit, is that he appeals to young people. One commenter wrote, "He is the only GOP candidate with a significant young following. I think that is impressive for a 76 year old candidate. It is also the reason why he does so much better online. Phone surveys are weighted toward an older demographic. Internet surveys to a younger demographic."

Libertarian Love

Yes, libertarians were very impressed, but that's about it on the political spectrum. He failed to impress most liberals, conservatives, and moderates. The libertarian base appears to be his main source of fuel, although he did snag 30%-40% of the rest, which is saying something.

Teens Take to the Internet

That commenter was right, teens are fond of the Internet support. That doesn't necessarily mean they'd vote for him (though it is a good indicator), but it does mean the Internet campaigning is popular with the kids. Obviously. We'll have to wait another four years to find out how they'd actually vote... That is, if Paul tries again at age 80.

Smokers Are Impressed

Oddly enough, smokers were significantly more likely to be impressed with Ron Paul's campaign. Our best guess is that it has something to do with the libertarian tie, especially following that attempt to require graphic warnings on cigarette packages. The government is not looking good to smokers.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Ron Paul. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • alexiawesker38 2012/05/12 07:08:27
    alexiawesker38
    Its time to wake up and look around and realize that our country is falling down around us, that we are spilling our troops blood everyday...terrorism is a term for what we are doing in the middle east..or is invasion a better word? We need our troops here protecting our borders and the US has no business borrowing money from china so they can turn around and give Israel billions. ITS GOT TO STOP and Dr Paul has opened our eyes to the corruption. What president wants to kill Americans?? Innocent Americans? have we coward to the point where we thnk we'll have a done at our windows or doors? Obama has done what no other president has done, used fear to control America, land of the free and home of the brave? http://images.sodahead.com/pr...
  • ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠ 2012/04/16 02:08:59 (edited)
    ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠
    Yet, sometimes I feel like "the powers that be" have already decided who will be "running" for president. And I can't shake the sneaking suspicion that if Ron Paul get's *too* far ahead, either some women are going to start claiming he molested them, or he, or one of his family members will die mysteriously. Just wait.
  • ☠ Live Free Or Die ☠ 2012/04/16 01:59:53
  • Azrael-In GOD we trust 2012/04/16 01:34:39
    Azrael-In GOD we trust
    I like Ron Paul and sure do wish his numbers were greater, with him in the lead.
  • Something Sea 2012/03/27 06:41:14
    Something Sea
    As we all know, the internet was just a fad. Ron Paul, like many other obvious fads, will pass away with time, and with him, the only consistency that was left with politics. The US Constitution is semi-consistent (a trend that Ron Paul follows), but none of the other candidates (as always) are. It's startling that people seem to "just forget" that politicians are the most mistrusted group in the world. When election time comes around, it's as if everyone's in La La land, and blah de blah will save us this time.

    So, just face it: the human race is doomed. This article acts like it's a surprise that Ron Paul wasn't favored by "liberals, conservatives, and moderates" - liberals, conservatives, and moderates are all socialists, who therefore by definition favor more violence from The State to be used for the purposes of Mass Good, so of course they don't like what Ron Paul is saying! It's those who are undecided who are still reasonable about the religion of statism. So, again, and in summary: we are udderly doomed. Udderly.
  • El Prez 2012/03/17 08:19:23
    El Prez
    Impressive but not relevant. He might get some little consideration at the conventio0n, like a good seat, but he will never get a higher office.
  • Cal 2012/03/16 12:15:48 (edited)
    Cal
    It's impressive....but not subjective of the entire conservative basis in America. 90% of web users stay far away from political discussion on the web - take it from me - a debate forum admin. Paul needs a little more than the web...and losing in just about every state now proves this.

    http://www.politicalbuddies.com
  • DizziNY 2012/03/16 10:33:37
  • Hawkeye 2012/03/16 10:12:04
    Hawkeye
    Now THIS is just MY opinion but I have said for a LONG time that a substantial percentage of those pushing for Ron Paul on the internet have NO INTENTION of voting for him.. They'll vote Obama no matter what??

    THINK about this.. How many times have you read where these people say they'd vote for Paul IF they weren't already voting for Obama and THEN ask yourselves WHY this could possibly be so.. Paul represents EXACTLY what these people don't want.. Small Government and INDIVIDUAL Liberties.. Paul,, as a staunch Libertarian,, is diametrically opposed to EVERYTHING that Obama and the Democrats stand for.. He's not all that aligned with the Republicans either,, for THAT matter..

    Now I KNOW that this is going to upset a lot of REAL Paul supporters out there and I'm sorry for that but it is MY opinion that the Left would love NOTHING Better then to make Ron Paul the Ross Perot of 2012.. A SPLIT Republican/Independent Vote Guarentees an Obama re-election..
  • Thisism... Hawkeye 2012/03/16 16:27:59
  • Hawkeye Thisism... 2012/03/16 17:15:53
    Hawkeye
    Ron Paul wants to cut EVERYTHING including ALL of the Democrats' Pet Donation prompting entitlement programs.. NOT just Defense.. And he's for cutting taxes for EVERYBODY.. He's ALSO for reducing the National Debt and the size,, scope and power of the Federal Government and he calls for Constitutional Government.. ALL of which places HIM in DIRECT Conflict with Obama and the Democrats..
  • harutsu 2012/03/16 07:12:41
    harutsu
    +2
    How can anyone see this http://adf.ly/6LcvI and not vote ron paul? He's the kind of president I've been waiting for. He realizes we keep digging our own damn graves.
  • zazzina zazzi 2012/03/16 06:20:53
    zazzina zazzi
    +3
    Support Dr. Paul ! Ron Paul is our only hope that we can travel like people with dignity again, that we have sound money, that we have again some rights and freedoms. BO is taking everything from us. Santorum reapper on the scene again only to make it easy for BO get reelected.
  • Andrew 2012/03/16 05:16:14
    Andrew
    Awesome...NOT!
  • DJL 2012/03/16 03:39:42
    DJL
    +1
    His supporters are very vocal but there aren't as many of them as they say there are.
  • owen DJL 2012/04/04 01:16:03
    owen
    Everyone in Australia and Great Britain related to me is for him BIGTIME.
  • T J 2012/03/16 02:46:59
    T J
    Does it really matter? He hasn't won one caucus or primary.
  • dekecds T J 2012/03/16 07:30:58 (edited)
    dekecds
    Not true, he won Iowa, but the Media black balled him just like the last two campaigns!
    CNN and Fox glossed right over it by covering the tight race for second place by Mitt and Newt! They said not a single word except to show the numbers and quickly zoomed in on Newt a Mitt's numbers to start the conversation about their close race.
  • T J dekecds 2012/03/16 11:59:09
    T J
    Santorum won Iowa. Not Ron Paul.
  • The San... dekecds 2012/03/16 21:45:41
    The Sane One
    Don't forget the Maine debacle as well, where the GOP leadership and media called it far too early-- the counties where Ron Paul had the strongest support were not counted.
  • jreppoh 2012/03/16 00:42:36
    jreppoh
    I would support him overall the others but I am a Democrat. I have crossed over and did vote for McCain the last time but will vote for BO this time.
  • kate 2012/03/16 00:24:50
    kate
    Ron Paul "impresses" a bunch of computer chair activists and confused hippy-conservatives. Yippee.
  • dekecds kate 2012/03/16 22:56:51
    dekecds
    +1
    Do you know what youre talking about? (although I agree, he probably does impress them as well) He's the only candidate that's willing to say shove off to all the people who are at the heart of the disaster in 2008, not to mention he does have views that marry the best ideas from both the other parties without earmark, pork barrel, bull crap.
  • ThinkAboutIt! 2012/03/15 23:15:46
    ThinkAboutIt!
    Where did they find those seven people?
  • Drachen 2012/03/15 20:37:07
    Drachen
    Now if only they got out to the polls..
  • TKramar 2012/03/15 18:32:03 (edited)
    TKramar
    +1
    Libertarians don't vote--they don't trust the government. Think about it.

    Besides that, it's the Electoral College that decides the Presidency, and the popular vote has nothing to do with that.
  • Z TKramar 2012/03/15 18:56:21
    Z
    +1
    What are you talking about. Libertarians do vote. They made up 13% of the voting pop. in 2004 and 15% in 2006. The younger generations are libertarian from either 20-40%, with the youngest being his biggest supporters.

    But the Electoral college is (generally) based on the popular vote, and states are pushing to change the system to a pop-vote system by giving all their votes to the pop vote winner.
  • TKramar Z 2012/03/15 18:59:33 (edited)
    TKramar
    People who don't trust the government are not going to involve themselves in government. It's what you call an oxymoron.

    There are people behind the scenes who are not liberal, conservative, Democrat, or Republican, that run things, and want us all to be divided so that they find it easier to rule. The President and Congress are nothing but pawns and puppets.
  • Z TKramar 2012/03/15 19:22:44
    Z
    +1
    I don't disagree. But I'm a libertarian, and I involve myself in the government frequently. Sometimes, you have to work through a system to defeat it.
  • ronbo51 2012/03/15 17:47:20
    ronbo51
    +1
    La La Land

    maybe here in La La Land
  • JERSEYDUDE ronbo51 2012/03/15 18:14:45
    JERSEYDUDE
    thats exactly where YOU are lol
  • ronbo51 JERSEYDUDE 2012/03/15 18:41:10 (edited)
    ronbo51
    ok ya got me!
    but for reality purposes. he missed the boat and lost his paddle~~
  • Nam Era Vet #1 DNA TLC 2012/03/15 17:40:10
    Nam Era Vet #1 DNA TLC
    Online support is nice. But you have to get people in the primaries to vote for you. Single digit percentages and low two didgit percentages won't win anything. But I wish him the best.
  • Libertarian Right 2012/03/15 17:38:01
    Libertarian Right
    Yes, Ron Paul's online support is impressive, but it seems the influence of the mainstream media (and I include Fox News) is a bit more impressive. Ron Paul is getting creamed (again) in the Republican primary, despite obvious and vocal grassroots support. The media made their choice a long time ago, and come Hell or high water, he will be victorious (at least in the primaries.)

    mitt romney
  • Z Liberta... 2012/03/15 18:58:23
    Z
    +1
    I wouldn't be to sure of that. While he is in the lead in estimates, many of his votes are unbound, meaning that they don't actually have to go to him. And the people getting delegate positions are Paul supporters. He has over 70% of the delegates if they vote on their views and not the state vote. Which they will. Paul may actually come out of this with the win, though that is a huge long shot.
  • Resp Liberta... 2012/03/15 19:07:33
    Resp
    +1
    Wow! Someone did an excellent make-up job!
  • DizziNY Liberta... 2012/03/16 10:33:25
    DizziNY
    Romney = obamalite
  • Thisism... DizziNY 2012/03/16 16:29:58
  • bob 2012/03/15 13:45:50
    bob
    +2
    Paul is the only Rep this time around that I would think of voting for. He hasn't the big corporate money the others campain with.
  • Z bob 2012/03/15 19:00:05 (edited)
    Z
    +1
    So true. Romney, Obama, Santorum, Gingrich all have their corporate masters.

    http://memegenerator.net/cach...

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/21 17:51:24

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals