Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Raise the Minimum Wage

News 2013/03/08 00:00:00
Earlier this week, a group of businesses came out in support of Congress’ bill to raise the U.S. minimum wage, which was a surprising move given the historical opposition from the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and businesses in general. However, the L.A. Times wanted to know what YOU thought about the proposal, so they asked and you answered.

The majority of you (68%) ruled that the U.S. should increase the minimum wage. That's a pretty big lead, but within the demographics there were definitely groups that felt just as strongly that the minimum wage should stay the same. Read on to get the full scoop...



WOMEN SAY "YAY", MEN SAY "NAY"

The most interesting divide here was between the genders. At the time this article was written, 70% of females voted "Yes" to increase it, while the majority of males (55%) disagreed. Perhaps the men represented here believe more in "pulling yourself up by your own bootstraps" while women tend to have more empathy -- especially when it comes to single mothers struggling to make enough money to support their families.

AGE DIFFERENCES

Age predictably made a big difference in this poll. 13-17 year olds (82%), 18-24 year olds (60%) and 25-34 year olds (71%) supported the minimum wage increase, while the older demographics were more evenly split. Plus, the majority (57%) of users 65 years old and above voted to keep the wages the same. Younger people usually have jobs that pay minimum wage so it makes since that the 13-17 year olds would be the biggest supporters.

IT COMES DOWN TO POLITICS

The political divide on this question is one of the biggest we've seen in awhile -- a whopping 95% of liberals voted "Yes" to increase minimum wage, while 85% of conservatives voted "No." The split itself isn't at all surprising, but it goes to show that your view of macroeconomics is influenced more by your political party than by your gender, age group, income or any other demographic.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit the LA Times poll about minimum wage. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Fef 2013/03/08 00:56:56
    Fef
    +24

    Fools! Bleeding hearts don't realize that raising the minimum wage doesn't work. It only increases unemployment. You can see that those who "care" about lower-income have no idea how to employ those people.

    why not raise the minimum wage to $50 per hour??!? Costco and other companies that pay above minimum wage can ruin smaller businesses that can only survive by paying minimum wage.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Zoomie 2013/07/24 04:48:18
    Zoomie
    Absolutely!

    First, there is ZERO evidence raising the minimum wage results in slower economic growth (quite the opposite, as it puts more money into the hands of those most likely to spend it, stimulating the economy), or reduces employement (again, quite the opposite, as the increased spending results in increased sales, resulting in increased demand for product production).

    Second, in constant inflation adjusted dollars, the minimum wage is now at its lowest level since about 1978! You'd think after 35 years of mostly GOP economic policy we could afford to pay a little bit more than we were paying 35 years ago!

    Last, all we ever hear about is how corporations are simply sitting on literally trillions in cash, refusing to invest it or use it to create jobs (so much for the job creators creating!). They can take a fraction of 1% of that cash and use it to pay people a better salary.
  • rickyr059 2013/04/25 21:01:18
    rickyr059
    A billion dollar employer can afford to raise the minimum wage.
  • Grammar Freak 2013/03/31 01:03:47
    Grammar Freak
    It's a hell of a way to increase government revenue through income taxation.
  • juanito 2013/03/21 17:23:43
    juanito
    Minimum wage is part of regulations. Those who opose regulations can try drive a car on this days roads without trafic control devices such a signs, lights etc. First. All I see must be decentralized on cooperative system out of reach ours money by central control as is in Switzerland. Minimu wage must have 3 stages: 1, to 18 years old, example $6/h. 2, 18-25 years old $10/h. Over 25 $15. There should be 4 zones to add premium for cost of living.
    There will be courage to hire young and inexperienced people due lower minimum wage. But father will not hang out family on welfare. Also all benefits must be taken out of employer and must be choosen by employees.
    Average Walmart cost taxpayers $ 200,000/ year as we pay welfare for employees and families. In 2009 Ohio spent $600 milion on welfare of 50 biggest employers in state.

    Go to wikipedia and check minimum wages in countries: Austria, Scandinavia, Benelux, Switzerland, Canada and Mexico. Average minimum wage in Scandinavian countries is above $ 18/ hour. Check this countries GDP and standard of living, taxation. There is no students loans up there, no extra health care cost.

    In 1950's and 60's arround 50% of jobs were unionized. Today single digit. To see how workers did then and now check Toil index.

    To wide angle of vi...
    Minimum wage is part of regulations. Those who opose regulations can try drive a car on this days roads without trafic control devices such a signs, lights etc. First. All I see must be decentralized on cooperative system out of reach ours money by central control as is in Switzerland. Minimu wage must have 3 stages: 1, to 18 years old, example $6/h. 2, 18-25 years old $10/h. Over 25 $15. There should be 4 zones to add premium for cost of living.
    There will be courage to hire young and inexperienced people due lower minimum wage. But father will not hang out family on welfare. Also all benefits must be taken out of employer and must be choosen by employees.
    Average Walmart cost taxpayers $ 200,000/ year as we pay welfare for employees and families. In 2009 Ohio spent $600 milion on welfare of 50 biggest employers in state.

    Go to wikipedia and check minimum wages in countries: Austria, Scandinavia, Benelux, Switzerland, Canada and Mexico. Average minimum wage in Scandinavian countries is above $ 18/ hour. Check this countries GDP and standard of living, taxation. There is no students loans up there, no extra health care cost.

    In 1950's and 60's arround 50% of jobs were unionized. Today single digit. To see how workers did then and now check Toil index.

    To wide angle of view check this link.
    http://beforeitsnews.com/heal...
    (more)
  • juanito juanito 2013/03/21 17:33:13
    juanito
    The United States Has Mexico….and Sweden Has US. Ikea..this putatively generous and worker-friendly company has stunned everyone—both in the U.S. and Sweden—by doing an imitation of Wal-Mart.They lowered the starting hourly wage from $9.75 per hour to $8.00 per hour (the federal minimum is $7.25) , and began forcing people to work inordinate amounts of overtime. As for vacation, Ikea employees in Sweden get 5-weeks paid leave per year; in Danville, workers get 12 days—eight of them assigned by the company.
    https://www.commondreams.org/...

    But: Vox populi vox dei. Voice of people voice of god. Americans like it as is. And this is great sign that everything is right.

    How come Costco can threat workers on human level and still make shareholders and workers happy?
  • 2013/03/17 18:50:03
    minimum wage debate is really moot, it is just a band aid, until you get rid of corruption in gov/corporations/banking industry, until you reverse gafta, nafta and all these other globalists treaties or whatever they are minimum wage means nothing. prices go up due to many factors, inflation, printing money out of thin air, high interest rates for average borrowers (unless your a friend in washington you can get it for free)high taxes across the board, regulatory red tape and costs from that, if the average joe could keep most of his money and not pay any income taxes say under 50,000 per year for couple, take away subsides to mega corporations who move their captial and industry over seas to avoid taxes, let them flounder on their own, and remove poverty programs to bare minimum, then maybe minimum wage wouldn't need to be raised as there would be more businesses opening up and more people willing to work since they get to keep most of the fruitage of their labors and thus there will be more competition for labor and hence wages will go up without any mandates at all, but I guess logic is contrary to the ultimate goal of the agenda 21 crowd (who are probably the bankers and corporations and rulers etc and niave lackeys) by the way by removing subsides from mega corp that wou...
    minimum wage debate is really moot, it is just a band aid, until you get rid of corruption in gov/corporations/banking industry, until you reverse gafta, nafta and all these other globalists treaties or whatever they are minimum wage means nothing. prices go up due to many factors, inflation, printing money out of thin air, high interest rates for average borrowers (unless your a friend in washington you can get it for free)high taxes across the board, regulatory red tape and costs from that, if the average joe could keep most of his money and not pay any income taxes say under 50,000 per year for couple, take away subsides to mega corporations who move their captial and industry over seas to avoid taxes, let them flounder on their own, and remove poverty programs to bare minimum, then maybe minimum wage wouldn't need to be raised as there would be more businesses opening up and more people willing to work since they get to keep most of the fruitage of their labors and thus there will be more competition for labor and hence wages will go up without any mandates at all, but I guess logic is contrary to the ultimate goal of the agenda 21 crowd (who are probably the bankers and corporations and rulers etc and niave lackeys) by the way by removing subsides from mega corp that would include military subsides as in securing resources in other lands for them so they can exploit it, (hence wars would decrease and that is the un's goal right)they would have to make deals iwth the gov in those countries and actually give equal consideration for the people there instead of using publically funded military (both in dollars and blood) to do it for them, by pushing violently people off their lands. using military to protect the infrastructure of the corporations too, but frankly I don't see any good coming out any of this anyway. these problems are way above any solution man can try to bring forth. devine intervention is the only way.
    (more)
  • juirsh 2013/03/13 18:15:01
    juirsh
    +1
    uuuuuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhh do people realize what happens when the minimum wage goes up, guess whatr else does tooo, taxes ya idiots!!!!!
  • Magus BN-0 juirsh 2013/03/14 01:18:38
    Magus BN-0
    There's no connection between raising the minimum wage and higher taxes.
  • juirsh Magus BN-0 2013/03/15 03:19:45
    juirsh
    +1
    True in direct format; indirectly definitely false on this one. Every time the minimum wage is increased, stupid democratic lawmakers think that revenue must be wildly increasing, unfortunately the company has to make up for this thus they raise the prices and cut costs. Before that happens however, democratic bozo lawmakers think that they need to tax heavier. No connection, please, I basically make minimum wage. I see the system right in front of me as every time my wage increases I SEE THE SAME AMOUNT ON MY CHECK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • LeroyRogers 2013/03/13 17:36:53
    LeroyRogers
    +2
    lets put more business's out of business. a big mac will cost you $15.
  • Major Mel 2013/03/13 16:34:39
    Major Mel
    +2
    What we should really focus on is raising the minimum intelligence in America today!The so-called educational 'system' is broken beyond belief. Real history isn't being taught, 'Modern' education (government funded) mostly pumps out propaganda designed to make us into nice little passive and compliant robots.
  • MR. U.S.M.C 2013/03/13 12:57:17
  • Sheila MR. U.S... 2013/03/13 14:24:50
    Sheila
    +2
    How far? And to who's benefit?
  • BloodlessVeins 2013/03/13 04:09:52
    BloodlessVeins
    +2
    No, don't raise the minimum wage. I'm still getting thru fine and dandy, you just gotta plan better.
  • bryant 2013/03/13 02:05:02
    bryant
    +4
    It shoukd be determined by cost of living. Were in texas it could stay around 7.25 & in states such as california it could def increase
  • Sheila bryant 2013/03/13 14:24:08
    Sheila
    +1
    But every time the min wage goes up so does the cost of living... So then we raise it again? vicious cycle anyone?
  • Magus BN-0 Sheila 2013/03/14 01:19:19
    Magus BN-0
    Wrong. Higher minimum wage does not in any way increase the cost of living.
  • Sheila Magus BN-0 2013/03/14 15:02:09
    Sheila
    How do you figure? EVERY time it goes up so does everything we buy from services like day care to gas to milk... DIRECTLY related to the raise in MW.
  • Magus BN-0 Sheila 2013/03/14 22:58:23
    Magus BN-0
    +1
    No, that's just the false claim that gets spread by opponents of the minimum wage.
  • Sheila Magus BN-0 2013/03/15 01:57:54
    Sheila
    +1
    Funny how the day care center I used to use did exactly that. So did soooo many other things it is not even worth discussing. You will NEVER admit it happens let alone the direct cause and effect situation, so I will simply say good evening and leave you with a bit of light reading.

    Economists call this phenomenon cost-push inflation. An increase in the federal minimum wage did create an increase in production costs, which subsequently resulted in an inflated price for consumers.
  • Magus BN-0 Sheila 2013/03/15 02:09:54
    Magus BN-0
    Except for the little problem that the minimum wage didn't increase production costs, nor did it inflate prices.
  • Sheila Magus BN-0 2013/03/15 02:20:42
    Sheila
    That is debatable. Totally depends oh how you look at it. I see it "right" and you see it "left" and both sides have studies to back them. So I left you with a line I think sums it up, and the info on what I saw personally after the last raise.
  • Mike 2013/03/13 01:22:05
    Mike
    +1
    I am for raising opportunities, not the minumum wage or at least not at this time. There are too many people out of work now!
  • Sheila 2013/03/12 18:49:31
    Sheila
    +2
    I have one question for everyone who believes this will help anyone. If you can give me an answer that makes sense i will consider changing my mind.

    IF raising the min wage is actually effective in HELPING US then why not make it $25 an hour and be done with it???
  • Mike Sheila 2013/03/13 01:27:54
    Mike
    +1
    Your answer: Raising the minumum wage with the current high unemployment rate means that doing so will kill more jobs and hurt small business. Yes people are hurting due to inflation, but not having jobs hurts more! We need opportunities, not a raise in minumum wage at this time.
  • Sheila Mike 2013/03/13 14:22:20
    Sheila
    That is one of the MANY reasons NOT to raise it. I have asked that before during a "heated class discussion" and it really made people who thought they were for a raise in mw reconsider their opinion.

    A second reason NOT to is that every time we do raise it the price of EVERYTHING we use (day care to a mickey d's burger) go up. For the few who did get a raise that means it was totally negated and for those who didnt they suffer the higher prices for naught.
  • Mike Sheila 2013/03/13 15:58:21
    Mike
    +1
    I could not agree with you more!!! Raising the minumum wage with high unemployment is counter productive for an economic recovery. What about all those seniors who are on fixed incomes? They suffer the most from record high inflation!
  • Sheila Mike 2013/03/13 16:42:17
    Sheila
    +1
    Very true. The dems accuse the (R)'s of wanting to force grandma to eat dog food... Yet rarely is it the (R)s who propose the things that are capable of forcing that move.
  • Gray Parks 2013/03/12 18:25:06
  • Mike Gray Parks 2013/03/13 01:30:37
    Mike
    +1
    I agree with you! It doesn't seem like there will be the right time with the way things are going!
  • juirsh Gray Parks 2013/03/13 18:20:20
    juirsh
    +1
    Anytime the government tells the employer to raise the minimum wage it sees the income rise thus they want more taxes!!! WHat don't you people get?
  • Gray Parks juirsh 2013/03/13 18:29:49
  • Sheila Gray Parks 2013/03/14 15:06:55
    Sheila
    Don't know if he is but I am yes. It should be up to the market to set the wage. Up to a person to decide if they are willing and able to work at any job for any amount of money...
  • Gray Parks Sheila 2013/03/14 16:27:43
  • Sheila Gray Parks 2013/03/14 17:24:33
    Sheila
    I am saying that if said employee is willing to work for that then yes you should be allowed to pay them that. CHOICE is the very most basic building block of freedom.

    The same law that stops you from paying someone that also says that the person who may be willing to work for that will now be an unemployment stat if the 5hr was all the business had TO pay. 5/Hr beats nada if those are the choices. Illegal immigration is the problem there. Stop that and you will have a level playing field.
  • Gray Parks Sheila 2013/03/14 17:42:10
  • Sheila Gray Parks 2013/03/14 19:08:56
    Sheila
    +1
    Employers usually do pay fair wages because with employees as everything else, you get what ya pay for! ;-)

    My original answer to the poll was a question. It was IF this is the solution why not just raise it to 25/hr and be done with it?

    I like your avatar!
  • Gray Parks Sheila 2013/03/14 17:43:17
  • juirsh Gray Parks 2013/03/15 03:20:04
  • juirsh juirsh 2013/03/15 03:20:56
    juirsh
    I just knew the light bulb would come on!! I just knew it!!!
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 18 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/09/19 03:50:06

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals