Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Liberals Want to See Romney's Tax Returns, Conservatives Think It's Just a Distraction

News 2012/08/07 22:00:00
No presidential election is complete without its share of drama. Each candidate will be faced with the ghosts of their past -- some real, and some imagined. Right now, Mitt Romney's tax returns are holding the public's attention. Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid claims he heard from a "reputable source" that Romney didn't pay taxes for a decade. Romney has already released some of his returns, but there's still a gap in the record. We asked the public if Romney should release more records.



We were hoping for some consensus, but no such luck. Responses were split down the middle, and can you guess what the determining factor was? But first, we wanted to call attention to an interesting argument mentioned in the Top Opinion: "We have it from a very reliable source that Harry Reid is a pedophile." This is a very popular response calling attention to the similarities between Reid's "reputable source" and tabloid rumors. Now, let's get to the stats.

All Politics

Naturally, the biggest difference between people who think Romney should release his tax returns and those who think it's a distraction is their political alignment. Most liberals want to see them, and most conservatives don't. That suggests the shoe would be on the other foot if the parties were reversed.

Big Money, Blind Eye

There was also a correlation between income and response, but there are a couple of issues with that. First of all, income typically correlates with political alignment, meaning the relation between income and response could be directly caused by politics. But it should also come as no surprise that well-off respondents are more likely to call it a distraction.

Young and Suspicious

Another factor that could have affected the income correlation is the age breakdown. Younger respondents were much more likely to want to see Romney's returns. Again, age and politics often line up, so all three of these demographics are probably somewhat linked. Young, left-leaning people with smaller incomes want to make sure Romney is playing fair.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll on Mitt Romney's tax returns. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • PAUL F 2012/08/07 22:37:51
    PAUL F
    +17
    I like the idea that Obama needs to show his High School and collage transcripts! As well as his bar exam test scores! This man is suppose to be a scholar! Producing his applications and documentation on the subjects Obama has hear say about is fair game! So, I say to all you communist out there! If you want to see 10 years of tax returns then we want to see proof of his education! Not just a diploma but TRANSCRIPTS!!!! If not, this is a dead issue!

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Lee marylou5 2012/08/18 22:28:44 (edited)
    Lee
    I deal in reality.

    People who lie, and distort, and defame, and slander, and lie, and lie, and lie, and lie, and lie . . . . . Are in fact LIARS.

    Why do Right Wing Nut Jobs lies so much?

    Do you know?

    And factcheck.org, established by the Annenburg Public Policy Center, is in fact a credible source.

    Know what I mean? . . . LIAR.

    http://factcheck.org/

    http://www.factcheck.org/about/
  • marylou5 Lee 2012/08/19 02:43:59
    marylou5
    +1
    Your sources are bogus and if you had a modicum of knowledge,you would now that by now! What is wrong with you? Did your brain shut down? Are you on meds or worse?
    I'm trying to find an explanation why you abuse people and call them liars. That's immature and juvenile behavior!


    Screaming "liar" at everyone does not change your fake and phony so called "documentation".

    It's as fake and as big a fraud as you are little man!
    Buh, bye!
  • Lee marylou5 2012/08/19 17:43:58 (edited)
    Lee
    factcheck.org is not in any way bogus.

    Was factcheck.org not a valid source when it accused Obama of exaggerating when he accused Romney of shipping jobs overseas?

    Face it Buh Buh Buh . . . . the Facts rarely support the Repugnant Ones.

    That's why you hate Factcheck.org, Snopes, Politifact and every other reputable fact checking source.

    And that's why you hate the mainstream media.

    You know what I mean? . . . LIAR.

    Lying is the default mode for Right Wing Nut Job Slime . . . And you know it as well as I do.

    lol

    LIAR
  • Tarheel marylou5 2012/08/25 02:26:21
    Tarheel
    "Fact check" is credible as it calls out anyone who is telling lies. I was checking something that I thought was true and it had stated that what I had thought was true wasn't. (It was about Cheney)
  • Tarheel Lee 2012/08/25 02:08:50
    Tarheel
    You know, I agree about that the Repubs not being able to produce an honorable or even good candidate. Seriously, Mittens was the best? And Ryan as vice-president. Yikes. I really wasn't tremendously upset when Bush won because I thought that he was a good and decent person. Romney didn't win the nomination 4 years ago and I'm still surprised that he is the nominee now. Weird.
  • Lee Tarheel 2012/08/25 02:37:55
    Lee
    Well, Money talks.
  • Tarheel Lee 2012/08/25 02:42:06
    Tarheel
    I suppose.
  • Tarheel Lee 2012/08/25 02:05:16
    Tarheel
    Right, and he lost many jobs for people when he was at Bain.
  • Tarheel Lee 2012/08/25 02:04:12
    Tarheel
    Now he says mid october.
  • garyt212 2012/08/11 05:19:10
    garyt212
    +4
    I am amazed that there are people so dumb, ignorant and gullible that actually believe the IRS would allow anyone, especially a high profile guy like Romney get away with paying no taxes for 10 years. Are there really that many idiotic, imbeciles in our society that could possibly believe this BS? If there are then there also must be that many idiotic, imbeciles that believe in the hope and change BS that the liar-in-chief regurgitates on a daily basis.
    obama lies
    obama lies
    obama lies
    obama lies
  • harry garyt212 2012/08/11 17:14:03
    harry
    +2
    I do not think people are saying he did not file, rather that using legal loopholes, he did not pay any taxes A lot of us fall in that boat
  • santa6642 harry 2012/08/12 02:37:05
    santa6642
    +1
    better then 48 % of Americans pay no taxes at all.
  • marylou5 harry 2012/08/14 16:32:09
    marylou5
    +3
    EVERY American who completes a tax form, LOOKS for and USES as many LEGAL LOOPHOLES as he/she can find to pay lower or no taxes at all!

    Why would anyone deny what you do, to everyone? What hypocrites!

    HE/WE ARE NOT STUPID! Why would an astute businessman pay any more than is required by law? No one else does!

    WHATEVER ROMNEY paid or didn't pay was LEGAL!
    GE COMPANY paid NO taxes! So what, that was LEGAL.

    There are 80,00 pages in the Tax Code..Given enough time, or a smart accountant, we could all find a way to pay no taxes!

    50% of Americans pay NO tax!

    Vote for TaxCode reform. Make it simple. Vote for a Flat Tax , toss out all the deductions and loopholes, and put the IRS out of business!

    In the meantime, stuff the bogus diatribe about Romney's tax return! It's a red herring
    to distract from OBAMA'S stagnant economy.
  • Lynda D... harry 2012/08/16 11:44:51
    Lynda Deming
    +1
    Operative word being LEGAL!
  • Lee garyt212 2012/08/14 13:26:52
    Lee
    gary, you're such a LIAR.

    You RWNJ's think that if you repeat the same lies often enough, they become true.

    WRONG.

    You're still just a liar.
  • marylou5 Lee 2012/08/14 16:41:00
    marylou5
    +3
    You LIBERALS think that if you repeat the same lies often enough, they become true.
    Afraid not!
    Gary is is a truth teller and he told you!!
  • garyt212 marylou5 2012/08/15 04:18:55
  • Lee garyt212 2012/08/17 21:47:39
    Lee
    It's cute the way low-life Right Wingers support each other, isn't it?
  • marylou5 Lee 2012/08/18 16:21:15
    marylou5
    +1
    Patriotic Americans believe in truth and responsibility.
  • Lee marylou5 2012/08/19 01:31:46
    Lee
    +1
    Yes, we do.

    But most Right Wingers only PRETEND to believe in truth in responsibility.
  • marylou5 Lee 2012/08/19 02:46:16
    marylou5
    +2
    You are such a cipher...run along little man..you are so boring...yawn!
  • Lee marylou5 2012/08/19 17:53:18 (edited)
    Lee
    I know I'm not boring you Big Mamma . . .

    I'm trying to help you see the light.

    And we may be making progress.


    Don't fight it.

    Wouldn't you actually like to know what you're talking about for a change?

    Don't you ever get tired of licking the boots of the plutocrats who walk all over you?
  • garyt212 Lee 2012/08/15 04:22:33
    garyt212
    +3
    I'm not lying, you're just too brainwashed to know the difference between those stating the facts and those telling the lies!

    brainwashed obama supporter
  • Lee garyt212 2012/08/19 17:50:23 (edited)
    Lee
    Both Hitler and Goebels, being the Right Wing Nazi Bastards they were, referred to the "Big Lie."

    But according to them it was their enemies who were telling the Big Lie.

    And here we have a bunch of Nasty Right Wingers repeating history all over again.
  • aneed2know 2012/08/11 04:24:18
    aneed2know
    +1
    actually only 37% percent thinks its a farce, and 64% of democrats want to see them and 67% of independents want to see them, so honestly in this argument i dont think it matters what conservatives think.
  • marylou5 aneed2know 2012/08/14 16:42:33
    marylou5
    +3
    It doesn't matter what anyone thinks!
    ROMNEY is not legally required to dance to your tune!
  • shaltov72 2012/08/10 20:16:24
    shaltov72
    FYI, Agenda 21, pushed by soft law and signed by Bill Clinton and Bush (senior), which is against US Constitution (Art 1, Sec 10), it is a United Nations private property land grab and it is your personal liberties ( U. N. Biodiversity Map 1992) it is implemented by NGO's (non-governmental organizations, natural conserviency land grabs) it is to make citizens feel by enviormental guilt trips! Agenda 21 is part of the one world order banking elitists and the goal is (Georgia Guide Stone) to get rid of the populace down to 500 million! Information:
    FreedomAdvocates-Michael Coffman, Alex Jones-prisonplanet, infowars, Curtis Bowers-Agenda Grinding America Down! Do you care about your nation and your freedom your family? The United Nations sucks!
  • shaltov72 2012/08/10 20:15:56
    shaltov72
    +3
    The 49% of those who want Mitt Romney show his tax records why don't they ask for obama's records, college records, his social security application form, his real birth certificate????????
    NO, MITT ROMNEY DOES NOT NEED TO SHOW HIS TAX RECORDS AND HARRY FREAKY REID IS A ACCUSER JUST LIKE THE EVIL ONE, SATAN IS!
    nazi-unaffordable obama care (does not care), in this nazi health care is nothing but a government take-over, listened to a Nuerological surgeon who said that anyone 70 or over with any problem will not get help! Also that this anti-christ obama care gives the mark of the beast page 1000 talks about people have to get the RFID chip put under the skin!
  • smitty 2012/08/10 17:39:19
    smitty
    +6
    WTF is seeing the returns gonna prove? Hey unemployment is up... R U doing anything about it? Hey gas is going up.. R U doing anything about it? Hello? Is there anyone in Washington?

    How about Fast and Furious? The most corrupt administration in the history of the US and they are screaming... "I want to see Romneys tax return!!!)

    Like a Lib would even know what they are looking at.

    He is rich. We know that. Who gives a crap how rich?

    If you don't want him as Pres don't vote for him. Vote for the guy who raised the debt 6 trillion over 4 years. Vote for the guy that couldn't get us out of recession Recession typically last 2 years if you don;t screw with it. Vote for the guy who keeps unemployment over 8% if you believe his false numbers.. more accurately 10%+. Vote for the guy who promised no more lobbyists.. Then packs his house with them. Vote for the guy who said he would be transparent only to slam the door in your face. Go ahead keep believing in him while he laughs his way through the hallowed halls of the white house.


    It is okay to be fooled once. He spoke a good speech in 2008. Look at his track record.. Besides we need to vote them in before we can look at it.
  • bob h. 2012/08/10 15:39:30
    bob h.
    +1
    Yes, the rich consider it such a distraction, that they simple buy politicians to create deductions and subsidies. What line does the "hoppy horse" deduction go on.
  • Josh Robinson 2012/08/10 14:37:13
    Josh Robinson
    Sounds Pretty SHEEPAFIED...! Guess what the Ron Paul Revolution wants...? A return to responsible monetary policy and ending the 4 wars Mitt can't wait to take over...
  • Jesse James 2012/08/10 14:29:11
    Jesse James
    +1
    The funny thing is Romney is split over his taxes too. He earned the money here in the U.S. and split overseas to stash his cash so he wouldn't have to pay those taxes that everyone wants to know about. All the fuss over Romney is giving me a splitting headache....lol
  • laurie.... Jesse J... 2012/08/10 20:29:57
    laurie.mettier
    +3
    WRONG where do you thnk the libs got the info on swiss /cayman accounts? MITTS tax returns! Yes the ones they claim he has never released! He did not hide them as falsely claimed HE REPORTED THEM and PAID TAXES on them.
  • Jesse J... laurie.... 2012/08/10 21:22:54
    Jesse James
    +1
    Show us the money from his amassed fortune that he earned in the last 10 years. The devil is in the details and Mitt wants to hide the details.
  • jaeman Jesse J... 2012/08/11 08:34:07
    jaeman
    +4
    Are you that deep in Obamaland, that you would ask for tax records, when Obama will not even reveal the most basic information? When will you have a complete thought of your own instead of a liberal robot?
  • Jesse J... jaeman 2012/08/13 00:11:15
    Jesse James
    +1
    His taxes are directly relevant to what he has done and what he expects of the American people. How can u expect to be the president and not reveal the truth about your earnings? He has something to hide and everyone knows it including you. Romney Hood will never make it out of the forest. He has just pulled another McCain wth his vp pick too.
  • marylou5 Jesse J... 2012/08/18 16:44:15
    marylou5
    +1
    You don't have the LEGAL right to know what Romney is not telling you.
    Get over it!

    You do have the LEGAL right to know why Obama has more than one SS #
    and why it has a dead man's name on it!

    You do have a LEGAL right to know why OBAMA is playing fast and loose with his birth certificate, selective service information and "passport to Pakistan"!

    Have you looked into that ILLEGAL activity? Why not?

    You have to play fair...well I guess not if you're a liberal.
    Do as I say, not as I do is the liberal mantra!
  • Lee marylou5 2012/08/19 01:34:02
    Lee
    It's really too bad the Republicans couldn't find an honorable Presidential candidate, isn't it?
  • jaeman Jesse J... 2012/08/19 11:40:54
    jaeman
    How can you be president, when your entire life is a mystery; from birth to college? Obama is a bum! You should get a life and hope Obama does not re-elected. Then you will have to worry about your tax returns, because say goodbye to your take-home pay...
  • marylou5 Jesse J... 2012/08/18 16:33:52
    marylou5
    +1
    You know he is rich! Rich is not a dirty word!
    You know he earned a lot of money because he is an intelligent business man!
    You know he paid taxes on that money before it travelled across the pond!
    It's a tax shelter on interest and every American does it in some form or another!
    Your Roth IRA is a tax shelter!

    Romney is not legally or morally required to let you muck around in his personal finances...because you are a Nosy Nancy!
    What you are trying to do is..... well......a form of blackmail!
    Let me see...Let me see! It 'ain't" going to happen. Deal with it!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/22 21:51:07

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals