Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Conservatives Were Rooting for Santorum

News 2012/04/11 13:00:00
It's been a long, grueling primary season, but Mitt Romney has all but secured the GOP ticket. Rick Santorum, his primary opponent (no pun intended), dropped out of the race on Tuesday because it would have taken a miracle to win enough delegates, and his team felt it was time to unite the Republican party for the general election. In the wake of Sanotorum's resignation, we asked the public who was rooting for him.



This one is a little tricky, because political alignment doesn't just have profound affect on how people are going to vote -- it's essential to the question. Only 23% of the general public was voting for Santorum, but that includes liberals and progressives, who are probably rooting for Obama; libertarians, who are probably rooting for Ron Paul; and moderates, who could be rooting for anyone. We've got to take a closer look.

Conservatives Had Santorum's Back

A lot of respondents were referring to Santorum as an impossible candidate, and based on primary results that seemed to be the case, but more than half of conservative voters supported him. Every other political alignment combined averaged about 13% support, including libertarians.

Young Voters Can't Stand Him

Further evidence that older voters skew conservative, young voters supporting Santorum were practically nonexistant. Between the ages of 13 and 24, he received just 5% of the vote. But be careful not to infer that young voters are liberals. On the political spectrum, the lowest level of Santorum support and, we believe, most likely to represent young voters was "Other."

Smokers Throw Santorum a Bone

Believe it or not, smokers were significantly more likely to support Santorum. It could be that Santorum's conservative leanings make him an unlikely candidate to bring back the idea of slapping those disturbing images on the packages. Government regulation. They don't want it.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Rick Santorum. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Headhunter 13 2012/04/11 16:43:56 (edited)
    Headhunter 13
    +15
    I am an Independent and a Pennsylvanian. You couldn't pay me to vote for santorum. There are many reasons he lost his seat here and he would have been you worst nightmare. Unless you want to revert to the dark ages and the inquisition

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • BlueRepublican 2012/05/02 00:16:47
    BlueRepublican
    Reverend sweater vest you can now move on to the mandatory book deal and conservative opinion news talk show after Huckabee on FOX!!
  • SoCal71 2012/04/20 02:38:13 (edited)
    SoCal71
    Not really, If you looked at the actual numbers, Santorum wasn't really winning anything. In Louisiana for instance) out of 2.86 million registered voters, I think around 95K voted for him. That's roughly .03 percent. Which is pathetic. If he couldn't get voter turnout in a primary to get him the nomination, he certainly wasn't going to beat Obama in a general election. This country needs a middle man (or woman) in order to get it done. We can just wipe out the democrats, even though that would make America a better place across the board. So we need a President that can lead both sides together. I don't think Romney is the MAN, but a pair of socks would make a better president than Obama.
  • draguza 2012/04/16 18:59:53
    draguza
    All of the Rep candidates are bickering childish brats. It amazes me that they made it this far and still think they have a chance in hell, especially when they do nothing but attack the citizens of the US. I'm surprised no one has brought them up on charges of attempted terrorism or high treason, considering that's exactly what they (and the republican party) have been doing.
  • sensiblethoughts 2012/04/15 20:51:28
    sensiblethoughts
    +1
    The reason Santorum was unpopular is he's a regressive candidate who only looks backwards into the 17th and 18th Century for attitudes to run on. NO ONE wants to go back and fight those battles again! His attitudes are archaic, narrow-minded, and unpopular, but he refused to see that! Women are NOT going to live like they did back then. Young people are NOT going to live like that! Minorities are NOT going to live like that! The poor are NOT going to live like that! If he likes and wants to institute those OLD-fashion beliefs, then he needs to go live on an island and take those people who do with him. This country is going forward NOT BACKWARDS!
  • morbshock 2012/04/15 14:37:27
    morbshock
    I too was rooting for Santorum until I found out that all of his relatives living in Europe are Communist. That pissed me off big time.
  • jaybay3 2012/04/14 04:39:04
    jaybay3
    He's My Savior, & Santorum was never my vote. http://RonPaul2012.com
    http://freedomfighterradio.ne... <- Check out and research everything said and stay posted with fact's the mainstream does not post
    Arm up and SHOOT YOUR BLANKS AT MIDNIGHT APRIL 18th !
    Ron Paul is on your side, and your vote counts, and vote for his Delegates and we will win, we are going to bring back the Constitution that supports we the people, not the Big Labor Modern Enslavement camps building our body coffins, like FEMA has over 500,000 3-5 man coffins pre-made for you and ready to get shipped to the modern Containment Camps with barbed wired fencing facing inward to keep people detained, and Gas cambers in them. Not so funny thing is, I AM NOT LIEING THIS IS ALL TRUE IF YOU LOOK AN CHECK IT OUT ! - HR 645 Check it !
    http://RonPaul2012.com is for you !
    http://youtu.be/X4_qw3pAtX8 <-Ron Paul Spits some FACTS ON FEMA Concentration Camps, HR 645 Check it !
    http://youtu.be/Xd9NX8dPE1I <- They are going for the Crisis
    http://youtu.be/kbcazrd6_U4 <- Martial Law Preparations
    http://youtu.be/0eOm3YpNM40 <-Jesse Ventura , All around the Country FEMA Facts HR645
    http://youtu.be/CRcOb3DYAUE <- Body Coffin bit look more an you'll find more
    http://youtu.be/9pZIHFNfp5I<- FEMA containment camps with inward fencing, Rapids, ...
    <>
    <>
    He's My Savior, & Santorum was never my vote. http://RonPaul2012.com
    http://freedomfighterradio.ne... <- Check out and research everything said and stay posted with fact's the mainstream does not post
    Arm up and SHOOT YOUR BLANKS AT MIDNIGHT APRIL 18th !
    Ron Paul is on your side, and your vote counts, and vote for his Delegates and we will win, we are going to bring back the Constitution that supports we the people, not the Big Labor Modern Enslavement camps building our body coffins, like FEMA has over 500,000 3-5 man coffins pre-made for you and ready to get shipped to the modern Containment Camps with barbed wired fencing facing inward to keep people detained, and Gas cambers in them. Not so funny thing is, I AM NOT LIEING THIS IS ALL TRUE IF YOU LOOK AN CHECK IT OUT ! - HR 645 Check it !
    http://RonPaul2012.com is for you !
    http://youtu.be/X4_qw3pAtX8 <-Ron Paul Spits some FACTS ON FEMA Concentration Camps, HR 645 Check it !
    http://youtu.be/Xd9NX8dPE1I <- They are going for the Crisis
    http://youtu.be/kbcazrd6_U4 <- Martial Law Preparations
    http://youtu.be/0eOm3YpNM40 <-Jesse Ventura , All around the Country FEMA Facts HR645
    http://youtu.be/CRcOb3DYAUE <- Body Coffin bit look more an you'll find more
    http://youtu.be/9pZIHFNfp5I<- FEMA containment camps with inward fencing, Rapids, Iowa
    http://youtu.be/5E7jStc38Q8 <- Proof From france Islam is Evil an of the Devil -> http://www.amazon.com/Islam-I...
    http://quran.com/4/34 <- Islam does not show equal rights to Women and Claims Women are Half a Man value wise -> http://quran.com/4/11
    (more)
  • heartsonfire 2012/04/13 20:08:18
    heartsonfire
    that's a relief.
  • jaybay3 2012/04/13 18:23:45 (edited)
    jaybay3
    Ron Paul 2012 http://RonPaul2012.com the rest Rick Santorum, an Mitty Romney included are just puppets of the Illuminate and New World Order, Ron Paul is the only true one for the Republic and for our Individual rights which matter more. Vote for him YOU"R VOTE COUNT'S AND VOTE HIS DELEGATES IN AN WE WILL WIN !!! DON'T THINK HE DOESN'T HAVE ENOUGH VOTES AND VOTE FOR HIM AND HIS DELEGATES AND WE WILL WIN AND RESTORE OUR REPUBLIC !

    I spit on the rest including the current puppet Barry Soetoro aka B Hussein Oblama

    http://FreedomFighterRadio.net <- Check this site and see and listen and research for yourself and develop FACTS not opinions !

    HELP SAVE OUR REPUBLIC AN AVOID CIVIL WAR !
  • weenyboy 2012/04/13 18:02:52
    weenyboy
    The ONLY ones rooting for Santorum were the knuckle-draggers who are as regressive in their thinking as this guy! here was a"candidate" who dropped out of the race because he KNEW that once again, he would be embarrassed by his home state! He is popular with the in-breeders of Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, South Carolina and the rest of the states in th "Bible Belt"! You can't be elected president with only a hillbilly following!
  • ☥☽✪☾DAW ☽✪☾ 2012/04/13 14:40:46
    ☥☽✪☾DAW ☽✪☾
    santorum  lol santorum  rape santorum  meme
    Too bad his Father didnt
    santorum  meme
    santorun satan
    santorun satan
    father
  • cc 2012/04/13 06:07:08
    cc
    Santorum seemed to have a pretty large following in places. I'm not sure how....perhaps it's the far right people bringing all thier friends along....I don't know. He doesn't have a really consistent track record on anything. He struck me as a pseudo dictator type with all the laws he wants to enact. We don't need any more of those.
    I don't think we should ban abortion. People will still get them and it will become increasingly black market and dangerous/deadly. I do however think that the government shouldn't be funding the practice. The abortion lobby is strong and needs to be kept in check.
    I am nervous about voting for Romney, even if he is good at business, has a great family, and is generally a very good person with no black marks on his personal life. I don't think his Massachusets health care has anything to do with the presidency since it was a state issue not a federal one. I hope he doesn't try to make Obamacare his somehow.
    I do feel like I'm being sucked into the "anybody but Obama" vortex. I feel like if we don't vote for Mitt...we'll be stuck with what we have. I don't really know who would do better, albeit there are a few good candidates. Gary Johnson; ex governor of New Mexico, Ron Paul..... but can we rally around them to win?!
    I don't like what our country has become. That feeling started in 1992.
  • The dead and the silent 2012/04/13 04:08:28
    The dead and the silent
    DAMNIT! I was hoping he would become president and cause the united states government to crash. It's way easier to have a successful apocalypse when the governments are all collapsed.
  • ☥☽✪☾DAW... The dea... 2012/04/13 14:42:13
  • jaybay3 ☥☽✪☾DAW... 2012/04/14 04:37:19
    jaybay3
    +1
    He's My Savior, & Santorum was never my vote. http://RonPaul2012.com
    http://freedomfighterradio.ne... <- Check out and research everything said and stay posted with fact's the mainstream does not post
    Arm up and SHOOT YOUR BLANKS AT MIDNIGHT APRIL 18th !
    Ron Paul is on your side, and your vote counts, and vote for his Delegates and we will win, we are going to bring back the Constitution that supports we the people, not the Big Labor Modern Enslavement camps building our body coffins, like FEMA has over 500,000 3-5 man coffins pre-made for you and ready to get shipped to the modern Containment Camps with barbed wired fencing facing inward to keep people detained, and Gas cambers in them. Not so funny thing is, I AM NOT LIEING THIS IS ALL TRUE IF YOU LOOK AN CHECK IT OUT ! - HR 645 Check it !
    http://RonPaul2012.com is for you !
    http://youtu.be/X4_qw3pAtX8 <-Ron Paul Spits some FACTS ON FEMA Concentration Camps, HR 645 Check it !
    http://youtu.be/Xd9NX8dPE1I <- They are going for the Crisis
    http://youtu.be/kbcazrd6_U4 <- Martial Law Preparations
    http://youtu.be/0eOm3YpNM40 <-Jesse Ventura , All around the Country FEMA Facts HR645
    http://youtu.be/CRcOb3DYAUE <- Body Coffin bit look more an you'll find more
    http://youtu.be/9pZIHFNfp5I<- FEMA containment camps with inward fencing, Rapids, Iowa
    http:...<>
    <>

    He's My Savior, & Santorum was never my vote. http://RonPaul2012.com
    http://freedomfighterradio.ne... <- Check out and research everything said and stay posted with fact's the mainstream does not post
    Arm up and SHOOT YOUR BLANKS AT MIDNIGHT APRIL 18th !
    Ron Paul is on your side, and your vote counts, and vote for his Delegates and we will win, we are going to bring back the Constitution that supports we the people, not the Big Labor Modern Enslavement camps building our body coffins, like FEMA has over 500,000 3-5 man coffins pre-made for you and ready to get shipped to the modern Containment Camps with barbed wired fencing facing inward to keep people detained, and Gas cambers in them. Not so funny thing is, I AM NOT LIEING THIS IS ALL TRUE IF YOU LOOK AN CHECK IT OUT ! - HR 645 Check it !
    http://RonPaul2012.com is for you !
    http://youtu.be/X4_qw3pAtX8 <-Ron Paul Spits some FACTS ON FEMA Concentration Camps, HR 645 Check it !
    http://youtu.be/Xd9NX8dPE1I <- They are going for the Crisis
    http://youtu.be/kbcazrd6_U4 <- Martial Law Preparations
    http://youtu.be/0eOm3YpNM40 <-Jesse Ventura , All around the Country FEMA Facts HR645
    http://youtu.be/CRcOb3DYAUE <- Body Coffin bit look more an you'll find more
    http://youtu.be/9pZIHFNfp5I<- FEMA containment camps with inward fencing, Rapids, Iowa
    http://youtu.be/5E7jStc38Q8 <- Proof From france Islam is Evil an of the Devil -> http://www.amazon.com/Islam-I...
    http://quran.com/4/34 <- Islam does not show equal rights to Women and Claims Women are Half a Man value wise -> http://quran.com/4/11

    PeaceFull REVOLUTION We Will Win Ron Paul 2012 !
    (more)
  • ☥☽✪☾DAW... jaybay3 2012/04/14 04:39:25
    ☥☽✪☾DAW ☽✪☾
    soylent Green please please just die
  • El Jefe 2012/04/13 02:32:27
    El Jefe
    +2
    Strange..one would think conservatives would vote for Ron Paul.
  • Radical 1s1am1st 2012/04/13 01:15:11
    Radical 1s1am1st
    +2
    99% of late night comedians supported little Ricky

    pie chart graphic
  • Dogman 2012/04/13 01:13:40
    Dogman
    Of course they wanted him; he's a maniac.
  • Greg 2012/04/13 00:27:59
    Greg
    Santorum was a poor choice in almost every way; this nation's most pressing problems do not revolve around hot-button social issues/mores, and denial of sound science and prudent policy.
  • LifeIsComedyPHAET 2012/04/13 00:25:05
    LifeIsComedyPHAET
    Er...No. No, we were not.
  • Civic Minded 2012/04/12 23:14:54
    Civic Minded
    +1
    This conservative, female, over 50, non-smoker supported him. I even sent him a final contribution to help pay the campaign debt. Once Bachmann dropped out because she was virtually ignored during debates and by the media, it was Santorum left to support. What did Santorum in mostly was Gingrich's ego.
  • jaybay3 Civic M... 2012/04/14 03:56:23
    jaybay3
    Civic Minded Ron Paul is on your side, and your vote counts, and vote for his Delegates and we will win, we are going to bring back the Constitution that supports we the people, not the Big Labor Modern Enslavement camps building our body coffins, like FEMA has over 500,000 3-5 man coffins pre-maid for you and ready to get shipped to the modern Containment Camps with barded wired fencing facing inward to keep people detained, and Gas cambers in them. Not so funny thing is, I AM NOT LIEING THIS IS ALL TRUE IF YOU LOOK AN CHECK IT OUT ! - HR 645 Check it !
    http://RonPaul2012.com is for you !
    http://youtu.be/X4_qw3pAtX8 <-Ron Paul Spits some FACTS ON FEMA Concentration Camps, HR 645 Check it !
    http://youtu.be/Xd9NX8dPE1I <- They are going for the Crisis
    http://youtu.be/kbcazrd6_U4 <- Martial Law Preparations
    http://youtu.be/0eOm3YpNM40 <-Jesse Ventura , All around the Country FEMA Facts HR645
    http://youtu.be/CRcOb3DYAUE <- Body Coffin bit look more an you'll find more
    http://youtu.be/9pZIHFNfp5I<- FEMA containment camps with inward fencing, Rapids, Iowa
    <- FEMA with Ovens to Kill people
    http://freedomfighterradio.ne... <- Check out and research everything said and stay posted with fact's the mainstream does not post
    Arm up and SHOOT YOUR BLANKS AT MIDNIGHT APRIL 18th !
    PeaceFull REVOLUTION We Wil...
    Civic Minded Ron Paul is on your side, and your vote counts, and vote for his Delegates and we will win, we are going to bring back the Constitution that supports we the people, not the Big Labor Modern Enslavement camps building our body coffins, like FEMA has over 500,000 3-5 man coffins pre-maid for you and ready to get shipped to the modern Containment Camps with barded wired fencing facing inward to keep people detained, and Gas cambers in them. Not so funny thing is, I AM NOT LIEING THIS IS ALL TRUE IF YOU LOOK AN CHECK IT OUT ! - HR 645 Check it !
    http://RonPaul2012.com is for you !
    http://youtu.be/X4_qw3pAtX8 <-Ron Paul Spits some FACTS ON FEMA Concentration Camps, HR 645 Check it !
    http://youtu.be/Xd9NX8dPE1I <- They are going for the Crisis
    http://youtu.be/kbcazrd6_U4 <- Martial Law Preparations
    http://youtu.be/0eOm3YpNM40 <-Jesse Ventura , All around the Country FEMA Facts HR645
    http://youtu.be/CRcOb3DYAUE <- Body Coffin bit look more an you'll find more
    http://youtu.be/9pZIHFNfp5I<- FEMA containment camps with inward fencing, Rapids, Iowa
    <- FEMA with Ovens to Kill people
    http://freedomfighterradio.ne... <- Check out and research everything said and stay posted with fact's the mainstream does not post
    Arm up and SHOOT YOUR BLANKS AT MIDNIGHT APRIL 18th !
    PeaceFull REVOLUTION We Will Win Ron Paul 2012 !
    (more)
  • ««Gingey, the Master Debate... 2012/04/12 20:24:42
    ««Gingey, the Master Debater of Þ|-|Дэ†»»
    Lol, that's hilarious. Frothy.
  • Jarod Kochman 2012/04/12 20:16:39
  • Maci 2012/04/12 19:12:33
  • dheydrick 2012/04/12 18:11:12
    dheydrick
    Conservatives are going to support ANY Republican 100% to get Obama out of the White House. Thank God.
  • Thom Payne 2012/04/12 16:45:25
    Thom Payne
    +2
    Of course CONs wanted Santorum....they are morons.
  • JP Thom Payne 2012/04/13 01:21:48
    JP
    I hear ya. He just couldn't come up with a catchy hopey changey campaign slogan.
  • Thom Payne JP 2012/04/14 19:22:48
    Thom Payne
    You mean 'get rid of contraception, it is from the DEBIL!' wasn't a good catch phrase?

  • JP Thom Payne 2012/04/15 15:47:14
    JP
    You are going to need all the fearmongering you can dig up. With over two million people less in the workforce today than in 2008, $4 dollar a gallon gas and very cost of living expense climbing through the roof you may not be able to find enough non issue hyperbole to win the campaign of fear the democrats are so famous for.
  • decrepittex 2012/04/12 16:41:15
    decrepittex
    +1
    I don't understand how anyone except a radical religious nut-case could have backed this twit. He does for religion what a gay man in a tutu does for gay rights. If organized religion helps you through the day then more power to you. But to have a President pushing his beliefs from the oval office; no thanks. America has done just fine with the separation of church and state. It was a good idea then and certainly doesn't need changing.
  • bowlingal decrepi... 2012/04/12 19:04:50
    bowlingal
    Here, here! I totally agree!!
  • davyd god loving patriot 2012/04/12 16:40:41
    davyd god loving patriot
    We still need to get the ass out of the White House, that's the main focus
  • Z 2012/04/12 16:12:41
    Z
    Santorum would have been the death of the Republican party. Young voters are going to stay as they are with Romney, but Santorum would have RUN them away. Paul would have brought them in droves, but I guess status quo is... endurable.
  • smitty 2012/04/12 15:56:59
    smitty
    Doesn't really matter to this conservative. Just like the libs did with the 2008 election.. This one is anyone but Obama. I cannot fathom what all would be FUBARed if he gets to be a lame duck.
  • Maci smitty 2012/04/12 19:14:35
  • smitty Maci 2012/04/12 20:47:29
    smitty
    No not really. I have thought about it. There isn't one single person that screw up this country as badly as it has been the last 4 years. Talk about sheep? he is going to pay my car payment and my mortgage payment.... please...

    I am just so furious at the last 4 years. I realize anyone can do a better job even my sleepalot Biden.

    But calling me a sheep? That is just Liberal stupidity.. Do you forget the Liberal mantra ABB Anyone But Bush.... Oh yeah I forgot... you are a Liberal... We are fools when we do it but Liberals are intellectual when they... Now you know why I despise Liberals... Even the Liberals I work with. The dude juts out in front of people and mumbles oh sorry just coming though... Then when someone does it to him he start into his sailor speech.. Typical damn Liberal.
  • Maci smitty 2012/04/12 21:29:32
  • smitty Maci 2012/04/12 21:55:40
    smitty
    Okay little miss stubborn I don't know what I am talking. How the hell can I vote for Santorum if he dropped out of the race? A vote for him now is a vote for Obama.

    They haven't decided who the Republican nominee will be. That person will get my vote.

    Churn baby churn. Drill baby drill.

    I am a christian. I personally don't give a flying $%^$ what you or you don't believe in.
  • Maci smitty 2012/04/12 21:33:03
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/10/31 07:16:20

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals