Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Chris Christie Should Stay a Republican

Politics 2013/01/23 00:00:00
Whether the subject is about his weight or a potential presidential run in 2016, Republican New Jersey Governor Chris Christie has been at the center of mainstream media coverage for a while now. But more recently, the buzz has been about his proclaimed political party -- and whether or not he should change it.

Ever since calling the Obama administration's response to Hurricane Sandy "outstanding" just days before last November's election and then denouncing the NRA for its attack ad on Obama just last week, Christie's political motives have come into question by many. Some are saying he might as well be a Democrat, others say he's just a fresh-thinking Republican. So, what's the general consensus on Christie? A small majority of you (52%) think he should stay a Republican. But the devil's in the details. So, let's find out who thinks what!



DEMS WANT HIM IN, GOP WANTS HIM OUT

The first demographic we turn to is the political parties themselves. The majority of liberals wanted Christie to switch over to the Democratic party (60%) while most conservatives wanted the governor out of their own party (54%). Interestingly enough, moderates wanted Christie to stay a Republican (73%). Maybe they want a more moderate-thinking man to represent the Repubs?

THE RICH REACH FOR 'DEMOCRAT'

Another interesting stat comes from the income demographic. Those making $100K and more were very enthusiastic about Christie becoming a Democrat, at 81% voting in favor of the switch. Every other income bracket voted for Christie to stay a Republican, but those making over $100K a year wanted the NJ governor to switch political parties. The only reasoning we can think of is that those who make more money tend to be more conservative, and may be upset at Christie's moderate ways.

MORE EDUCATION MEANS MAKING THE SWITCH

Did education play a role in the decision-making process? Kind of. Voters who had the highest possible education (Post Graduate School) were most in favor of Christie making the switch to the Democratic party, at 53%. On the other hand, those who were either in high school or undergraduate college wanted him to stay a Republican. Only 29% of them wanted him to make the political party switch.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about Chris Christie. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Todd The Libertarian 2013/02/17 23:18:14
    Todd The Libertarian
    We will take him in the libertarian party.
  • GoldenF... Todd Th... 2013/04/04 22:23:19
    GoldenFlame1100
    +1
    What?! What gave you such a crazy idea.
  • Todd Th... GoldenF... 2013/04/05 10:28:37
    Todd The Libertarian
    Because Republicans are to stupid to keep him.He could win a election n improve our brand.And steal more donors than we already are.
  • MSCSRRR 2013/02/13 00:04:14
    MSCSRRR
    He seems to be a liberal at heart and only a Republican in his mind
  • keith_loney 2013/01/31 04:26:10
    keith_loney
    He's acting like a Democrat - he ought to be one.
    Just like Snarlin Arlin Spectre who was a Democrat masquerading as a Republican. Then he lied and claimed ther Republican Party had moved to the right. Actually the Republicans have moved leftward but not as rapidly as the communists want them to. When in power the Republicans only slow down the leftward movement, but never reverse the damage done to our country by the traitorous Dimwittocrats.
    Christie's acting like a Democrat, let him be one.
  • J fish keith_l... 2013/02/02 22:26:18
    J fish
    You are out of touch.
  • Josh Robinson 2013/01/28 17:26:54
  • mikeyavelli 2013/01/28 16:30:25
    mikeyavelli
    christie became a liberal when he practically dry humped obama over sandy.
  • bill 2013/01/28 14:18:59
    bill
    turn coat, a want to be republican, time to toss him aside he can not be trusted.
  • D H 2013/01/27 23:39:42
    D H
    Having vetoed the right of same sex couples to marry, he's not welcome in the Democratic Party.
  • HillaryLover 2013/01/27 12:16:30
    HillaryLover
    +1
    Governor Christie is already a Truman Democrat in actions, temperment, and idealogy. He should switch to the Democratic party, if he has higher ambitions. Far Right and southern Republican's will never nominate him to head their ticket. As a Democrat, he would have a good shot at being Hillary's VP or some high level cabinet post.
  • 38_28_38 2013/01/27 11:53:15
    38_28_38
    If he becomes a Dem, I'm still calling him Krispie Kreme :)
  • Sid DaBunneh 2013/01/27 03:45:56
    Sid DaBunneh
    +1
    He should stay a Republicant. Compared to other Republicans, he's an angel. As a Democrat he'd be way back in the pack. They're not the bottom feeders that the right is.
  • lena 2013/01/26 22:53:27
    lena
    +1
    YUp. That party is where he belongs. He's a big fat blow hard bully. He was born to be a republican. New York has a mayor who flip flopped parties and is a PERFECT example of a Republican (and piece of S***) Christ Christie belongs to the Republican party with every cell in his body.
  • roman 2013/01/26 18:56:52
    roman
    +1
    i think its the most amazing thing a rethuglican that cares for lower/middle/upper classes it's completely unheard of in the thuglican group, surprised they don't get the KKK, and have him terminated? that's their style for the last 30 yrs. with them or die thinking you are but mainly just die
  • Larry M 2013/01/26 14:21:46
    Larry M
    He calls it like he sees it, no sugar coating. I'm not surprised he eventually pissed of the Republicans, I think he's just what we need in our party. We need it in the Democratic Party for that matter.
  • Cleaver62 2013/01/26 10:20:29
    Cleaver62
    +2
    Unless he embraces other liberal ideas and actually becomes a liberal, no I don't want him in the Democratic party. Republicans don't like him because he told the truth and works hard for the people in his state. He was fighting to help the people he represents and getting money and assistance from the government and Obama helped the people of his state. That doesn't make him a Democrat. It just makes him a Republican who is smarter than most other Republicans.
  • Larry M Cleaver62 2013/01/26 14:19:50
    Larry M
    +1
    I don't usually agree with you on many things but you are dead on. Chris Christie calls it like he see it. You don't get what you want to hear from him, you get it how he sees it. I admire that quality in him and believe we need more politicians like him. To many just blow sweet nothings in our ears.
  • mk, Smartass Oracle 2013/01/25 20:21:00
  • Ava Alexander 2013/01/25 19:22:26
    Ava Alexander
    +1
    I thought, according to the media, only the rich were Republicans? You MEAN there ARE RICH LIBERALS?
  • Ava Alexander 2013/01/25 19:21:18
    Ava Alexander
    He should stay Republican. Funny, the liberals make fun of his being on the portly side, I wonder if he becomes a member of the Dark Side, if suddenly, he's not portly anymore? I can see it now if he's a forerunner for the Republican Presidential candidate, the liberals and media are going to say, "Do you want a FAT president? How does that look having a fat slob for a President?" and on and on. It will be brutal.
  • BigFig#9 Ava Ale... 2013/01/25 20:58:48
    BigFig#9
    I think many people have commented on his weight and it spans from concerned to humorous to mean. Whatever concerns I have about his politics I hope he gets control of weight because the health risk at his level of obesity is enormous. You can be fat and fit with moderate health risks. You can argue that 25-30 percent BMI might even be beneficial at certain age groups. His issue is pretty obviously profound obesity that increases his risk of disease death anywhere between 250 and 500% depending on what data you want to look at.
  • lena Ava Ale... 2013/01/26 22:55:25
    lena
    I'm pretty sure we've had a few fat slob presidents. I believe Taft was ENORMOUS.
  • TheDevian lena 2013/01/28 04:23:32
    TheDevian
    Not since the "Age of TV", when everyone could see them, no. We are Americans and "Pretty" is a factor. =/ It's part of why Nixon lost his first debate, no make-up, he looked awful.
  • 38_28_38 Ava Ale... 2013/01/27 11:54:59
    38_28_38
    You sound fat. :)
  • Sarah Jane 2013/01/25 18:05:01
    Sarah Jane
    +2
    Yes, he should. He's a sane voice on an otherwise crazy playground.
  • ratclifft~pwcm 2013/01/25 17:56:45
    ratclifft~pwcm
    just another obama blood sucker
  • Kookieless The Sexy Nihilis... 2013/01/25 17:35:19
  • jason shreve 2013/01/25 15:17:19
    jason shreve
    +2
    He will jump which ever way the political wind is blowing. He is a total fake!
  • Ladybythesea 2013/01/25 03:21:00
    Ladybythesea
    +2
    I'll tell you what he is , a brown nose fat bast&€d . First he cries about whats going on in the government , them the storm came ,Obama showed up with his dog and pony show and Christie was all sugar & honey. Then when Obama didn't send the money he lied about, Christie when right back with trash mouthing the government . No backbone, brown nosing, trader !!!
  • Cleaver62 Ladybyt... 2013/01/26 10:23:59
    Cleaver62
    +1
    Isn't the governors job to do what is best for the people of his state. They got nailed with that storm and the government had the resources to help. Sure, he wanted the help and Obama was offering it so why not thank him.
  • Rod 2013/01/25 02:20:01
    Rod
    +1
    He would have to be a Republican before he can stay a Republican. He is like all other Democrats they will lie lie lie to get their power. He is a Democrat and always has been and always will be.
  • Cleaver62 Rod 2013/01/26 10:26:30
    Cleaver62
    +1
    I think you have that a little backasswards my friend. He is a Republican, always has been. He is not a liberal in any sense of the word. Just because he was happy when Obama showed up with support and assistance doesn't make he a Democrat. And as far as lying goes, all politicians lie. Republican more than Democrats, but they all lie.
  • Rod Cleaver62 2013/01/26 13:47:58
    Rod
    Another Kool-aid drinking liberal. You either don't know what Christie says or you believe his lies. If you look at his policies it is evident that he is a Democrat. I would classify him as more moderate or maybe even a centrist but certainly not a true Republican. And this has nothing to do with Obama. Liberals seem to think that everything has to do with Obama... why?
  • Cleaver62 Rod 2013/01/26 14:47:35
    Cleaver62
    +1
    I have a feeling that your idea of the Republican party have now moved so far right that you should consider yourself a Tea Party Crazy. The Republican party as a whole have moved so far to the right that even Eisenhower and Reagan would not recognize your party any more. You people hate Obama so much because he has attempted to move the country back to the center from the far right where all you lunatics have taken us... which is why the Republican party is losing elections and voters. Even in the House, without all the gerrymandering districts conservatives have drawn, you would no longer be in power at all. The Republican party knows it is a lost cause which is why it is attempting to change laws and policy to steel elections from now in instead of winning the vote. You can deny it all you want but facts are facts and the Republican party is full of corruption and cheating and will do whatever it has to do to stay in power.
  • Brian 2013/01/25 01:13:39
    Brian
    +1
    No the last thing the Republicans need is yet another RINO especially a fat loud mouth one at that
  • Kookiel... Brian 2013/01/25 17:33:59
  • Brian Kookiel... 2013/01/26 00:58:48
    Brian
    For liberal Demcrates
  • Kookiel... Brian 2013/01/26 01:07:35
  • Brian Kookiel... 2013/01/26 01:13:39
    Brian
    I would disagree I like people to be and say exactly who they are wether I agree with them or not

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/28 06:16:21

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals