Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Michelle Obama's DNC Speech Was a Hit

Politics 2012/09/06 17:00:00
Michelle Obama is still getting raves from critics for her speech on Tuesday at the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina. Her emotional memories of early life with her husband, President Barack Obama, reportedly drove over 28,000 tweets-per-minute at one point. But we want to know what the public thought about the First Lady's speech.



Well, you didn't hold back. From "Mega hit, out of the ballpark and a home run!" to "I didn't believe anything she said," we got an earful. But overall, a small majority agreed that the First Lady did indeed give a rockin' speech.

The Teens Are Impressed


Those aged 13-17 liked the First Lady's speech more than any other age group. On the opposite end of the spectrum, only about 50% of the 65+ crowd were moved.



The Ladies Like It


Over 60% of females said they thought the speech was a hit, while only 48% of the guys were on board. Maybe it's female solidarity... or maybe Michelle O hit home with her talk about making ends meet early in her marriage to the president and being a "mom-in-chief."



Conservatives Aren't Interested



It wasn't surprising that liberals enjoyed the speech more than conservatives, but the percentages are pretty amazing. Almost 100% of liberals liked it, while over 90% of conservatives didn't. Though, interestingly, a higher percentage of conservatives said they liked it than liberals who said they didn't.


If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Michelle Obama's speech. We'd love to hear from you!

Read More: https://www.sodahead.com/united-states/michelle-ob...

You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • AL 2012/10/18 22:47:46 (edited)
    AL
    When the Obamas open their mouth,you know they're lying after this Libya lie!
  • Becky 2012/10/18 22:33:16
    Becky
    +1
    CONSERVATIVES AREN'T INTERESTED IN ANYTHING EXCEPT THEIR MONEY
  • Becky 2012/10/18 22:32:12
    Becky
    +1
    SHE KNOCKED IT OUT OF THE PARK! : )
  • AAA123 2012/10/18 22:11:46
  • AL AAA123 2012/10/18 22:51:14
    AL
    Tell them not to eat fries,I need all I can get!
  • Edna R. 2012/09/16 15:24:56
    Edna R.
    +1
    Anyone remember January 3, 2007??
    This is just a History lesson. I am sending it to all regardless of party . I bet I know who wouldn't read it -- those afraid of the truth. It is history and nothing can change it.
    The day the Democrats took over was not January 22nd, 2009, it was actually January 3rd 2007, the day the Democrats took over the House of Representatives and the Senate, at the very start of the 110th Congress.
    The Democratic Party controlled a majority in both chambers for the first time since the end of the 103rd Congress in 1995.

    For those who are listening to the liberals propagating the fallacy that everything is "Bush's Fault", think about this:

    January 3rd, 2007, the day the Democrats took over the Senate and the Congress:

    The DOW Jones closed at 12,621.77
    The GDP for the previous quarter was 3.5%
    The Unemployment rate was 4.6%
    George Bush's Economic policies SET A RECORD of 52 STRAIGHT MONTHS of JOB CREATION!
    Remember that day...
    January 3rd, 2007 was the day that Barney Frank took over the House Financial Services Committee and Chris Dodd took over the Senate Banking Committee.
    Barney Franks lover, Herb Moses, was the CEO of Fannie Mae!

    The economic meltdown that happened 15 months later was in what part of the economy?

    BANKING AND FINANCIAL SERVICES!
    ...

    &

















    &&


    &















    Anyone remember January 3, 2007??
    This is just a History lesson. I am sending it to all regardless of party . I bet I know who wouldn't read it -- those afraid of the truth. It is history and nothing can change it.
    The day the Democrats took over was not January 22nd, 2009, it was actually January 3rd 2007, the day the Democrats took over the House of Representatives and the Senate, at the very start of the 110th Congress.
    The Democratic Party controlled a majority in both chambers for the first time since the end of the 103rd Congress in 1995.

    For those who are listening to the liberals propagating the fallacy that everything is "Bush's Fault", think about this:

    January 3rd, 2007, the day the Democrats took over the Senate and the Congress:

    The DOW Jones closed at 12,621.77
    The GDP for the previous quarter was 3.5%
    The Unemployment rate was 4.6%
    George Bush's Economic policies SET A RECORD of 52 STRAIGHT MONTHS of JOB CREATION!
    Remember that day...
    January 3rd, 2007 was the day that Barney Frank took over the House Financial Services Committee and Chris Dodd took over the Senate Banking Committee.
    Barney Franks lover, Herb Moses, was the CEO of Fannie Mae!

    The economic meltdown that happened 15 months later was in what part of the economy?

    BANKING AND FINANCIAL SERVICES!
    THANK YOU DEMOCRATS (especially Barney) for taking us from 13,000 DOW, 3.5 GDP and 4.6% Unemployment ... to this CRISIS by (among MANY other things) dumping 5-6 TRILLION Dollars of toxic loans on the economy from YOUR Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac FIASCOES!

    [[[BTW: Bush asked Congress 17 TIMES to stop Fannie & Freddie -starting in 2001 because it was financially risky for the US economy]]]
    Barney blocked it and called it a "Chicken Little Philosophy" (and the sky did fall!)

    And who took the THIRD highest pay-off from Fannie Mae AND Freddie Mac?
    BARACK HUSSEIN OBAMA

    And who fought against reform of Fannie and Freddie?

    Barack Hussein OBAMA and the Democratic Congress, especially BARNEY!!!!
    So when someone tries to blame Bush...
    REMEMBER JANUARY 3rd, 2007....
    THE DAY THE DEMOCRATS TOOK OVER!"

    Bush may have been in the car but the Democrats were in charge of the gas pedal and steering wheel they were driving the economy into the ditch.

    Budgets do not come from the White House…
    They come from Congress and the party that controlled Congress since January 2007 is the Democratic Party.

    Furthermore, the Democrats controlled the budget process for 2008 & 2009 as well as 2010 & 2011.
    In that first year, they had to contend with George Bush, which caused them to compromise on spending, when Bush somewhat belatedly got tough on spending increases.

    For 2009 though, Nancy Pelosi & Harry Reid bypassed George Bush entirely, passing continuing resolutions to keep government running until Barack Obama could take office.
    At that time, they passed a massive omnibus spending bill to complete the 2009 budget.

    And where was Barack Obama during this time?
    He was a member of that very Congress that passed all of these massive spending bills, and he signed the omnibus bill as President to complete 2009.
    Let's remember what the deficits looked like during that period:

    If the Democrats inherited any deficit, it was the 2007 deficit, the last of the Republican budgets.
    That deficit was the lowest in five years, and the fourth straight decline in deficit spending.
    After that, Democrats in Congress took control of spending, and that includes Barack Obama, who voted for the budgets.

    If Obama inherited anything, he inherited it from himself.
    In a nutshell, what Obama is REALLY saying is "I inherited a deficit that I voted for, and then I voted to expand that deficit four-fold since January 20th."

    There is no way this will be widely publicized, unless each of us sends it on!

    "The problems we face today exist because the people who work for a living are outnumbered by those who vote for a living."
    (more)
  • Edna R. 2012/09/16 15:21:30
    Edna R.
    +1
    “Tell a lie loud enough & long enough & people will believe it”
    -Adolf Hitler
    OBUMMER is the most gifted charismatic prevaricator I have ever had the displeasure of seeing & listening to EVERY-DAY-SINCE-HE WAS-ELECTED!
    Outsources countless jobs to various countries even our SPACE PROGRAM TO RUSSIA!
    Never taken responsibility for the economy even tho he was in the Senate when the economy began its downward spiral Jan 3rd, 2007! That was when the Dems took of congress!
    Like all Democratic presidents, xcept JFK, he guts our military thus weakening our nations securities even whilst making back door deals w/Russians!
    Obama says his father served in the military, says he wont run if the unemployment rate is above 8% &
    states he will be a one-term president if the economy doesn't turn in 3 years!
    Obama is the only president to “CROTCH-SALUTE” our flag & put his left hand over his right chest with wife, Michelle.
    Only person to listen to diatribes of hate for 20 years, involves himself with citizens of color like Prof Gates & Trayvon Martin suggesting he is racist as are Eric Holder, Spike Lee, Black Panthers, Al Sharpton, Jesse Jackson, NAACP … & have YET to see his involvement on black-on-white crimes!
    Obama exempts himself from the Health Care plan he chose for us b/c we will be PAYING...
    &



    &


    “Tell a lie loud enough & long enough & people will believe it”
    -Adolf Hitler
    OBUMMER is the most gifted charismatic prevaricator I have ever had the displeasure of seeing & listening to EVERY-DAY-SINCE-HE WAS-ELECTED!
    Outsources countless jobs to various countries even our SPACE PROGRAM TO RUSSIA!
    Never taken responsibility for the economy even tho he was in the Senate when the economy began its downward spiral Jan 3rd, 2007! That was when the Dems took of congress!
    Like all Democratic presidents, xcept JFK, he guts our military thus weakening our nations securities even whilst making back door deals w/Russians!
    Obama says his father served in the military, says he wont run if the unemployment rate is above 8% &
    states he will be a one-term president if the economy doesn't turn in 3 years!
    Obama is the only president to “CROTCH-SALUTE” our flag & put his left hand over his right chest with wife, Michelle.
    Only person to listen to diatribes of hate for 20 years, involves himself with citizens of color like Prof Gates & Trayvon Martin suggesting he is racist as are Eric Holder, Spike Lee, Black Panthers, Al Sharpton, Jesse Jackson, NAACP … & have YET to see his involvement on black-on-white crimes!
    Obama exempts himself from the Health Care plan he chose for us b/c we will be PAYING FOR HIS GOLD PLATED HEALTH CARE! That would include all of congress … who vote themselves raises!
    These are our OUR EMPLOYEES … who have unlimited term limits getting elected again & again!
    Simply this: if you had a plumbing problem; would you call a basket-weaver or a plumber?
    Our dismal economy is our plumbing problem because of the basket case bailiff in the White House.
    He has NO job experience thus our economy suffers. His inexperience can NOT be repeated for another term … our country cant afford 4 more years of Obama. The White House is NOT a learn-while-you-screw-up-America … job placement freebie.
    Romney is the plumber here with EXPERIENCE in business & could halt the effect of our economy going bust; like in Greece or Europe!
    Voting for OBUMMER IS definitely like a chicken voting for Colonel Sanders!
    "If you voted for Obama in 2008 to prove you're not a racist ,
    you'll have to vote for someone else in 2012 to prove you're not an idiot ."
    (more)
  • Guru_T_Firefly 2012/09/15 06:17:56 (edited)
    Guru_T_Firefly
    Michelle is a class act. There was no plagiarizing of Mrs. Willard's speech.
  • AL Guru_T_... 2012/10/18 22:52:04
    AL
    She sure does put the ASS back in class alright!
  • Guru_T_... AL 2012/10/18 22:55:20
    Guru_T_Firefly
    No, apparently that's your job. It's all you've gone so far.
  • AL Guru_T_... 2012/10/19 00:16:35 (edited)
    AL
    Please don't tell me she's not at least 90% ASS anyway,ruff ass!
  • Guru_T_... AL 2012/10/19 01:53:44
    Guru_T_Firefly
    Someone drained your gene pool before your dive was complete, didn't they?
  • AL Guru_T_... 2012/10/19 08:36:37 (edited)
    AL
    You're a very good example of why brothers and sister should never have sex partner! The out Come really isn't worth it,when it comes to giving birth to morons like yourself
  • Guru_T_... AL 2012/10/19 12:06:38
    Guru_T_Firefly
    Don't kid yourself, your mother and your uncle-daddy actually thought she was taking a sh*t and instead you fell out into the toilet. Good call on her part. Any sane person would have left you there, instead of playing "Dress the turd!" It's a given that you were trailer-home-schooled, too, Jethro. Don't forget to wear your helmet, helmet.
  • AL Guru_T_... 2012/10/19 20:49:08
    AL
    Ruff ass-Can't you even come up with any of your VERY own thoughts? Since you've gone from just being plain boring to Childish at this point!
  • Guru_T_... AL 2012/10/20 05:03:23
    Guru_T_Firefly
    And you trying to make fun of m screen name is adult? LMAO! Spare us the Llow-IQ BS. You couldn't be original if you paid someone else to do it for you. You can go back to banging your sister now, Jethro.
  • AL Guru_T_... 2012/10/20 07:24:05
    AL
    please tell your mom and uncle(YOUR DAD) I said Hello now you hear!
  • Guru_T_... AL 2012/10/20 11:41:46
    Guru_T_Firefly
    They're dead. Tell them yourself. Soon, Jethro.
  • AL Guru_T_... 2012/10/21 04:20:03
    AL
    Your mom or your uncle?
  • Guru_T_... AL 2012/10/21 12:00:21
    Guru_T_Firefly
    Oh, sorry, I forgot that you're not smart enough to know the meaning of the word "they're".
  • Tom Trojan 2012/09/11 23:20:56
    Tom Trojan
    Anybody surpeised that "teens" are impressed with the speach... Hopefully as they mature, so will their ability to understand what is really going on....

    In other words, just wait until they start paying taxes and then see how they feel...
  • Mack 2012/09/11 17:34:55
    Mack
    +1
    I love Michelle and Barack Obama. Im voting to reelect the President and voting against people who follow the philosophy of a Russian atheists, the GOP.
  • Edna R. Mack 2012/10/07 17:06:11
    Edna R.
    +1
    THE $50 LESSON

    I recently asked my friends’ little girl what she wanted to be when she grows up. She said she wanted to be President of the United States.
    Both of her parents, liberal Democrats, were standing there.
    So I asked her, “If you were president, what would be the first thing you would do?”
    She replied, “I’d give food & houses to all the homeless people.”
    Her parents beamed.

    “Wow … what a worthy goal,” I told her. “But you don’t have to wait until you’re President to do that. You can come over to my house & mow the lawn, pull the weeds & sweep the driveway & I will pay you $50. Then I’ll take you over to the grocery store where the homeless guy hangs out & you can give him the $50 to use toward food & a new house.”

    She thought it over for a few seconds, then looked me straight in the eye & said, “Why doesn’t the homeless guy come over & do the work & you can just pay him the $50?”
    I said, “Welcome to the Republican Party.”

    Her parents still aren’t talking to me.
  • DavidK 2012/09/11 02:27:22 (edited)
    DavidK
    +1
    She supports Barry and so do the liberals of course. So if you support Barry, you support Mochelle. Simple enough. Funny part about it all is, very few people watch her anyways!
  • Aqua Surf BTO-t-BCRA-F 2012/09/11 01:34:41
    Aqua Surf BTO-t-BCRA-F
    Her speech was as big a fraud as she is. And if she plagarized Ann Romney's speech, she PROVED IT to EVERYONE who watched. phony
  • JayGee Aqua Su... 2012/09/13 22:24:08
    JayGee
    +1
    OMG GET A LIFE!
  • Aqua Su... JayGee 2012/09/14 00:34:00
  • Resp 2012/09/11 01:19:51
    Resp
    Yawn...
  • Bigdaddy 2012/09/10 20:39:27
    Bigdaddy
    Good
  • d 2012/09/10 18:46:13
    d
    +2
    Does it really matter who liked it and who didn't? If you're a person who votes for a canidate because of their spouse, please just stay home next election. I didn't watch either convention. I realized by the time I was about 26 years old that political conventions are very much like the Emmys or Oscars, which I also find boring. A bunch of people standing around congratulating themselves for doing their jobs. No real information or intelligent content is gained by watching them.
  • clinton... d 2012/09/11 05:41:06
    clintonrogers
    Well said...
  • Sunny d 2012/09/14 20:18:29
    Sunny
    Not true this year with the DNC at least... I watched both. The DNC was well planned with interesting speeches covering a broad number of topics with many facts, figures and options.
  • Deb 2012/09/10 17:26:38
    Deb
    +1
    She's the other half of LIAR LIAR!
  • JayGee Deb 2012/09/16 17:34:33
    JayGee
    Do you think the Mormon Bible omits thou shall not LIE.
  • Pale Horse 2012/09/10 15:44:44
    Pale Horse
    +1
    It was to the Michelle groupies.
  • JimmyIIX 2012/09/10 14:18:55
    JimmyIIX
    WOW 73% of you are idiots. See I thought the number was lower. My bad for giving people the benefit of the doubt.
  • Derbyhat 2012/09/10 09:17:14
    Derbyhat
    +1
    When someone is in love with a suspect, their opinion is suspect as well. Put her words with the others and you have a new loss. What his is for her, he is NOT for the country. He is only here to spread the wealth amongst Americans and the richer get fleeced first, then those making under a million, then those making under $50K until Obama base is getting as much or mare than those being robbed by his government that actually has a temporary job at the top called President that we need a respectable person to fill. Barack Obama is not that person!
  • Charles R. Anderson 2012/09/10 08:09:24
    Charles R. Anderson
    +2
    So liberals, young teens, and females were easily taken in by her speech.
  • Daryl 2012/09/10 01:48:43
    Daryl
    +2
    Women and children liked her speech.

    The two least informed groups in the USA.

    Figures.
  • Meagan Daryl 2012/09/10 12:12:17
    Meagan
    It's true.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 30 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/09/03 07:00:24

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals