Quantcast

In your opinion, Is the recession REALLY over??? I mean . . . . . really?!?

Drue-AFCL 2012/06/09 18:26:17
Related Topics: Recession
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Add a comment above

Top Opinion

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Razorey... David L... 2012/06/10 02:35:13
    Razoreye001
    it's too limiting if it wont address income inequality don't you think?
  • David L... Razorey... 2012/06/10 02:36:59
    David Lindner
    no its not. If someone gives up in life and ends up doing some grocery job or something of the like, its on them.
  • Ricardo... Razorey... 2012/06/09 23:16:51
    RicardoCabeza
    Neither Obama nor Romney will be able to do anything about what is coming, and as for austerity it will come to us either in the form of a greatly devalued currency (inflation) or it will meet us square on with a sharp contraction of the money supply... So of the two differing opinions and concepts of President Obama and Mr. Romney they will inadvertently meet up at the same destination... So whether you choose to vote Tweedle Dee or Tweedle Dum we will all have the same outcome... get it straight and quit allowing yourself to dine on the scat buffet provided by mainstream media and sycophant Economists. if you really want to know what to expect get a hold of what Mr. Soros has written, or better the book "Money Mischief" by Mr. Milton Friedman... and quit the silly sophomoric adoration of the puppet show.
  • Willy Razorey... 2012/06/09 19:22:41
    Willy
    +5
    People like you really don't know a thing about obama and what he has been up to the last 3 1/2 years.
  • Razorey... Willy 2012/06/09 19:32:40
    Razoreye001
    He hasn't made things worse but hasn't done enough to make things better.
  • David L... Razorey... 2012/06/09 21:10:08
    David Lindner
    +1
    what is enough?
  • Razorey... David L... 2012/06/09 22:20:25 (edited)
    Razoreye001
    +1
    increase the taxes on the top two tax brackets to 40% and have an inheritance tax on the top two tax brackets of 50%. Also close some of the tax loopholes and increase the tariffs. That would be a nice start.
  • David L... Razorey... 2012/06/09 22:22:40
    David Lindner
    HA! tax more! kill jobs! good plan.
  • Razorey... David L... 2012/06/09 22:24:33
    Razoreye001
    Not really we can create public sector jobs with a work program and pay people living wages to work them meaning the economy will be moving.
  • David L... Razorey... 2012/06/09 22:30:05
    David Lindner
    socialism. that has worked how?
  • Razorey... David L... 2012/06/09 22:58:04
    Razoreye001
    it's not socialism it's a mixed economy, socialism is when the government has absolute control of the economy and all factors of production. What I advocate is strict regulations on the economy without the inflexibility of a controlled economy so a mixed economy with a few elements of a binary economy is the perfect fix to our problems because it doesn't rely on extremes such as absolute socialism or absolute capitalism. What I suggest with public sector jobs is simply employing people with tax dollars to make up for the loss of jobs to slave labor in the third world. A temporary measure until we are out of the recession. In order to truly solve our economic problems we need to negotiate with other countries that are as bad off as we are and make those that robbed us of our money the international corporations pay our debt back to China and arrest the top CEO's responsible for the global crisis in the first place.
  • Ricardo... Razorey... 2012/06/09 23:35:58
    RicardoCabeza
    +1
    But the real problem is that the last 3 Presidents and many in the Senate and Congress were the people that implemented the foolish policies at the behest of their "Economic Experts"... as for the idea of a mixed economy in the control of the state will create a Fascist Plutocracy, So... why not reform the laws of monetary creation and fix it with limits upon the creation of wealth...IE, forbidding the Banking system from investing Fed borrowed funds into derivatives and stock markets and force them to only make revenues from lending into commercial, mortgage and consumer markets?, and if they refuse just provide reserve funds for new lending institutions at the standard 100/1 ratios?.
  • Ricardo... David L... 2012/06/09 23:26:56
    RicardoCabeza
    +1
    He is speaking of a Plutocracy which is what has given us the current problem.
  • Ricardo... Razorey... 2012/06/09 23:25:57
    RicardoCabeza
    A better reference would be effect of Herbert Hoover... which is what he did and created the Great Depression, those kind of actions would eliminate margins held by little businessmen such as myself where a 2-3% increase of taxation would create financial losses and I would have to liquidate within 90 days, destroying the jobs of 4 people, and several more in related companies... Woodrow Wilson and Herbert Hoover espoused Keynesian theory- even before Keynes was attributed with the moniker... The short slate is that you are speaking of supply side economics, and our economic problems will not be rectified with the fundamental tenets of supply side theory... just more mistakes upon the mistakes already made.
  • Razorey... Ricardo... 2012/06/09 23:37:42
    Razoreye001
    Well Austerity would be the death of the middle class, what we need is more regulation and more taxes on the rich as well as some new social programs and a public work program. this will work in the long run if the intricate system functions.
  • Ricardo... Razorey... 2012/06/10 00:11:24
    RicardoCabeza
    The new "middle class" begins at about $140,000.00 per year, and as for my argument that austerity will impact us either in the effect of hyper inflation brought about by the excess creation of money, or through the effect of the direct limitation of the dispersion of borrowed federal funds... And on one side we have Mr. Romney, and of course the other Mr. Geithner and the ignored phenomena is the very flow of Fed borrowed dollars and their diversion from the domestic "Mom and Pop" credit markets of large, medium and small business, consumer credit and mortgages into bank investments into derivatives and other world stock markets... Thus creating a contracting domestic money supply in spite of record bank and financial borrowing from the Fed.
    Many Economists and Bankers first blamed the effects of the Sub-Prime markets, and then credit default swaps, but now the mode of effort is the derivatives market with more than a Quadrillion dollars wagered within. a majority of the TARP and bailout funds have been wagered within this market and it is just about ready to "pop"... Keynesian theory will work in dealing with necessary commodities and enterprise if there is a currency that will be viable after the derivative problem resolves itself in the resulting cycles of creation and ces...
    The new "middle class" begins at about $140,000.00 per year, and as for my argument that austerity will impact us either in the effect of hyper inflation brought about by the excess creation of money, or through the effect of the direct limitation of the dispersion of borrowed federal funds... And on one side we have Mr. Romney, and of course the other Mr. Geithner and the ignored phenomena is the very flow of Fed borrowed dollars and their diversion from the domestic "Mom and Pop" credit markets of large, medium and small business, consumer credit and mortgages into bank investments into derivatives and other world stock markets... Thus creating a contracting domestic money supply in spite of record bank and financial borrowing from the Fed.
    Many Economists and Bankers first blamed the effects of the Sub-Prime markets, and then credit default swaps, but now the mode of effort is the derivatives market with more than a Quadrillion dollars wagered within. a majority of the TARP and bailout funds have been wagered within this market and it is just about ready to "pop"... Keynesian theory will work in dealing with necessary commodities and enterprise if there is a currency that will be viable after the derivative problem resolves itself in the resulting cycles of creation and cessation but one must ask oneself of the judgement of the "experts" who have engineered this situation and whether they had any clue as to the final outcome... as in the story of Humpty Dumpty and of course the Babylonians which our monetary system was based upon... the writing is on the wall, and all that any of the afore mentioned Politicians and Economists can offer are band aids for a mortally wounded beast.
    (more)
  • Ricardo... Razorey... 2012/06/09 23:05:43
    RicardoCabeza
    What is any different in the outcome of Mitt, Newt, or even Jeb?, they subscribe to the same fiscal/monetary policies and nothing will change, we will just have a new puppet show...
  • Razorey... Ricardo... 2012/06/09 23:07:58
    Razoreye001
    Obama has only one term left Mitt has two, thats the difference.
  • Odinsown 2012/06/09 18:44:57
    NO
    Odinsown
    +11
    For millions this isn't a recession. It is a depression
  • Doreen Odinsown 2012/06/09 18:53:17
    Doreen
    +5
    That is exactly what I have been trying to tell people. I think for most it is a depression.
  • katywon 2012/06/09 18:41:43
    NO
    katywon
    +11
    Too many people on unemployment. They need it but they need jobs more. unemployment line
  • Diane Spraggs Yates 2012/06/09 18:39:48
    NO
    Diane Spraggs Yates
    +8
    My family my neighbors myself are not feeling it we are depressed by taxes ,high food prices gasoline and no release we are home bound by finanical situations !!!!
  • keeper 2012/06/09 18:39:26
    NO
    keeper
    +9
    The recession has never turned around where I live... we didn't get the government union jobs that other parts of the country got.
  • Ron in Oregon 2012/06/09 18:37:29
    YES and why ?
    Ron in Oregon
    +17
    Yes, the recession is definitely over and we are now entering a depression. Thank You Obama.
  • DJPanicDC Ron in ... 2012/06/10 08:30:27
    DJPanicDC
    Honestly there was nothing Obama or Bush could do, Clinton sealed our fate with NAFTA
  • Ron in ... DJPanicDC 2012/06/10 16:54:02
    Ron in Oregon
    Clinton was a good politition but a poor economist and I agree the result was NAFTA and that other accronym.
  • alanh Ron in ... 2012/06/10 12:37:32
    alanh
    Great answer!
  • Michael=Constitution & Liberty 2012/06/09 18:36:37
    NO
    Michael=Constitution & Liberty
    +8
    lol! its gonna be quite some time before that happens.
  • Heptarch 2012/06/09 18:36:29
    NO
    Heptarch
    +4
    It's a work in progress.
  • Rusty Shackleford 2012/06/09 18:36:05
    NO
    Rusty Shackleford
    +10
    We are setting ourselves up for a full blown depression. Stimulus spending is the only thing prolonging the inevitable, and in fact, it's only making things worse.
  • MLor Rusty S... 2012/06/10 01:52:10
    MLor
    +2
    ..........and all the pundits talking about a "recovery", where? Lies, lies, and more lies.
  • james.g.mcdonald.5 2012/06/09 18:29:59
    NO
    james.g.mcdonald.5
    +5
    And it never will be.
  • themadhare ~IJM 2012/06/09 18:29:34
    NO
    themadhare ~IJM
    +9
    high unemployment and a weakening dollar.
  • Daniel 2012/06/09 18:28:39
    NO
    Daniel
    +8
    And won't be till we get the Dems out.
  • MLor 2012/06/09 18:28:33
    NO
    MLor
    +8
    NO.......OH HELL NO!
  • Drue-AFCL 2012/06/09 18:27:35
    NO
    Drue-AFCL
    +9
    More of that FUZZY MATH THING! FUZZY MATH
  • MLor Drue-AFCL 2012/06/09 18:29:53
    MLor
    +6
    Delusional government math, haaahaahaha. Sad thing is....it's really not funny!
  • Drue-AFCL MLor 2012/06/09 18:30:43
    Drue-AFCL
    +3
    no it is not. . . .

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/11/23 13:41:32

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals