Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Banning Styrofoam Is a Bad Idea

News 2013/02/22 00:00:00
New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg recently announced that he will push to ban Styrofoam products during his last year in office, and you can imagine that not everyone found this to be a cause for celebration. Fef wanted to find out exactly who was for the ban and who was against it, so he asked SodaHeads if they thought it was a good policy.

More than 1,000 votes later, we have a verdict – and it's "good grief," with 70 percent of the vote! Even people who usually don't agree on things thought this potential ban was a little too ridiculous. Let's dig.



NEW YORK NOT ON BOARD

They say "if you can make it here [NYC] you can make it anywhere," so it's a pretty bad sign that 63% of New Yorkers were against the ban. Bloomberg is hoping to create influential policy that will change the country for the better, but if his own city (and state) isn't on board, imagine how hard it would be to pass this elsewhere. Even the majority (53%) of Californians weren't in favor of it.

REJECTION FROM BOTH SIDES OF THE AISLE

Rarely do Republicans and Democrats agree on policy, but the majority of conservatives (88%) and liberals (52%) were on the same page with this one. That being said, more liberals voted that it was "good policy" than conservatives, but not enough to provide Bloomberg with real support.

ALL THE MAJOR RELIGIONS REJECT BAN

Despite their differences, the major world religions have some common ground, and it turns out that opposition to the styrofoam ban is one of those overlapping beliefs. Atheists were evenly split, making them one of the most supportive demographics in this question.

After reviewing the statistics, we have to wonder: Should Bloomberg continue pushing this policy since he's really lacking in support? Or should he stand by his convictions and fight the status quo to accomplish what he thinks is best?

If you'd like to vote on these questions, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion, visit our original polls about Bloomberg's Styrofoam proposal. We'd love to hear from you.
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Earle Hunter 2014/01/19 04:02:54 (edited)
    Earle Hunter
    no wonder Robots and Drones are ready for more banning ridiculous acts, Oklahoma Governor Signs E-Cigarette Ban, it smells like cigarettes?! ridiculous Bans . No Cops is putting you in jail for Styrofoam. does it like Styrofoam, Politicals it's are a sickness to create BAN's
    2016 GOP
  • PattyM 2013/04/30 04:51:16
    PattyM
    Foam plastic containers and drink cups have been illegal here in Portland for ... probably going on 20 years now. Businesses do just fine with nice, recyclable, cardboard boxes and paper cups.
  • Earthlover 2013/04/16 18:26:30
    Earthlover
    +1
    If people had any clue how bad styrofoam is for the environment and for THEM, maybe they'd feel differently.
  • Will of Truth 2013/04/14 18:32:38
    Will of Truth
    Ya know I get banning the stuff. But this guy is just out of control.
  • smiffjp 2013/04/10 05:21:37
    smiffjp
    styrofoam crushes easy cracks.....but with him Jimmy Fallon said it best....did his girlfriend cheat on him with someone from 7-11. Don't see issues with the foam but....all the other things which are peoples personal freedoms he is trying to take away.
  • MikeWon 2013/03/29 14:02:10
  • Torr 2013/03/19 17:07:33
    Torr
    +1
    Mr. Bloomberg needs to read the definition of the duties of a Mayor, and quit mucking around with individual freedoms and liberties. His totalitarian dictator attitude has been slapped down by the State's supreme court at least once. Someone needs to remind him that he's merely another human on this large Earth, and his status as Mayor doesn't make him any wiser or more enlightened than any of his constituents. (Nothing galls me quite as much as arrogant, self-glorified politicians. ...On my list of favorite persons, such politicians rank only slightly above murderers and rapists.)
  • Holly 2013/03/18 22:28:51
    Holly
    My feelings toward Mr. Bloomberg:
    feelings bloomberg
    feelings bloomberg
  • csrdrunner 2013/03/17 14:06:01
    csrdrunner
    Hmmmm! sounds to me like he has turned into a dictator. What is wrong with the people in NY? what next? OPS!!!! will he say you must drink 1/2 gallon of water every day?
    Wake up NY, wake up America.
  • Faye 2013/03/13 21:42:54
    Faye
    +1
    It should be banned--as well as plastic bags. I know that both are convenient but bad for the environment.
  • Minarchist 2013/03/13 09:23:36
  • Chere 2013/03/06 19:49:58
    Chere
    I remember shrinking a styrafoam cup in an oven 30 years ago. It was fun. It shrunk down to the size of a thimbal. Then they told us that the gasses released from styrafoam can fry a brain. I guess that was what happened to me.
  • Sunnydaydreamer 2013/03/05 18:09:29
  • KATLYN 2013/03/03 17:52:41
    KATLYN
    +1
    i use one small cup everyday and i would miss it if it was taken away from me
  • Earthlover KATLYN 2013/04/16 18:29:46 (edited)
    Earthlover
    +1
    That's 365 small styrofoam cups a year.... You should rethink that. Styrofoam, esp when heated, is very bad for you.
  • JoeBob ... KATLYN 2013/05/08 09:04:41
    JoeBob Scruggs
    Tough Sh!t, pussy
  • KATLYN JoeBob ... 2013/05/12 21:08:52
    KATLYN
    oh wow i can tell that you are all grown up
  • Swordfish 2013/03/01 15:42:28 (edited)
    Swordfish
    +1
    I HATE styrofoam. It's bad for the environment and I can't get near it without feeling uncomfortable. It's like nails down a chalkboard for me, I cant stand it. Banbanban.
  • findthelight2000 2013/02/28 14:20:55
    findthelight2000
    +1
    If they started fining you for throwing it away you'd be happy for styrofoam to be banned. Use a little common sense folks!

    BTW: SodaHead is not a good reference for public opinion. The majority of the American public are in favor of banning styrofoam.
  • TombstoneJim 2013/02/27 22:14:44
    TombstoneJim
    +1
    They elected the moron and now they get to live with Mr. No Big Gulps....what an idiot...
  • CKarliner 2013/02/27 17:51:13
    CKarliner
    Bad idea. Granted with heat there is a small amount of styrene poison emitted into your hot coffee but this type of cronyism from Billionaire's makes me wonder if he owns stock in cardboard or other ulterior motives. This from the guy who banned big soda pops? Socialism; it's hell, and then your dragged into communism( Solzhenitsyn paraphrased, and he should know!)
  • ART 2013/02/27 16:55:59
    ART
    +1
    I THINK WE SHOULD BAN DOOMSBERG
  • bags the Indigenous Guru 2013/02/27 15:15:19
    bags the Indigenous Guru
    +2
    I can't believe it, but I agree with Bloomberg. Did you know that putting hot tea in styrofoam causes a dangerous chemical reaction? You can't burn it, as burning it gives off more than 90 different hazardous chemicals, including Styrene vapors and dioxins and Benzene gas, very toxic. Although Styrofoam breaks into pieces easily, it will take 500 years for one cup to dissolve.

    The same combination of chemicals that creates Styrofoam, minus the foaming process, will produce a slow burning, high-heat output petroleum jelly or what is more commonly known as napalm. Yup, napalm. But that's far from the worst thing about EPS: for starters, it's not biodegradable nor is it a candidate for mass recycling; it can't be reused or broken down; oh, and styrene is a known carcinogen. Though we may not be able to see them anymore, the tiny beads of polystyrene that make up the larger EPS product remain in the environment, small enough to enter the food we eat, and, as a result, our blood.
  • csrdrunner bags th... 2013/03/17 14:13:19 (edited)
    csrdrunner
    Come on now, don't be stupid. Check out the ingredients in Mt Dew, flu shots and Coke.
    visit:
    http://www.wattpad.com/77307-...

    now check out:


    So when will doomberg forbid Coke?
  • wolf 2013/02/27 03:02:49
    wolf
    +1
    I hate the stuff
  • Michael 2013/02/26 18:50:04
    Michael
    +3
    Funny, ban styro and legalize drugs!
  • Ashley 2013/02/26 18:25:45
    Ashley
    +1
    This is getting to be a ban on everything in NYC.
  • JackoClubs Ashley 2013/02/27 10:18:34
    JackoClubs
    Except idiotic, repressive, intrusive liberalism. That runs rampant.
  • william keegan 2013/02/26 15:40:15
    william keegan
    With all the "stuff" out there that is really dangerous to the human race, how many have been done in by Styrofoam?

    What a ridiculous waste of time and political capitol!
  • JoeBob ... william... 2013/02/26 17:09:18
    JoeBob Scruggs
    U R stupid.
  • william... JoeBob ... 2013/02/27 02:43:32
    william keegan
    Look into a mirror!
  • JoeBob ... william... 2013/02/27 15:35:04
    JoeBob Scruggs
    Look at your flaccid penis.
  • william... JoeBob ... 2013/02/27 19:55:54
    william keegan
    I obviously am trading comments with the possessor of the epitome of cogent thought processes. One who has a vast command of the language and is able to express him/herself with the most effective bit of thought provoking words the English Language contains.

    You obviously believe that a Styrofoam cup is more dangerous than a terrorist’s IED.

    Have at it friend, I can do you no further good.
  • JoeBob ... william... 2013/05/08 09:02:51
    JoeBob Scruggs
    Suck it asswipe
  • csrdrunner JoeBob ... 2013/03/17 14:14:49
    csrdrunner
    you are disgusting, think this should be banned!!!!
  • JoeBob ... csrdrunner 2013/05/08 09:01:25
    JoeBob Scruggs
    F U
  • Chris 2013/02/26 14:36:25 (edited)
    Chris
    I wouldn't say 88% and 52% are the same, so the right & left do differ greatly... likely that 52% in years will become 40%, 30%, etc... and that 88% might become 95%. Gradually I think democrats will embrace the ban on it if there is science that shows it's bad to use it. Which I don't know if there is, I don't really care that much though.
  • Embalmer 2013/02/26 03:44:37
    Embalmer
    +2
    Really it's a hell of an idea, and Bloomberg wasn't the first to suggest it.

    http://www.livestrong.com/art...

    Get educated you freaks, and lay off Bloomberg, he's smarter than all of you put together.
  • Resizst... Embalmer 2013/02/27 02:00:53 (edited)
    Resizstance
    +1
    LOL! Another "Useful Idiot" who wants to save the planet with radical banning!

    If you ban Styrofoam cups, etc, how else am I gonna start my backyard burns?

    save planet radical banning ban styrofoam cups gonna backyard burns

    It's a Grrreat way to recycle my coffee cups as a fire starter!!

    gonna backyard burns grrreat fire starter grrreat recycle coffee cups
  • Embalmer Resizst... 2013/02/27 16:51:39
    Embalmer
    +1
    Then you're the happy idiot who wants to see the world destroyed - pfffft.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/30 20:05:45

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals