Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Facebook Isn't Worth Its $5 Billion IPO

News 2012/02/02 23:40:18
A million dollars isn't cool. You know what's cool? Five billion dollars. Wrong! Earlier this week, Facebook filed an initial public offering (IPO) of $5 billion, meaning that the social media company -- or at least, part of it -- is going public. But in light of recent changes that may or may not involve a certain Timeline, faith in the social network is waning. Shepard Smith asked SodaHeads if they thought the number sounded right.

Do You Think Facebook Is Worth the Huge IPO It's Expected to Have?


80% Said No

Well this isn't looking good. The whole point of listing an IPO is to get the company involved in a public exchange, but if the public doesn't think Facebook is worth its estimate, it could spell trouble. Then again, the Timeline update is working against the network right now, so it could just be a public slump. It's tough to determine how much a company should be worth without any insider perspective, but the general consensus, based on comments, seems to be that Facebook is only going to decrease in value. One commenter wrote, "Just another bubble ready to burst." Another wrote, "F--k Facebook." You get the idea.



Support Skews Younger

Though voters between the ages of 18 and 34 didn't agree with the estimate either, they were significantly more likely to give a thumbs up. But that's not necessarily a great sign. People in their late 20's might have some extra money to throw at the stock market, but without the support of older investors they could have a hard time getting leverage.

Money in the Bank

Despite the age demographics, Facebook still has the big money on its side, and that's an important demographic to have for obvious reasons. Voters who make more than $100K a year agreed with the estimate -- one of the few groups that did, and one of the few with an actual edge on the matter.

Progressives Show Support

The value of Facebook isn't really a political matter, but there was still a large political gap, particularly between progressives and libertarians. Progressives were split, which is pretty supportive relative to the overall, while hardly any libertarians agreed with the estimate (8%). The liberal-conservative difference was similar, but not nearly as pronounced.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about Facebook's IPO. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Vitalani 2012/03/01 02:56:59
  • Missydynamite 2012/02/11 19:16:51
    Missydynamite
    No eventually something else will stand up, and fb Will fade away.
  • redhorse29 2012/02/10 07:47:09
    redhorse29
    Regardless of the noise and pundits. Facebook's stock will be priced by the market. It may take months to calm down and settle into its initial range. Then it will begin moving up and down on the vagaries of the market and public emotion.
  • Robtbal 2012/02/09 18:29:37 (edited)
    Robtbal
    It may be to Mark Z....but the damage it does to the social fabric is in the trillions.....these kids that use these social sites can hardly function enough to get through a job interview let alone actually deal with the public in person.....its worse than sugar, and diabetes....(One of the major reasons for obesity / diabetes are these sites....kids dont know how to exercise anymore.....5 minutes of sex doesnt qualify as exercise....)
  • desperatedan 2012/02/07 11:36:11
    desperatedan
    More trouble than it is worth young people who use it daily will regret it later on as for me i would not use it any more i think it is rubbish.
  • santanasmooth 2012/02/06 17:38:02
    santanasmooth
    Timeline will be their undoing and will serve them right
  • V~POTL~PWCM~JLA 2012/02/05 20:37:32
    V~POTL~PWCM~JLA
    IPOs (especially tech) are usually overpriced. The financial media will hype Facebook like crazy, leading amateur investors to the slaughter.

    I'm looking at FB as a potential short.
  • rph3636 2012/02/05 05:59:39
    rph3636
    Not in a million years, I wouldn't give five cents for it, I tried it and don't recommend it to anyone if they want to communicate with me.
  • Tori Childers 2012/02/05 03:44:14
    Tori Childers
    I don't care as long as Facebook stays.
  • Cora 2012/02/04 21:46:51
    Cora
    +1
    It started as a Social and Networking Site and a lot of us has benefited from Facebook.
    Lets face it we all got caught up in it and I for one is one of them. We found long lost Families and Classmates even a few unwanted people.
  • El Prez 2012/02/04 07:50:50
    El Prez
    No and no and no again.
  • Splashstorm 2012/02/04 00:57:47
    Splashstorm
    wow..
  • WhereIsAmerica? ~PWCM~JLA 2012/02/04 00:55:59
    WhereIsAmerica? ~PWCM~JLA
    They have not changed me to timeline, I am happy.
  • Karl 2012/02/04 00:27:24
    Karl
    +1
    Oh, they think the company's worth $5 bil. I thought they were referring to Zuckerberg's ego.
  • RobJohn 2012/02/04 00:09:48
    RobJohn
    Seems SH is jealous. Why is SH so preoccupied with FB, rather than improving its own site and services?
  • Pete 2012/02/03 23:59:31
    Pete
    I don't have an account with face book so I really don't care how much they are worth because frankly it worth nothing to me.............................. Peace be with you
  • rph3636 Pete 2012/02/05 06:02:02
    rph3636
    Very good answer, I feel the same way.
  • Kelly Yung 2012/02/03 23:40:50
    Kelly Yung
    Dont really care, all facebook is, is like a free mobile phone, altho i dont understand how it could even be worth near that much but i dont know much about these types of things!
  • AShatteredOne 2012/02/03 23:10:41
    AShatteredOne
    Something is worth what someone will pay for it. I'd play 5 bucks for the webiste. -_-
  • Rocko 2012/02/03 22:55:44
    Rocko
    can you say "inflated"
  • Jack's Pearl 2012/02/03 22:54:27
    Jack's Pearl
    FB has such a high use/membership, that it is worth the money they asked.
  • Bethany Jansen 2012/02/03 20:54:19
    Bethany Jansen
    No.
  • wamcalif 2012/02/03 20:40:01
    wamcalif
    Sure it's worth 5B. Lokk at all of the applications connected to FB. I don't know of any major company that does not have a link to FB.
  • davyd god loving patriot 2012/02/03 20:08:34
    davyd god loving patriot
    facebook is priceless, nobama and google and facebook started the arab spring, priceless
  • k.l.white1 2012/02/03 19:34:38
    k.l.white1
    nope, not even close to that. even if i had money to invest, it wouldn't be in facebook
  • Cthulhu 2012/02/03 19:31:27
    Cthulhu
    Just another IPO based on hot air the market makers blow, and they blow a lot of hot air.

    Politicians and other important people get first dibs or free shares of high profile IPOs like these long before the general public can buy.
  • cm 2012/02/03 16:46:12
    cm
    i wouldn't touch this IPO with a 10' pole
  • ♌βļąƈʞƦơșƐ3033♌ 2012/02/03 16:19:04
  • Bill ~PWCM~JLA 2012/02/03 16:15:51
    Bill ~PWCM~JLA
    Facebook is a fad. I found it pretty cool in the beginning but now I use it less and less. Maybe it's my age. I'd be happy to see Facebook end up as roadkill on the information highway. Why? Because I think it's ridiculous that users think I actually want to know every time they take a nap or their child burps. In addition, there is the threat of personal data mining.

    That being said, I think the people buying into the IPO are buying high. I expect a bump up in the share value and then a steady decline as the fad dies. And when they die, good riddance to Mafia Wars and Farmville and all those other stupid games.
  • WhereIs... Bill ~P... 2012/02/04 01:02:01
    WhereIsAmerica? ~PWCM~JLA
    +1
    I can't stand Zynga, and they would be nothing without Facebook.
  • jacktown kid 2012/02/03 16:13:49
  • Howard J Peters OD 2012/02/03 16:13:42
    Howard J Peters OD
    +1
    Whatever the highest bidder pays is what gets it! BUT what is it worth? In truth only history will tell! It is a good marketing tool!
  • ChocolateAttack 2012/02/03 16:08:06
    ChocolateAttack
    +2
    not. it is not worth much, it will go down just as myspace did.. all websites do.
  • niz.wiz1 Chocola... 2012/02/03 18:48:05
    niz.wiz1
    not google
  • Chocola... niz.wiz1 2012/02/13 16:39:34
    ChocolateAttack
    true.. but well i meant like social sites.. such as myspace, high five etc
  • Old Geecer 2012/02/03 16:01:17
    Old Geecer
    +1
    Facebook is all about Greed, Greed, Greed because they have no face value, they are playing there member for suckers!
  • S. Gompers 2012/02/03 15:07:23
    S. Gompers
    +3
    There is a sucker born every minute...
  • Pinball Wizard 2012/02/03 13:26:13
    Pinball Wizard
    +2
    No but, every company that goes public on the NYSE, a great amount of money is made on that day. I still don't think it's worth what he says it is. Martha Stewart, earned millions on the first day she went public.
  • geneticmistake 2012/02/03 13:19:22
    geneticmistake
    +2
    I wouldn't touch Facebook stock for several months after the IPO. See what the market thinks first.
  • Sandman366 2012/02/03 13:15:55
    Sandman366
    +2
    Don't have a Facebook, hate the Facebook takeover, hope it goes down so I can go back to doing something without 80,000 "LIKE US ON FACEBOOK" billboards every 20 pixels.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/10/01 16:32:05

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals