Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Facebook Ads Aren't That Noticeable

News 2012/06/14 23:00:00
Facebook is struggling to present itself as a marketable, profitable company, but its recent stock plunge and the loss of General Motors' Facebook advertising are making it difficult. They released a statement explaining how to make better use of Facebook ads, but we took it straight to the public, asking how many people even notice those ads.



Well, most people say they don't notice the ads, but that doesn't necessarily mean all is lost. For starters, not everyone who notices ads realizes it. Subliminal advertising isn't quite as outrageous as that smoking commercial on "Family Guy," but marketing does have a way of seeping into your sub-awareness. Also, 32% isn't a horrible number in terms of advertising. Advertisers don't need everyone on Facebook to see them -- just the ones who are going to buy their product.

The Age of Advertisements

Age did have an effect on response, but there could be a couple of factors at work here. One obvious factor is that older people are less likely to be on Facebook at all, much less all day every day. Older people might also be less adapted to Internet advertising in general. If you're already overwhelmed with the pace of the Internet, it's probably not much use to try and keep track of everything on the screen.

Guys Pay No Mind

Gender also appears to be a factor here. Female voters are about 18% more likely to say they notice Facebook advertisements than guys. Maybe the ladies are more observational, or maybe they're more interested in spotting sweet deals. Only 23% of guys notice them. Presumably, that means there aren't many bikini-clad ads out there.

Slimming Down the Ads

This was a little strange... Even weight class seems to have an effect on how much people pay attention to ads. Skinny respondents were 16% more likely than overweight respondents to say they notice ads. It could be that overweight Facebook users don't frequent the site as much, since it is a very image-centric network, but this is a tough one.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Facebook ads. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Jorge Enriquez 2012/07/14 08:39:35
    Jorge Enriquez
    RealllY? what adds? lol
  • Flamingolady 2012/07/11 02:50:30
    Flamingolady
    I never look at them. One time I did, and that stupid ad was on every site I went on, even here on Sodahead!
  • Lina Blub 2012/06/27 21:58:27
    Lina Blub
    as long as it isnt about aion(I play it already since 2010) or clothes&shoes; xD
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/06/18 04:50:09
    Fariborz-Zak
    yes and agree
  • Adrint 2012/06/18 02:15:32
    Adrint
    Facebook stinks anyway. Learn more at
    http://www.quitfakebook.tk
  • waternymphxD 2012/06/17 16:41:29
    waternymphxD
    Weight?are u serious?:-O
  • Gwen 2012/06/17 06:24:14
    Gwen
    +1
    also weight, probably has nothing to do with how likely you are to notice ads... it is how much you pay attention.
  • Gwen 2012/06/17 06:20:53
    Gwen
    hell, i quit Facebook because the ads pissed me off so much
  • JChin 2012/06/17 05:24:58
    JChin
    I notice them, and then I decide to do nothing about it.
  • Ozymandias 2012/06/16 18:54:16
  • TKramar 2012/06/16 09:49:22
    TKramar
    +2
    They're about as noticeable as people talking about God--which is to say, I never really noticed how often it happens until someone else mentioned it, and I actually starting looking at it to see if it was common. Otherwise, I was just glossing over those comments as uninteresting.
  • TimothyBrianFoley 2012/06/16 02:54:54
    TimothyBrianFoley
    i always see them when on facebook hard to escape them
  • Fighting4U 2012/06/16 00:18:40
    Fighting4U
    +1
    I don't even pay attention to the ads.
  • Beltazar 2012/06/16 00:14:47
    Beltazar
    +1
    Well, it is not so much that they are not noticeable.. The thing is and will definitely catch on sooner or later is that they cater those ads to the likes on your page, so that as time goes on you get the ads that suit your interests.. So then you are more likely to click on one or two of them and buy something...
  • Firefly 2012/06/15 23:42:38
    Firefly
    +2
    They are noticeable,

    but, NOT obnoxiously so, imho...

    No 'pop-ups' or flashing / blinking things

    all up in my face, like on many other sites I use ~

    Since they cater to my 'Likes' list, I've found them handy,

    and have bought, shared, and further 'explored' accordingly ;0 )
  • TKramar Firefly 2012/06/17 00:07:29
    TKramar
    +1
    Like, um...THIS one.
  • Firefly TKramar 2012/06/17 00:25:15 (edited)
    Firefly
    Sodahead has a few that annoy me,

    but there are other sites that just downright piss me off ~

    I hate it when I'm trying to read, and see 'blinky' stuff out of the corner of my eye...

    Why would an online newspaper ask you to register, then ' chase ' you off like that ?
  • TKramar Firefly 2012/06/17 03:15:01
    TKramar
    It's the popup ads that obscure the screen that get most annoying. This site had one for "Mars Needs Moms" awhile back.
  • Kaimeso 2012/06/15 22:41:45
    Kaimeso
    +1
    I don't use facebook, dropped it after the privacy was changed multiple times without notice. As for the ads, I can say the SH ads are completely ignored even to the point of refusing to even consider what is advertised. For some of the annoying popups, while they won't get me to think about their product it will certainly make sure I won't be using it,..
  • Scott ヶBrony Of PHAETヶ 2012/06/15 20:14:54 (edited)
    Scott ヶBrony Of PHAETヶ
    Especially when you have ad-block....what ads?
  • BattleBunnys 2012/06/15 14:49:35
    BattleBunnys
    +1
    I have AdBlocker which prevents any advertisements on the sides of websites from playing or even to be seen. Haven't seen an advertisement that wasn't on a video in a year and a half!
  • CrazyDeen0 2012/06/15 14:41:26
    CrazyDeen0
    What is Sodahead's obsession with Facebook?? Why all the Facebook questions?
  • TKramar CrazyDeen0 2012/06/17 00:08:22
    TKramar
    Due to the recent IPO, they are in the news a lot. And there was that movie a few years back about it.
  • CrazyDeen0 TKramar 2012/06/18 14:46:09
    CrazyDeen0
    I think there is a secret obsession with FB and when they changed the format of SH back in 2009 to make it more like FB it confirmed it.
  • taitaFalcon23 2012/06/15 14:24:07
    taitaFalcon23
    I have a FB account and I also have a small biz. The FB account has achieved absolutely 0 results in more than 3 yrs of trying to use it for marketing. True, having an account is free; trying to do something with it has a cost and unless you pay that cost, all it does is provide a landing place for people to contaminate you business page and make your biz look like a family scrapbook of bad uncles and out of control aunts
  • Kyra 2012/06/15 09:08:04
    Kyra
    I never pay attention to them.
  • olylift 2012/06/15 05:13:08
    olylift
    Well thank everyone, now everytime I log in I'm going to get bombarded.
  • VICTORIA 2012/06/15 05:03:24
    VICTORIA
    Nah- the owner of Sodahead is just eaten up with an ugly envy for the success of Facebook.
    He's against the free market and must be a Communist.
  • Zuggi VICTORIA 2012/06/16 05:18:08
  • VICTORIA Zuggi 2012/06/22 05:10:04
    VICTORIA
    Actual LOL in real life back atcha.
  • lara 2012/06/15 04:15:42
    lara
    I am not clear about that. I do not log onto Facebook for a long time. However, in my opinion, facebook ads are noticeable.At least, the people around me pay more attention on them,
  • taitaFa... lara 2012/06/15 14:28:59
    taitaFalcon23
    +1
    It's not that I don't notice them; it's more of 'Do I trust them?' And so far, no... Social media is always short on one thing... eventually you have to MEET people. Hiding in my home office is not producing the results I'd like. People learn to trust the old fashioned way. FB MIGHT get your foot in the door, but a firm handshake and a look into a person's eye carries more weight.
  • thє вluє wαndєrєr 2012/06/15 03:33:58
  • ★misfit★ 2012/06/15 03:05:31 (edited)
    ★misfit★
    +1
    Great, now Facebook will get more annoying, disruptive ads to MAKE SURE PEOPLE NOTICE THEM because they're popping up in front of everything you want to see. And that, personally, just makes me want the product less and want to use the site less. Just because I have to see an ad does not make me want to buy it. Stop the advertising onslaught!
  • Omni ★misfit★ 2012/06/15 03:27:37
    Omni
    +1
    It's your fault if you aren't using ad-block.
  • ★misfit★ Omni 2012/06/15 03:28:30 (edited)
    ★misfit★
    +2
    I used to use ad-block, but I found it slowed down my browser and wasn't worth it. It doesn't let you skip youtube video ads either, which are the most annoying.
  • Omni ★misfit★ 2012/06/15 03:29:31
    Omni
    +1
    I wonder how long ago this was. Maybe back in the dial up ages, but ad-block doesn't slow down anything at this point.
  • ★misfit★ Omni 2012/06/15 03:31:28
    ★misfit★
    +1
    No, it wasn't that long ago. But at the time I was using Google Chrome, perhaps it is better with Firefox. I'll have to give it another go.
  • Omni ★misfit★ 2012/06/15 03:44:28
    Omni
    You should. I have ad-block for Chrome and Opera and I haven't experienced any slow down.
  • ★misfit★ Omni 2012/06/15 03:48:27
    ★misfit★
    Hm maybe it was just my computer.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/23 08:53:27

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals