Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Obama and Jimmy Kimmel Were Equally Funny at the White House Dinner

News 2012/05/01 16:00:00
Jimmy Kimmel does comedy for a living, but he had some pretty stiff competition when President Obama took the stage at the White House Correspondents' Dinner on Saturday. At one point, the president played a mock smear ad accusing himself of eating dog in Indonesia -- a poke at the Romney-Obama media dogfight. He joked about getting drunk texts from Hillary Clinton, alluding to a recent photo of her texting that went viral. He even faked a repeat of the "hot mic" slip up at the Nuclear Security Summit in Seoul, asking "off the record" why he was wasting time there. We asked the public if he was funnier than Kimmel, the headlining comedian.



Despite Kimmel's profession, he was neck-and-neck with the President. Granted, they probably both had some polished staff writers on hand, but that's beside the point. Both men delivered their spiels and delivered them well. One commenter who favored Kimmel wrote, "The pro beats the amateur nearly every time. Obama has good speech writers but JK has good comedy writers." One who favored Obama wrote, "Comedy is a bonus perk provided by a president. Kimmel is a professional funnyman -- different scale used here."

Conservatives Go With Kimmel

Okay, let's not act like politics didn't play a part on this. When we broke it down by political leaning, there was an obvious bias on both sides: 68% of conservatives went with Kimmel and 74% of liberals went with Obama. Libertarians and progressives were even more pronounced. If we're to judge by the moderate vote, it goes to Obama by about 10%.

Youth for Obama

It's well-known that Obama's campaign appeals to younger audiences, and the results are evidence that his staff is still doing a good job of keeping it that way. However, the cutoff age was about 25, which is just six years of voting-age constituents. Not enough to win an election but more than enough to get a spot on prime time. Next up, "Conan"?

Kimmel Does Well With the Ladies

For a guy who used to co-host "The Man Show" with Adam Carolla, Jimmy did pretty well with the female vote. We don't expect women were his primary audience then, what with the trampoline girls and all but he kept it (mostly) classy at the White House Correspondents' Dinner. Maybe we should be more surprised that he lacked support in the male category.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Obama and Kimmel. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • "Shooter" E-7 ™ 2012/05/01 20:39:43 (edited)
    "Shooter" E-7 ™
    +13
    Let's have some fun while millions of people don't have jobs, more people on welfare than ever and also food stamps and we owe trillions to China!!! Hahahahaha!!!! Let's have more fun!!!

    What in the f........ have we come to???? and the whole world is laughing at us!!

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Eamon Early 2012/05/18 18:52:35
    Eamon Early
    RON PAUL 2012
    NOW ON TO OBAMA-

    Obama signed NDAA which ends posse comitatus
    Obama signed the National Defense Resources Preparedness Act which gives him the power to nationalize any industry at any time
    Obama affirmed his support for the Patriot Act which nullifies the Bill of Rights
    Obama said verbatum "the constitution is outdated.." and "flawed"
    Obama said the Supreme Court has failed to "break free from the essential constraints that were placed by the founding fathers in the constitution
    Obama said the Warren court was insufficiently radical
    Obama said the courts have failed to enforce redistributive change
    Obama said the legislature is the more effective forum for bringing about economic justice and the redistribution of wealth
    Obama said that courts have failed to enforce politically correct thought processes and economic equalization on the populace, and therefore the government must do so through legislation.
    Obama sanctioned the Fast and Furious gun running scheme which undermines American security
    Obama used tax payer money to fund the same green companies that contributed to his election campaign and then they went bankrupt - i.e. - solyndra
    Obama sanctions the assassination of American citizens
    Obama starts illegal undeclared wars under the guise of...












    RON PAUL 2012
    NOW ON TO OBAMA-

    Obama signed NDAA which ends posse comitatus
    Obama signed the National Defense Resources Preparedness Act which gives him the power to nationalize any industry at any time
    Obama affirmed his support for the Patriot Act which nullifies the Bill of Rights
    Obama said verbatum "the constitution is outdated.." and "flawed"
    Obama said the Supreme Court has failed to "break free from the essential constraints that were placed by the founding fathers in the constitution
    Obama said the Warren court was insufficiently radical
    Obama said the courts have failed to enforce redistributive change
    Obama said the legislature is the more effective forum for bringing about economic justice and the redistribution of wealth
    Obama said that courts have failed to enforce politically correct thought processes and economic equalization on the populace, and therefore the government must do so through legislation.
    Obama sanctioned the Fast and Furious gun running scheme which undermines American security
    Obama used tax payer money to fund the same green companies that contributed to his election campaign and then they went bankrupt - i.e. - solyndra
    Obama sanctions the assassination of American citizens
    Obama starts illegal undeclared wars under the guise of humanitarianism and which only result in civil war and dead women and children
    Obama said he was going to get us out of Iraq and then leaves a billion dollar embassy and 20,000 "contractors"
    Obama still has us in Afghanistan
    Obama has us in Libya, Kenya, Yemen, Somalia, Syria, etc. etc.
    Obama wants to go to war with Iran because "Iranian leaders want to wipe Israel from the map" even though Israel's own deputy prime minister has said that this is a mistranslation and not true.
    Today, it was revealed that Obama's OFFICIAL authorized bio for 16 years up until 2007 said he was BORN IN KENYA http://www.infowars.com/offic...
    Obama's social security number on his select services card has a Connecticut prefix even though he never lived in CT
    Obama's aka is Barry Soetoro
    Obama embraced domestic terrorist Bill Ayers
    The white house released his "birth certificate" in pdf format which when saved and opened up in compatible Adobe software shows multiple digital layers thereby confirming it was forged. One of the creators of Photoshop has confirmed this ( http://www.wnd.com/2011/06/31... ) as well as WHITE HOUSE LAWYERS IN COURT!: http://www.fedupusa.org/2012/...
    Have you even watched Sheriff Arpaio's press conference or taken time to follow all the affidavits he has confirming multiple instances of fraud?


    ANY QUESTIONS?
    (more)
  • jackolantyrn356 2012/05/13 19:59:20
    jackolantyrn356
    ......I thought it would b "LASSIE", but then Timmy did not toss down any convenient Well.
    Outa Luck Obama & Jimmy-kin whiskers
  • MindaBrown 2012/05/07 15:37:48
    MindaBrown
    Kimmel and Obama is about as funny as a dose of clapp.
  • Chelsea 2012/05/07 04:40:00 (edited)
    Chelsea
    jimmy kimmel kisses obamas ass


    Kimmel is just another slobbering rat trailing along the utopian path straight off the cliff. IDIOTS with NO moral compass!



    jimmy kimmel no moral compass
  • rogerkatrina 2012/05/03 18:06:06
    rogerkatrina
    +3
    The only thing funny about Obama is that people actually take him seriously...
  • Jeremy Villa 2012/05/02 20:56:02
    Jeremy Villa
    Love Jimmy for his humor.love jimmy humor
  • PoliticallyIncorrect 2012/05/02 20:37:08
    PoliticallyIncorrect
    Did anyone notice that his expressions made him look a characature? Sort of like his ability to lead, nothing there but a picture.
    obama characature
  • Common Sense Conservative 2012/05/02 19:44:33
    Common Sense Conservative
    +1
    Hussein Obama is stupid to even do this stupid stuff while the country is dying on his watch. What an idiot.
  • Kevin 2012/05/02 17:29:29
    Kevin
    +3
    I don't think the President is so funny when I am paying 4.50 a gal for gasoline and my health insurance just went up to 1,225.00 per month.
  • Mr Wayne 2012/05/02 17:01:19
    Mr Wayne
    +3
    Stupid me, I didn't think either were funny or that Obama had anything to be joking about given the current state of affairs.
  • Calm down! 2012/05/02 16:56:14 (edited)
    Calm down!
    +2
    It's funny that a perverted guy like Kimmel that did the Man Show and Comedy Central Roast's is his new BFF. Yeah! There is a good role model for my kids! That alone will make me vote for Romney.


    the man show girls the man show girls on trampoline
  • Calm down! 2012/05/02 16:22:35
    Calm down!
    +4
    Watching that dinner reminds me how bad we need Romney to win in November!

    Romney 2012
  • CA Gal 2012/05/02 15:27:08
    CA Gal
    Yes they were equally funny....President Obama is a naturally, personable and funny guy!
  • Common ... CA Gal 2012/05/02 19:45:50
    Common Sense Conservative
    +1
    Great, maybe in November he'll take up comedy because we all know he sucks at POTUS.
  • Politic... Common ... 2012/05/02 20:38:09
    PoliticallyIncorrect
    +2
    Let's hope he takes his show on the road, as they say. LOLOLOL
  • POWERSHAKER 2012/05/02 15:22:27
  • Flamdingo 2012/05/02 15:08:42
    Flamdingo
    +2
    Of course they are evenly matched, they are both comedians!
  • AnonRanGER 2012/05/02 11:32:43
    AnonRanGER
    +1
    Suck it, Mills.
  • Robin B 2012/05/02 11:25:57
  • conservyT 2012/05/02 05:54:49
    conservyT
    +2
    obama Hi-Fives like a girl and do you all remember this obama throws like a girl obama throws like a girl
  • rogerka... conservyT 2012/05/03 18:10:15
    rogerkatrina
    The top picture is probably an example of how they teach kids to throw in Indonesia. Maybe it's a classic Cricket pitch? The bottom picture is just Erkle-esque...
  • conservyT rogerka... 2012/05/03 19:35:34
    conservyT
    LOL, if that’s what You want to believe
  • rogerka... conservyT 2012/05/04 20:59:54
    rogerkatrina
    +1
    Haha...I'm just guessing. What the heck would I know about cricket? =P
  • conservyT rogerka... 2012/05/05 05:28:50
    conservyT
    That's good to know. For a second there I thought you were serious =)...
  • CaliGurl 2012/05/02 04:27:06
    CaliGurl
    +1
    Obama is smart, funny and a humanitarian. Kimmel is simply funny.
  • Common ... CaliGurl 2012/05/02 19:46:55
    Common Sense Conservative
    +1
    In November he can start a comedy show. Oops, he did that 3 1/2 years ago.

    Brilliant!!!
  • CAPISCE CaliGurl 2012/05/04 13:14:20
  • CAPISCE CAPISCE 2012/05/04 13:16:45
    CAPISCE
    Humanitarian LMAO, He is funding the Muslim Brotherhood with taxpayer money. When did being anti-Semitic turn to being a humanitarian
  • Z 2012/05/02 03:41:48
    Z
    +1
    As usual, women know best.
  • MrFabulous47 2012/05/02 03:05:09
    MrFabulous47
    +1
    I think the President was much funnier. He was smooth, didn't rush his delivery & his punchlines had perfect timing. Guys a natural, but I think we all knew that. Kimmel on the other hand, noticeably rushed his jokes, never seemed to relax, and his timing on the punchlines blew. I guess that reflects the fact that he didn't really come from a standup background. The President Killed; Jimmy bombed. At least that's my call on it.
  • AnonRanGER MrFabul... 2012/05/02 11:34:55
    AnonRanGER
    You have to keep in mind that Kimmel has never performed in front of an audience like this, while Obama... well, he's the President. I still laughed a lot during Kimmel's bit, especially at the ending.
  • MrFabul... AnonRanGER 2012/05/02 20:06:49
    MrFabulous47
    +1
    No question, that's a room of heavy hitters. I like the one..."15 years ago, a tweet was something Barbara Walters gave her dog!" Apparently she was bothered enough by it that she was crying foul on her lame 5-lady tag team talk show, The View. Kimmel apologized to her on air Monday night and said he was..."very sowwey if he offended her." That was awesome.
  • CAPISCE 2012/05/02 02:47:20
    CAPISCE
    +5
    Obama is a Funny Guy Obama
  • Brainfart " Bane of the Col... 2012/05/02 01:32:19
    Brainfart " Bane of the Collective "
    +4
    Apparently Only the Obamaroids do not see the Extreme Irony in Obama doing standup.. facepalm
  • jdemme 2012/05/02 00:36:55
    jdemme
    +6
    The guy who made GM the #1 car company in the world, hundreds of thousands of civilian lives in Libya, ended a war that the American public was lied to about, killed the guy on the FBI's most wanted list, has seen 25 consecutive months of private sector job growth, And Really has not had to spend to much money to do so (taking inflation into account). Bush Doubled the National debt, Reagan tripled it, Obama? has't increased it more than 33%.

    http://crooksandliars.com/jon...

    On top of that, people who dislike the President on this site mostly say things like, "He's a Muslim, he's not naturally born, he's a communist," etc. All of those things have been disproved, but SH just can't move past them and get down to issues that matter.
  • CAPISCE jdemme 2012/05/02 02:53:33
    CAPISCE
    +3
    He's funding the Muslim Brotherhood. His absurd Green jobs agenda was a failure and where are all the bridges and new roads he promised? Electric cars--lol---what a joke. Only a complete party loyalist can back this smuck at this point. idiot
  • jdemme CAPISCE 2012/05/03 03:32:49
    jdemme
    Yep, Obama's a Muslim Kenyan sent to kill Ronald Reagan's jedi spirit.
  • CAPISCE jdemme 2012/05/03 12:33:07
    CAPISCE
    Obama is killing the economy and America's reputation as a democracy. Isn't that enough?
  • jdemme CAPISCE 2012/05/03 23:12:09
    jdemme
    He's created 4.3 Million jobs, with the past 25 consecutive months having private sector job growth. What are you talking about?
  • CAPISCE jdemme 2012/05/04 13:12:02
    CAPISCE
    The only job Obama cares about is his own. Actually that's not true, he did fund the Muslim Brotherhood and put them back to work.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/09/18 11:43:55

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals