Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Downing Hand Sanitizer Is the Dumbest Way to Get Intoxicated

News 2012/04/27 16:00:00
Kids are always coming up with new ways of getting high. Sniff this marker, lick this toad. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. And occasionally, it has dire consequences. One such trend that's been gaining momentum over the last couple years is ingesting hand sanitizer because of its high alcohol content. Some kids are even filming themselves doing it and putting it up on YouTube. Since March, the California Poison Control System has dealt with 16 cases from Los Angeles County teens. Since 2010, they've dealt with 60 cases. We asked the public if this was the dumbest method of intoxication they've heard of.



Thankfully, most people agree this is the dumbest idea thus far. We could speculate on things that would be worse, but we don't want to give the whippersnappers any ideas. They'll put that ish on YouTube. But hand sanitizer? Just because it has alcohol in it? That's pretty low. And by low, we mean stupid. So, let's get to the stats.

Men Are More Likely

We realize the wording on this question was a little confusing. Just because men were less inclined to say it's the dumbest way of getting intoxicated doesn't necessarily mean they're more likely to go through with it. However, we did a YouTube search and didn't see many females engaging in the activity, so we're inclined to think there is a subtle connection.

Drinkers Don't Show as Much Concern

We're not quite sure how to take this. Drinkers were less likely to say it's the dumbest method of intoxication they've seen. We suppose that shouldn't be too surprising. Spend enough time in bars, and you're bound to see something pretty dumb. We just hope they aren't speaking from first-hand experience.

With Age Comes Wisdom

Voters were more appalled as they got older, as they should be. That could mean one of two things: Either people become less inclined to do things like, you know, drink whatever's under the sink, or younger people have seen stupider things. They are on YouTube a lot more often, and YouTube is a pretty crazy place. We're gonna say it's both.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about hand sanitizer. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Rural Charmer 2012/05/08 12:05:37
    Rural Charmer
    Anyone who is willling to get intoxicated is an idiot
  • Cora 2012/05/07 02:48:21
    Cora
    Their brain is pretty much gone. That is a cry for attention and plain stupidity.
  • Tornado Texas 2012/05/02 17:55:07
    Tornado Texas
    +1
    I read and posted this once before, but I am still so shocked by it!!!!
  • ☆ QueenAline 2012/05/01 20:39:29
    ☆ QueenAline
    DUMB..just plain DUMB
  • Jane 2012/05/01 12:15:29
    Jane
    discusting
  • John "By God" American 2012/05/01 11:50:14
    John "By God" American
    Now the politicians are gonna try and outlaw hand sanitizer because of a bunch of dumbasses, right?
  • pterodactyl 2012/05/01 04:27:09
    pterodactyl
    i think that is so stupid i have only heard of this once and they boiled it and got the acihol and other stuff septerated
  • Jack the Dude 2012/05/01 03:39:58
    Jack the Dude
    DAMN!!! PEOPLE ARE SUPER STUPID!!
  • Soundstorm 2012/05/01 03:13:14
    Soundstorm
    Time was that everybody understood that being stupid only guaranteed a hard life. But now we have a domesticated, indulgent, self absorbed generation that's actually seeking comfort in deliberate stupidity through toxic substances that could possibly make it a permanent condition for some of them.
  • boatnectar 2012/05/01 01:13:11
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/04/30 23:10:07
    Margaret Jacobson
    NOW WE NEED TO USE ID FOR HAND SANITZER ..........CRAZY......NOW THEY WILL PROBABLY STOP SELLING IT !!! DAMN THE FOOLS
  • nightcrawler2005 2012/04/30 22:42:15
    nightcrawler2005
    Let me guess. These idiots are from the shallow end of the gene pool.
  • bob h. 2012/04/30 21:42:49
    bob h.
    Don't these dummy kids know how to make sterno? A little "squeeze", never hurt.
  • sockpuppet 2012/04/30 21:16:29
    sockpuppet
    People have been killing themselves with aftershave, mouthwash and sterno for the past century. Besides... I thought that vodka-tampons-up-the-keyster was a much sillier way to party.
  • Abel Garcia 2012/04/30 20:51:20
    Abel Garcia
    yeah that has to be one of the dumbest things ive heard of in quite some time. but im surprised they didnt just drink rubbing alcohol.
  • DJL 2012/04/30 20:32:13
    DJL
    It is no worse than vodka in the eyes or vodka soaked tampons.
  • Mike 2012/04/30 19:00:35
    Mike
    I understand how people like Obama, Pelosi, Reid, and others get elected
  • Jacksane 2012/04/30 17:08:37
    Jacksane
    +1
    It's right up there with compressed air.
  • CUDDLY BUT STILL CRABBY 2012/04/30 16:33:46
    CUDDLY BUT STILL CRABBY
    +1
    I know some folks that wouldn't hesitate to smoke weed that has been soaked in embalming fluid, so there are some true ignoramuses amongst us.
  • CAA_coffeeaddict 2012/04/30 16:25:10
    CAA_coffeeaddict
    O.o what is the world coming too?
  • David 2012/04/30 16:06:43
    David
    +1
    This is beyond stupid. It is brain dead. When I was in high school kids smoked pot, took hits of speed and shrooms oh and of course indulged in alcohol. How vacant does your life have to be to resort to this. I partially blame gutless parents for not taking the time to do the hard stuff and intervene in their kids lives but the kids themselves who do this are just plain idiots.
  • Sheila 2012/04/30 15:52:35
    Sheila
    +1
    While I am not a believer in evolution Darwin did have some theories that were very true. Survival of the fittest. I nominate these kids for a Darwin award honorary mention (they don't die usually so don't qualify for the actual award).

    www.darwinawards.com
  • shiroid... Sheila 2012/04/30 21:08:02
    shiroidenkou1994
    +1
    Natural selection (often described as the 'survival of the fittest') IS evolution. Populations change as individuals either reproduce or are weeded out.
  • Sheila shiroid... 2012/05/01 16:27:45
    Sheila
    But it is not the part I disagree with and NOT the whole theory. The beginning is where Darwin and I part ways.
  • shiroid... Sheila 2012/05/01 18:11:28
    shiroidenkou1994
    What part do you disagree with, then?
  • Sheila shiroid... 2012/05/01 18:14:41
    Sheila
    In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth. -- Genesis 1:1
  • shiroid... Sheila 2012/05/01 18:24:06
    shiroidenkou1994
    1) That doesn't have anything to do with evolution. The closest subject that might have something to do with that is abiogenesis.

    2) Do you actually have any evidence for this claim?
  • Sheila shiroid... 2012/05/01 18:30:30
    Sheila
    That has everything to do with evolution.

    And no, that is why it is called faith.
  • shiroid... Sheila 2012/05/01 18:38:05 (edited)
    shiroidenkou1994
    So you don't understand evolution, but you're advancing an alternate idea which, by your own admission, you have no good reason for believing.

    Wow.
  • Sheila shiroid... 2012/05/01 18:42:26 (edited)
    Sheila
    Darlin I am not stupid, though you are attempting to paint me as such here. You trash creationism out of hand from what I see. I do the same with the big bang theory. This is not even the question at hand for the poll. I answered you with no sarcasm and you respond with a very thinly veiled insults. Nice. Or to quote a person on here "Wow." And a whole 17 years old? I am cowed by your intellect I guess....lol....
  • shiroid... Sheila 2012/05/01 19:37:14 (edited)
    shiroidenkou1994
    'You trash creationism out of hand from what I see.'

    I don't dismiss creationism out of hand; I'm dismissing it tentatively until I see enough supporting evidence to make it credible.


    'I do the same with the big bang theory.'

    Now you've jumped to the big bang theory, which is not just a different theory, but one from a whole different branch of science.

    I'm gonna paraphrase one of my favourite living scientists, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, and say 'It's not very hard to detect the big bang. All you must do is flip through the channels on your radio until you come between two stations. About one per cent of the static fuzz comes directly from the big bang. Those are the birth pangs of the universe.'


    'This is not even the question at hand for the poll.'

    You brought it up, sugarbritches. Not me.


    'And a whole 17 years old?'

    Why should it matter how old I am? Ideas stand or fall on their own, not on the people who hold them.
  • Sheila shiroid... 2012/05/01 20:13:42
    Sheila
    Have a nice day.
  • tina williams 2012/04/30 13:42:51
    tina williams
    it is not diff than the bath salts, and the so called fake pot they have suppose to have removed now due to the same issues.
  • tina williams 2012/04/30 13:38:59
    tina williams
    it is so sad, my daughter said they have removed this from their high school now. Never can have anything that is needed never
  • wulfsong 2012/04/30 13:23:02
    wulfsong
    +1
    I would have major concerns if the public opinion was otherwise.
  • S and S 2012/04/30 12:13:57 (edited)
  • zero resistance 2012/04/30 10:01:26
    zero resistance
    +1
    This story reminds me of the peoples of the arctic. At one time in history they didn't have access to any intoxicants, so you'd think they couldn't get 'high', right?

    Nope. They figured out a breathing technique that results in intoxication, in english it's called 'throat singing'.
  • Crimson 2012/04/30 09:07:54
    Crimson
    It isn't the dumbest, nothing beats cheesing. But it's still in the top 5.
  • Sheila Crimson 2012/04/30 15:53:52
    Sheila
    Whats that?
  • Crimson Sheila 2012/05/01 19:53:02
    Crimson
    Cheesing means getting high from cat urine.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/10/31 21:43:15

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals