Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Donald Trump Would Not Make a Good Vice President

News 2012/05/29 13:00:00
Donald Trump's aspirations for becoming president didn't last very long, but he's still interested in a run for office. The billionaire recently announced that he thinks he would make a good vice president tacking his own name on at the end of a list that included New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie, Ohio Sen. Rob Portman, Florida Sen. Marco Rubio. Some suspect he was kidding, but we asked the public anyway.



The public didn't really take Trump seriously when he was talking about running for president, and it's not biting now. More than three-quarters of respondents think Trump would be a poor choice for VP, and with Team Romney's super-specific data collection, that means they'll probably pick up on the lack of support and go for someone else. Even some of his "support" was tongue-in-cheek. The Top Opinion read, "This is all Obama needs to guarantee victory."

Conservatives Consider Trump

Despite low levels of support, he actually did pretty well with the conservative base 43%), which is really the only base that matters here. Well, moderates will definitely play a big part in this race, but he only pulled about 19% of them. Liberals were even lower (11%), verifying that most of the support wasn't sarcastic.

The Big Money Won't Bail Him Out

There was actually a pretty large sample of voters who made over $100k, and almost none of them supported Trump. That's a big hinderance if he wants to get cozy with the so-called "Williams-Sonoma Republican." On the other hand, it could help to win over the lower income brackets Romney might be worried about. Then again, the lower brackets weren't very supportive either.

Marriage Makes a Difference

The age breakdown was too inconsistant to draw any hard conclusions from, but married voters were nearly twice as likely to support Trump as voters who were single or in an unmarried relationship. Usually that indicates an age difference, as married people tend to be a little bit older, on average, and it does provide a vague idea of how the age breakdown turned out.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Donald Trump. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Mona 2012/10/24 22:52:10
    Mona
    +3
    Not sure which is bigger-his ego or his head, although the latter isn't filled with anything but a lot of hot air. He's powerful because of his money and that's why the Republicans love him so much. I can only imagine how much money he gives them so he gets his own way no matter how illegal, immoral, or corrupt it may be.
  • Rust 2012/10/22 01:00:16
  • Todd The Libertarian 2012/08/22 02:47:58
    Todd The Libertarian
    Another tea party wacko.Mr Birther?Helping Obama get elected.Can you imagine looking at that hair in the state of union?
  • Tee Quake 2012/07/27 04:28:10
    Tee Quake
    Absolutely not. The man changes his mind more often than Obama blames Bush for all that ails America.
  • Frank OHara 2012/07/01 01:10:21
    Frank OHara
    +1
    Trump is a showman and a businessman, not a politician. He'd be lost and a victim in politics. It's a whole different game If he got into politics and his showmanship showed, he'd be ridiculed. If he tried using principles of business, the Democrats would vote every bill he supported down. There would probably be some Republicans who would join the Dems.

    The only thing "The Donald" has that would be valuable in politics is name recognition.

    .
  • skip 2012/06/26 18:43:45
    skip
    +1
    him and the flip flopper would be great
  • burningsnowman 2012/06/23 19:52:19 (edited)
    burningsnowman
    +1
    In other news water is wet, the sky is blue, and JESUS CHRIST WHAT IS THAT BIG YELLOW BALL OF FIRE IN THE SKY??!
  • BILL 2012/06/19 17:35:04
  • Brian Keller 2012/06/09 12:00:41
    Brian Keller
    +1
    Listen...we as Americans have experienced the Formal Wrath of having an inexperienced, boasting president and believing him for what he says. He was only elected because he was a smooth talking African American President. He has little to no experience whatsoever in his political career. Why is that so hard to understand? Just because a guy can talk a smooth talk, doesn't mean that he can walk a smooth walk. We have seen the proof of this right before our eyes. President "Obummer" has led us to the a the first credit downgrade since the great depression 70+ years ago. Unless people like more of the same as far as gas prices are concerned and sluggish economic growth is concerned, we had better get rid of Obummer!!!
  • urwutuis 2012/06/04 03:59:28
    urwutuis
    +2
    The man's a cartoon.
    He'd be a great VP if he were running with Elmer Fudd.
    Or better yet Herman Cain. That would be a comic's dream. Black Walnut and Cotton Candy.
  • Gregortimski 2012/06/04 03:50:03 (edited)
    Gregortimski
    +4
    All future American presidents and V.P`s will need to have a position on white genocide.

    Africa for the Africans,Asia for the Asians,white countries for EVERYBODY!

    This is genocide according to international law.

    Anti-racist is a code word for anti-white.
  • Brian K... Gregort... 2012/06/09 12:03:46
    Brian Keller
    +1
    Exactly!!! There is a huge political agenda to take down the White man, regardless of how talented or experienced the nonwhite man my be.
  • viralboards 2012/06/04 03:35:22
    viralboards
    +4
    Trump would be a horrible choice for VP. You'd want to pick someone really sharp, like Biden.
  • ALPEAUX 2012/06/03 21:14:33
    ALPEAUX
    +1
    Definately better than POOPSIE! Alpeaux
  • Christopher Kirchen 2012/06/03 05:13:42
    Christopher Kirchen
    +3
    Trump is a dink; HE should be fired,
  • Brian K... Christo... 2012/06/09 12:04:53
    Brian Keller
    +1
    He'd do a hell of a lot better than that numskull we have in office right now
  • Christo... Brian K... 2012/06/09 12:55:46
    Christopher Kirchen
    +1
    Hard to say; possibly.
  • Golden Panther 2012/06/02 21:40:03
    Golden Panther
    +2
    He would be far superior to the clowns the demoncrats have or could draw from their dirty bag of tricks. Biden is just plain stupid and his boss obumbo is not being plain evil.
  • Meep Golden ... 2012/06/03 09:12:12
    Meep
    +2
    Say what? Evil? Has he killed anyone or waterboarded children? No. What evil has he committed? When you offer a LEGITIMATE response, I'll be glad to listen.
  • Max7 2012/06/02 18:50:33 (edited)
    Max7
    +4
    This man is a joke to the majority of the American people. He shouldn't be allowed to enter the premises of the White House, let alone to vy for a political position, Maybe if they are roasting him, something for a good laugh.
  • Brian K... Max7 2012/06/23 15:29:09
    Brian Keller
    +1
    Thats the truth about Obummer. He doesn't know didly about the economy and with gas through the roof, I'd ratg
    rather have someone in charge who DOES know the principles of fiscal management. With the wreck Obummer has made out of the economy, I'm supised
  • Old Poet 2012/06/02 18:00:47
    Old Poet
    +2
    Compared to who? The current one is a no brainer without a brain. I would not personally pick Trump but I would not vote against the Republican nominee because Trump was on the ticket. We must oust Obama from office at all costs. I would prefer Ron Paul as the presidential nominee, the die has been cast and it will be Romney. Trump is a showman and it would lead to some interesting speaches and photo ops. I feel the hand will fall to another if Romney is nominated; a non entity. Someone who will fall in the shadow not become the shadow.
  • Max7 Old Poet 2012/06/02 18:55:07
    Max7
    +3
    Romney and Donald are bad choices, both of them can only do our government harm, much more harm than President Obama has ever done.
  • trainfan Max7 2012/06/03 04:42:07
  • Meep trainfan 2012/06/03 09:14:50
    Meep
    +1
    I say again what I have said before: what the f**k has Obama done?

    Also, I have asked this question many times and have not as of yet received an answer. Let's see if someone can think of something.
  • trainfan Meep 2012/06/03 20:39:08
  • Meep trainfan 2012/06/04 06:23:38
    Meep
    +1
    Obama hasn't passed much so far. And I agree with Max7, the economy tanked when Obama took office, but it also got better under his leadership.

    Here's the list of the evil stuff he's been pumping out. http://www.whitehouse.gov/bri...
  • Max7 Meep 2012/06/04 05:51:31
    Max7
    +1
    Osama Bin Laden is dead Chrysler Daimler Jeep Toledo  Ohio The shifts are picking up, and the cars are rolling off of the assembly line. shifts picking cars rolling assembly line The troops are coming home
  • Old Poet Max7 2012/06/05 22:24:47
    Old Poet
    +1
    Max, I respect your opinion but I do not feel anyone could do worse than our current President.

    Thank you for your comment, madame
  • Red 2012/06/02 16:33:53
  • Max7 Red 2012/06/02 19:24:42
    Max7
    +3
    Sweetie have you actually taken into consideration those from the Republican party that are vying to run our country??? The only chaos that we have experienced during this administration of President Barack H. Obama has come from the nay sayers, Tea Party and die hard Conservatives for racial concerns, they use fronts to discredit him, and meaningless accusations to cover up the fact that the bottom line is that for four years the fact that a Black man was elected has drawn them to almost a mere breakdown. The racial divide had nothing to do with the result of the Black votes, there's not enough Blacks to have secured a win for President Obama. In reality he was elected because of the "White" vote, the Latino and the young (college) adults. Don't kid yourself, the majority of the Blacks were not supporting Hillary Clinton, and when her husband got involved, he made it worse, he even made a lot of racial comments that turned Black people off. Not only that, Senator Obama had already out campaigned Mrs. Clinton, and basically they were waiting for her to gracefully bow out. It took a minute or two for Bill Clinton and Barack Obama to mend their differences. The White woman were the huge supporters for Hillary, and when she stepped down, it was between Sarah Palin and Senator Oba...
    Sweetie have you actually taken into consideration those from the Republican party that are vying to run our country??? The only chaos that we have experienced during this administration of President Barack H. Obama has come from the nay sayers, Tea Party and die hard Conservatives for racial concerns, they use fronts to discredit him, and meaningless accusations to cover up the fact that the bottom line is that for four years the fact that a Black man was elected has drawn them to almost a mere breakdown. The racial divide had nothing to do with the result of the Black votes, there's not enough Blacks to have secured a win for President Obama. In reality he was elected because of the "White" vote, the Latino and the young (college) adults. Don't kid yourself, the majority of the Blacks were not supporting Hillary Clinton, and when her husband got involved, he made it worse, he even made a lot of racial comments that turned Black people off. Not only that, Senator Obama had already out campaigned Mrs. Clinton, and basically they were waiting for her to gracefully bow out. It took a minute or two for Bill Clinton and Barack Obama to mend their differences. The White woman were the huge supporters for Hillary, and when she stepped down, it was between Sarah Palin and Senator Obama, Palin was a flake, and it was the lilly white state of Iowa that opened the door of opportunity for Senator Barack H. Obama. Also, he got into the race because his colleagues, Senator Kerry and Ted Kennedy asked him to do so, and the rest of the Democratic party agreed. Desire or loyality, neither of those played a part in the majority of the Obama backers, what helped him immensely was 1) the Maverick (Sen. McCain) didn't show good leadership by not informing his party that he was going to bring Sara Palin on as his VP, Sara had air between her ears, she knew nothing, and it was scary to think that if McCain was unable to preform his duties, she'd be the shoe in. 2) People of both parties were upset with the Republicans, and Obama's skin had nothing to do with people swinging their support towards him, and 3) the key factor in his win is the White vote! Obama is not creating fear, the nay sayers are doing that, and people like you are falling for it. No one can take away the fact that he is an exceptionally smart man, many of his Republican colleagues have made that observation, Collin Powell has said that several times, and openly supports him and he's a staunch Republican, there are many who don't feel comfortable with the GOP organization, their method and motives is off balance.
    (more)
  • Red Max7 2012/06/02 19:27:28
  • Max7 Red 2012/06/02 19:29:37
    Max7
    +2
    Big trouble and the presidential race is going to be very close. Trump or Romney could careless about little people, or seniors.
  • Red Max7 2012/06/02 19:42:39
  • joe mauro Max7 2012/06/03 19:28:09
    joe mauro
    +1
    obama either
  • Not-A-RINO 2012/06/02 12:10:20
    Not-A-RINO
    +1
    Trump could be all right as a vice president, but I would think Allen West would be fantastic. So, to answer a question with a question, which would you rather have? Simply okay or fantastic?
  • JMCC 2012/06/02 11:47:59
    JMCC
    +6
    Anybody who still behaves like a spolit brat at his age oughtn't to be given responsibility for anything more dangerous than a plastic spoon.

    trump ballon
  • explorer1618 2012/06/02 09:52:53
    explorer1618
    +2
    Was he a natural born citizen ? natural born citizen
  • Christopher Kirchen 2012/06/02 03:45:52
    Christopher Kirchen
    +3
    He's used to being Top Dog and he's not so great at that.
  • Nonpartisan 2012/06/01 22:10:22
    Nonpartisan
    +1
    I would love the Donald to give large sums to my Campaign at Fundly or better yet just send it straight to me so that I could use it all on the Campaign and not have the service fee taken out. He, however; would be a terrible Vice-President and a worse President. Now that AmericansElect.org has suspended their Campaign I must look for all of the support that I can get elsewhere, however: nothing about my Campaign is for sale to anyone regardless how much money or anything else might be offered.

    http://www.americanselect.org...
    http://fundly.com/s/campaign-...

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/23 13:22:39

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals