Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Just Legalize Marijuana, Already!

News 2012/04/20 20:00:00
It's 420, and you know what that means! If you don't, April 20 is the holy day of the stoner subculture, a date decided somewhat arbitrarily by the stoner lifestyle, which dictates that 4:20 is the ideal time to smoke. Now, we can't really ask who smokes -- it's still illegal, and some people don't want to give away that much info on the very public interwebs. So we asked the next-best question: Should it be legal?



Wait... what were we talking about? Oh, right. Marijuana. Most respondents are for it -- or at least for legalizing it. There's a difference. One commenter wrote, "I have no interest in smoking marijuana but it seems like common sense that it should be legal if alcohol is." Where were all those voters when it went on the ballot in California? Probably the same couch they're on today. Don't worry, you'll get 'em next time.

Conservative Conflict

The only demographic with a formidable sample size that voted against the legalization of marijuana was conservatives. They were 21% less supportive than Christians and 45% less likely than libertarians. The most frequent arguments against the legalization of marijuana were that it's a gateway drug and it's already illegal.

Males Lead the Charge

Gender didn't create much of a gap, but it was enough to show that males are more likely to support the legalization of marijuana. Sad news for stoner guys. Their dating options are perhaps a little more limited than those of stoner gals. Then again, you could quit whenever you want to. Right?

Smokers Support Smokers

When the legalization of pot is being discussed, it's often compared to alcohol and cigarettes. Each substance has its pros and cons, and marijuana's cons don't seem to be as detrimental as the other two. And those things are legal! Even drinkers and smokers can see that.


If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about legalizing marijuana. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Stan Weinstein 2012/04/20 20:52:54
    Stan Weinstein
    +20
    Legalization is long overdue. Law officers would not have to spend countless hours looking for marijuana fields while risking their lives. States would bring in millions of dollars in tax revenue. Thousands of police officers would be freed up so they could have more time scraping up the bodies of those killed by drunk drivers drinking the legal alcohol.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • teigan 2012/04/22 02:37:56
    teigan
    +2
    Yes, legalize it, it is no more harmful than alcohol. Tax it and treat it just like alcohol.
  • KittyKat 2012/04/22 02:10:13
    KittyKat
    People who smoke it are going to smoke it anyway.
  • Delicious Crab Meat 2012/04/22 02:07:21
  • Chaya2010 2012/04/22 01:31:39
    Chaya2010
    +1
    There is no good reason that marijuana is not legal when killer drugs/chemicals like alcohol and transfat are.
  • SoCal71 2012/04/22 01:24:25
    SoCal71
    If we couldn't make it legal in California... good luck getting it passed anywhere else in the country.
  • johnpaul 2012/04/22 00:50:19
    johnpaul
    Yes, legalize marijuana!
  • ♫♪‼Chloey Arddun‼♫♪ 2012/04/22 00:34:33
    ♫♪‼Chloey Arddun‼♫♪
    +1
    It's already pretty much legal where I live.
  • egyptianpharaoh 2012/04/22 00:13:04
    egyptianpharaoh
    +1
    i dont smoke but if wine is legal than marijuana should be
  • Valerie Howeth 2012/04/22 00:03:36
    Valerie Howeth
    No
  • PoppyAnn 2012/04/21 23:54:59
    PoppyAnn
    +4
    Yes we should legalize it. I have had Osteoarthritis and Fibromyalgia for 10 years now. All the pain med's are starting to not work. If they legalized Marijuana I would use it for pain relief. Do it please do it already!!!
  • ravenseye 2012/04/21 23:54:44
    ravenseye
    +2
    Hey it doesnt matter what happens if it is or isnt illegal all i know is that the smokers around the world will still be smoking so with that being said stop waisting taxs dollars on trying to win a war that you can not win and put the money to better use like i dont know maybe getting the country out of debt or something
  • Lerro DeHazel 2012/04/21 23:20:29
    Lerro DeHazel
    +2
    No Medical Doctor is going to teach "Treating Diseases With Medical Marijuana" . . . Anymore than an M.D. is going to teach "Treating Diseases With Burning Chicken Manure" . . . It's just NOT going to happen. So, don't look for the AMA (American Medical Association) to support any kind of "Medical Marijuana" issues anytime too soon.
  • Sam DeP... Lerro D... 2012/04/23 15:20:29
    Sam DePecan
    +1
    Why does anyone want to treat their brain like that? What is wrong with just having a healthy brain?
  • Nekosarethebest 2012/04/21 22:29:45
    Nekosarethebest
    HELL NO!
  • Delicio... Nekosar... 2012/04/22 02:08:51
    Delicious Crab Meat
    Why not?
  • Nekosar... Delicio... 2012/04/22 04:09:07
    Nekosarethebest
    I think it will.be badly abused. For the most part I don(/'t like when people smoke it. It seems tgey depend on it. The substitute that for relaxation and stuff. I don't like the abuse. Looks like it'll happen anyway. Smoking anything is disgusting. I saw my friend and her mom share a joint. I wamted to vomit... -_-
  • Delicio... Nekosar... 2012/04/22 15:58:53
    Delicious Crab Meat
    That's your opinion though. Why should anyone who smokes it be sent to prison and have their life ruined? It's been proven that alcohol is more harmful to the body and that cigarettes are more addictive but both of those are still legal. I'm not asking you to try it I'm just asking you to think about if it makes sense to punish someone just for smoking weed and nothing else.
  • Nekosar... Delicio... 2012/04/22 16:21:40
    Nekosarethebest
    Kay.
  • kaka702 2012/04/21 22:04:54 (edited)
    kaka702
    +1
    Marijuana ONLY!
  • MrFabulous47 2012/04/21 22:04:34
    MrFabulous47
    Huh?.....What?
  • theprothinker 2012/04/21 21:13:09
    theprothinker
    +1
    That's all we need is another mind altering/numbing substance on the loose in this country. Hardly anybody can focus on what they're doing right now! I've heard dope heads actually say that marijuana is what gets them through their workday! I wouldn't want to buy the product they make!
  • Grammar... theprot... 2012/04/22 00:19:20
    Grammar Freak
    +4
    Marijuana has been around since forever. Legalizing isn't going to necessarily make it more accessible than it is already. It will just make it less nefarious, take the profit away from the traffickers, thereby decreasing the number of people killed & imprisoned & state/local governments would have a new taxable commodity. There really is no down-side to legalization.
  • theprot... Grammar... 2012/04/24 15:06:38
    theprothinker
    except wider usage
  • Grammar... theprot... 2012/04/25 17:33:46
    Grammar Freak
    Maybe.
    At least usage would be more open.
  • dv 2012/04/21 20:54:54 (edited)
    dv
    +2
    Yea why not cigarettes are legal and so is alcohol and (fake weed )that kills people so why not real weed natural no man made additives
  • wandadear 2012/04/21 19:45:16
  • syl 2012/04/21 19:02:22
    syl
    why bother legalizing it? people do what they want with it, whether legal or not, good or bad, about just about everything!
  • Hula girl - Friends not Fol... 2012/04/21 18:19:26
    Hula girl - Friends not Followers
    +4
    Yea, just let the stoners out, pollute the air more and be more brain dead. Good plan. Then watch as the stoner men get testicular cancer that the health care bill shouldn't pay for. Hey....you want to be an idiot...I sure don't want to pay your bills.
  • jackolantyrn356 2012/04/21 18:09:17
    jackolantyrn356
    +3
    aNOTHER DRUG THAT WILL GET CHILDREN KILLED OR ADICTED. nO THANK YOU
  • Bastion jackola... 2012/04/21 18:13:25
    Bastion
    +9
    Do you support outlawing alcohol and tabacco?
  • Kristi ... Bastion 2012/04/21 19:54:38
    Kristi Heitmann
    best argument for this ever!!!
  • The Inc... Bastion 2012/04/21 22:49:59
    The Incurable Pessimist
    Yes, yes I do.
    Seeing people do these ruthless activities disgusts me, while endangering my own health.
    Selfish people.
    Thankfully my family and me believe in none of these horrible practices and abide by strict moral-codes!
  • Bastion The Inc... 2012/04/21 22:57:38
    Bastion
    +4
    Boring.
  • The Inc... Bastion 2012/04/22 01:26:17
    The Incurable Pessimist
    It's okay, you have a few years left anyways.
  • mrdrawingguy 2012/04/21 17:44:05
    mrdrawingguy
    +8
    I see no reason to not legalize and tax it. The people that smoke are going to continue to do so, legal or not. Why not tax it and apply the revenue to the national debt. The only people making money off it now are the drug cartels.

  • bob 2012/04/21 17:03:08
    bob
    +7
    prohibition does not work
  • georges.nakhle 2012/04/21 16:50:55
    georges.nakhle
    +1
    Why dont we legalize suicide and killing eachothers?!
  • georges... georges... 2012/04/21 16:52:54
    georges.nakhle
    +1
    Oh by the way! Both exist since long time before!
  • Oblahblah georges... 2012/04/21 17:00:03
    Oblahblah
    +6
    There is no comparison between legalizing marijuana and legalizing murder but suicide should not be illegal.
  • DizziNY Oblahblah 2012/04/21 17:11:10 (edited)
    DizziNY
    +1
    And why not? Tell me why someone with an incurable/terminal disease should suffer if they don't want to.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/09/17 01:40:19

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals