Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Romney Shouldn't Have a Role in Obama's Second Term

Politics 2012/11/29 20:00:00
Now that the cards have fallen, former Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney is free to pursue another spot on the political field. According to Obama, Romney might have a chance to "work together" with the President, and the two are reportedly meeting Thursday for lunch to talk about it. But should Romney even get involved? The L.A. Times was curious to see whether or not the public wants Romney to work with Obama. Here's how the public voted.



Not many people actually want to see Romney get involved with the Obama administration. However, there was no one big reason why people voted one way or the other. Respondents had a variety of opinions, from "Obama needs all the help he can get" to "Romney could get Obama his tea," and from "let Obama fend for himself" to "Romney lost for a reason." The only constant seemed to be negativity. Tensions were high during the election, so perhaps it shouldn't come as a surprise.

Not Even Conservatives Condone

We expected liberals to be against the idea, but we were surprised to find that conservatives weren't far off. Fewer than half wanted to see Romney involved in the Obama administration. This is probably the result of a couple of things. First, as we mentioned, there's still some unwillingness to work together left over from the election. Second, Romney had a lot of conservative critics in the first place.

Big Money Still Wants Mitt

Unlike the conservative demographic, voters who make $100,000 a year or more were largely supportive of the idea. A whopping 80% want to see Mitt get involved with Obama. Conservative policies are typically more popular with the well-off because conservative policies oppose redistribution, so they would naturally have more incentive to move past the negativity.

Women Don't Want to See It


Oddly enough, gender seemed to correlate as well. In past surveys, we found that women were more likely than men to support Obama, and therefore less likely to support Romney, so that could be part of it. However, the difference between men and women (16%) was even greater than the difference between liberals and conservatives (11%).

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit the original L.A. Times poll about Obama and Romney. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • kerijay 2012/11/29 20:57:07 (edited)
    kerijay
    +20
    First place Obama didn't win legally. There were more voters in FL than were registered same in Ohio and PA. Soros 'Secretary of State Project' - To put Democrats in charge of state election offices. Same went on in 2008 and Republicans didn't have the guts to stand up for what's right and legal same this election. Besides Obama is just looking to blame his mistakes on Republicans. Romney should stay away he can't compete with the Chicago gang.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • airplanespaceship 2013/01/12 04:31:35
  • Paul 2013/01/07 23:31:50 (edited)
    Paul
    Two duds for the price of one.
  • polock 2013/01/03 21:17:14
    polock
    +1
    If they do make an arrangement perhaps Mitt could explain to the Dictator how business works. I dought that "O" would listen however, and at that point Mitt should very politely tell him to go F--- himself, politely though.
  • Bill 2012/12/27 15:19:21
    Bill
    Obama should have lost. Reguardless... he was not elected by the majority of voters. (Please don't post saying he was.... fact is he was not.)
  • KHAWK 2012/12/25 19:49:17
    KHAWK
    True
  • richwright 2012/12/21 14:47:50
    richwright
    Sure, he can start by sweeping the front porch and taking out the trash.
  • jacktown kid 2012/12/13 16:21:03
    jacktown kid
    does it really matter
  • manny 2012/12/09 21:34:45
    manny
    Nope
  • Jayne 2012/12/07 19:10:45
    Jayne
    Not only NO but HELL NO! Enough said!
  • Josh Robinson 2012/12/06 13:50:49
  • Josh Robinson 2012/12/06 13:34:13
    Josh Robinson
    +1
    ROMNEY ALREADY PLAYED HIS ROLE IN OBAMAS 2ND TERM.... HE KICKED OUT RON PAUL THEN THREW THE FIGHT.... JUST AS PLANNED... AMERICA IS DENIED ITS CONSTITUTIONAL LEADER AND WILL NOW BE RUN AS A LIBERAL DEMOCRACY FOR ANOTHER 4YEARS. SOMEDAY WE MAY BE A CONSERVATIVE CONSTITUTIONAL REPUBLIC AGAIN.... BUT NOT WHILE LIBERALS LIKE ROMNEY ARE SQUATTING IN THE REPUBLICAN PARTY AND DESTROYING OUR IMAGE. LIBERALS HAVE BEEN ATTACKING THE G.O.P. FROM THE INSIDE FOR THE LAST 30-5O YEARS...! NEOCON = CLOSET LIBERAL.... AMERICA IS RUN BY 1 PARTY.... THE DEMOCRATS.... WHY DO YOU THINK REPUBLICANS ARE BEING SO DESTROYED...? IT'S BECAUSE DEMOCRATS ARE HIDING IN THE REPUBLICAN PARTY AND CRASHING IT. EVER WONDER WHY THE R-PARTY VOTES SO LIBERALY...? MORE WAR... MORE SPENDING... MORE FREEDOM LOSS...? IT'S BECAUSE THEY ARE DEMOCRATS..... DUHHHHH...! NORM THOMAS LIBERAL AGENDA
  • richwright Josh Ro... 2012/12/21 14:49:11
    richwright
    I like that strategy.
  • Paul Josh Ro... 2013/01/07 23:32:35
    Paul
    +1
    You said it Josh.
  • Cher 2012/12/06 07:37:18
    Cher
    I knew he would get back in really does it matter? We are all going into a depression there is nothing to stop it and Odumba will walk us into world war from there so it doesn't really matter it is up to God now....God be with you all...
  • richwright Cher 2012/12/21 14:49:34
    richwright
    every man for himself!
  • Jake Blanton 2012/12/06 05:20:51
    Jake Blanton
    Wouldn't that be "consorting with the enemy"? Shame on Romney to even think about such a thing.
  • jere.chievres 2012/12/06 03:07:43
    jere.chievres
    +1
    Bozo could learn from Mitt, but I don't think he wants advice on how to actually do something the RIGHT WAY!
  • Ramón 2012/12/06 00:09:15
    Ramón
    Whooo boy. A Mormon and a Muslim. M&M; in do house! Yeah buddy!
  • richwright Ramón 2012/12/21 14:50:29
    richwright
    A Morslim!
  • Spooner 2012/12/05 23:42:48
    Spooner
    Fail the election and call it voter fraud, LOL.

    Let the Wild Crying Begin!!!!!

    Losers are supposed to go home not linger around and cry about it.
  • Drummerlou 2012/12/05 21:37:33
    Drummerlou
    No, that's like letting the devil in the back door of the church.There will be issues and PROBLEMS!!
  • miro.plachy 2012/12/05 21:16:15
    miro.plachy
    +3
    It should never happen them having luch together. Romney might infect Obama somehow and then where will we be. I don't think I could handle an ifected Barack. Obama is on a path and a wery good one now.
  • beavith1 2012/12/05 19:36:41
    beavith1
    +1
    Obama needs to own this approaching disaster all by himself.
  • richwright beavith1 2012/12/21 14:52:20
    richwright
    Fiscal cliff invented by the Pugs not raising the debt ceiling, now they can drive over their own cliff. they need to learn to play poker like O.
  • beavith1 richwright 2012/12/24 05:43:02
    beavith1
    Boehner tried to make a deal.

    O rejected it.

    Boehner offered to agree to a deal offered by Pelosi earlier this year.

    O rejected that too, then went to HI for two weeks.

    O doesn't want a deal. he wants us to go over the cliff.
  • airplan... beavith1 2013/01/12 04:38:51
  • beavith1 airplan... 2013/01/12 20:57:45
    beavith1
    (phew)

    I can see packing it in because of the Obama victory. It won't be any fun to be used as a draft animal to his giveaway economics. we thought the same thing, but everywhere overseas, if you expect to run a business, faces more daunting tax regimes than here. worse, you have to 'buy out' your citizenship if you want to move your assets.

    emigration is not easy.

    he may not have destroyed her permanently, but he's certainly wounded her.

    whatever you do, good luck.
  • airplan... beavith1 2013/01/14 04:11:21
  • beavith1 airplan... 2013/01/21 23:00:20
    beavith1
    good luck.
  • airplan... beavith1 2013/01/22 02:17:17
  • richwright beavith1 2013/05/11 01:27:27
    richwright
    Send us a post card. We'll miss you!
  • beavith1 richwright 2013/05/11 03:35:44
    beavith1
    airplanespaceship was the one leaving.

    me? i'm arming up...
  • John Hall 2012/12/05 17:12:50
    John Hall
    A poll say's Romney should'nt have a roll to help obama what the hell are the afraid of working for a living and getting kicked off welfare . Yes i think that's what there afraid of and if obama did hire Romney he would also see how a man does his job .
  • scottcleaves 2012/12/05 07:34:53
    scottcleaves
    Only if he (Romney) can convince Republicans to abandon Grover Norquist and the obstructionist Tea Party.
  • TheBorg 2012/12/05 05:10:59 (edited)
    TheBorg
    +3
    Romney is so bad of a candidate, Republicans couldn't even win when they engage in voter fraud,



    Google "strategic allied consulting"
  • sunniday 2012/12/05 04:57:39
    sunniday
    They where both very abrasive during the primaries I do not think they could work together for the people but I really do not think much of any of our politicians,it's all ME ME.I would love to see our government officals live the same as us.same health care, same work ethic's,same hours,same tax structure,with a really open government [for the people by the people for 1 year,]Then see if they still think they are right,
  • John Boy 2012/12/04 23:27:52
    John Boy
    +1
    No, Obama would not work with him anyway. ! In the end, it is Obamas way or nothing.
  • richwright John Boy 2012/12/21 14:54:09
    richwright
    that's the right path for America. Thank God, god made him win.
  • John Boy richwright 2012/12/21 20:19:44 (edited)
    John Boy
    God does not always choose good presidents. In this case, I believe he chose the worst we could have. He wants us to learn our lesson because of massive abortions, gay marriage, leaving god out of everything. !!! A bunch of dumb ass Americans, have left god behind and our constitution. Because so many, including our leadership don't believe in god, only themselves. So I believe god is making America reap what she has sown. Obama is far from a blessing by god. It is his judgement and punishment for being retarded.
  • thomas.ilgenfritz 2012/12/04 18:46:04
    thomas.ilgenfritz
    I think Obama would really like to have Romney as a friend and adviser..but the Republicans would never let it happen..Mitt might agree with Obama on something and that would fly in the face of Republican obstructionism.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 27 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/08/20 22:00:26

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals