Is DCWG.ORG a Spyware Site in Disguise?

Jimmy 2012/07/09 17:06:24
Add Photos & Videos
The website in question here refers to a purported U.S. government website recently established to aide Internet users in determining whether their computers are infected with an alleged malware virus that is said to divert users from their intended World Wide Web destination to a counterfeit website destination. For instance, a user whose computer is infected with the suggested virus could presumably attempt to enter the SODAHEAD.COM website and instead be diverted to a counterfeit site that looks like SODAHEAD.COM, but really isn't.

This whole debacle seems to have emerged through mainstream radio and television news' reporting virtually overnight; and NBC news is saturating their overall airtime with the subject as of Monday, July 9, 2012, which is when the alleged virus is said to take its full effect on any computers connecting to the Internet that have been infected.

Prior to July 9, the first time I personally heard anything about the subject was on July 8 (and I do watch a lot of television news every day). However, this alleged malware virus is said to have actually been in existence for upwards of two (2) years. Supposedly, it was created by a team of six (6) individuals from some Eastern European country who have since been arrested.

Among the ongoing barrage of news' reports covering the subject that I've heard thus far on July 9, the first was the most informative: It suggested that the only assumed benefit to the (arrested) hackers who created the virus in the first place is that - in redirecting users to counterfeit websites - those websites are filled with phony pay-per-click advertising that users click on and thereby create illicit revenue for themselves. The number given is that the hackers had amassed over $14-million from such fraudulent ad-clicking activities over the course of about a year or two.

The news' reports go on to allege that, although unsuspecting users' computers have actually been infected for upwards of two (2) years, it has been through the grace of the U.S. government and the FBI that a special "red wire" electronic assemblage of some sort was implemented to allow users to still be able to connect to the Internet without any disruptions; and including where such users would not be affected by the virus itself due to the fact that the servers being operated by the (arrested) hackers have been under the control of the FBI dating back months and months ago.

The purported problem now, effective on Monday, July 9, is that the FBI has subsequently disconnected that "red wire" contraption at about 9:00 PM on July 8, which will alternately cause any computers infected with the virus to simply lose the ability to connect to the Internet completely. So then the only suggestion being offered through these news' reports is that affected users will need to contact their respective Internet service provider (ISP) for a solution to fix the problem. (Well, first of all, if your computer is infected with any kind of virus that is preventing you from connecting to the Internet, the last thing any ISP is going to be able to do is fix your computer. The best thing your ISP could tell you is that you S.O.L., but that whole argument is for another day anyway.)

The apparently odd theory being offered the news' reporting is that you can somehow avoid problems if your computer is infected with the virus by simply logging into the DCWG.ORG website and clicking on a link there that will perform some kind of testing procedure to tell you whether your machine is infected. But nothing is being said about this DCWG.ORG website being able to clean up or remove such a virus from your computer, which makes perfect sense to me, since I already know that the website could not do that anyway.

One point to make is that if the DCWG.ORG website tells you that your computer is infected with the virus, then how were able to connect to the Internet at the outset enough to even be able to log into that website under the aforementioned contention the virus was supposed to have shut down your Internet connection in the first place? Another point to make is that if the website does tell you that your computer is infected with the virus, then what good does that do you? The virus would still be there in your computer. On the other hand, if your computer never stops working, then it would probably be safe to assume that you do not have any virus.

There seems to be an awful lot of big holes looming with this so-called malware virus that the U.S. government and the FBI was so nice to be protecting everyone from at least up until the evening of July 8, 2012:

The first hole is that if it is an actual U.S. government website, then why is it using the .ORG extension on the website name? As you may know, authentic government websites will typically use their own reserved .GOV extension. Anyone can buy a .ORG extension, but the .GOV extension is reserved exclusively for government use. This doesn't mean that the government couldn't choose to use a .ORG extension for its website name, but the question is why would the government do that when it can use its own reserved extension?

The next hole here is where the allegation is being made those (arrested) hackers were somehow able to create revenue for themselves from fraudulent pay-per-click advertising streams? Now how would that be possible? Certainly they were not utilizing the Google Company ADSENSE advertising system, because Google can and does detect that type of fraudulent activity in less than 24 hours from the time it begins to take place.

Also, whether the (arrested) hackers could have been utilizing the Google system, or any one of a dozen other similar advertising networks, this would mean that they would have literally been operating the scheme under their own account with an advertising company -- and therefore where the only means for them to receive any payment in the first place would be for such an advertising company to be sending them a paycheck. (It wouldn't make sense to suppose that the hackers were operating under their own advertising company, since that would mean that they would have effectively been stealing money from themselves.)

Another hole is where NBC news is reporting that "millions" of computers worldwide have been infected with the virus: On the other hand, a radio news report through KEX 1190 AM reported on the morning of July 9 that a maximum of 40,000 users in the United States would have been infected, with a worldwide total of not more than 250,000 infected computers.

One theory might suggest that the DCWG.ORG website itself is where you may end up downloading a malware virus into your computer if there is not a virus on your computer already. As you may know, one of the most common and current means that hackers will use to infect computers with certain malware viruses is to create websites that allow for this type of thing to take place, and which takes place simply by clicking into the website and doing nothing else.

At the very least, in order for the DCWG.ORG website to work the way it is being advertised, then it would mean that utilizing the aforementioned scanning option of the website will allow the system to take a virtual photograph of your computer's hard drive memory and operating system. The only way these types of systems work is to actually read all of the files on your computer in the interest of determining whether there is a problem with your computer files (e.g., searching for malware, spyware, trojans, viruses and so forth).

Of course, I don't know whether the DCWG.ORG website is actually a spyware site in disguise that may be designed to infiltrate your computer and record all of your files for purposes of espionage; or otherwise where it may not actually be looking for any so-called malware virus in the first place. As far as that goes, I can't even prove that the DCWG.ORG website is a genuine government website, since it does not utilize the .GOV website extension.

However, all of this conjecture is a big question to ponder about...

So what do you think?

Do you think that the DCWG.ORG website may actually be designed to break into your computer and spy on your private information through the use of a malware-type virus program?

PLEASE NOTE: I have alternately listed the URL link for the DCWG.ORG website below. Be advised that any decision you make to enter that website is strictly at your own risk and discretion.

Read More: http://www.dcwg.org

Add a comment above

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2016/02/09 22:37:55

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals