Quantcast

Public Opinion Rejects Facebook Timeline [INFOGRAPHIC]

SodaHead Infographics 2012/02/03 15:00:00
Not two months after Timeline was released as an optional Facebook upgrade, the network has announced it will become mandatory sometime around... now. Those of you who haven't already switched over can expect a mandatory update some time in the next week or two. Facebook is being vague with the dates, and it probably won't hit everyone at the same time. People are already scrambling to hide unwanted posts that will inevitably reach out from beyond the Facebook grave as soon as Timeline is activated.

Several months ago, when Facebook was making smaller changes, we polled SodaHeads to find out what they thought. The result was mass disappointment. But this isn't a "smaller change." Timeline is a massive visual and organizational overhaul that could potentially change the way Facebook is used. At a time when the media is already reporting a drop in U.S. membership, it seems like an incredibly risky move to make. We polled SodaHeads on the incorporation of Timeline to find out who likes it -- if anyone.

Let's dive.

facebook timeline infographic
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • sash 2012/02/11 04:38:26
    sash
    +10
    I have not logged on to FB in months. FB is the best way to find out that the majority of your family and friends are boring, obnoxious, stupid, desperate for attention or that you just don't like them.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • christa 2013/01/02 08:05:38
  • Timu 2012/12/31 16:29:10
    Timu
    We like or not FB does not give a s*** about the opinion of the users who made FB a multi billion $ company.
  • Amenda Alexander 2012/05/24 01:20:23
    Amenda Alexander
    +4
    You should have given us a choice to use the Timeline or not. Stop trying to be a dictator. And stop messing with it and messing up the games by messing with it!!!!!!!!
  • Tami 2012/05/21 19:58:38
    Tami
    +2
    quick messing up Facebook. The timeline is the worst. Can't you just let the home page be and stop trying to get fancy all the time.
  • matt29073 2012/05/03 00:53:02
    matt29073
    +2
    FACEBOOK TRIED TO CHARGE A MONTHLY FEE BUT OUTCRIES OF THREATENING TO QUIT FB STOPPED THAT. NOW THEIR M.O. IS TO SCREW UP YOUR FORMAT SO BAD THAT YOU'LL PAY $110 TO FIX IT BY CALLING THEIR TECH HELP AT 888-216-8304 WHICH IRONICALLY IS ABOUT WHAT 2 YEARS WORTH OF SUBSCRIPTION THAT FB WANTED TO CHARGE US ALL.
  • matt29073 2012/05/03 00:50:19
    matt29073
    +2
    TIMELINE IS A SCAM! THEY ARE TRYING TO GET FB USERS TO PAY $110 TO GO BACK TO THE OLD FORMAT WHICH TELLS ME IT CAN BE UNDONE. CALL THE FACEBOOK TECH HELP FOR YOURSELF AND SEE.1-888-216-8304
  • Jack Deltr 2012/05/01 23:54:10
    Jack Deltr
    Ah finally found out WHY Time line is SO bad at least for ME.
    Im in a fairly Rural area and Internet is well Sat Dish or Mobile Phone both are slow average for me 200kbs though they say 400 is Pos ??[yes we are pushing the rang of out Phones and no they do not work with out external long range ariels] Now Ive been here on FB with this log in name since july 2007 and my FB page if you bring it all up is over 5Mb and its easy to see it will not work well if at all and if I do use it Ill soon go over my monthly limit on Downloads and that is Expensive so basically I can not use Time line on any site over a few months old even If I did like it
  • teldor 2012/04/11 06:12:06
    teldor
    +3
    Hi :D ... I see there is a few people and pages trying to do the same thing ... Get enough Likes to get Facebook to notice .. well we can do that by all sharing each others pages ... and hopefully we'll get 1 or a couple with enough likes to truely request to have facebook removed .. check out mine if you wish ... http://www.facebook.com/remov...
  • Andrea Hackett 2012/04/02 02:34:18
    Andrea Hackett
    +5
    been on Facebook since 2008... hold classes and webinars on it... at one point I spent nearly all my time on it... with Timeline I'm considering deactivating my accounts. I've already scrubbed all my personal data. It's just not fun anymore.
  • kesatori 2012/02/29 18:49:07
    kesatori
    +3
    For the record I do not like the new Timeline and do NOT want it. However, I am not worried about anything I have posted in the past because I have used common sense and not ever posted anything really private or personal.
    Timeline will totally eliminate all your privacy, not that it ever REALLY existed in the first place...
    It is, after all a SOCIAL network, and it blows my mind that anyone would post anything on it they do not want the entire world to see.
    I contacted a friend after she posted something on her wall that could have put her in jail ~ esp. since she had her settings on "public". That status update showed up on a google search of her name.
    At the very least failing to utilize the privacy settings that have been available all along is the equivalent of writing a very private letter, nailing it to a tree outside of your house, then expecting no one except your friends and family to read it.
  • no one here 2012/02/27 06:38:03
    no one here
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/com...

    IT IS MACHO EVIL STALKER SITE
  • no one here 2012/02/26 08:37:57
    no one here
    RECREATING THE WORLD FOR GOIA (lol), some PEOPLE are so fricking insane. There is not one decent repugnut candidate, Obama is the 7 headed media control dragon. Harry Reid is some dumb hick from the desert. Date sites are sexual extortion sites. Yet, why is the prize to all of them a MIDDLE CLASS? Rich folks do not care, GOLD IS MORE IMPORTANT then MOTHER EARTH. EVERYTHING is controlled WE live in a POLICE STATE. ONE WORLD ENDS another BEGINS? I do not see a new world, I see the same old thing and same unbearable things over and over. FACE BOOK is PART of the EVIL WORLD TAKE OVER! MASDADA if it comes to that. Most FOlks have no idea about SCALAR technology and how it is possible to control folks minds. Average folks thrive on POP CUlture and live in a world of denial. DO what it takes to play the GAME. WHAT FRICKING GAME? I do not play games. NO FACEBOOK< as soon as I get my data finsihed for my case it is getting shut off.

    masada

    WHERE 2500 Hebrews were murdered by HEROD and ROME - WE WOULD RATHER DIE THE BE LIKE YOU!
  • Rebecca 2012/02/21 02:30:55
    Rebecca
    +1
    Timeline MANDATORY??? Crap, just when I'm finally learning to use Faceblah as it is, they go and F%&K; with it!
  • M and Emma 2012/02/11 06:07:03
    M and Emma
    +1
    I don't like the timeline thing... :(
  • sash 2012/02/11 04:38:26
    sash
    +10
    I have not logged on to FB in months. FB is the best way to find out that the majority of your family and friends are boring, obnoxious, stupid, desperate for attention or that you just don't like them.
  • talia-emily govender 2012/02/10 17:59:36
    talia-emily govender
    im on whatsapp
  • Jodie Williams 2012/02/10 07:40:58
    Jodie Williams
    +5
    http://www.causes.com/causes/...

    join our cause if you are a facebook member and hate the facebook timeline!
  • Anonymous 2012/02/09 22:54:55
    Anonymous
    I use unthink.com
    Check it out! you will love it!
  • Glee_ky 2012/02/09 17:41:14
    Glee_ky
    +1
    I like it. You can make your profile much more personal that way.
  • merlin 2012/02/09 14:37:45
    merlin
    +3
    Well if you don't like peanuts! Don't eat them. If you don't like facebook's Time line or were facebook is going! Its elementary! elementary my dear watson Don't use it.
  • sglmom 2012/02/09 07:29:49
    sglmom
    +2
    The only reason I even have an account is that the Organizations I belong to and volunteer with have their schedules of events listed on FB ..
  • merlin sglmom 2012/02/09 14:40:09
    merlin
    +1
    I only use it now to talk to my kids in maine;-]
  • arief Cerberus Lucifer 2012/02/08 22:30:58
    arief Cerberus Lucifer
    no coment
  • Rocko 2012/02/08 15:32:06
    Rocko
    dont use fb alot anyways
  • Ghostwolf1968 2012/02/08 15:18:16
    Ghostwolf1968
    Honestly everything you put on the net is out there somewhere's anyways floating around in cyberspace. I can find stuff that I posted on FB from the date I started. Timeline just's makes it easier to find it.
  • Jack Deltr Ghostwo... 2012/05/21 22:32:36
    Jack Deltr
    You can only find it if you have the time to put up with it locking up and timing out all the time making the new time line all most unusable I try and go back over 3 years and it just locks up and times out
  • Koshka 2012/02/07 20:10:23 (edited)
    Koshka
    +3
    Timeline makes you have no privacy.
    I don't want people looking what I posted many years ago.
    I also hate the 2 column design. It looks god awful.
    What was facebook CEOs thinking?

    I ended up making a new account so my past posts and statues won't be visible... *sigh*
  • Bat Outta Hell 2012/02/07 13:17:25
    Bat Outta Hell
    +4
    The Timeline sucks. I'm paranoid anyway and so to me, it just seemed like a uniformly organized way for governmemt to easily view things about our lives.. O.o
  • Koshka Bat Out... 2012/02/07 20:11:41
    Koshka
    +2
    I know! It's scary... T_T
  • merlin Bat Out... 2012/02/09 14:42:13
  • Andrew 2012/02/07 06:16:42
    Andrew
    +1
    I think facebook is becoming so two years ago.
  • sai.thriller 2012/02/06 10:11:22
    sai.thriller
    +1
    i juz deactivated my account!!!
    its too much of time waste :P
  • AlunD33 2012/02/05 16:32:21
    AlunD33
    +3
    Don't like the new time line on FB, AT ALL!
    But, I'm hooked.
  • merlin AlunD33 2012/02/09 14:44:48
  • 2226693 2012/02/05 09:15:25
  • 2226693 2226693 2012/02/05 09:17:37
  • 2226693 2226693 2012/02/05 09:18:56
  • merlin 2226693 2012/02/09 14:48:32
    merlin
    +2
    Damn somebody that thinks for them selves! WoW! they are out there;-]
    Super Rave
  • Jack Deltr 2226693 2012/05/21 22:35:08
    Jack Deltr
    Then let the Customers KNOW we the Product are unhappy and will not spend the time to read there adds
  • mylegs 2226693 2012/02/07 12:07:31
    mylegs
    +3
    ...you do realize over half of the people on Facebook got into Facebook because it requires little effort to understand and is simple? I mean that was Facebook's whole idea. It's like selling "easy squeeze cheese" then coming out with a version that requires 30 steps to make (ok not that bad but you get my point). btw mastering Facebook and Twitter will not help your computer skills either.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/26 09:17:31

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals