Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Obama Doesn't Deserve 'Person of the Year'

News 2012/12/20 22:00:00
TIME named its 2012 Person of the Year this month and, as expected, the President took the title. Why is that expected? Well, mostly because every president since FDR has received the title (with the exception of Gerald Ford). Plus, this is Obama's second time receiving the title. But again, that's usually how it goes -- George W. Bush, Bill Clinton, Ronald Reagan, most of the guys who served multiple terms also received multiple titles. But we wanted to know if the public thinks Obama deserves it.



We should probably mention that "Person of the Year" does not necessarily mean "best" person of the year, but rather "most influential." One commenter noted, "Remember some other TMPOTY winners? Well Hitler, Stalin, and Arafat are a few other winners." However, based on the comments, it seems most people are simply unimpressed with TIME's method of selection. It's a strange selection process, and the fact that every president gets it kind of detracts from the meaning anyway.

Liberals Approve

Even though TIME notes that they make their pick based on influence "for better or for worse," most people on the left and right took it to be an act of approval. Naturally, liberal voters were overwhelmingly supportive of the selection and conservatives were overwhelmingly disappointed with it. One voter wrote, "The semantics of the qualities for being picked falls on deaf ears."

The Military Is Unimpressed

There was a lot of variation in the career industry breakdown, so we wanted to take a look at some of the most and least supportive groups that had a reasonable sample size. Approximately 5% of respondents listed their career as "Military," and they were among the least impressed. Only 23% of them felt Obama deserved the title; "Arts & Entertainment" also made up about 5%, but 56% of them liked the selection.

Divided Youth

Typically in polls like this, young people lean more to the left. However, this time the majority of respondents in every single age group voted against the selection. To be fair, teens and young adults were more supportive than other groups, but only by a margin of about 10%. However, respondents in the 25-34 range -- still relatively young -- were actually least supportive.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about TIME's Person of the Year. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • stevegtexas@aol.com 2013/03/07 15:30:25
  • CorrectOpinion 2013/02/03 17:40:40
    CorrectOpinion
    Obama is half white, and is racist towards whites. Hitler was half Jew and racist towards Jews. Spock was half human and really didn't like them too much either. It must be tough having a mixture so , shall we say.....black and white.
  • knothead 2013/01/18 12:06:28
    knothead
    Impeach the lying, socialist, markist, foreigner! Send him back to Kenya now witout any of his ill gotten goods or he has since he arrved in this country. Hes destroying this contry.
  • jordan.cotter3 2013/01/06 15:11:15
    jordan.cotter3
    What has he done to deserve it? And how did he get it over that young girl in the middle east fighting for women's rights who go shot up?
  • yojer 2013/01/04 17:21:35
    yojer
    In the end does it really matter? Just another popularity poll to distinguish one group's permissive consent from another's dissenting discontent. Had it any bearing on actual performance or competence (look to congress and thier numbers) then perhaps there would be a point to it. But.. we must talk about something right??
  • Lanikai 2013/01/02 22:33:35
    Lanikai
    No, he doesn't. Not when there are Wounded Warriors doing big things. And a little girl from Afghanistan who survived a taliban attack,. And real people out there making a difference in the world. That POS deserves nothing more than a one way ticket back to kenya'
  • Casey 2013/01/02 07:20:54
    Casey
    Next
  • golem48 2013/01/01 09:43:11
    golem48
    +2
    He deserves to be impeached..
  • Annie 2012/12/31 01:14:07
    Annie
    +4
    Have you noticed he is happiest around his communist buddies?

    obama thumbs up g20
  • Annie 2012/12/31 00:55:32
    Annie
    +3
    Obama is unAmerican and seeks only to destroy what it stands for. He was re-elected only as a result of massive voter fraud -- primarily the voting machines. Sad sad times for America. Shame on the Republicans for not calling him out on that. Would have been nice to have a man who loved this country and wanted to save it in the White House - not this communist Muslim

    Reality is good can never win over evil -- because good has to play fair. Sucks.
  • Annie 2012/12/31 00:46:52
    Annie
    +2
    Obviously the Time Man of The Year Award has the same value as the Nobel Peace Prize Obama received before he was even elected. These awards are as much of a hoax as Obama is. Worst President ever.
  • MS PRUD 2012/12/31 00:27:11
    MS PRUD
    +3
    Worst President America has ever had.
  • bells 2012/12/28 18:11:26
    bells
    +2
    Bunch of crap,but not surprising
  • JeromefromLayton 2012/12/28 04:01:27
    JeromefromLayton
    +2
    Maybe he got it by running a superior AGITPROP operation. For the younger readers, this was the old Soviet Union's Agitation and Propaganda Bureau. Their main competition was Geobbels' Ministry of Propaganda. Here in the US Organized Labor's version was the Committee of Political Education (COPE). To come full circle, Obama's FORWARD! is an almost exact copy of the same slogan used by the COMINTERN, the Communist International which was Moscow's outreach effort.
  • hilllary 2012/12/27 22:44:24
    hilllary
    +3
    crap of the year in my opinion.
  • madsam 2012/12/27 21:14:41
    madsam
    +1
    Maybe the young have started to have had it with his lies.
  • achrisdvm 2012/12/27 19:37:57
    achrisdvm
    +5
    Not even close-he obviously is out to change this country into something
    we will not like-basically a welfare state His sly favoritism of muslim countries
    is also obvious to many
  • Michael8495 2012/12/27 17:37:56
    Michael8495
    +4
    My question is this, why the hell should Obama recieve that Title? Yes, he is the President, but he has done completely Nothing, that has benefited the United States. Now, some would say, "well, What about Health Care"? I say, what about health care? Do you pay for health care? You will, if you don't already. All Obama has done is said, every person will have health care in the United States, Hell we already have Healthcare, Now because of Obama, we have to pay a whole Lot more, so now tell me, do tou think he deserve that title of "Person of the Year"? Or, was it because he did Nothing but put America farther into debt, And still got re-elected? I am still scratching my head over that, and the only thing that I can come up with is, his people cheated their way back in, and got away with it, that is the only thing I can come up with, because he know that he doesn't deserve it. Now, look what the hell is going on, 16 Trillion dollars deficit, and about to go over the cliff, that is bad enough, but what the worst thing is, this President can't even take the blame for what he has done, he alway blames everyone else except where the blame is do, The President, that knows Nothing is to blame, and no one else. The reason why he blame's, is because he doesn't have the answer to fix w...
    My question is this, why the hell should Obama recieve that Title? Yes, he is the President, but he has done completely Nothing, that has benefited the United States. Now, some would say, "well, What about Health Care"? I say, what about health care? Do you pay for health care? You will, if you don't already. All Obama has done is said, every person will have health care in the United States, Hell we already have Healthcare, Now because of Obama, we have to pay a whole Lot more, so now tell me, do tou think he deserve that title of "Person of the Year"? Or, was it because he did Nothing but put America farther into debt, And still got re-elected? I am still scratching my head over that, and the only thing that I can come up with is, his people cheated their way back in, and got away with it, that is the only thing I can come up with, because he know that he doesn't deserve it. Now, look what the hell is going on, 16 Trillion dollars deficit, and about to go over the cliff, that is bad enough, but what the worst thing is, this President can't even take the blame for what he has done, he alway blames everyone else except where the blame is do, The President, that knows Nothing is to blame, and no one else. The reason why he blame's, is because he doesn't have the answer to fix what he has caused, so he point's his fingers, which he is pretty good at, and beside screwing up America, he has done nothing that has benefited the United States of America, so if the Lame, Time Magazine think this President deserve that title, I will say this, where once that title meant something means Nothing anymore, cause they have really picked the Bottom of the Barrel to come up with Obama as the "Person of the year", so now that title don't mean Nothin.
    (more)
  • Golden Panther 2012/12/27 17:02:07
    Golden Panther
    +6
    All that obumavich deserves is to do TIME, for all his nefarious plans, actions, and assorted criminal activity.
  • princesssong 2012/12/27 16:33:24
    princesssong
    +3
    What has he done to get that? Who paid them to do that? He surely has not done anything for the USA, maybe Russia, or the Muslims! but not for the USA
  • ronlevy 2012/12/27 00:59:14
    ronlevy
    +3
    A reward needs to have some value to it, not just gibberish. Time magazine is the mouthpiece of the corporate ruling clique. Of course anyone who bails out the megabanks and multinational corporations is going to be rewarded (and reappointed) to the hilt.
  • Barrie Boy 2012/12/26 23:52:16
    Barrie Boy
    +4
    I am still amazed that this man got elected, AGAIN, it cannot possible be on his record. As I have stated in the past there must be more people who voted who are on a government sponsored plan of some description than those that work full time every day and painfully pay their taxes than those that stay at home and use their Obama phone to order fast food delivered and pay for it with food stamps.
    To have Time magazine pick him as 'person of the year" is like allowing two wolves and a sheep to make the decision whats for super...
  • Lanikai Barrie Boy 2013/01/02 22:35:36
    Lanikai
    +1
    Voter fraud, illegals voting in record numbers and voting machines recording the wrong choice, as well as a Soros owned company being in charge of the voting machine counts.

    This election was stolen as sure as the Lord made little green apples.
  • Alyssa 2012/12/26 23:48:50
    Alyssa
    +2
    I'm a young adult, and liberal...but I would say that this title should have gone to someone...almost anyone else. Maybe the writers at TIME were tired or just didn't want to write about someone they didn't know anything about this holiday season.
  • Dan T. 2012/12/26 21:22:42
    Dan T.
    +3
    Anyone but Obummertard, example: Mickey Mouse, Daffy Duck, Elmer Fudd, etc.
  • Whatever 2012/12/26 16:31:07
    Whatever
    +6
    He deserves to be in prison for Treason!!!! Stupid ineligible SOB is destroying the country. And he provided weapons to Al Qaeda and other terrorists in Syria that were used to kill our Ambassador. And he stole the election - there are areas where he got over 100% of the vote - seriously, are you dumocrats that F***ING stupid to not recognize that as fraud? Or how about the 26 districts in Ohio that reported 100% of the vote going to Obama? Really? Or how 'bout the fact that he conveniently won every state that didn't require voter ID to vote? Coincidence?
  • Ron L Whatever 2012/12/27 15:36:40
    Ron L
    No.Are you to f___ring stupid to realize that's how despised the right is. That even with his (obama)flaws he still slaughtered plastic man.Your party is fast becoming irrelevant. Which is terrible because we need two parties but the tea party are just too ridiculous to be taken seriously.
  • BILL Ron L 2013/01/04 18:38:19
  • Delta 2012/12/26 16:05:21
    Delta
    +5
    This terrorist doesn't deserve anything but a rope.
  • wgossett99 2012/12/26 16:02:40
    wgossett99
    +3
    It is far from unusual for a US President to become Person of the Year. Obama is an excellent choice.

    Is there someone who was more influential this past year?
  • Delta wgossett99 2012/12/26 16:08:28
    Delta
    +5
    What are you from south America or just ignorant and can't read?
  • wgossett99 Delta 2012/12/26 16:13:21
    wgossett99
    +1
    Yo, Miss Manners,

    Name a better choice.
  • princes... wgossett99 2012/12/27 16:38:18
    princesssong
    +3
    WHO has he influenced? PLEASE answer that one. He has done nothing but destroy the USA. We are being laughed at all over the World. People are not working, can pay there bills, losing there homes. What has HE DONE FOR US?? Pat the Russians hands, Kiss up to the Saudi's ( as he is Muslim) Side with Syria.. Please help me here.. You have to be asleep to not notice what is going on..
  • BILL wgossett99 2012/12/29 15:59:07
  • wgossett99 BILL 2012/12/31 17:09:48
    wgossett99
    +1
    Jessie who? Al Who?
  • BILL wgossett99 2013/01/01 15:45:18
  • wgossett99 BILL 2013/01/03 17:06:32
    wgossett99
    Remember, the Time POY is a subjective choice and not any type of award. The main criteria is who is the most NEWSWORTHY person on the planet for that year. Obama being re-elected while the US economy is still fragile is very newsworthy.

    I'm a bit of a news junkie. I don't recall hearing Jackson's or Sharpton's name much if at all last year.
  • BILL wgossett99 2013/01/04 00:16:04
  • wgossett99 BILL 2013/01/04 14:47:15
    wgossett99
    I remember it well. The jackass that killed Trayvon should be convicted and jailed for manslaughter. But for all the posturing Sharpton and Jackson did, they didn't produce results. They just made noise.

    (BTW - If you check out some of my other responses, you will find that I am a huge Obama supporter - very liberal/progressive. But I also expect people to get what they EARN thru effort and accomplishment.)
  • souther... wgossett99 2013/02/07 03:17:28
    southernrhyme
    +2
    Elmer Fudd
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/29 18:56:11

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals