Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Most Will Play in Mega Millions Lotto

News 2012/03/30 22:11:24
The Mega Millions lottery jackpot is currently at an all-time high of $640 million annuitized ($462 immediate), and millions of people who normally don't play the game are buying handfuls of tickets. The odds of picking the winning numbers are 1:175,711,536, which means the payout on a single winning ticket is almost four times the odds of winning. However, that also means record amounts of tickets are being sold. We asked the public if it's worth a shot.



There was a lot of debate over whether or not the massive payoff is worth it at this point, and the math is a little bit complicated. On the one hand, the jackpot is enormous. On the other hand, for every 176 million tickets sold, one more person can be expected to win. If 400 million tickets were sold in 48 hours, that's about a winner per day. Still, at $640 million you might as well pay a dollar to dream. One commenter wrote, "I'll succumb to the collective insanity and kick in a few bucks for the office pool."

Low Incomes Don't Like It

The most shocking demographic result we found was with lower income voters. People who made less than $25,000 a year were the least likely to play. Granted, that might consist largely of kids, but the sample size was larger than the under-18 sample size, and willingness to play actually did increase along with income, peaking at 90% in the $100k+ crowd. Gotta risk it to win it.

Women a Little More Willing

The gender gap was exceedingly small, which goes to show you the desire to be rich knows no gender. Women were about 5% more likely to play, possibly because there are a handful of single mothers anxious to financially support their kids and still spend time with them. But it's within the margin of error.

More Money for the Married

The only relationship demographic that were more likely to play than married voters were the divorcees and engaged. We were actually a little surprised singles and people in unmarried relationships were the least likely to play, but again, it could be an age thing.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the Mega Millions lottery. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Picasso's Cat 2012/03/31 03:02:47
    Picasso's Cat
    +6
    I look at it this way, if your gonna win, your gonna win, so a $1 dollar ticket is just as good as a hundred.
    I bought "One" ticket for a buck, so it's worth it on that level to win, if not, I lost a buck, which won't buy me a cup of coffee.
    When i was standing in line to buy my ticket, some of the people in front of me were buying 20, 50 and 100 tickets, and they will lose the same as me, but i only lost a buck.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • The_Chouko 2012/03/31 01:10:00
    The_Chouko
    It's just like going and gambling... The chances are low for people to win. I'm not going for it.
  • Anthony Souls 2012/03/31 00:16:53
    Anthony Souls
    +1
    Hard to believe that lower incomes don't like it, unless all the lower income people are claiming to have more income than they actually do.

    I for one, am in the lowest category of people, and I still played 3 dollars worth. Sure, it's improbable, but I would like to think that by choosing my own numbers, that possibility is more probable.

    640 million dollars is too much of a gain to not take a little risk of a few dollars that would probably be wasted on unhealthy fast food or snacks, which is why if i loose, it won't be anything to worry about: not going to buy 500 dollars worth like some did.

    Another reason the poor might not play, if the statistics are correct, is because they are so used to nothing good happening to them, that they don't even want to care anymore to try...

    Take care,
  • Ol'Dave 2012/03/31 00:16:30
    Ol'Dave
    +1
    Don't participate in THE DUMB TAX!!!!
  • Sister Jean 2012/03/31 00:16:06
    Sister Jean
    +1
    I did first time in years R.I.had big winners lately
  • Razoreye001 2012/03/31 00:14:24
    Razoreye001
    +1
    not interested, that is a waste of money to buy tickets.
  • JohnT Razorey... 2012/03/31 01:03:31
    JohnT
    +1
    I don't gamble at casinos or play the lotto. I like odds in my favor or it is like giving money away on these mega millions.
  • Dori Aravis 2012/03/30 23:57:12
    Dori Aravis
    I bought a ticket - no hope of winning but WTF!
  • DJL 2012/03/30 23:53:31
    DJL
    +2
    Your chance of winning is zero if you don't buy a ticket and someone will win sooner or later.
  • dennisg40 2012/03/30 23:48:43
    dennisg40
    No. I can't even win 3 dollars in any of the local lotteries so why bother?
  • nverumind 2012/03/30 23:40:01
    nverumind
    I played..kinda regretting it now.. first time ive played any kind of lotto in 6+years
  • Fef 2012/03/30 23:27:38
    Fef
    +1
    It encourages me to see people making under $25k know not to waste their money on government's gambling program (often referred to as a "tax on stupid")
  • CTF 2012/03/30 23:17:13
    CTF
    +1
    My wife joined the office pool, but other than that, I'm not really interested. They say "you can't win if you don't play."... Which is true. But you can't lose either.
  • george 2012/03/30 23:13:30
    george
    the mob control the lottery
  • Kat 2012/03/30 23:13:07
    Kat
    I played, bought 2 tickets
  • NPC 2012/03/30 22:58:16
    NPC
    Bought 2 chances today. Had to join the Hope, Change and Unity crowd.
  • Dagon 2012/03/30 22:51:34
  • Just Jenn for Now 2012/03/30 22:41:34
    Just Jenn for Now
    +3
    Dammit!! Stop playing, everyone!! You're all ruining my chances!! Haha
  • Anthony... Just Je... 2012/03/31 00:11:06
    Anthony Souls
    +1
    The chances are exactly the same regardless of how many people play :P The only thing that changes is how many people could win, but that is always a probability.

    Take care,
  • Beagle Mom 2012/03/30 22:40:17
    Beagle Mom
    +1
    My bff in Tx is on her way to get me a ticket!!! Just that little feeling of.....it could happen to me!
  • Anthony... Beagle Mom 2012/03/31 00:11:44
    Anthony Souls
    +1
    Could be :P And you can think of me and how I said, Could be as a sign of encouragement... :P LOL

    Take care,
  • Beagle Mom Anthony... 2012/03/31 01:00:36
    Beagle Mom
    Thx for the smile!
  • Philo® ~PWCM~JLA ✩ 2012/03/30 22:36:12
    Philo® ~PWCM~JLA ✩
    +3
    Joined the office pool in self-defense. Don't want to be left holding the fort alone!
  • S.Lewis 2012/03/30 22:32:35
    S.Lewis
    +2
    I'm on my way to the convenience store right now!
  • Linkums 2012/03/30 22:32:20
    Linkums
    +2
    Wow, I didn't realize so many "played" the lottery.
  • minoriabc 2012/03/30 22:28:14
    minoriabc
    It is amazing how many people dream about something they have no control over instead of working together to makes dreams we have control over become reality. It is fun to buy a ticket and dream the impossible dream, but we need to remember the lottery is a dream it is not a plan. Planning is better than dreaming. Planning to make the world better for everyone is what we should work towards. Instead of bringing hope to ourselves individually we should work at bringing hope to everyone. The world would be a much better place if we all believe in this and worked together. Check out all the benefits a united earth would bring. http://chengx-ue.blogspot.com/ It is so simple it might work.
  • Anthony... minoriabc 2012/03/31 00:13:02
    Anthony Souls
    The world would never unite together for one common good, it's an improbability based on human nature: everyone is different and difference creates conflict.

    Take care,
  • Rusty Bubbles 2012/03/30 22:24:40
    Rusty Bubbles
    "The lottery is a tax on people bad at math"......I forget who
    It's like walking out on a ocean beach, blindfolding yourself and picking up a particular grain of sand

    That being made clear, it does afford you the pleasure of fluffing your pillow before you lay your head down and saying to yourself......"What if"?

    Sweet dreams~!
  • Alexis 2012/03/30 22:23:13
    Alexis
    I'm playing, damn directv I can't figure out what channel it's on. I'll just look it up online lol.
  • vinone 2012/03/30 22:20:16
    vinone
    +1
    I'll still try and get struck by lightning.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/12/18 00:48:09

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals