Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Don't Give It to Mitt Romney Just Yet

News 2012/03/02 14:00:00
Just a month ago, it looked like Mitt Romney had the Republican primary in the bag. He was winning caucuses, tipping polls, convincing analysts... But on February 7, Rick Santorum started pulled some decisive wins in the midwest. Romney has since retaken the lead, but not by much. Santorum is only a few points behind, and Ron Paul still has his supporters. It's anyone's game -- Gingrich aside, perhaps -- and Shepard Smith wanted to know if it was time for the GOP to put down the boxing gloves and rally behind Romney. The results might surprise you.



Whether he's their best shot or not, most people don't think the GOP should put all of their eggs in his basket just yet. It wasn't a landslide defeat, but the comments were revealing. One read, "The republicans have forced us to accept this man with his expensive haircut and plastic smile. They know we'll have to vote for him because he's the lesser evil." Others pointed that Santorum could take the lead if Gingrich drops out. Suffice it to say, the battle is far from over.

Moderates for Mitt

Romney did win over one political demographic, but remarkably, it wasn't the conservative vote. In fact, conservatives didn't show much support at all (34%). Moderates, on the other hand, were in favor of him, which seems to lend credit to the suggestion that Romney is something of a "watered down Obama."

Losing Religion

There was only a difference of about 4% between conservatives and liberals, but a much greater divide between atheists and Christians. Neither of them were anywhere near supporting him, but atheists were 20% less likely. And that's compared to an already meager 34% of Christians, incidentally the same percentage we saw for conservatives.

Mitt Misses Every Age Group

We thought maybe Mitt would find some solace in an age group or two, but no such luck. There was a little more support from the older voters, but even they were inconsistent at best. His strongest supporters by age were the 55-64 group (45%), but even the group just below that was 23% lower.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit Shepard Smith's original poll about Mitt Romney. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • CFlyJuice 2012/04/26 12:36:52
    CFlyJuice
    The reality is that Obama is a pathological liar and can't be trusted:

    Obama broke his promise to cut spending. (instead, he added over $5 trillion to our debt)

    Obama broke his promise to cut the deficit in half by the end of his first term.

    Obama broke his promise to lessen our dependency on Middle East oil by getting more oil from our neighbors.

    Obama broke his promise for a new era of bipartisan cooperation in all matters.

    Obama broke his promise to not force Americans to buy health insurance.

    Obama broke his promise that 90% of the stimulus jobs created would be in the private sector.

    Obama broke his promise that that if you like their current health plan you can keep it.

    Obama broke his promise to put all bills on the White House web site for five days before signing them.

    Obama broke his promise to have the congressional health care negotiations broadcast live on C-SPAN.

    Obama broke his promise to end earmarks.

    Obama broke his promise to keep unemployment from rising above 8 percent.

    Obama broke his promise to close the detention center at Guantanamo in the first year.

    Obama broke his promise to make peace with direct, no precondition talks with America 's most hate-filled enemies during his first year in office, ushering in a new era of global c...





































































































    The reality is that Obama is a pathological liar and can't be trusted:

    Obama broke his promise to cut spending. (instead, he added over $5 trillion to our debt)

    Obama broke his promise to cut the deficit in half by the end of his first term.

    Obama broke his promise to lessen our dependency on Middle East oil by getting more oil from our neighbors.

    Obama broke his promise for a new era of bipartisan cooperation in all matters.

    Obama broke his promise to not force Americans to buy health insurance.

    Obama broke his promise that 90% of the stimulus jobs created would be in the private sector.

    Obama broke his promise that that if you like their current health plan you can keep it.

    Obama broke his promise to put all bills on the White House web site for five days before signing them.

    Obama broke his promise to have the congressional health care negotiations broadcast live on C-SPAN.

    Obama broke his promise to end earmarks.

    Obama broke his promise to keep unemployment from rising above 8 percent.

    Obama broke his promise to close the detention center at Guantanamo in the first year.

    Obama broke his promise to make peace with direct, no precondition talks with America 's most hate-filled enemies during his first year in office, ushering in a new era of global cooperation.

    Obama broke his promise to never allow Iran the ability to create nuclear weapons.

    Obama broke his promise to end the hiring of former lobbyists into high White House jobs.

    Obama broke his promise to end no-compete contracts with the government.

    Obama broke his promise to disclose the names of all attendees at closed White House meetings.

    Obama broke his promise to NOT use SUPER-PACS

    Obama broke his promise to use matching funds for the '08 election.

    Obama broke his promise to recognize the Armenian Genocide.

    Obama broke his promise to get out of Iraq in 16 months (actually left when Bush had signed the agreement to leave)

    Obama broke his promise to end CIA renditions.

    Obama broke his promise to end the Bush tax-cuts.

    Obama broke his promise to Expand the child and dependent care credit

    Obama broke his promise to Create a foreclosure prevention fund for homeowners

    Obama broke his promise to Provide option for a pre-filled-out tax form

    Obama broke his promise to Require automatic enrollment in IRA plans

    Obama broke his promise to End income tax for seniors making less than $50,000

    Obama broke his promise to Phase out exemptions and deductions for higher earners

    Obama broke his promise to Sign the Employee Free Choice Act, making it easier for workers to unionize

    Obama broke his promise to Forbid companies in bankruptcy from giving executives bonuses

    Obama broke his promise to Allow workers to claim more in unpaid wages and benefits in bankruptcy court

    Obama broke his promise to Allow imported prescription drugs

    Obama broke his promise to Prevent drug companies from blocking generic drugs

    Obama broke his promise to Allow Medicare to negotiate for cheaper drug prices

    Obama broke his promise to Appoint federal-level coordinator to oversee all federal autism efforts

    Obama broke his promise to Double federal funding for cancer research

    Obama broke his promise to Direct the Secretary of Health and Human Services to conduct a comprehensive study of federal cancer initiatives

    Obama broke his promise to Provide the CDC $50 million in new funding to determine the most effective approaches for cancer patient care

    Obama broke his promise to Fully fund the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

    Obama broke his promise to Require employers to provide seven paid sick days per year

    Obama broke his promise to Develop an alternative to President Bush's Military Commissions Act on handling detainees

    Obama broke his promise to Seek to negotiate a political agreement on Cyprus

    Obama broke his promise to Tougher rules against revolving door for lobbyists and former officials

    Obama broke his promise to minimize civilian casualties but with drone strikes more than Bush had in 8 years, has killed more civilian children than Bush EVER did.

    Obama broke his promise to Expand the Employment Non-Discrimination Act to include sexual orientation and gender identity

    Obama broke his promise to Allow bankruptcy judges to modify terms of a home mortgage

    Obama broke his promise to Increase the minimum wage to $9.50 an hour

    Obama broke his promise to Restore Superfund program so that polluters pay for clean-ups

    Obama broke his promise to Reduce the number of middle managers in the federal workforce

    Obama broke his promise to Strengthen the Age Discrimination in Employment Act

    Obama broke his promise to Limit term of director of national intelligence

    Obama broke his promise to Reduce earmarks to 1994 levels

    Obama broke his promise to Enact windfall profits tax for oil companies

    Obama broke his promise to Create cap and trade system with interim goals to reduce global warming

    Obama broke his promise to Require plug-in fleet at the White House

    Obama broke his promise to Mandate flexible fuel vehicles by 2012

    Obama broke his promise to Allow penalty-free hardship withdrawals from retirement accounts in 2008 and 2009

    Obama broke his promise to No family making less than $250,000 will see "any form of tax increase."

    Obama broke his promise to Create a public option health plan for a new National Health Insurance Exchange.

    Obama broke his promise to Introduce a comprehensive immigration bill in the first year

    Since he had FILIBUSTER PROOF House AND Senate for most of the first TWO YEARS, he MUST have been LYING just to get votes.



    obama promises
    (more)
  • DavidK 2012/04/14 04:43:06
    DavidK
    +1
    Romney is in and if you think he is anything like Obama, your nuts! Anyone voting for Obama is clueless and better think twice before voting him in for a second chance to mess things up worse then he already has.
  • melly~thwarting Satan since... 2012/03/10 19:24:00 (edited)
    melly~thwarting Satan since 1971
    Please please please let His Frothiness win the nomination...

    little girl crosses fingers
  • Semper Fi 2012/03/06 22:28:47
    Semper Fi
    +1
    Let the chips fall where they may. We'll rally behind whoever is nominated to oust Obama..

    It's do or die for America this time..
  • granny 2012/03/06 15:37:28
    granny
    +1
    4 yrs ago when Romney ran he seemed nicer now he just seems to want to attack everyone and smear them & I don't like that...I don't think you should have to put others down to make yourself look better...
  • nothingbutthetruth 2012/03/06 09:14:20
    nothingbutthetruth
    +1
    No, it's time the GOP RALLY behind helping to create jobs and getting the people back to work!
  • sugarplum 2012/03/06 08:50:17
    sugarplum
    +1
    Elections = popularity contest
  • Bob DiN 2012/03/06 07:40:16
    Bob DiN
    +1
    I like Newt Gingrich but it looks like Romney is about to lock it in.
  • Dave 2012/03/06 07:04:50
    Dave
    +3
    I don't really care - put Newt, Santorum, Paul or Mittens up against Obama. PLEASE!
    The Right Wingnuts don't even understand their own party's strategy. The republicons have no interest in winning the presidency - they want to hold on to the senate and congress. Good luck! lol
  • BIGK27 Dave 2012/03/10 03:38:19
    BIGK27
    +1
    No we want to get rid of that good for nothing Dumb Ass you call President
  • Dave BIGK27 2012/03/10 19:20:56
    Dave
    Here - let's solve this real quick about where the term dumb-ass lies. Do you believe Corporations are people?
  • BIGK27 Dave 2012/03/12 02:31:46
    BIGK27
    I'm a Corporation; you must be a Government employee or X.
  • Dave BIGK27 2012/03/14 04:48:17
    Dave
    Thank you!
  • shenendoah Dave 2012/03/16 02:37:08
    shenendoah
    I'm inclined to agree with you. I'm a conservative, not a republican. The GOP is simply the new democrat. However, I'll vote for Pee Wee Herman's pet rock over obama.
  • Captain-Morgan 2012/03/06 04:13:03
    Captain-Morgan
    +2
    I STILL HAVE HOPE FOR NEWT... IN A DEBATE HE WOULD KICK OBAMA'S ASS...
  • Herbtheman 2012/03/06 03:28:27
    Herbtheman
    +1
    No Romney will loss the election if he gets the nomination.
  • Striker 2012/03/06 03:18:05
    Striker
    +1
    Sorry, but this post was not chosen by me, it was shoved in my face by Sodahead.
    That's all I have to say... about that. I'm no buddy of Sodayhead News.
  • Loki 2012/03/05 23:53:34
    Loki
    +1
    Absolutely not. Ron Paul seems to be the only sane one that isn't using religious dogma as a 'get away with being a useless careless human being". Romney is just another rep corporate hound. Makes his money by buying up businesses that are goin down, breaks the up, and sells them. Bush almost finished off the country, Obama got us towards a better track that is improving(can't fix it over night). I think Romney might be decided he could treat the US like any other business and sell it off peace by peace to all the countries.
  • Apache 2012/03/05 22:36:22
  • Loki Apache 2012/03/06 00:01:42
    Loki
    +1
    I'm not a huge Ron paul fan at all. But compared to the rest? There is nooo contest on sanity. Most of them are religious to the point they want creationism in schools. We don't need truly turning the US into the dumbest country in the world. If they enforce creationism I'd encourage other countries to bomb us. They don't need religious zealots on equal par with the Taliban+ military, power, electronics, etc. Prevent the test of the world from being turned into crusade from USA claiming Gos said to smite the non-believers
  • Apache 2012/03/05 22:13:39 (edited)
  • AnonRanGER Apache 2012/03/06 12:00:41
    AnonRanGER
    Looks like the arechetype of a sleazy politician on that pic. I'm just saying.
  • Raven 2012/03/05 19:45:47
    Raven
    +2
    Gingrich and santorum are he best choices...
  • bob 2012/03/05 19:38:06
    bob
    +1
    this is disturbing. a month ago mittens did not in the least look like he had it in the bag. who wrote this story the politbuero. There is one good thing that has happened during this election. The people in the US got to see we have a press like Russia did 25 years ago. I think I am going to do my own poll right here. If you think the press does a BS job rave me.
  • Robtbal 2012/03/05 19:30:29
    Robtbal
    +2
    I donated to him last week...if he wins Ohio tomorrow I'll send a lot more.....
  • bob Robtbal 2012/03/05 19:47:46
    bob
    +1
    I am not trying to be a smart elec but why would you give a billionaire money. I am laughin my butt off right now. If you like him give him your vote but your money. If I was that rich I would send the check back. Thank you, now I have something to tell people I read and we can all have a laugh
  • bob 2012/03/05 19:27:55
    bob
    +4
    Mitt really a liberal in conservative's magic mormon underwear Mitt really a liberal in conservative s magic mormon underwear
  • JessyBear 2012/03/05 18:41:18
    JessyBear
    +3
    Romney = Obama = No Choice
  • OneLast... JessyBear 2012/03/05 23:10:41
    OneLastWord
    DAMN GOOD, I wish I would have said that. 3photoes
  • JessyBear OneLast... 2012/03/05 23:31:09
    JessyBear
    thanks
  • hallagon 2012/03/05 17:23:45
    hallagon
    +1
    Ironically as much as we try to distance obama and mitt they remain the same on one troubling issue- flip flopping. Both men get out of the kitchen when the heat is turned on with the decisions they make. They say ' I am against abortions' one time on camera- then, ' I am pro choice on abortions' the next time on camera. Which is it going to be. This is the sign of poor leadership qualitys that you have no faith in your own abilitys to
    govern so how do you expect voters to have the same. But I would still vote obama over him at this point because of comments about the poor and motor city.
  • JessyBear hallagon 2012/03/05 23:33:42
    JessyBear
    Vote for Rick ...
  • snowbird 2012/03/05 17:10:43
    snowbird
    +2
    NO! It is not time to get behind Romney. Whether you like it or not, the only man capable of beating Obama, and bringing this nation back to the country we love is Newt Gingrich. Ron Paul's foreign policy is a disaster to our country. Or have any of your forgotten the "peace in our times" mentality that led us into WWII? If necessary I will vote for Romney, rather than let that treacherous Muslim-in-Chief Obama remain in office for life.
  • EdWhiteSpace 2012/03/05 16:07:39
    EdWhiteSpace
    +2
    The notion that moderates supporting Romney meaning that he is then a 'watered down Obama' is like adding 2+2 and getting 17. He has the support of moderates as they respect his successes, his financial acumen and proven abilities on the private, public and non-profit arenas... they also respect that while he is religious, he hasn't felt that the gov. should be pushing religious views on anyone.

    Mitt appeals to moderates NOT because he is more like Obama, but because he is more like the b ilk of the population of this country: the 40-50% who are fiscally conservative but not wanting to see laws based on religion. Does that push away the 25% on the left who want a big controlling gov.? Sure. Does it turn off the 25% on the right who want a strong gov. basing socially conservative laws on the Bible? Yes. But that is why, despite many attacks from the liberal press and social conservative groups he is still standing and still, by far, the GOP candidate with the most votes and delegates.

    Let Obama wrap up the left. Let the right fight over Bachmann, Cain, Perry, Santorum, Newt, and the other flavors of the month. Hopefully, in the end, Mitt sees he doesn't have top pander to the far right as they attack him as much as the left. Reach out to the middle and get this country back on track.
  • jmc07806-PWCM-JLA 2012/03/05 13:36:52
    jmc07806-PWCM-JLA
    +2
    I agree we have some time to learn more about all of the canadates.
  • Rob Genaa 2012/03/05 08:14:10
    Rob Genaa
    +5
    MRomney=Mrmoney. Does anyone actually like this guy? Funny how he wins polls but no one at the caucuses wants to speak for him. No one is excited for him to be that great President. He is arrogant and obnoxious! Mormons don't want him and real Christians don't want him either!

    Romney is the white Obombya!
  • OneLast... Rob Genaa 2012/03/05 23:30:15
  • Morals Matter 2012/03/05 06:35:05
  • Colleen 2012/03/05 04:09:14
    Colleen
    +2
    I hope he wins...he is the best one running!
    MITT 2012
  • DJL 2012/03/05 03:12:09
    DJL
    +1
    Here's another reason Romney shouldn't win.


    http://politicalvelcraft.org/...
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/24 10:50:33

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals