Quantcast

Iraq War Veteran Fights To Fly American Flag In His Front Yard After Neighbor Files Complaint With Town…Should all Americans be allowed to fly the American flag in their yard?

CAPISCE 2013/03/28 19:35:32
Yes
no
You!
Add Photos & Videos
HYPOLUXO, Fla (WPTV) – A U.S. Marine who served overseas in Iraq has returned home in Hypoluxo only to be told he cannot fly his American flag.

Days after Gregory Schaffer installed a flag pole in his front yard, he received a citation from the Town of Hypoluxo listing the flag as a code violation.

“It’s sad. It’s sad that we have to go through that just to fly a flag,” said Schaffer.

The 24-year-old Iraq war veteran said after serving overseas, it was a must to have a flag flying in his yard. But within days after hoisting up the flag, he was slapped with a citation after an anonymous neighbor filed a complaint with the town.

“It’s disgusting that anybody should have to go through that. I fought for the flag, now I’m paying for the flag,” said Schaffer.

The Town of Hypoluxo said this issue is not with his flag.

“Well he can fly his flag the issue is that he has to get a building permit,” said Tim Large, who heads the building department for the town.
Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • Miss Yuki 2013/03/29 03:19:40 (edited)
    Yes
    Miss Yuki
    +5
    What the hell people. It's his private property. you don't like it, don't look. nothing is forcing you to. if he wanted to hang up a pair of underwear would he get complaints?
    IT IS HIS PROPERTY. LET HIM BE.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • dave.bost.7 2013/03/28 23:01:41
    Yes
    dave.bost.7
    +2
    This is still America isn't it ????????
  • none 2013/03/28 22:44:39
    Yes
    none
    +1
    There's nothing wrong with flying our flag.
  • Mark In Irvine 2013/03/28 22:07:30
    Yes
    Mark In Irvine
    +1
    of course!
  • James 2013/03/28 21:36:38
    Yes
    James
    +1
    If its their property, it's their right.
  • Mytstar ~PWCM~JLA 2013/03/28 21:32:08
    Yes
    Mytstar ~PWCM~JLA
    +2
    It states that a building permit was needed... to erect the pole... I guess if they have spects for pole erections listed in the building codes for that town... then its is needed ...
  • clasact 2013/03/28 21:24:17
    Yes
    clasact
    +1
    And they should be damm proud to do so
  • Kurt 2013/03/28 21:17:15
  • frank 2013/03/28 20:59:23
    Yes
    frank
    +4
    We have this problem in California with homeowner's association and they have been overruled. FLY THE FLAG!
  • The Patriot 2013/03/28 20:46:46
    Yes
    The Patriot
    +4
    I fly it every day. If someone doesn't like it - They can kiss my ass.
  • Illumin... The Pat... 2013/03/29 07:07:23
    Illuminatti 37°
    +2
    That's the spirit!
  • trip1772 2013/03/28 20:38:50
    Yes
    trip1772
    +4
    We fly one in our yard. I would love to see them try and tell me I can't fly our flag in OUR yard. We also fly the Marine Corps flag. Simper Fi
  • RandyScott (Party of One) 2013/03/28 20:12:26
    Yes
    RandyScott (Party of One)
    +2
    Need more details before I could make a real comment, but any American should be able to fly the flag, as long as it's done properly.
  • Ron Burgundy "Gentleman Lover" 2013/03/28 19:41:54 (edited)
    Yes
    Ron Burgundy "Gentleman Lover"
    +2
    this IS america is it not? neighbor complained about THAT? i take it that the neighbor is not from here and if he dosen't like our flag,maybe he can get the F out! and why would you need a building permit to fly a flag anyway?
  • Linnster Ron Bur... 2013/03/28 19:55:28
    Linnster
    +2
    You probably need a building permit to erect the flagpole.
  • Ron Bur... Linnster 2013/03/28 20:00:55 (edited)
    Ron Burgundy "Gentleman Lover"
    +4
    for a pole? idk about that. it's not like he was adding another room on to his house or building a garage or something. just another way for the city to squeeze money out of a person. and who the hell was this nosy neighbor? he does realize he lives in america,right?
  • Linnster Ron Bur... 2013/03/28 20:06:17
    Linnster
    +2
    I don't know how tall the flagpole is. Let's say, for agument's sake, it's 20' high. If it isn't sunk properly, there's the possibility it could come down in bad weather. Then the town would be responsible for any damage or injury it would cause. I think you're focusing on the complaining neighbor more than the safety issue. The town isn't saying he can't erect the pole or fly the flag - they're saying he has to comply with town ordinances to do it.
  • Ron Bur... Linnster 2013/03/28 20:10:40
    Ron Burgundy "Gentleman Lover"
    +1
    i see,that neighbor is in the wrong then
  • Linnster Ron Bur... 2013/03/28 20:18:41
    Linnster
    +3
    Well, the neighbor is wrong if he thought the flag couldn't be flown.
  • Ron Bur... Linnster 2013/03/28 20:32:05 (edited)
    Ron Burgundy "Gentleman Lover"
    +1
    wait,was this neighbor complaining about the pole or the flag? it doesn't say.
  • Linnster Ron Bur... 2013/03/28 20:36:43
    Linnster
    +2
    It doesn't specify. Just says an anonymous neighbor made a complaint.

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/23 14:00:03

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals