Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Downing Hand Sanitizer Is the Dumbest Way to Get Intoxicated

News 2012/04/27 16:00:00
Kids are always coming up with new ways of getting high. Sniff this marker, lick this toad. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. And occasionally, it has dire consequences. One such trend that's been gaining momentum over the last couple years is ingesting hand sanitizer because of its high alcohol content. Some kids are even filming themselves doing it and putting it up on YouTube. Since March, the California Poison Control System has dealt with 16 cases from Los Angeles County teens. Since 2010, they've dealt with 60 cases. We asked the public if this was the dumbest method of intoxication they've heard of.



Thankfully, most people agree this is the dumbest idea thus far. We could speculate on things that would be worse, but we don't want to give the whippersnappers any ideas. They'll put that ish on YouTube. But hand sanitizer? Just because it has alcohol in it? That's pretty low. And by low, we mean stupid. So, let's get to the stats.

Men Are More Likely

We realize the wording on this question was a little confusing. Just because men were less inclined to say it's the dumbest way of getting intoxicated doesn't necessarily mean they're more likely to go through with it. However, we did a YouTube search and didn't see many females engaging in the activity, so we're inclined to think there is a subtle connection.

Drinkers Don't Show as Much Concern

We're not quite sure how to take this. Drinkers were less likely to say it's the dumbest method of intoxication they've seen. We suppose that shouldn't be too surprising. Spend enough time in bars, and you're bound to see something pretty dumb. We just hope they aren't speaking from first-hand experience.

With Age Comes Wisdom

Voters were more appalled as they got older, as they should be. That could mean one of two things: Either people become less inclined to do things like, you know, drink whatever's under the sink, or younger people have seen stupider things. They are on YouTube a lot more often, and YouTube is a pretty crazy place. We're gonna say it's both.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about hand sanitizer. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Jenni 2012/04/28 20:12:38
  • MaryBoBerry 2012/04/28 19:21:37
    MaryBoBerry
    Uhm, I'm not a scientist or anything.. but couldn't that KILL you? idiots...
  • jada 2012/04/28 18:29:38
    jada
    sooo stupid! LOL stupid h
  • Angela Chambers 2012/04/28 18:04:33
  • Pdavid 2012/04/28 18:03:44
    Pdavid
    About as dumb as drinking mouthwash to get drunk.
  • MDMA 2012/04/28 17:58:18
    MDMA
    Sorry, but I have no pity for dumbasses that die this way
  • mali 2012/04/28 17:55:37
    mali
    That's stupid!
  • HOMBRE 2012/04/28 17:54:05
    HOMBRE
    +1
    Sounds like Obama people to me
  • Birthpangs 2012/04/28 17:19:52
  • UrbanHillbilly 2012/04/28 17:13:55
    UrbanHillbilly
    Reminds me, some European wineries were caught spiking their wine with isopropel alcohol a couple of decades ago, to give their wine more kick.

    This stuff is dangerous!
  • George 2012/04/28 17:13:16
    George
    Education scores head South while random acts of moronic stupidity climb North.
    Is it any wonder a complete ass was put into the office of POTUS by the voting public?
  • Andy 2012/04/28 17:03:29
    Andy
    Very dumb!!! Start sniffing paint...oh they already do that... More dumbness!!!
  • wilsonmja 2012/04/28 16:15:05
  • paul 2012/04/28 16:12:43
    paul
    +1
    I usually have a shot of sanitizer before bed, with an olive....... drink with olive
  • Xitlalilolly 2012/04/28 16:04:06
    Xitlalilolly
    its the dumbest thing they have ever done.. i hate the fact that they do stupid things and make all teenagers look dumb.. they dnt have a life
  • shellyBlink182ToMark17 2012/04/28 15:08:24
  • HelmetGirl 2012/04/28 14:35:02
    HelmetGirl
    Are teens becoming more self-destructive every year or what? I'm not getting it. They work real hard on finding ways to get high. How about doing more productive and safe things?
  • kmay 2012/04/28 14:26:15
  • kmay kmay 2012/04/28 14:27:42
    kmay
    How much hand sanitizer would be dangerous?

    A hand sanitizer pump dispenses approximately 2.5 mL of liquid. If one pump of a 62% ethanol-containing hand sanitizer was ingested by an average 2 year old weighing 15 kg (33 lbs), a blood alcohol level of 17.3 mg/dL would be expected, considerably below a toxic level of 80-100 mg/dL. The same child would have to drink approximately 4-5 teaspoons of the sanitizer to produce toxic effects requiring medical attention. Clearly, more than a lick of hand sanitizer would be necessary to produce significant toxic effects.
  • jiggy kmay 2012/04/29 00:18:08
    jiggy
    +1
    Hand sanitizers do not contain ethanol. They contain isopropyl alcohol.
    They are very much not the same thing.
  • kmay jiggy 2012/04/29 14:20:38
    kmay
    Google 'ethanol-containing hand sanitizer'
  • All American 2012/04/28 13:56:43
    All American
    Stupid is as stupid does.
  • Tony 2012/04/28 13:27:41
  • Ves~Sailor Soldier of PHAET 2012/04/28 12:28:28
    Ves~Sailor Soldier of PHAET
    That has to not only taste frikken nasty, but its the stupidest thing I ever heard of. Wtf, how could someone be so damn stupid?!
  • Fenabarb 2012/04/28 11:15:23
    Fenabarb
    stops you swearing (mouth sanitizer)
    '
    '
    '
    '
    because you fcking dead
  • irishguy87 2012/04/28 10:16:17
    irishguy87
    next thing they are going to start doing is drinking alcohol rub
  • Katniss 2012/04/28 09:59:16
    Katniss
    Jesus Christ that's disgusting. If I've used it recently and I accidentally lick my hand I almost throw up.
  • Jeremy Villa 2012/04/28 09:35:33
    Jeremy Villa
    I think this is very stupid, fool does stupid fool
  • Rick 2012/04/28 05:23:07
    Rick
    Brain damage looking for a place to happen.
  • 001 Rick 2012/04/28 12:49:48
    001
    +2
    I don't think there's a lot of healthy brain tissue to begin with if someone decides to drink a bottle of hand sanitizer ;-)
  • Rick 001 2012/04/28 17:29:29
    Rick
    That's the truth.
  • Artisan Rose ☽✪☾☥ 2012/04/28 05:16:26
    Artisan Rose ☽✪☾☥
    And people wonder why I hate other teens when they act a damn fool
  • Fariborz-Zak 2012/04/28 05:10:55
    Fariborz-Zak
    agree
  • Picasso's Cat 2012/04/28 05:06:42
    Picasso's Cat
    +1
    Just like the kids that sniff liquid paper and sharpies. Natures way of weeding out the defects in society. The human way is jail.
  • Betty 2012/04/28 04:51:58
    Betty
    I can only imagine the damage being done to their liver. Frightening that they feel a need to escape so desperately. What is happening to our children!!??
  • BigFig#9 2012/04/28 04:22:41
    BigFig#9
    +1
    Don't these poor kids have parent's vodka bottles that can be slowly diluted with water like the rest of us???
  • *~The Doctor's Rose♥~* 2012/04/28 04:04:54
    *~The Doctor's Rose♥~*
    +1
    1. I honestly don't think teens should be getting intoxicated in the first place.
    2. You know how many chemicals are in hand sanitizer? It's not healthy!
    3. I don't imagine it tastes very good.
    4. THIS IS A VERY STUPID THING TO DO!

    Hand sanitizer isn't meant for drinking. It's to clean your hands with. Common sense!
  • Waiting in the Wings 2012/04/28 04:04:24
    Waiting in the Wings
    +2
    Idiots! There might actually be something to that natural selection theory.

    idiots natural selection theory


    idiots natural selection theory
  • Vieuphoria Waiting... 2012/04/28 12:45:08
    Vieuphoria
    +2
    I like the second one with the paper bag. Only because the guy calling other people idiots has made a spelling mistake :P
  • 001 Vieuphoria 2012/04/28 12:52:31
    001
    +1
    Actually it's a grammatical mistake.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/08/30 04:30:12

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals