Quantcast

PUBLIC OPINION > Animal Testing Is Not OK

News 2012/09/25 21:00:00
Animal testing has always been a controversial subject. Some argue that the knowledge acquired from animal testing is essential, and it's more humane than testing on humans. Others feel that's no excuse for putting the animals at risk. Following news that animal testing is at an all-time high in Britain, we asked the public if the practice should be banned.



There were plenty of supporters, but overall the public agreed that animal testing should probably be banned. But without animals to test on, how would scientists make progress? The Top Opinion suggested, "We should test prisoners on death row, they are human and the test results would be more accurate ... I'll bet that alone would be more of a deterrent to crime than any other deterrent, so crime would go down, a win-win situation to the overall problem." That might be a tough one to swallow if you're against capital punishment, but it is a thought.

Men Are Mostly OK With It

The most remarkable demographic difference was definitely gender. With more than 1,400 votes on the record, women were 34% more likely to oppose animal testing. Nearly three-fourths of female voters felt the practice should be banned, while less than half of male voters felt the same. It seems women really are more empathetic, on average.

Teens Against Testing

Age was a big factor, too. Younger voters were more likely to call for a ban on animal testing, but teens were especially opinionated -- more than 80% of voters under the age of 18 felt animal testing should be banned. However, after the age of 35, support for a ban evened out at about 46%, and it never dropped below 43%.

Conservatives Condone Testing

Politics also correlated with how people responded, but surprisingly, gender and age had more of an effect. While conservatives were more likely than any other group to condone testing, women and teens were still more likely to support a ban than liberals.


If you'd like to vote on this question, dig deeper into the demographics, or engage in existing discussion about the topic, visit our poll about animal testing. We'd love to hear from you!
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Top Opinion

  • Bassinman 2012/09/25 22:22:21
    Bassinman
    +18
    Mice; the scourge of the earth, which reproduce faster than rabbits (and are always available as snake fodder), are considered mistreated if they are experimented on to save human lives. But it's fine and dandy to terminate a fetus at ANY stage, and even the child after it is (born) brought out of the womb?

    What a sick mentality some people have, to want to protect rodents at all costs (even if it would save one human life, if not thousands), but prefer to kill humans arbitrarily at the drop of a hat, just to ease their conscience.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Zach 2013/05/13 16:45:36
    Zach
    I only support testing as there is no other ethical alturnative to testing potentially toxic make up or meds.
  • Rebekah 2013/01/21 20:46:43
    Rebekah
    +7
    I know and respect that everyone has their own rights and opinion, but why would you ever agree in hurting lives of these beautiful animals? I just cannot stand it. Animals deserve respect. What have they ever done to us? They are just as important and real as we are. So, before you just say, Oh, whatever, I don't care, that's just an old rat. Just remember that the most precious and beautiful lives are being smashed and burnt every day. Make a difference to the world, and help make a change. Animals cant speak, so we must speak for them.
  • velorna.curtis 2012/10/25 03:51:27
    velorna.curtis
    No
  • NotYou 2012/10/23 18:11:02
    NotYou
    That's a tough question. I'm glad I don't have to make it.
  • CharmaEvans 2012/10/23 17:37:12
    CharmaEvans
    Animal testing is not okay. In most cases. However if there is an overpopulation of an animal, and the animal is causing a problem, then I suppose a few could be used for animal testing, but no more than that. ... That also depends on the hunting stuff going on. And trapping.... Anyways, it's okay in SOME cases, IMO.
  • Avi Rosen 2012/10/21 11:19:08
    Avi Rosen
    I am against animal tests in the cosmetics industry, but not against it in the medicinal industry. for if we hadn't done these tests where would we be today???
  • Dj Gill 2012/10/11 19:33:28
    Dj Gill
    Stuff has to be tested on something/someone. Would you prefer they be tested on rats or humans? O wait, you kill babies for the fun of it, so I assume you want to use them instead? People are sick.
  • samantha browne 2012/10/11 05:53:47 (edited)
    samantha browne
    When we, as a species, torture other creatures to "help us", we destroy what makes us human.
    p.s. Primates are used in hideous medical experiments behind closed doors.
  • darkwolf0980 2012/09/28 20:24:36
  • ocean tamer 2012/09/28 20:16:22
    ocean tamer
    Personally I think it is a terrible thing to do, I would rather they tested all the drugs on me rather than defenselessness animals that would never benefit from the drugs in the first place. This is NOT a win-win situation.
  • uppity 2012/09/28 15:36:37
    uppity
    +2
    Animal testing vs. Human testing? Answer that and you have the correct answer.
  • Dj Gill uppity 2012/10/11 19:36:34
    Dj Gill
    I think we've underestimated the stupidity of some people when we asked this question though.........
  • uppity Dj Gill 2012/11/28 15:41:51
    uppity
    when well we learn to make the distinction between man and animals? HEADLINE: Mother and father lose life attempting to save the family DOG! Leaves a young daughter and seventeen year-old son behind. ... II WAS JUST A DOG! Loved, but still it was just an animal. Was it worth the risk?
  • SiliconSorcerer 2012/09/28 14:21:29
    SiliconSorcerer
    +3
    Mice or Democrats both are the scourge of the earth.
  • thє вluє wαndєrєr 2012/09/28 13:50:17
  • Kristen Pratts 2012/09/28 11:03:54
    Kristen Pratts
    Never... Ok!
  • Freedom!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2012/09/28 09:37:50
    Freedom!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    +2
    Here is a question? Is using untested chemicals on humans ok? So.... what we just stop scientific research in order to save mice?
  • 13_JunkyardDog 2012/09/28 07:51:08
    13_JunkyardDog
    If stuff like this
    ear growing on a rat
    will one day help people like this
    amputee veteran
    or this
    burn victim
    then I'm fine with it
  • Just Jenn for Now 2012/09/28 06:09:03 (edited)
    Just Jenn for Now
    *eyeroll* Alright, here's the deal: We cannot make products without testing them. There aren't enough human "guinea pigs" to shoot up with drugs or try on a new lipstick or what have you.

    Things MUST be tested and proven to be safe before going to the stage of marketing.

    So would you rather test it on rats, whose numbers exceed human population in great amounts, or have people risk their health and perhaps their lives?

    Don't get me wrong, some animals are NOT free game. Cats, dogs, endangered species, and even monkeys I don't approve of. But life is a food chain, a survival of the strongest.

    Animal testing is a must. Just limit WHICH animals are qualified to be tested upon.

    Besides, who knows, maybe some of those test rats were serial killers or sex offenders in their past life. Who are we to deny their destined punishment? LOL.
  • OneLast... Just Je... 2012/09/28 16:09:09
    OneLastWord
    Yo brother, I agree.

    "But life is a food chain, a survival of the weakest"

    Didn't you mean "survival of the strongest"

    We already have to many 'weak-ass surviving', their called Liberal Democrates.

    Demos
  • Just Je... OneLast... 2012/09/28 18:25:46
    Just Jenn for Now
    I did mean the strongest, my bad. Thanks for agreeing, but I can't concur with the Liberal/Democrat slur. To each their own though.
  • OneLast... Just Je... 2012/09/29 12:47:41
    OneLastWord
    Ha, Just having fun, "I'm just saying".
  • Michael 2012/09/28 03:22:49
    Michael
    Depends on the testing done. My mom lost most of her hair and her scalp was red and inflamed due to a hair spray she used, back in the 50's. I am sure a little test on rats would have saved a lot of humans the pain and agonizing, embarrassing predicament and a lot of money, too.
  • wx 2012/09/27 23:22:56
    wx
    So the majority of people wants cosmetics, good healthcare and so on and so forth, but don't want animal testing, hypocrisy at it's best.
  • Margaret Jacobson 2012/09/27 21:19:57
    Margaret Jacobson
    In the past some of our greatest medical achievements were done with animal help!! Research should have a purpose !! Animal use in research doesn't have to be CRUEL !! Why not use human subjects instead ?? the results might be better?? Don' t they do this with volunteers (they get paid)??
  • KrisD87 2012/09/27 19:15:56
    KrisD87
    it's just plain WRONG.
  • Dj Gill KrisD87 2012/10/11 19:38:10
    Dj Gill
    And why is that, exactly?
  • Jaiheena Star 2012/09/27 18:57:50
  • ManBearPig 2012/09/27 18:41:28
    ManBearPig
    although animal testing can be cruel... most of the medical products that the fields of medicine use would be off the market and the simple products that someone would need for the flu, a surgery, etc. would be gone... if your so inclined to not have animal testing then every prototype product for medical use would have to be tested on humans... and we all know no one would be more offended to have human testing than animal testing
  • mzemma 2012/09/27 18:00:02 (edited)
    mzemma
    Well, they "people" test.. Does that surprise you. They are too cheap to come up with totally new drugs so they modify existing ones,,give them a new name, invent a disease, and/or lower the wellness standards, so everyone qualifies and can be considered sick..so they can get everyone on for-proft drugs. Over 120.000 people die each year from taking prescription medicine as directed. Oh yeah! And why is cancer more common than a cold? Profits? A way to dispose of nuclear waste, sell chemo...big profits. String you along for about 7 years until you are penniless and deep in debt. Romeo's Bain Corporation, bought Hospital Corporation of America (HCA) and owns 168 hospitals across the nation...do you think he wants you healthy? Why do you think gmo corn (high fructose corn syrup) sometomes disguised on labels as syrup, Meladexrone and other names....is in everthing...fed to feed lot cattle (it's toxic), and in soda and cereal and mostly all packaged goods. And especially designed seasoning to get you "hooked" (addicted). Health practes are big profit and can't be out sourced.....so creats jobs...as we see drug stores on every corner we are beginning to see hospitals and health facilities on every corner... Watch the DVD's "Food Matters", "Food Inc,." And read "Confessions of an economic Hit Man" by John Perkins...just too know what corpoate/government is capable of....oh yeah...thy shall be enlightened!
  • Foxhound BN0 2012/09/27 17:22:59
    Foxhound BN0
    +1
    Conservatives support animal torture. Surprise surprise.
  • Primaltare Foxhoun... 2012/12/04 23:20:27
    Primaltare
    We support "scientific advancement". Surprise surprise.
  • mustangluver 2012/09/27 16:58:30
    mustangluver
    +1
    I think testing has to be done on animals. It is what it is. I think those on death row should contribute to society and to the victim(s) and their loved ones by using them to test on.
  • ClintAustin26 2012/09/27 16:26:08
    ClintAustin26
    +2
    Everybody knows teens are idealistic and stupid. That's how Obama got elected. The problem with this is it's not a balanced sample. Teens don't have any life experience to get a vote, and women are disproportionately represented compared to males. Not surprisingly, Liberals and Conservatives are mirror images of each other. Remove teens and get the number of males up and you probably have an almost even split.
  • dessabitelle 2012/09/27 14:36:59
    dessabitelle
    +1
    Together we that love animals must come together to save these angels of God. They more than anyone have feelings, they love unconditionally and the acts committed against them are criminals, there should be a law of life imprisonment for murderers and torturers of animals. Save all these angels!
  • ebitnet 2012/09/27 14:23:16
    ebitnet
    a.) Every medical advance, procedure and surgery, every new drug, every new therapy needs to be tested FIRST on animal subjects. Every surgeon trains FIRST on animals before being turned loose on a human.

    b.) The proposition that we could use death row prisoners is totally ridiculous and would put us on the same moral plane as Joseph Mendele. Who ever suggested this (and raised this to be the top opinion) needs to read their history books more closely. Every science ethics course studies the Auschwitz experiments and the Tuskegee syphilis experiments.
  • Beat Magnum True Hero 2012/09/27 14:01:04
    Beat Magnum True Hero
    Overall... I don't think it's needed. Then again, if animal testing cures cancer or AIDS, then they should erect a statue of that mouse 100 stories high!
  • Rod 2012/09/27 13:50:29
    Rod
    Of course animal testing should be banned. The more animals that we can save the fewer humans we will have to worry about. Strange but I think that I actually agree with the concept. Go animals!!!
  • Booッ 2012/09/27 13:14:18
    Booッ
    +1
    Definitely not!! Animals should not be tested on just becuause they're animals, they are living beings too!
  • LightenUpPlease 2012/09/27 06:16:56 (edited)
    LightenUpPlease
    +2
    our society does human testing with citizens who volunteer knowing all the side effects but dont care because they get paid. if you're gonna test a product designed for humans, the control would be animals of course. but studies of testing continue to human subjects, my suggestion is use the inmates for this stage instead of volunteers

    no more capital punishment for death row inmates and life imprisonment for felons that kill, molest and rape. lets not waste the tax money of hard working people like ourselves and pay to feed these prison rats. those who commit the most unspeakable crime are rewarded a free meal of their choice at the death row buffet. we are financing free housing, fitted clothes, cable tv, healthcare and dental, books that should have been used for public schools, conjugal visits, hot running water and air conditioning to these manimals...think about it, the same person that just tried to rob you is still spending your money in jail. use these dirty rats as subjects for our testing. save as many innocent mice as we can and let them die naturally and humanely. its the guilty who deserve the fate these animals are given
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 Next » Last »

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/09/30 17:52:42

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals