Quantcast

LOOK > IKEA Previews Houses in the U.S.: Bargain or Bogus?

SodaHead News 2012/03/02 20:00:00
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Back in December, IKEA revealed that it was building an entire town in East London near the park where this year's Olympics will be held, but the Swedish home furnishing company isn't stopping there. They just previewed the first U.S. IKEA home model, named "aktiv" (with a lowercase "a" for good measure), at the Portland Home & Garden show last week. The 745-square-foot home will run for $86,500.

ikea home

Ideabox, a prefab housing design studio based in the Pacific Northwest involved in the project, wrote on its website, "For those of us IKEA fans, the pure delight of walking and imagining our way through an IKEA store quickly turns to the daunting task of assembly when we get home. Not a worry… When your ideabox aktiv arrives, all of the cabinets, countertops, and flooring are installed… it’s like the best of everything!" Do you think an IKEA home sounds like a bargain -- or is the idea totally bogus?

ikea house

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • Richard 2012/03/03 02:31:12 (edited)
    Bogus
    Richard
    +6
    Do you know how small a 745 square foot home is... you don't have room to turn around.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • JULIE 2012/03/12 15:55:52
    Bargain
    JULIE
    I love it
  • Razoreye001 2012/03/07 00:48:01
    Bargain
    Razoreye001
    consider how expensive a traditional home is compared to how much money people have, it might not be the Louve but I'd take it over a cardboard box.
  • Mike 2012/03/07 00:26:17
    Bogus
    Mike
    They sell some real cheap junk !
  • Flamingolady 2012/03/06 17:07:20
    Bogus
    Flamingolady
    +1
    Sorry, not a big Ikea fan.
  • Nonpartisan 2012/03/05 22:21:38
    Bogus
    Nonpartisan
    +1
    Keeping that in perspective, that is at least twice the size of the "old peoples prison" that my parents are in for which they pay about that much to the Prison Management every year. And as an added bonus some of the "prison" employees are stealing everything valuable that they can find which is not locked up. I would never want to move into any place that small.
  • shadowmoon 2012/03/05 20:31:46
    Bargain
    shadowmoon
    As somebody who currently lives in a 740sqf apartment, I can certainly testify that it's a small space. However, a fully-furnished HOUSE for 86k? Good deal IMO.
  • הרב ריאן Rabbi Ryan 2012/03/05 18:15:43
    Bargain
    הרב ריאן Rabbi Ryan
    +1
    Great for a starter home!

  • iHatespam 2012/03/05 17:57:48
    Bargain
    iHatespam
    +1
    Eeeek! I love it!!!!!!
  • All American 2012/03/05 17:19:11
    Bogus
    All American
    +1
    That's about the size of my former apartment, and for $86,500, it better be on the Mediterranean or Caribbean or some place exotic like that. Otherwise, No Thanks, I'll stick to my house.
  • Paul Erasmus 2012/03/05 16:45:07
    Bargain
    Paul Erasmus
    +1
    Ikea is a tremendous company. Good products and good memories of Germany.
    Wish they would come to RSA
  • Diana 2012/03/05 14:31:01
    Bogus
    Diana
    +1
    I can't help but think of the movie Fight Club, when I hear anything about an Ikea house.
  • Bob 2012/03/05 14:13:43
    Bargain
    Bob
    +1
    Not sure. Have to wait and see.
  • Bob DiN 2012/03/05 08:40:22
    Bogus
    Bob DiN
    +2
    745 square feet is tiny. Sounds like an expensive doll house.
  • mm61675 2012/03/05 05:58:01
    Bogus
    mm61675
    +3
    maybe if the price is lower.....you're just paying a LOT more $$ for convienence
  • Bill 2012/03/05 04:50:14
    Bogus
    Bill
    +2
    Thats the size of two 40ft shipping cans. I think I could do better going that route for a starting point.
  • DICK 2012/03/05 04:34:43
    Bogus
    DICK
    +2
    THE PHRASE TELL'S IT ALL...YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.
  • ~Kutie~ 2012/03/05 03:51:02
    Bargain
    ~Kutie~
    +3
    They LOOK nice but the real question is how Durable are they?? i got some bed frames from them and they sucked!!
  • mark 2012/03/05 03:22:28
    Bogus
    mark
    +1
    Bogus for me. But it may be a bargain for someone in another part of the country. For 86,000 plus I would expect more. Also , not my style.
  • mixedsingle.com❤date and ma... 2012/03/05 02:22:55
  • $$*gat*$$ BL39 2012/03/05 01:51:57
    Bogus
    $$*gat*$$ BL39
    +2
    tiny, like a NYC apartment, maybe for 2 people with a few things, not a family
  • Ron 2012/03/05 00:36:12
    Bogus
    Ron
    +1
    It might be a bargain if you already owned land you didn't have to pay for and it depends on where you live. I some areas of the country it could be a bargain in most it would be totally bogus to call it anything but a ripoff.
  • Cindy 2012/03/05 00:00:56
  • Boetica 2012/03/04 22:21:45
    Bogus
    Boetica
    +1
    Wake up, folks. These are the dwellings that our rulers have decided we should live in, while they live in real homes. Kind of like the "volkswagen" in Hitlers day. The envirocommunists are making it too expensive to drive. The higher they can push the cost of living, the less children people will have. Drive up prices by restricting access to resources. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see what is happening, maybe just someone who doesn't watch American Idol.
  • Grammar Freak 2012/03/04 21:25:29
    Bogus
    Grammar Freak
    +2
    By the way... those hanging lamps pictured in the bedroom, well, they look pretty cool, but they're the biggest dust collectors imaginable! Unless you live in a sealed vacuum, they look like hell in a matter of weeks.
    Loads of people have them here & loads of people say they were a big mistake to buy.
  • MOMMA THOMAS 2012/03/04 20:00:45
    Bargain
    MOMMA THOMAS
    +1
    DEPENDS ON THE MATERIAL.....YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. WE HAVE PURCHASED SOME VERY GOOD FURNISHINGS AT IKEA.
  • Anonymouse ~superdoge~ 2012/03/04 18:59:56
    Bogus
    Anonymouse ~superdoge~
    +1
    It looks good, but all the woodchip furniture would spontaneously combust as soon as you put any pressure on it.
  • jacktown kid 2012/03/04 17:06:20
    Bogus
    jacktown kid
  • Marie 2012/03/04 15:53:31
    Bargain
    Marie
    +2
    Heck, why not. It'd be a good starter home or something, with good IKEA furnishing. I mean, it is better than the small, but substantial, apartment our family lives in......
  • FIGHTEROFFOO 2012/03/04 08:36:55
    Bogus
    FIGHTEROFFOO
    +1
    bogus i bet the walls are attached to the roof with those little round metal things that you line up with the screw and turn with a screwdriver
  • Pele Emerging 2012/03/04 07:39:24
    Bargain
    Pele Emerging
    +3
    It's pretty small, but could work for a single person or maybe a couple (first apt after my ex and I married was smaller than that).
  • Odinsown 2012/03/04 07:25:27
    Bargain
    Odinsown
    +1
    For a career bachelor its a bargain, for a family or couple not so much.
  • JULIE Odinsown 2012/03/12 15:58:41
    JULIE
    you can add bedrooms for $20,000 each
  • EricPWest 2012/03/04 05:30:07
    Bargain
    EricPWest
    +1
    IKEA furnishings have never impressed me. Id never live in an 'ikea house' but 85 k fully furnished is pretty damned cheap. Id buy it, sell the furniture and get new furnishings. Bargain.
  • alex 2012/03/04 05:27:12
    Bogus
    alex
    +1
    My partner and I are about to buy a 1,152 squarefoot house for 36,000 less XDXD
  • He'a: k... alex 2012/03/07 17:21:54
    He'a: ka'ka:'
    +1
    Where the heck are you living for that price?!?!? Congratulations, by the way!
  • alex He'a: k... 2012/03/07 18:27:09
    alex
    Thank you!! Ohio, there's some good houses and neighborhoods in the citys surrounding Dayton and some are decently priced houses like ours :)
  • He'a: k... alex 2012/03/07 18:44:49
    He'a: ka'ka:'
    +1
    Ooooh... too far north :( I wish they could be cheap in the south!
  • alex He'a: k... 2012/03/07 19:43:31
    alex
    +1
    Bummer :-/ keep looking! I hope something will pop up if you're looking for a house :)
  • He'a: k... alex 2012/03/08 05:30:16
    He'a: ka'ka:'
    +1
    I'm thinking renting is a great option for a while. Something breaks, they fix it! hehe.
  • alex He'a: k... 2012/03/08 07:00:44
    alex
    +1
    Ahhh that does sound nice!! :P

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/04/18 15:47:35

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals