Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Conservatives Were Rooting for Santorum

News 2012/04/11 13:00:00
It's been a long, grueling primary season, but Mitt Romney has all but secured the GOP ticket. Rick Santorum, his primary opponent (no pun intended), dropped out of the race on Tuesday because it would have taken a miracle to win enough delegates, and his team felt it was time to unite the Republican party for the general election. In the wake of Sanotorum's resignation, we asked the public who was rooting for him.



This one is a little tricky, because political alignment doesn't just have profound affect on how people are going to vote -- it's essential to the question. Only 23% of the general public was voting for Santorum, but that includes liberals and progressives, who are probably rooting for Obama; libertarians, who are probably rooting for Ron Paul; and moderates, who could be rooting for anyone. We've got to take a closer look.

Conservatives Had Santorum's Back

A lot of respondents were referring to Santorum as an impossible candidate, and based on primary results that seemed to be the case, but more than half of conservative voters supported him. Every other political alignment combined averaged about 13% support, including libertarians.

Young Voters Can't Stand Him

Further evidence that older voters skew conservative, young voters supporting Santorum were practically nonexistant. Between the ages of 13 and 24, he received just 5% of the vote. But be careful not to infer that young voters are liberals. On the political spectrum, the lowest level of Santorum support and, we believe, most likely to represent young voters was "Other."

Smokers Throw Santorum a Bone

Believe it or not, smokers were significantly more likely to support Santorum. It could be that Santorum's conservative leanings make him an unlikely candidate to bring back the idea of slapping those disturbing images on the packages. Government regulation. They don't want it.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Rick Santorum. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Headhunter 13 2012/04/11 16:43:56 (edited)
    Headhunter 13
    +15
    I am an Independent and a Pennsylvanian. You couldn't pay me to vote for santorum. There are many reasons he lost his seat here and he would have been you worst nightmare. Unless you want to revert to the dark ages and the inquisition

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • smitty Maci 2012/04/12 21:56:34
    smitty
    Oh yeah.. I am sure you would love to be part of the Taliban. pffft.
  • Maci smitty 2012/04/12 21:58:15 (edited)
  • smitty Maci 2012/04/12 22:01:20 (edited)
    smitty
    No I don't. Quite frankly if you would have read what I wrote... I don't care what you do or do not believe in.

    Ahh so not even a bite on how the Taliban treat their women?
  • Airhead smitty 2012/04/13 03:19:52
    Airhead
    I'm pretty conservative myself and I can see how much of a joke the GOP is this election. The only republican I would vote for is Ron Paul.
  • smitty Airhead 2012/04/13 12:48:46
    smitty
    Whoever gets the nomination will get my vote. I don't mind Ron Paul. My only reservation against him is he will keep congress divided. A united congress and our Nation will be back on top. Right now congress is soo divided it is painful on us as a nation. United we stand divided we fall and we are falling hard. Look at any great Nation in history.. they imploded from indulgences..
  • Hannah 2012/04/12 15:06:14 (edited)
    Hannah
    WHO WILL WE VOTE FOR NOW!?!?!? seriously... he was pretty much the only ok-ish

    choice.. ok meme
  • Brendan... Hannah 2012/04/12 23:11:30
  • Hannah Brendan... 2012/04/13 14:56:27
    Hannah
    hahaha....
  • Red_Horse 2012/04/12 14:42:50
  • Kit_Kat 2012/04/12 12:44:46
    Kit_Kat
    +2
    There is no way I would ever even consider voting for that twit
  • Swartzy 2012/04/12 12:34:36
    Swartzy
    +2
    Sorry, I just can't take a homophobe that claims he will ban "explicit" pornography on the internet seriously. That's like promising America that he will do every thing in his power to ban fast food... never gonna happen.
  • Zippcodey 2012/04/12 12:28:45 (edited)
    Zippcodey
    "They Catholics must penetrate wherever possible in the administration of civil affairs... all Catholics should do all in the power to cause the constitution of states, and legislation to be modeled on the principles of the true Church."
    Encyclical of Leo XIII -----------------------------...

    Rick Santorum is a Roman Catholic and belongs to the Knights of Malta. If you declare war on other Christians. Then it becomes a problem and that’s exactly what Santorum did in a 2008 speech about Protestantism at Ave Maria University. According to Santorum, 45 million Baptists, Lutherans, Methodists, Episcopalians, Congregationalists, and many Americans who belong to other sects of Protestantism are no longer real Christians because they do not follow strict Catholic teachings and extreme beliefs like he does.

    This article shows you where Santorum gets this from:
    LORENZAGO DI CADORE, Italy — Pope Benedict XVI has reasserted the universal primacy of the Roman Catholic Church, approving a document released Tuesday that says Orthodox churches were defective and that other Christian denominations were not true churches.

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/1...

    All of Christainity is false, why they will all go back to Rome to momma.

    Santorum would have pushed the same Vatican agenda as Obama is doing.
  • mwf122090 2012/04/12 12:09:59
    mwf122090
    RP 2012
  • Beat Magnum True Hero 2012/04/12 07:55:32
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    +3
    Not this conservative. I haven't been rooting for a single one of these clowns.
  • Maci Beat Ma... 2012/04/12 19:15:15
  • smitty Maci 2012/04/13 12:49:24
    smitty
    We couldn't tell that about you.
  • Maci smitty 2012/04/13 17:30:38
  • smitty Maci 2012/04/13 18:03:47
    smitty
    Yeah I got that too. I am 2 for 2.. Nice going 0fer.
  • Maci smitty 2012/04/13 19:09:47
  • mae 2012/04/12 07:23:25
    mae
    Great job done on a tricky poll. Interesting assessment of the smokers.
  • JERSEYDUDE 2012/04/12 07:09:45 (edited)
    JERSEYDUDE
    ============= Dr Ronald Paul 2012 ==============




  • reaper 2012/04/12 06:22:29
  • hari 2012/04/12 06:01:58
    hari
    strong lobbying with vested interest works and till final decision is taken ? nothing can be guessed
  • LOU 2012/04/12 05:39:05
    LOU
    +2
    Anyone with a brain would not vote for a lobbyist.


    Definition for lobbyist:

    Web definitions: someone (Santorum) who is employed to persuade legislators to vote for legislation that favors the lobbyist's employer.





    .

    Santorum American idiot
  • Beat Ma... LOU 2012/04/12 07:58:00
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    So in other words, every president who didn't wear pantaloons...
  • smitty Beat Ma... 2012/04/12 15:59:14
    smitty
    +1
    every politician that breathes.
  • concerned dude 2012/04/12 05:26:42
    concerned dude
    No, conservatives are waiting for Chis Christie
  • Beat Ma... concern... 2012/04/12 07:58:28 (edited)
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    +1
    Oh God! I would leave the country never to return and I would burn my passport. That fat, loudmouthed bully can stay in Jersey where he belongs.
  • Mantic Beat Ma... 2012/04/12 09:16:19
    Mantic
    +1
    Okay, now I have a reason to want Christie in the race.

    j/k ;)
  • LOU Beat Ma... 2012/04/12 10:05:16
    LOU
    +2
    The guy is a pig.
  • concern... LOU 2012/04/12 12:09:37
    concerned dude
    +1
    a smart straight shooing pig.
  • concern... Beat Ma... 2012/04/12 12:09:17
    concerned dude
    +1
    can't wait till he runs and you enjoy the tyranny and threats in Serbia or even the UK. Have a nice trip.
  • Dzeeng 2012/04/12 05:02:17
    Dzeeng
    +1
    I am Russian
  • LOU Dzeeng 2012/04/12 10:05:53
    LOU
    +2
    Who cares.
  • smitty LOU 2012/04/12 15:59:46
    smitty
    Ha!
  • Just Jenn for Now 2012/04/12 04:46:50
    Just Jenn for Now
    +4
    Everyone, commence laughing at the supporters now. :)
  • beach bum 2012/04/12 04:26:18
    beach bum
    hmmmm....let them fight it out and let the cream rise to the top
    see who is left out of the field of all the candidates and then make a logical desicion
  • abubincrazy 2012/04/12 04:14:44
    abubincrazy
    +4
    Duh.
    SOCIAL conservatives wanted Santorum.
    Gingrich was the best Republican candidate, but the Old Boy Republicans bought their boy Romney the nomination.
    I just pray to God he wins, for America's sake.
  • dallas abubinc... 2012/04/12 07:01:11
  • Beat Ma... dallas 2012/04/12 08:00:02
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    Vote for anyone but any of these people currently running, including Obama.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/10/31 07:53:32

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals