Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Beware the Titanic II

News 2012/05/03 16:00:00
Clive Palmer, an Australian mining magnate, announced that he would be overseeing the contruction of an RMS Titanic replica, which he will send on a reenactment voyage. Obviously, he doesn't plan to capsize the liner on an iceberg and kill 1,500 people in the process -- he'll use state-of-the art engineering and the best navigation systems money can buy -- but to the extent that it's possible (and safe), he wishes to recreate what the Titanic's maiden voyage should have been. But it's a bit unsettling, no? We asked the public who would be willing to actually board the Titanic II on its first (and hopefully not only) voyage.



This was a close one, but we can't narrow down the reasoning on either side to one thing. There were definitely those who felt uneasy about the idea that Palmer is recreating a voyage that notoriously ended in disaster -- either out of superstition or out of respect for the dead. Others anticipated an exorbitant price tag. One commenter even wrote, "Certain things made in China I would never use, such as a boat." But for nearly half of voters, as long as he doesn't stick too close to the "reenactment" part, they're good to go.

Older People Would Avoid It

While teens and young adults were relatively gung-ho, the older respondents were extremely hesitant. We suspect it had more to do with the appropriateness of it. One commenter wrote, "Kinda feels disrespectful to the memory to actually build a 'Titanic 2.' Not as disrespectful as the 'Titanic 2' movie, but still." (The movie got a 1.8 out of 10 on IMDB.)

Atheists Aren't Afraid

Thought religion didn't make as big a difference as age did, it did play out how you might expect. Not that Christians are necessarily prone to superstition, but you'd be hard-pressed to find a superstitious atheist. And atheists were the most willing to hop on-board the RMS Titanic II. Agnostics, on the other hand, were exactly as hesitant as Christians.

Big Money Bows Out

We saw the issue of money come up a bit, so we thought maybe well-off respondents would be more likely to participate. Not so. Responses were pretty even for most income brackets, but plummeted at $100k+, the highest-earning group. (Admittedly, it was a small group. But isn't it always?) Only 14% of big earners showed interest in going on the cruise.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about Clive Palmer's Titanic. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Iceberg 2012/07/18 00:37:00
    Iceberg
    +1
    I think people need to be more open minded about this.
  • Ryoka∞Boy 2012/05/23 08:16:50
    Ryoka∞Boy
    Oh dog,no.
  • Selketskiss 2012/05/10 10:54:53 (edited)
    Selketskiss
    I would not go on that ship it would be just to creepy...send Odummy and some of his minions...
  • SoCal71 2012/05/09 08:08:55
    SoCal71
    +1
    Lets send those welfare abusers on vacation
  • Kibelle 2012/05/08 15:30:03
    Kibelle
    +1
    I'd avoid boarding that ship at all cost and I'm not afraid to say that my decision is based on superstition. : \
  • jmc07806-PWCM-JLA 2012/05/08 13:02:00
    jmc07806-PWCM-JLA
    Not interested at all unless it was going to Alaska.
  • Username? What's that? 2012/05/06 05:26:11
  • Aqua Su... Usernam... 2012/05/08 19:36:40
    Aqua Surf BTO-t-BCRA-F
    LMAO!!
  • srinath 2012/05/06 03:49:31
    srinath
    sinking once doesn mean it ll again. i sure ll go.
  • JAMIE 2012/05/05 19:50:42
    JAMIE
    +2
    I AM FROM THE UNITED STATES BUT I WILL GO ON IT I AM NOT AFRAID
  • pops 2012/05/04 21:23:20
    pops
    +2
    It should be mandatory for all politicians.
  • Gahnzo 2012/05/04 16:01:32
    Gahnzo
    Cool idea, but I doubt that people will be able to a) afford it b) want to do it more than once c) there aren't enough people to sustain regular bookings to make it profitable.
    It's like light rail.. cool idea, but not profitable, therefore the government has to subsidize it..
  • Waiting in the Wings 2012/05/04 14:36:34
    Waiting in the Wings
    +1
    The original Titanic was state of the art as well. No thanks. I'd rather deal with airport security and just fly.
  • DougE 2012/05/04 13:51:26
    DougE
    while this is neat, I'd have to ask why? I don't care how this guy got his money, or how much he has but isn't there something better he could do with it?
  • A Founding Father 2012/05/04 06:46:39
    A Founding Father
    +2
    I can almost smell it. Old Clive boy has announced his project and will seek prepaid fares from gullible sorts that fall for such schemes. Then, after a couple of years of delays and "engineering changes" when the money stops coming in, he will announce the project has become "unfeasible" and the project is bankrupt. Clive will keep the money and another foolish scheme will have dropped off the screen. Do we remember the guy who was recreating Noah's Ark and was going to load it with "passengers" along with the pigs
    and camels? Where is that one now? Anyone know?
  • The Inc... A Found... 2012/05/04 10:35:59
    The Incurable Pessimist
    +1
    History repeats itself for those who are too dumb to learn it the first time.
  • A Found... The Inc... 2012/05/05 07:43:16
    A Founding Father
    Indeed. And, the new "Captain" still hasn't explained what happened to his Italian liner last year. Of course, this will never happen. To build a replica of the Titanic would probably cost more than $1Billion today. Even this alleged "mining magnate" would not
    be so foolish as to invest his own money in such a scheme. If he raises the money from others (some are born every minute, P.T. said), I will announce plans to replicate the "Spruce Goose" and begin flights to Paris.
  • Selkets... A Found... 2012/05/10 11:14:47
  • A Found... Selkets... 2012/05/14 03:08:55
    A Founding Father
    +1
    Tell me if I'm wrong, but that seems to be a fine looking wooden boat sitting atop what appears to be a steel river barge. Am I wrong? Anyway, I'm all for his taking a cruise
    with 16 million species of animals and insects aboard. Who will shovel that mess every
    morning? And, the smell, think of the smell, worse than an "Extended Stay Hotel" in Hoboken. Nice work, the construction.
  • Selkets... A Found... 2012/05/14 05:16:52
    Selketskiss
    It sure looks like it and you are right that would be some smell. He would need lots of guys to shovel that mess. Here is another pic...
    http://www.metro.co.uk/weird/...
  • Chris 2012/05/04 04:45:04 (edited)
    Chris
    Forget Titanic, go on the Disney Cruise.

    disney cruise fireworks

  • Bash 2012/05/04 04:38:01
    Bash
    What the hell count me in.
  • NicoleBabi 2012/05/04 04:01:07
    NicoleBabi
    im undecided im mean i would be scared but who knows it might be exciting
  • Firefly 2012/05/04 03:19:55
    Firefly
    No Thanks ~

    And not out of fear, mind you,

    More like 'sick to my stomach' in shock...

    Dude's got sooo much ching in his pocket, an'

    can't find a more productive way to use it than that ?
  • Jerry (... Firefly 2012/05/04 03:54:53
    Jerry (Iron Priest)☮ R ☮ P ☮ 201
    +1
    It's his money to do with as he chooses. It's called freedom; although, I understand your point.
  • Firefly Jerry (... 2012/05/04 04:01:37
    Firefly
    +1
    I understand your point as well ~

    Peace to Ya ;0 )
  • Jerry (... Firefly 2012/05/04 05:20:13
    Jerry (Iron Priest)☮ R ☮ P ☮ 201
    +1
    Always peace Flygirl.
  • Firefly Jerry (... 2012/05/04 05:22:49 (edited)
    Firefly
    +1
    Right On, Dude ;0 )

    hehehe ~ I like the 'Flygirl' thing !

    Thanks for throwing it out there ;0 )
  • Jerry (... Firefly 2012/05/05 02:34:11
    Jerry (Iron Priest)☮ R ☮ P ☮ 201
    When you speak of peace you will earn compliments from me because of admiration.
  • capoeirakid 2012/05/04 02:18:34
    capoeirakid
    +1
    new answer: that depends. is it taking the original route?
  • KoolGuyL capoeir... 2012/05/04 02:37:41
    KoolGuyL
    Thanks to global warming, that iceberg wouldn't be there, and I think they got the boat out of there.
  • capoeir... KoolGuyL 2012/05/04 02:58:41 (edited)
    capoeirakid
    depends on how big the iceberg was, i guess. and i would guess that somewhere there, deep in the ocean, deeper than any ship would have to worry about, there are pieces and remnants of the Titanic. So I might worry a bit about the iceberg, if it's still there, but crashing into Titanic remnants doesn't seem possible to me.
  • NicoleBabi capoeir... 2012/05/04 03:49:23
    NicoleBabi
    that would be scary
  • capoeirakid 2012/05/04 02:17:02
    capoeirakid
    +1
    No. I know logically that it will end up fine, but aboard it, I would always have that underlying fear, and the boat ride just isn't worth that.
  • spike66 2012/05/04 02:16:47
    spike66
    I'd go....really what r the chances of anything happening .......knock on wood. :-P
  • NicoleBabi spike66 2012/05/04 03:50:14
    NicoleBabi
    well u never know
  • diane RN 2012/05/04 02:07:00
    diane RN
    I would like to send Michelle and Barrack a free ride on the Titanic, of course, as a way of passing the olive branch:):)
  • ehrhornp 2012/05/04 02:06:22
    ehrhornp
    Would depend upon the lines that is in charge. I would have serious thoughts if it is the same line that had a boat come too close to shore. But if it is one of the better lines and is affordable, Yes I would consider it
  • Kurbdog 2012/05/04 01:26:01
  • diane RN Kurbdog 2012/05/04 02:06:00
    diane RN
    +1
    Cute puppy:)

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/12/18 18:28:11

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals