Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Certain States Should Secede (If They Want)

Politics 2012/11/15 23:00:00
You may have heard by now that residents of a few states have been petitioning to secede from the United States. Well, strike that. Residents in all 50 states have been petitioning to secede from the United States. That's right. As of this Wednesday, every single state has filed a petition with the White House to secede from the Union, and at least seven of them have accumulated the 25,000 signatures required to demand White House attention. We asked the public if some states should secede if they want to.



Before we start, let's be very clear on how this question was asked. The question was, "Should certain states break away from the U.S.?" However, the affirmative answer included the clause, "if they want," so no one is necessarily telling another state to leave the Union. This is just a poll to determine how many people think it should be a viable option on the state's part. Evidently, a lot of people do. Now let's see where they're coming from.

Conservative Call

Before we get into state specifics, we wanted to take a look at the political implications. It looks like the majority of people who think some states should secede are right-leaning. Both conservatives and libertarians were more likely to support the idea, while liberals and progressives were not. This could have something to do with disappointment in the election.

New York State of Mind

The results for most states were pretty predictable. Texas, which has been at the center of the secession movement, was one of the stronger supporters with 59% saying some states should secede. New York, on the other hand, was the strongest opponent with only 40% agreeing. State breakdowns also correlated with their dominant political party for the most part, but not always.

Goin' Back to Cali

Surprisingly, Californians were more likely to support the movement than not, despite being a relatively liberal state, and a major reason some supporters want to secede. On the other hand, Arizona, a largely conservative state that raised the secession issue earlier this year, is mostly against the idea. Strange days, indeed.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about the secession movement. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Bill 2012/11/15 23:20:07
    Bill
    +32
    WE, as Americans are to blame for the federal take over of our States. The Constitution already defines what the federal government and the States rights are. America keeps voting for the popular candidate and not a Constitutional candidate. Seems like American Idol has consumed the American public!

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • del 2012/12/13 15:38:47
    del
    If they want too, let them. Free Will. Does that mean that the door can be locked behind them never to be reopened for them to come back, especially after they lose their jobs to younger workers or get to old to work, only to, later, get sick and need health care after becoming broke, with no insurance to pay the bill, but having to pay out of pocket for their own care? I would say "Goodbye", and stay where you are. Don't come back.
    We all know their real reasons for wanting to leave...it's like some people who has made the statement that " When they die and if they do, by chance, get to heaven, if the LORD is BLACK, they will tell him that they would rater go to HELL than stay forever with him." I say again, Goodbye.
  • jesus.blanco.7792 2012/12/08 16:08:14
    jesus.blanco.7792
    no because if they war will breakout.
  • JustMe 2012/12/06 23:18:22
    JustMe
    I signed the petitions
  • Jean JustMe 2013/01/05 15:17:15
    Jean
    figures hahahahahaha clueless!
  • solidconservative 2012/11/27 04:41:50
    solidconservative
    This is Stupid.
  • jesus.b... solidco... 2012/12/08 16:08:51
    jesus.blanco.7792
    very stupid
  • rbeas 2012/11/23 15:40:17
    rbeas
    Why is it that this question is the only question I have answered 5 different times keeps coming up as a new question?
  • roman.espla 2012/11/22 14:34:02
    roman.espla
    Its all rigged. Corporations.. like any awesome predator out there knows how to divide to conquer.
  • bean 2012/11/22 03:25:25
    bean
    I agree,it would save us a lot of money and the Republican Party would die. This would open the door for a third party.
  • jesus.b... bean 2012/12/08 16:09:21
    jesus.blanco.7792
    got a point
  • DavidK 2012/11/21 15:15:34
    DavidK
    +1
    and they will. Otherwise, they will ALL be like California,
  • Roger 2012/11/21 01:57:30
    Roger
    +1
    Let us leave, sign the petitions.
    Liberals on one side conservatives on the other.
    No arguing just show how it works or fails.
    Sign a Defensive Pact among the 2 countries and then boom liberals have their way conservatives have theirs and our military would remain the same if both countries kept a strong military. I am up for it.
  • Tattooe... Roger 2012/12/10 00:03:46
    TattooedSailor
    Thats kind of how I saw it.. Just because they leave the union doesnt mean war. even if it was split down the middle with liberals on one side, conservitives on the other.. pick your state i guess.. but we would definately want to keep a consolidated military because no one will be able to own guns on the liberal side!
  • yoch Roger 2012/12/12 22:14:27
    yoch
    No - we will take from Liberals ALL this country even if it means war...
  • Amy Roger 2013/01/27 02:13:29
    Amy
    What r u going to do about resources? And what ppl r supposed to relocate based on there political believes? What about the ppl that support some conservative items and some liberal ones? It comes down to money and power and no matter how much conservatives say they don't believe in big government and welfare well they should take a look t there voter base? U have the uneducated the bible thumpers( which is unconstitutional ,what happened to separate church and state) then u got the crazies like Palin and Bauckman
  • Bella 2012/11/21 00:19:45
    Bella
    +2
    Texas v White 1869 Aupreme Voirt decision. "The Union of the States never was a purely artificial and arbitrary relation. It began among the Colonies, and grew out of common origin, mutual sympathies, kindred principles, similar interests, and geographical relations. It was confirmed and strengthened by the necessities of war, and received definite form and character and sanction from the Articles of Confederation. By these, the Union was solemnly declared to 'be perpetual.' And when these Articles were found to be inadequate to the exigencies of the country, the Constitution was ordained 'to form a more perfect Union.' It is difficult to convey the idea of indissoluble unity more clearly than by these words. What can be indissoluble if a perpetual Union, made more perfect, is not?[7] "
  • Mary 2012/11/20 22:16:58
  • daerius Mary 2012/12/22 04:36:47
    daerius
    I agree. In fact, TEXAS should not secede...they should be KICKED out! Why?

    Texas has a 27 BILLION dollar budget deficit!
    Texas ranks 4TH in states with people living below the poverty line (17.2%-nearly on out of five!!!)
    Texas is #1 in the lowest high school graduation rate!
    Texas ranks #1 in people without health insurance!
    Texas ranks #1 in overall pollution rate!
    Texas ranks 49th in financial support of nursing homes.
    Texas ranks #1 in highest per capita rate of executions IN THE WORLD!
    Texas ranks #1 in children who lack health insurance.
    Texas ranks #1 in illiteracy!

    So basically, I say let these idiotic, self-righteous, redneck, racist, ignorant and illiterate bastards have their way. Kick their assets out of the Union. Quite frankly, we have tolerated their big-mouthed, braggart ways for FAR too long! LOL
  • Jean daerius 2013/01/05 15:14:30
    Jean
    I don't know where you get your info but you need to get it from somewhere else because it's WRONGGGGGGGGGGG da
  • Gary Stevenson 2012/11/20 20:06:33
    Gary Stevenson
    +16
    In the Constitution there is no mention of the union of the states being permanent. This was not an oversight by any means. Indeed, when New York, Rhode Island, and Virginia ratified the Constitution, they specifically stated that they reserved the right to resume the governmental powers granted to the United States. Their claim to the right of secession was understood and agreed to by the other ratifiers, including George Washington, who presided over the Constitutional Convention. Any State has the right to secede for the federal government.
  • actor44 Gary St... 2012/11/21 06:33:57 (edited)
    actor44
    +2
    ABSOLUTLEY! How to do so was the subject of one of the courses at West Point!
  • Stacy F Gary St... 2012/11/21 17:37:04
    Stacy F
    +1
    Well said! My compliments!
  • scottcleaves 2012/11/20 19:10:42
    scottcleaves
    +6
    Dear Red States:

    We're ticked off at your Neanderthal attitudes and politics and we've decided we're leaving. We in New York intend to form our own country and we're taking the other Blue States with us. In case you aren't aware that includes California, Hawaii, Oregon, Washington, Ohio, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois and the rest of the Northeast. We believe this split will be beneficial to the nation and especially to the people of the new country of The Enlightened States of America (E.S.A).

    To sum up briefly: You get Texas, Oklahoma and all the slave states. We get stem cell research and the best beaches. We get Andrew Cuomo and Elizabeth Warren. You get Bobby Jindal and Todd Akin. We get the Statue of Liberty. You get OpryLand. We get Intel and Microsoft. You get WorldCom. We get Harvard. You get Ole' Miss. We get 85 percent of America's venture capital and entrepreneurs. You get Alabama.

    We get two-thirds of the tax revenue. You get to make the red states pay their fair share. Since our aggregate divorce rate is 22 percent lower than the Christian Coalition's, we get a bunch of happy families. You get a bunch of single moms. With the Blue States in hand we will have firm control of 80% of the country's fresh water, more than 90% of the pine...












    Dear Red States:

    We're ticked off at your Neanderthal attitudes and politics and we've decided we're leaving. We in New York intend to form our own country and we're taking the other Blue States with us. In case you aren't aware that includes California, Hawaii, Oregon, Washington, Ohio, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois and the rest of the Northeast. We believe this split will be beneficial to the nation and especially to the people of the new country of The Enlightened States of America (E.S.A).

    To sum up briefly: You get Texas, Oklahoma and all the slave states. We get stem cell research and the best beaches. We get Andrew Cuomo and Elizabeth Warren. You get Bobby Jindal and Todd Akin. We get the Statue of Liberty. You get OpryLand. We get Intel and Microsoft. You get WorldCom. We get Harvard. You get Ole' Miss. We get 85 percent of America's venture capital and entrepreneurs. You get Alabama.

    We get two-thirds of the tax revenue. You get to make the red states pay their fair share. Since our aggregate divorce rate is 22 percent lower than the Christian Coalition's, we get a bunch of happy families. You get a bunch of single moms. With the Blue States in hand we will have firm control of 80% of the country's fresh water, more than 90% of the pineapple and lettuce, 92% of the nation's fresh fruit, 95% of America's quality wines (you can serve French wines at state dinners) 90% of all cheese, 90 percent of the high tech industry, most of the US low sulfur coal, all living redwoods, sequoias and condors, all the Ivy and Seven Sister schools plus Harvard, Yale, Stanford, Cal Tech and MIT.

    With the Red States you will have to cope with 88% of all obese Americans and their projected health care costs, 92% of all US mosquitoes, nearly 100% of the tornadoes, 90% of the hurricanes, 99% of all Southern Baptists, virtually 100% of all televangelists, Rush Limbaugh, Bob Jones University, Clemson and the University of Georgia.

    We get Hollywood and Yosemite, thank you.


    38% of those in the Red states believe Jonah was actually swallowed by a whale, 62% believe life is sacred unless we're discussing the death penalty or gun laws, 44% say that evolution is only a theory, 53% that Saddam was involved in 9/11 and 61% of you crazy bastards believe you are people with higher morals then we lefties.

    We're taking the good weed too. You can have that crap they grow in Mexico.

    Sincerely,

    Citizen of the Enlightened States of America
    (more)
  • gumybare69 scottcl... 2012/11/20 20:33:46
    gumybare69
    EPIC!
  • tony.de... scottcl... 2012/11/21 04:26:34
    tony.deisla
    +18
    Dear Blue States:

    We received your letter.

    I'm sorry to say that about half your populations are going to relocate to the Red States. These include most CEO's, CFO's, entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, the high-tech industry and pretty much everyone in the top 5%. We're taking all of their federal tax revenues with us.

    Since the large businesses and most successful small businesses are going to relocate, we are taking all their workers with us. This includes those who aspire to make their own way in life like Joe the Plumber, and the millions just like him.

    We'll be advertising that any business left in Nuevo California who wants to pay lower business tax is welcome to immigrate to any of the Red States. Once everyone has moved over, we should have about 90% of the tax revenues.

    You get the natural resources in Old California, we get Alaska, Texas and the Gulf Coast. That gives us 3/4 of the oil production and reserves.

    You can keep Harvard and the rest of the Ivy League schools, but businesses in the Red States are going to recruit nearly all your graduates. The only charitable donations that will be tax deductible are donations made to Red State charities and schools. When we start new schools in the Red States we are going to recruit from your professors, but you can keep Ward C...


















    Dear Blue States:

    We received your letter.

    I'm sorry to say that about half your populations are going to relocate to the Red States. These include most CEO's, CFO's, entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, the high-tech industry and pretty much everyone in the top 5%. We're taking all of their federal tax revenues with us.

    Since the large businesses and most successful small businesses are going to relocate, we are taking all their workers with us. This includes those who aspire to make their own way in life like Joe the Plumber, and the millions just like him.

    We'll be advertising that any business left in Nuevo California who wants to pay lower business tax is welcome to immigrate to any of the Red States. Once everyone has moved over, we should have about 90% of the tax revenues.

    You get the natural resources in Old California, we get Alaska, Texas and the Gulf Coast. That gives us 3/4 of the oil production and reserves.

    You can keep Harvard and the rest of the Ivy League schools, but businesses in the Red States are going to recruit nearly all your graduates. The only charitable donations that will be tax deductible are donations made to Red State charities and schools. When we start new schools in the Red States we are going to recruit from your professors, but you can keep Ward Churchill, William Ayers, and Rashid Khalidi.

    We promise 90-97% of our citizens will have jobs. 85% already have health insurance provided to them and for the rest we are going to give a tax credit to help them buy health insurance in any of the Red States. We are going to keep taxes low for everyone, and give some additional tax credits to those who need it. We will call them Red States, not slave states, because we respect everyone in all the states who want to remain with us.

    We will continue to have great health care since most of the doctors are in that top 5%.

    We will finish the war in Iraq because even those of us who disagree with the war know we have an obligation not to abandon a country we fully destabilized by starting a war there. Our military will continue to be voluntary, with even children of our highest elected officials defending life around the globe. We will continue to focus on security within the Red States, since we do not want another 9/11. We should be fine, I think most of the military will be okay relocating to the Red States. We will be closely watching your unconditional discussions Iran.

    We won't publicly claim that women with children should stay at home with the kids rather than run for public office, and then turn around and say we believe in equal rights for both genders. We will champion all women, regardless of political viewpoint.

    We won't force our kids to share their peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, sharing will be encouraged but remain voluntary. We won't question the patriotism of those who don't want to pay 50% of their income in tax (federal, payroll, state, local, sales, etc.). We don't think anyone should have to pay 50%, that's too high.

    We'll gladly let you keep the Democratic Leaders in Congress who want to increase spending through the roof. You can also keep Barney Frank, who just a few months ago said Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac were financially sound, should take on more subprime loans and who fought against more oversight for these companies.

    You can keep most of the media stations, we'll keep one. The irony is we'll get more balanced news on our one station than you'll get on all 7 of yours. We won't stand for top political officials cutting off access to reporters who ask tough questions or don't endorse them.

    We will be willing to negotiate a trade agreement for pineapple and lettuce, since you will have lost so many jobs you'll probably agree. You can keep the beaches and the wine, we'll be too busy working hard and we'll find other ways to enjoy our success. The people who care about the good pot and expanding welfare for all will probably stay with you, good luck with that.

    Thanks for making our job easier,
    Red States
    (more)
  • alun.pa... tony.de... 2012/11/21 07:32:18
    alun.palmer
    Dream on
  • scottcl... tony.de... 2012/11/21 16:47:06
    scottcleaves
    +1
    Your statement that you will receive more "balanced news" (on Fox) blew your credibility right out of the water. Therefore, I have no further comment.
  • Stacy F scottcl... 2012/11/21 17:34:40
    Stacy F
    "... no further comment"? Thank God!
  • Phil_will1 tony.de... 2012/11/21 17:21:15
    Phil_will1
    +2
    Great letter! However, you left out what to me would be the biggest difference between the two newly independent nations. The blue country could run massive deficits until its currency collapsed while the red country would balance its budget and live within its means and remain economically strong.
  • Lee Mic... Phil_will1 2012/11/23 22:14:25
    Lee Michaelson
    How is it, then, that the majority of the red states are currently "balancing" their budgets on the federal dole -- provided by the Blue States, who are currently the bulk of those paying more in federal tax dollars than they receive back in federal benefits? If we weren't so busy bailing out you Red States, we'd have more than adequate resources (including several of the world's largest economies, starting with California's) to balance our own.
  • Phil_will1 Lee Mic... 2012/11/25 23:42:32
    Phil_will1
    You are assuming that red states would be incapable of making whatever adjustments that are necessary in spending to balance their budgets without federal assistance, or at least reduced federal assistance.

    Sorry, but I cannot buy that assumption.
  • Stacy F tony.de... 2012/11/21 17:36:04
    Stacy F
    Hooah! Tell it, brother! My compliments!
  • Lee Mic... tony.de... 2012/11/23 22:17:32
    Lee Michaelson
    Curious how the Blue State's letter was based in actual facts and statistics, while the Red States was based in fantasy, promises, and wishes.
  • disgust... tony.de... 2012/12/01 13:10:11
    disgustedinVT
    Love it!!!
  • actor44 scottcl... 2012/11/21 06:39:22
    actor44
    +1
    Good,and you will all PROGRESS to what the left said was to be their shining jewell of PROGRESS for all to envy! DETROIT!!!
  • Stacy F scottcl... 2012/11/21 17:32:34
  • jdemme Stacy F 2012/11/25 05:52:26
    jdemme
    Your Red to Blue state ratio is off a little bit...
  • Lee Mic... Stacy F 2012/11/25 06:37:18
    Lee Michaelson
    Except guess where the population is? And the economy? And, BTW, looks like you've got NH in the wrong color scheme, as well as Nevada, Florida, Va., Ohio, Colo.
  • Stacy F Lee Mic... 2012/11/25 18:59:18
    Stacy F
    Most of Nevada is a "red" state. The only reason it's considered "blue" is due to the fact that the majority of the population is in Las Vegas, and Reno.
    As for "where the population is"... the population is scattered everywhere. This may come as a surprise, but not everyone decides to live in just the cities. And, there is plenty of economy in the rural areas. You don't really believe that the majority of large farms are in the cities, do you?
  • Tattooe... Stacy F 2012/12/10 00:24:31
    TattooedSailor
    +1
    thats kinda where I was going with Oregon.. a pretty conservative state.. until you go to Portland.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 46 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/09/03 00:03:29

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals