Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Anonymous Is Admirable

News 2012/03/01 14:00:00
The loosely organized activist group known informally as Anonymous was the subject of another series of arrests this week, as Latin American police apprehended 25 hackers suspected to be involved with recent attacks on Colombian and Chilean government websites. Whether or not they were all actually involved is kind of beside the point -- the fact is, Interpol is openly aligning itself against Anonymous, and supporters are upset. Their existence and operation is a gray area, making the arrests a somewhat controversial issue, so we took the opportunity to ask the public what they think of the activist group.



There were clear distinctions between supporters and opponents of Anonymous, so don't take these results to mean there's anything like a consensus, but the majority of respondents fell in favor of them. And "admirable" turned out to be the right word to use for the favorable option, because many supporters had nothing but kind words for the group. However, there was a consistent word of reservation owing to the fact that any hacker could essentially pop on a Guy Fawkes mask and hail the name Anonymous. Opponents were straight-forward with their reasoning; the Top Opinion read, "They're criminals. Plain and simple."

Anonymous Youth

There was an extremely distinct age separation at 35 years, and nowhere else. All age groups under 35 showed huge support, with about four out of five supporting Anonymous; likewise, every group over 35 was against them, though not as unanimously with about two out of five showing support. Incidentally, sources say the members arrested this week fell between the ages of 17 and 40 -- not far off the mark.

Conservatives Can't Stand Them

Conservative respondents sided strongly against the group for similar reasons they've sided against Wikileaks in the past. The way Anonymous operates is frightening in the sense that it goes largely unchecked and has no way of assuring the public that it's working in their favor. Nothing stands between them and an abuse of power. However, it should be noted that libertarians showed majority support for the group.

Unpopular With the Fully Employed

Naturally, demographics based on employment, education, and marriage status are going to coincide somewhat with the age demographic, but there was an unusually large gap between full-time workers and part-time workers. Part-time workers were even more supportive than the unemployed, and retirees were about split. Students, of course, showed huge amounts of support.

If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our original poll about the Anonymous arrests. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • 13_JunkyardDog 2012/03/01 21:03:30
    13_JunkyardDog
    +18
    They are like Batman. We can hate them, we can love them, they will do as they do, they will run, they will kick ass.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • shadow76 2012/03/03 14:15:38
    shadow76
    +2
    I don't think so.
  • USA TBAN DEAD 2012/03/03 11:43:29 (edited)
  • ih8libe... USA TBA... 2012/03/04 00:34:44
    ih8liberals2
    +3
    you should know you've been being fed it for the last 3 years
  • Stryder USA TBA... 2012/03/04 00:40:03
  • AnonRanGER Stryder 2012/03/04 15:15:11
    AnonRanGER
    That tells us all we need to know about you.
  • MR. 2012/03/03 06:25:54 (edited)
    MR.
    +1
    THEY ARE VIOLATING PUBLIC AND PRIVATE TRUST AND BREAKING THE LAW BY DOING SO. WHEN YOUR INVITED YOU COME IN, EVEN GOD IS POLITE AND KNOWS THAT!!
  • Dzeeng 2012/03/03 04:42:04
    Dzeeng
    +3
    they deserve our support
  • Chris 2012/03/03 03:37:04
    Chris
    +5
    Amusing how Republicans are always anti-freedom.
  • ronnie Chris 2012/03/03 23:05:28
    ronnie
    +1
    How exactly are we anti-freedom? The Patriot Act is supported only by a faction of us. If I remember correctly, its us who support a free market, its us who support small government and its us who refuse government intervention in business. How exactly is that "anti-freedom", because it seems to me you are anti-common sense.
  • AnonRanGER ronnie 2012/03/04 15:17:00
    AnonRanGER
    You are business's bitch. No offense.
  • ronnie AnonRanGER 2012/03/04 15:39:08
    ronnie
    You are a governments bitch, no offense
  • AnonRanGER ronnie 2012/03/04 17:00:18
    AnonRanGER
    Sigh.
    "How exactly are we anti-freedom?"+"its us who refuse government intervention in business"="You are business's bitch."
    Get it yet or should I draw you a picture?
  • ronnie AnonRanGER 2012/03/04 17:06:09
    ronnie
    +1
    It's businesses that move the economy so stop sighing and buy something to stand on
  • AnonRanGER ronnie 2012/03/04 22:13:29
    AnonRanGER
    Corporations rule your country, and you want to protect corporations from the government. Corporations OWN you. Where's the freedom in that?
  • ronnie AnonRanGER 2012/03/04 23:10:37 (edited)
    ronnie
    How exactly do corporations own me? Here I have a decent job, I can work somewhere else of I dont like it here, I buy stocks and bonds to make some money, I can vote...
  • AnonRanGER ronnie 2012/03/05 01:34:59
    AnonRanGER
    Corporations buy the politicians that make the laws that rule you. That's what it boils down to.
  • BwaHa AnonRanGER 2012/03/04 19:28:05
    BwaHa
    ...another point you didn't make??? So more name calling.
  • Earthly Resident 2012/03/03 02:59:05
    Earthly Resident
    +6
    sure they may be controversial, but any group trying to eliminate something as absolutely nuts as Scientology has my support either way
  • BwaHa Earthly... 2012/03/04 19:30:50
    BwaHa
    +1
    I gotta go along with your Scientology statement.
  • Aqua Surf BTO-t-BCRA-F 2012/03/03 02:30:06
    Aqua Surf BTO-t-BCRA-F
    +2
    So it looks like the smart, conservative and educated are against Anon. No surprise there.
  • AnonRanGER Aqua Su... 2012/03/04 15:18:03
    AnonRanGER
    Conservative, yeah. The rest originates in your deluded mind. No surprise there.
  • wesley johnson 2012/03/03 02:13:37
  • AnonRanGER wesley ... 2012/03/04 15:20:22
  • Andrew 2012/03/03 01:35:05
    Andrew
    +3
    I'm anymous, look at my profile pic.
  • largo1 2012/03/03 00:55:03
    largo1
    +4
    They deserve our support
  • Dynasty Fighter 2012/03/02 23:53:33
    Dynasty Fighter
    +4
    They have a right to stand up for what is right
  • ronnie 2012/03/02 23:46:42
    ronnie
    +5
    Any group that tries to make the lies of world governments public have my full support. By carrying out these acts of rebellion ,we fulfill the will of our Founding Fathers. It is the duty of every citizen to question their government and expose their rotten apples right out.
  • watts.kyle 2012/03/02 19:59:08
    watts.kyle
    +1
    ...NO FACE?...SLENDERMAN APPROVES.XD
  • watts.kyle watts.kyle 2012/03/02 20:00:15
    watts.kyle
    DAMMIT I COULDN'T UPLOAD A SLENDER-PIC BECAUSE OF THE DAMN 3 CHAR THING! IT SAID "0 characters remaining" SO I SHOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO UPLOAD IT,RIGHT?!?!?!?! >_< DAMN YOU SODA HEAD!!!
  • AnonRanGER watts.kyle 2012/03/04 15:21:33
    AnonRanGER
    There you go, citizen.

    citizen
  • jubil8 BN-0 PON 2012/03/02 19:27:10
    jubil8 BN-0 PON
    +6
    Hacking is illegal. But when governments and corporations use their power and control to keep info from us, they are also doing something illegal. So I think Anon is fighting fire with fire. Sometimes the only way to do it.

    I've seen people here swearing to take up arms against the Government if certain things happen. That would be ILLEGAL, folks, so why will you do it? And if YOU'D do it for one reason or another that YOU think is crucial, why is it wrong for someone else to do it for something S/HE thinks is crucial?
  • boots 2012/03/02 19:10:01
    boots
    +7
    I admire their work for social justice .
  • Mateo boots 2012/03/02 19:38:45
    Mateo
    +3
    What the hell, praytell, are you talking about? Their work for Social Justice? You apparently have no freaking clue what anonymous is or does. General opinion of the OWS "social justice" folk has been somewhere between pond scum and trial lawyer- and WAAAAY below school shooter.
  • boots Mateo 2012/03/02 19:44:02
    boots
    +2
    There there kiddo .
    have a coke and a smile . have a coke and a smile
  • Mateo boots 2012/03/02 19:55:17
    Mateo
    +2
    You really have no rhetorical skill, do you? That is so damn sad. Let me guess, you took full advantage of the public school system?

    Yeah, ad hominem right back at ya.
  • boots Mateo 2012/03/02 20:03:36
    boots
    +2
    Yawn...... yawn
  • Aqua Su... Mateo 2012/03/03 02:32:42
    Aqua Surf BTO-t-BCRA-F
    +1
    And they're so brave, hiding behind their goofy masks, NOT!
  • AnonRanGER Aqua Su... 2012/03/04 15:26:10
    AnonRanGER
    +1
    So I take it "Aqua Surf" is your real name and that's you on the profile picture, hypocrite?
    You are so brave, badmouthing people behind your goofy ANONYMITY, NOT!
  • BwaHa AnonRanGER 2012/03/04 19:38:57
    BwaHa
    Anon... you're the epitome of hypocrisy!
  • AnonRanGER BwaHa 2012/03/05 01:35:26
    AnonRanGER
    Why?

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/10/22 01:41:10

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals