Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Donald Trump Would Not Make a Good Vice President

News 2012/05/29 13:00:00
Donald Trump's aspirations for becoming president didn't last very long, but he's still interested in a run for office. The billionaire recently announced that he thinks he would make a good vice president tacking his own name on at the end of a list that included New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie, Ohio Sen. Rob Portman, Florida Sen. Marco Rubio. Some suspect he was kidding, but we asked the public anyway.



The public didn't really take Trump seriously when he was talking about running for president, and it's not biting now. More than three-quarters of respondents think Trump would be a poor choice for VP, and with Team Romney's super-specific data collection, that means they'll probably pick up on the lack of support and go for someone else. Even some of his "support" was tongue-in-cheek. The Top Opinion read, "This is all Obama needs to guarantee victory."

Conservatives Consider Trump

Despite low levels of support, he actually did pretty well with the conservative base 43%), which is really the only base that matters here. Well, moderates will definitely play a big part in this race, but he only pulled about 19% of them. Liberals were even lower (11%), verifying that most of the support wasn't sarcastic.

The Big Money Won't Bail Him Out

There was actually a pretty large sample of voters who made over $100k, and almost none of them supported Trump. That's a big hinderance if he wants to get cozy with the so-called "Williams-Sonoma Republican." On the other hand, it could help to win over the lower income brackets Romney might be worried about. Then again, the lower brackets weren't very supportive either.

Marriage Makes a Difference

The age breakdown was too inconsistant to draw any hard conclusions from, but married voters were nearly twice as likely to support Trump as voters who were single or in an unmarried relationship. Usually that indicates an age difference, as married people tend to be a little bit older, on average, and it does provide a vague idea of how the age breakdown turned out.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Donald Trump. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • fcombs 2012/06/01 22:05:57
    fcombs
    +2
    Donald Trump is a savvy businessman. He's not afraid to say no. He's not afraid to say, "You're fired." He's not hung up on the political correct bs. He's not been in politics so as to learn nasty habits that all the politicians seem to share. I think old Donald might surprise everybody by just how good he could be.
  • Chuck 2012/06/01 20:45:52
    Chuck
    +3
    The "Donald" can only be that which he is, and NOTHING ELSE. He would be a dismal failure at anything other than what he is doing; I think. Some people are very narrow in their stature and within their own little aura and if he were to break free of the umbilical cord that ties him to who he is, I think he would be like a fish out of water.
  • Nikkiru Chuck 2012/06/01 20:52:50
    Nikkiru
    +6
    He's even a dismal failure as a businessman, and that's what he does. As a statesman, he'd be a disaster.
  • Chuck Nikkiru 2012/06/02 11:50:17
    Chuck
    +2
    I agree. Statesmen are not usually obnoxious.
  • fcombs Nikkiru 2012/07/27 14:15:16
    fcombs
    I wouldn't call someone who has accumulated the wealth Donald Trump has accumulated through business a dismall failure.
  • Bob Burgess 2012/06/01 20:27:01
    Bob Burgess
    +2
    To Edie. . .if he has a brain, he needs to start using it. Don't hold your breath.
  • Bob Burgess 2012/06/01 20:23:58
    Bob Burgess
    +2
    "Better than a Democrat." Hardly, getting a Repub is like getting someone as dumb and jerky as W. Bush.
  • Bob Burgess 2012/06/01 20:19:40
    Bob Burgess
    +2
    Trump comes out of the woodwork like a cockroach and scurries all over the place looking for some guy from the press who can write something about his so-called empire. His ego mania is larger and uglier than his orangutan hair pile which could use some bug spray. Maybe a bit of roach spray might be more adequate.
  • wamcalif 2012/06/01 20:12:29
    wamcalif
    +3
    I can't figure out what Trump could be thinking? I know he's a publicity hound but damn, he's looking crazy. People don't invest in crazy.
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/06/01 16:36:40
    Margaret Jacobson
    +2
    hope not !!!! can't they find ANYBODY else ??? There has got to be somebody MORE QUALIFIED SOMEWHERE ?????
  • davyd god loving patriot 2012/06/01 15:54:53
    davyd god loving patriot
    +2
    better than a demoncrat
  • muffinhead 2012/06/01 14:52:41
    muffinhead
    +3
    Definitely not.
  • findthelight2000 2012/06/01 04:33:44
    findthelight2000
    +4
    Donald Trump would not even make a good vice-president of a birther club!
  • Jack the Dude 2012/06/01 03:19:46 (edited)
    Jack the Dude
    +5
    Donald Trump holding ANY political office =====> Super Facepalm
  • lil2fluffy 2012/06/01 01:48:35
    lil2fluffy
    +5
    No but Republicans they don't care who they get in there aslong as they can control them,
    Sad you people get on his level and it is really not that high.
    He is lucky not because he is smart, because he knows how to play the system notice how many times he has filed bankrupy wonder where he hides his money when he does common people lose everthing not him he comes out smelling out like a rose.
    wonder why?????
  • Reinhold 2012/06/01 01:29:35
  • Edie 2012/06/01 00:57:27
    Edie
    +1
    At least he has a brain unlike Biden
  • Jack th... Edie 2012/06/01 03:23:13
    Jack the Dude
    +2
    Really? Really?? Bitch please.
  • Edie Jack th... 2012/06/05 04:51:27
    Edie
    +1
    What goes around comes around. Your jealousy is really showing and you certainly lack the correct upbringing to call me or anyone such a terrible thing. So sad.
  • Jack th... Edie 2012/06/05 22:03:42
  • Splinter 2012/05/31 22:55:21
    Splinter
    +5
    Trump, you're FIRED!!
  • Jaiheena Star 2012/05/31 21:34:58
  • Jack th... Jaiheen... 2012/06/01 03:22:19 (edited)
    Jack the Dude
    +2
    hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!

    If you are being serious right, I should punch you in the face, to get out of your LSD world.
  • Jaiheen... Jack th... 2012/06/10 23:23:52
  • Jack th... Jaiheen... 2012/06/11 00:53:09
    Jack the Dude
    +1
    Hahaha I was just kidding, lol. I would never punch anyone, I would break something (of my own). I would only punch some1 for self-defense

    Not really. Good businessman IS VERY VERY VERY VERY DIFFERENT than a GOOD president.
  • IronOx Jaiheen... 2012/06/01 13:34:06
    IronOx
    I'm pretty sure Jack: is short for Jackass. I can understand him defending his side, but you didn't do anything to justify his attack.

    I do however disagree with you on Trump being a good VP, he's too much of a controlling person to play second fiddle.
  • Jaiheen... IronOx 2012/06/10 23:25:49
  • Michaelene 2012/05/31 20:27:55
    Michaelene
    +1
    LOL, Donald dosen't want the nobody VP job.
    If the contest were between Trump and Obama, I'd vote Trump and that's bad!
  • Sodahead Founders are Fascists 2012/05/31 20:16:03
    Sodahead Founders are Fascists
    +1
    But I am sure he would make a great fuel rod in a nuclear reactor, so full of radiation is his skin.
  • gumybare69 2012/05/31 19:51:25
    gumybare69
    +1
    I think it would be fun to see him as VP. At thie point Mitt just wants his money.
  • keliffa 2012/05/31 19:10:51
    keliffa
    +3
    Photobucket


    He would be better than this idiot.
  • Michaelene keliffa 2012/05/31 20:28:37
    Michaelene
    +1
    I agree!
  • Jack th... keliffa 2012/06/01 03:24:14
    Jack the Dude
    +2
    U REALLY need to get slapped!!

    Do u even know what he does and has done??
  • keliffa Jack th... 2012/06/01 13:04:51
  • Jack th... keliffa 2012/06/02 20:00:53 (edited)
    Jack the Dude
    +1
    I have a funny joke: Donald Trump in the White House!! hahahahahahahahahaha!!!

  • keliffa Jack th... 2012/06/03 13:40:24
    keliffa
    +1
    No funnier than the two stooges currently occupying the White House.
  • Jack th... keliffa 2012/06/03 15:33:21
    Jack the Dude
    +1
    Very original. If Donald Trump or Mitt Romney won this is what America would look like at the end of their first YEAR!
    Destruction
  • keliffa Jack th... 2012/06/05 14:45:29
    keliffa
    +1
    Better than this under Obama:

    beggers
  • rose 2012/05/31 17:31:36 (edited)
    rose
    +3
    Is Donald trump THE RACIST going to make his white friend Mitt produce his long form birth certificate?? WHERE IS MITT ROMNEYS long form birth certificate?? This only proves that Donald Trump is a KKK racist pig.






    KKK RACIST = DONALD TRUMP.. where is Mitt Romneys long form birth certificate ?? Are you going to investigate that Donald Trump??
  • CJackson 2012/05/31 17:10:05
    CJackson
    +3
    Between his tabloid taunting of female (gay) celebs and his incessant prattle over Obama's birth certificate, the only thing I would EVER vote for involving Donald Trump would be to exclude him from running for ANY type of office EVER.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/12/19 12:01:56

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals