Quantcast

Public Opinion Rejects Facebook Timeline [INFOGRAPHIC]

SodaHead Infographics 2012/02/03 15:00:00
Not two months after Timeline was released as an optional Facebook upgrade, the network has announced it will become mandatory sometime around... now. Those of you who haven't already switched over can expect a mandatory update some time in the next week or two. Facebook is being vague with the dates, and it probably won't hit everyone at the same time. People are already scrambling to hide unwanted posts that will inevitably reach out from beyond the Facebook grave as soon as Timeline is activated.

Several months ago, when Facebook was making smaller changes, we polled SodaHeads to find out what they thought. The result was mass disappointment. But this isn't a "smaller change." Timeline is a massive visual and organizational overhaul that could potentially change the way Facebook is used. At a time when the media is already reporting a drop in U.S. membership, it seems like an incredibly risky move to make. We polled SodaHeads on the incorporation of Timeline to find out who likes it -- if anyone.

Let's dive.

facebook timeline infographic
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • sash 2012/02/11 04:38:26
    sash
    +10
    I have not logged on to FB in months. FB is the best way to find out that the majority of your family and friends are boring, obnoxious, stupid, desperate for attention or that you just don't like them.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Sarah TH Marshall Switcher 2012/02/03 19:27:51
  • LAAD Gunner - USMC 2012/02/03 18:57:58
    LAAD Gunner - USMC
    +6
    Wow facebook, you must be REALLY trying to make people stop using facebook. I HATE timeline, I think it is very stupid, I don't like the layout and it is not user friendly at all. If you do this facebook I'm gonna be very tempted to quit using you.
  • LAAD Gunner - USMC 2012/02/03 18:57:30
    LAAD Gunner - USMC
    +4
    Wow facebook, you must be REALLY trying to make people stop using facebook. I HATE timeline, I think it is very stupid, I don't like the layout and it is not user friendly at all. If you do this facebook I'm gonna be very tempted to quit using you.
  • Sister Jean 2012/02/03 18:49:11
  • moonchild 2012/02/03 18:46:50
    moonchild
    +3
    I didn't like it at first- but switched over a few weeks ago so I could play with the settings and make sure when the forced switch hit I wouldn't have information/pictures/etc. I didn't want public to default to public.

    I actually kind of like the change.. it seems busy and cumbersome at first, but it's actually pretty cool once you get a feel for it.
  • Alley Cat moonchild 2012/02/04 01:59:58
    Alley Cat
    +1
    Hear what you say. Do you think it's only our resistance to change that has brought the decision to stay with the old format?
  • moonchild Alley Cat 2012/02/04 04:24:20
    moonchild
    +2
    Yes- it is the resistance to change. Take the leap-- it takes a few minutes to figure out all the new features.... you get used to it quickly... it's really a pretty good set up.
  • Alley Cat moonchild 2012/02/04 06:10:25
    Alley Cat
    +2
    Thank you
  • 2226693 moonchild 2012/02/05 09:16:32 (edited)
  • JGF 2226693 2012/02/06 10:39:51
    JGF
    so if someone doesn't like something they're a "whiner"? Please post a list of things you don't like.
  • 2226693 JGF 2012/02/06 14:07:00
  • JGF moonchild 2012/02/06 10:38:05
    JGF
    getting used to it has nothing to do with liking it
  • moonchild JGF 2012/02/06 11:29:40
    moonchild
    Well, you're free to delete your profile and find somewhere else to go. Sure- getting used to it doesn't necessarily mean you'll like it but it doesn't mean you won't' like it either. I like it. yay me. You can do whatever you want- FREE-COUNTRY! Yay you.
  • 2226693 JGF 2012/02/06 14:05:55
  • Jack Deltr 2226693 2012/05/21 22:51:10
    Jack Deltr
    It has to Load to get used to it and it has to load to even find out if you like it if it locks up and times out it makes it VERY hard to use and very GRRR plus if I used FB as I did in the past it would cost me Money in larger down loads so again I do not care what it looks like or privacy [not that there is any thing on my pc to tell any one who I am] My problem Is it will not WORK any more
  • Adam W 2012/02/03 18:46:08
    Adam W
    +4
    Timeline is better organized than the old format, and fairly easy to use. I've used it for months, and it hasn't been a problem for me.
  • Patrioticprincess 2012/02/03 18:32:16
    Patrioticprincess
    +6
    I hate it. I have not minded any of the changes. I like changes, sometimes it is interesting. This one was bad enough to make me avoid facebook at all costs. Sodahead is more fun anyway.
  • Alley Cat Patriot... 2012/02/04 02:01:05
    Alley Cat
    I would truly like to know why you resist the change [could help me make my mind up)
  • MadAsHEck 2012/02/03 18:29:59
    MadAsHEck
    +8
    Dumped facebook months ago.

    Bothered me that they are too invasive, and getting more so.
  • Ben 2012/02/03 18:23:32
    Ben
    +5
    It is actually much easier to use with the timeline. I also like the cover photo.
  • flrdsgns 2012/02/03 18:22:45
    flrdsgns
    +4
    I find the new time line harder to navigate, I haven't changed mine and won't until FB changes it for me. I guess I'll either get used to it or use FB much much less
  • <3 Xina... flrdsgns 2012/02/03 19:18:40
    <3 Xina )O( Wolfe <3
    +2
    Pretty much.
  • Dave**Gay for Girls** 2012/02/03 18:14:08
  • <3 Xina... Dave**G... 2012/02/03 19:19:49
    <3 Xina )O( Wolfe <3
    +5
    That is if they don't quit using it all together. Things like this should REALLY be a choice.
  • Dave**G... <3 Xina... 2012/02/03 19:24:25 (edited)
  • <3 Xina... Dave**G... 2012/02/03 19:42:06
    <3 Xina )O( Wolfe <3
    +2
    As do I. I have not much of a life so I use it to keep in contact w/ friends and family as well, that is when I have access to facebook.
  • Fef 2012/02/03 18:10:26
    Fef
    +6
    Facebook doesn't always get it right... I liked their earlier redesign, but not timeline. Maybe it will take some "time" to get used to it.
  • master ... Fef 2012/02/03 20:26:05
    master of free thinking
    +1
    along time...
  • Alley Cat Fef 2012/02/04 02:07:47
    Alley Cat
    +1
    Fef, do you think it's our resistance to change that's the problem, merely preference??
  • SA Fef 2012/02/04 17:51:09
    SA
    I've been on SH, Facebook and Yahoo!Shine. They have ALL changed since I first started using these sites. But, as Fef once said about SH......that the change is something we need to get accustomed to (paraphrasing here). I am still on SH, I do fine now. I am sure that Facebook will take some time. Now if I could figure out how to blog on Shine....all will be fine....lol

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/10/02 10:30:55

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals