Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Downing Hand Sanitizer Is the Dumbest Way to Get Intoxicated

News 2012/04/27 16:00:00
Kids are always coming up with new ways of getting high. Sniff this marker, lick this toad. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. And occasionally, it has dire consequences. One such trend that's been gaining momentum over the last couple years is ingesting hand sanitizer because of its high alcohol content. Some kids are even filming themselves doing it and putting it up on YouTube. Since March, the California Poison Control System has dealt with 16 cases from Los Angeles County teens. Since 2010, they've dealt with 60 cases. We asked the public if this was the dumbest method of intoxication they've heard of.



Thankfully, most people agree this is the dumbest idea thus far. We could speculate on things that would be worse, but we don't want to give the whippersnappers any ideas. They'll put that ish on YouTube. But hand sanitizer? Just because it has alcohol in it? That's pretty low. And by low, we mean stupid. So, let's get to the stats.

Men Are More Likely

We realize the wording on this question was a little confusing. Just because men were less inclined to say it's the dumbest way of getting intoxicated doesn't necessarily mean they're more likely to go through with it. However, we did a YouTube search and didn't see many females engaging in the activity, so we're inclined to think there is a subtle connection.

Drinkers Don't Show as Much Concern

We're not quite sure how to take this. Drinkers were less likely to say it's the dumbest method of intoxication they've seen. We suppose that shouldn't be too surprising. Spend enough time in bars, and you're bound to see something pretty dumb. We just hope they aren't speaking from first-hand experience.

With Age Comes Wisdom

Voters were more appalled as they got older, as they should be. That could mean one of two things: Either people become less inclined to do things like, you know, drink whatever's under the sink, or younger people have seen stupider things. They are on YouTube a lot more often, and YouTube is a pretty crazy place. We're gonna say it's both.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about hand sanitizer. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Waiting... 001 2012/04/28 13:05:04 (edited)
    Waiting in the Wings
    +1
    It is a grammatical mistake, but I thought it was funny.
  • Waiting... Vieuphoria 2012/04/28 13:07:36
    Waiting in the Wings
    I thought it was funny.
  • He'a: k... Vieuphoria 2012/04/28 21:45:42
    He'a: ka'ka:'
    Yes! I applaud your rare talent of knowing the forms of you, your, and you're. It's refreshing!
  • pottercrazy1436 2012/04/28 03:40:49
    pottercrazy1436
    +2
    "Hey I am getting wasted tonight!"
    "Aww man awesome, what are you doing?"
    " I am going to to go to the nearest pharamacy and buy handsanitizer and down all of them"
    Hahaha seriously the supidest thing I have ever heard in my freakin life.
  • Torchy 2012/04/28 03:01:50
    Torchy
    +1
    Seriously...just legalize pot. It's a lot less fecked up. Seeing kids downing hand sanitizer just to get high does nothing but prove Darwin more right.
  • MkB 2012/04/28 02:36:18
    MkB
    +1
    Chow down a box of chocolate Ex-Lax instead. Will always give a high. Just ask Willie Makit.
  • Wizard 2012/04/28 02:17:40 (edited)
    Wizard
    +2
    For cryin' out loud!
    How ignorant can you get???
    Don't these kids realize it might be WOOD alcohol??!
    That can destroy their intestines and they can go blind!

    If they want to get high without having to go to the liquor store...make their own wine. What a bunch of retards.
  • diane RN Wizard 2012/04/28 04:24:44
    diane RN
    +2
    Teenagers are imnipotent, nothing bad will happen to them....at least thats what they think.
  • Kibelle 2012/04/28 02:03:15
    Kibelle
    I wonder which item would be next in the line for these kids... Seems like they can get drunk with just about any household items.
  • Wizard Kibelle 2012/05/02 14:44:05
    Wizard
    +1
    Crap!
    Now we not only have to lock the kitchen utility cabinet from our toddlers...but our teens too??!
  • CrazeeMusicLover 2012/04/28 01:41:15
  • Andrea 2012/04/28 01:19:30
    Andrea
    +1
    Why not just guzzle a bottle of rubbing alcohol. That is all it is in gel form.
  • Catgirl Andrea 2012/04/28 03:57:20
  • Andrea Catgirl 2012/04/28 13:57:30
    Andrea
    The things these kids come up with the kill themselves is just ridiculous. When I was a kid we jumped off of swing ropes into the lake lol.
  • Wizard Andrea 2012/05/02 14:45:54
    Wizard
    And they will go blind...
    Rubbing alcohol is poison.
  • Andrea Wizard 2012/05/02 22:33:53 (edited)
    Andrea
    And? Hand sanitizer isn't?
  • scientologist supreme 2012/04/27 23:38:32
    scientologist supreme
    You don't say
  • smilinbobs 2012/04/27 23:33:14
    smilinbobs
    +1
    I have seen people in an effort to get high suck the propane from their BBQ grill, drink bong water, drink sterno, and drink the extracts out of the spice rack. I don't think drinking hand sanitizer is any dumber that some of the other things people do to get high
  • Tarheel 2012/04/27 23:27:33
    Tarheel
    Well, that explains why one of my students did that in the lunchroom and then threw up in class. Great.
  • Beagle Mom 2012/04/27 23:26:18
    Beagle Mom
    It is stupid, crazy, dangerous and people will find any way to get intoxicated. My dad counseled addicts and he would have to confiscate any products with alcohol...hairspray, witch hazel, mouthwash. Sadly, it was just a matter of time before this became news.
  • ed 2012/04/27 22:53:01
    ed
    people are crazy
  • El Prez 2012/04/27 22:27:33
    El Prez
    Actually huffing is worse!!!!!
  • Hannah 2012/04/27 21:55:34
    Hannah
    Some hand sanitzers have poison like toothpaste you can use it just don't swallow!
  • animelover123 2012/04/27 21:22:04
    animelover123
    I thought they stopped putting that kind of stuff in germX?
  • iluvwillluleich ❤ 2012/04/27 21:04:41
    iluvwillluleich ❤
    +1
    WHAT AN F-ING ASS!!!!!!!!!!! wtf
  • kesha 2012/04/27 20:45:06
    kesha
    Discusting
  • Anonymousforobvious 2012/04/27 20:37:18
    Anonymousforobvious
    +1
    ....just put a small bit into your orange juice....
  • ♥ilia rose♥ 2012/04/27 20:17:59
    ♥ilia rose♥
    +2
    Ewww, thats nasty.. Kinda like how all the kids were using the computer cleaners to get "high" lol..,
  • MOMMA THOMAS 2012/04/27 20:05:41
    MOMMA THOMAS
    MY GOD!
  • Will 2012/04/27 20:02:35 (edited)
    Will
    +1
    Hope they enjoy the taste





    idiocy
  • DebraJMSmith 2012/04/27 20:01:36
    DebraJMSmith
    Idiots!
  • dallas 2012/04/27 19:55:41
  • Max Power dallas 2012/04/27 21:15:03
    Max Power
    +1
    Wow, you're so clever. Have you ever considered being a comedian?
  • diane RN dallas 2012/04/28 04:21:48
    diane RN
    You get the gold start for having the most assiine post on this subject. Kudos to you Einstein.
  • ~Jeffi <3 floats~ 2012/04/27 19:52:10
    ~Jeffi <3 floats~
    lol wow.. the people who does this kind of things are just plain failure..
  • The Inc... ~Jeffi ... 2012/04/28 03:04:53
    The Incurable Pessimist
    They deserve to rid the world of themselves.
  • John Freeman 2012/04/27 19:40:06
    John Freeman
    Putting that stuff on your hands isnt that great for you either ya know.
  • The Inc... John Fr... 2012/04/28 03:05:44
    The Incurable Pessimist
    I always wash my hands and it disgusts me when most teens don't.
    I am stuck with these idiots.
  • Odinsown 2012/04/27 19:30:26
    Odinsown
    60 cases in 2 years... How is that a trend?
  • Shelby 2012/04/27 19:10:09
    Shelby
    It is totally dumb, but not the dumbest and certainly not the most dangerous.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/25 02:03:59

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals