Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Obama and Jimmy Kimmel Were Equally Funny at the White House Dinner

News 2012/05/01 16:00:00
Jimmy Kimmel does comedy for a living, but he had some pretty stiff competition when President Obama took the stage at the White House Correspondents' Dinner on Saturday. At one point, the president played a mock smear ad accusing himself of eating dog in Indonesia -- a poke at the Romney-Obama media dogfight. He joked about getting drunk texts from Hillary Clinton, alluding to a recent photo of her texting that went viral. He even faked a repeat of the "hot mic" slip up at the Nuclear Security Summit in Seoul, asking "off the record" why he was wasting time there. We asked the public if he was funnier than Kimmel, the headlining comedian.



Despite Kimmel's profession, he was neck-and-neck with the President. Granted, they probably both had some polished staff writers on hand, but that's beside the point. Both men delivered their spiels and delivered them well. One commenter who favored Kimmel wrote, "The pro beats the amateur nearly every time. Obama has good speech writers but JK has good comedy writers." One who favored Obama wrote, "Comedy is a bonus perk provided by a president. Kimmel is a professional funnyman -- different scale used here."

Conservatives Go With Kimmel

Okay, let's not act like politics didn't play a part on this. When we broke it down by political leaning, there was an obvious bias on both sides: 68% of conservatives went with Kimmel and 74% of liberals went with Obama. Libertarians and progressives were even more pronounced. If we're to judge by the moderate vote, it goes to Obama by about 10%.

Youth for Obama

It's well-known that Obama's campaign appeals to younger audiences, and the results are evidence that his staff is still doing a good job of keeping it that way. However, the cutoff age was about 25, which is just six years of voting-age constituents. Not enough to win an election but more than enough to get a spot on prime time. Next up, "Conan"?

Kimmel Does Well With the Ladies

For a guy who used to co-host "The Man Show" with Adam Carolla, Jimmy did pretty well with the female vote. We don't expect women were his primary audience then, what with the trampoline girls and all but he kept it (mostly) classy at the White House Correspondents' Dinner. Maybe we should be more surprised that he lacked support in the male category.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Obama and Kimmel. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • "Shooter" ™ 2012/05/01 20:39:43 (edited)
    "Shooter" ™
    +13
    Let's have some fun while millions of people don't have jobs, more people on welfare than ever and also food stamps and we owe trillions to China!!! Hahahahaha!!!! Let's have more fun!!!

    What in the f........ have we come to???? and the whole world is laughing at us!!

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • ☆ Queen... Cool Wil 2012/05/01 23:26:51
    ☆ QueenAline
    +1
    I agree 100%..he is sick...obama admired? HA./.he's the laghing stock of the world
  • Cool Wil ☆ Queen... 2012/05/29 18:17:14
    Cool Wil
    +2
    There are a certain group of people who worship at the feet of this phoney,
    If they can't see the harm he is doing,They haven't been looking!
  • CODE 11 Biggerjake 2012/05/01 17:31:45
    CODE 11
    +2
    He is so popular with Muslims...Al-Queda was planning on killing him.

    When they say what happened to the Republicans..They mean how could this idiot have gotten elected.
  • ☆ Queen... CODE 11 2012/05/01 23:28:53
    ☆ QueenAline
    Al Queda is probably still trying...after the great deed he claims to have done....all by his signature, and an OK
  • spike66 Biggerjake 2012/05/01 17:58:23
    spike66
    +2
    Dementia ...its not just for the elderly.
  • spike66 Biggerjake 2012/05/01 18:03:34
    spike66
    +2
    Of coarse socialist Europe loves him, pretty sure the Muslims do....north Korea, iran, china, Russia definitely love his weak foreign policies ....u may just be right.
  • LindaM Biggerjake 2012/05/01 18:04:29
    LindaM
    The two coolest presidents are Clinton and Obama..
  • spike66 LindaM 2012/05/01 18:23:46
    spike66
    +3
    One thinks its cool to defile the sanctity of marriage by jamming a cigar up some whores snatch...the other thinks its cool to crap all over the constitution and America herself....surprised u didn't add Kennedy to your cool list..he only double teamed poor Marilyn, then had her killed....wow...what heros.
  • LindaM spike66 2012/05/01 18:31:22
    LindaM
    Calm down now. It's ok.
  • spike66 LindaM 2012/05/02 05:21:56
    spike66
    Sad thing is, u really do think its OK.
  • drdos1943 LindaM 2012/05/01 19:21:15 (edited)
    drdos1943
    +2
    I can actually agree with you on Clinton. Hopefully, you will come out of your coma by November when it comes to Obama.
  • RastaFan Biggerjake 2012/05/01 18:44:55
    RastaFan
    +1
    The world doesn't love him. Only certain parts of the world love him, that being any of the parts where America is hated. They adore him there. They know he's come to destroy America.

    The rest think he's a waste of skin. He's a Marxist asskisser who is allying with Radical Islam. It's a despicable abuse of the power the Democrats have been given to them.
  • ☆ Queen... RastaFan 2012/05/01 23:31:54
    ☆ QueenAline
    +1
    the world is laughing it's ass off at him
  • drdos1943 Biggerjake 2012/05/01 19:18:26
    drdos1943
    +1
    I believe that you had better start taking notice to international news media...not our own.
  • ☆ Queen... spike66 2012/05/01 23:25:31
    ☆ QueenAline
    +1
    crystal clear
  • RastaFan 2012/05/01 16:40:26 (edited)
    RastaFan
    +3
    I suppose when you have an audience of attention whorish accolytes at an Asskissing Media Dinner, you're not exactly playing hardball. Actually the funniest thing is that they still call themselves 'Correspondents'.

    Still, the audience did have to muster up some real acting ability I suppose, because there is nothing funny about that disgusting puke of a president.
  • WinterLynn RastaFan 2012/05/01 16:51:10
  • denny 2012/05/01 16:37:49
    denny
    +2
    just trying to take every ones mind off the gas prices no jobs health care prices. the real things odumbo should be worryed about
  • Muriel 2012/05/01 16:23:28
    Muriel
    +2
    Who really cares? What a waste of time.
  • ☆ Queen... Muriel 2012/05/01 23:35:25
    ☆ QueenAline
    Who really cares Muriel? YOU should...It's YOUR future, your childrens future, and your grand childrens future here...This man will see to it that you won't recognize the life you are at liberty to enjoy today...WAKE UP, OPEN YOUR EYES and YOUR EARS...God, please wake these sheeple up before it's too late.
  • Simi Dave 2012/05/01 16:22:35
    Simi Dave
    +1
    They are equally matched. They're both funny as hell (free health care for everyone, AND IT COSTS LESS?!?! That's some funny stuff there!), and neither can run a country.
  • StanK 2012/05/01 16:22:20
    StanK
    +1
    Or maybe we should just admit what this really means; neither are funny (and thus "equally" funny").
  • TruXter 2012/05/01 16:19:34
    TruXter
    +1
    His writers were funny. His writers.
  • Rdtourist 2012/05/01 16:11:26
    Rdtourist
    +3
    Who bloody cares! We did NOT elect an entertainer, we supposedly elected a leader of a nation.
  • Syrinx69 Rdtourist 2012/05/01 16:16:26
    Syrinx69
    +2
    Who wants a leader who doesn't have a sense of humor? Oh that's right - brandead, witless conservatards.
  • carol.m... Syrinx69 2012/05/01 16:22:40
    carol.morgan89
    +1
    Agree! Seriously, if a leader can't make fun or himself and uptight all the time, guess what, no ones gonna have any fun and that includes everyday people. Everyone would be asking ' whats up his @$$, can't he take a joke?" at least he's able to make fun of himself.
  • spike66 Syrinx69 2012/05/01 16:45:57
    spike66
    That would be braindead Einstein ....idiot.
  • Jerry Syrinx69 2012/05/01 17:18:12
    Jerry
    +1
    Surely; you don't really believe this sitting President is a "Leader"
  • ☆ Queen... Syrinx69 2012/05/01 23:36:42
    ☆ QueenAline
    +1
    there's a difference between having a sense of humor, and being and making an ass out of yourself.
  • CODE 11 Rdtourist 2012/05/01 17:33:48
    CODE 11
    +1
    Boy did we screw up
  • LindaM Rdtourist 2012/05/01 18:16:37
    LindaM
    As I recall, every president has had a correspondents dinner where they were mostly funny. Some, not so.. But they did have fun. By your standards that shouldn't be the case, right? You must be boring too.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/27 13:13:36

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals