Quantcast

Cities crackdown on homeless with new bans on eating and camping in public. What is your opinion?

carl 2012/06/11 14:30:02
Related Topics: Homeless, Eating, Camping
I support the new bans.
I am against these bans.
None of the above
You!
Add Photos & Videos

Read More: http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/story/2012-06-...

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • carl 2012/06/11 14:32:24
    None of the above
    carl
    +7
    It is Ok to ban these things as long as they have other reasonable options for the homeless. There is no reason that there should be homeless people in America.

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • the judgebigdogeagle-~PWCM~JLA 2012/07/17 17:24:32
    I am against these bans.
    the judgebigdogeagle-~PWCM~JLA
    +1
    bans will not stop them.They will not work.
  • beach bum 2012/07/06 17:21:20
    I am against these bans.
    beach bum
    +1
    people will just do the same thing elsewhere
  • Mike J. Hirak 2012/06/15 18:55:04
    I support the new bans.
    Mike J. Hirak
    Give these people job applications
  • bob h. Mike J.... 2012/07/18 22:25:47
    bob h.
    That's good thinking. Romney needs you on his campaign team.
  • TheCouchF*cker 2012/06/12 14:10:15
  • superangrymonkey 2012/06/12 14:06:37
    I am against these bans.
    superangrymonkey
    +5
    You might as well have changed the support answer to "I am a heartless prick."
  • carl superan... 2012/06/12 15:49:17
    carl
    +1
    Good point.
  • Charmaine 2012/06/11 20:57:55
    I am against these bans.
    Charmaine
    +3
    Where are they supposed to go??? Prehaps these pussy ass government ooficials should create a space in their heart for the less fortunate and build more shelters!!! NOT FAIR!!!
  • Dave0626 2012/06/11 20:49:28
    None of the above
    Dave0626
    +2
    I think for every city supporting the bans on homelessness, ... every Sunday, after church, the Mayer and their respective families should get together in the parks and have some fine family fun. They can have a 'kick the homeless' contest. The kids can play "taunt the vagrant" ..."mud pie the bum". City Hall can coordinate the events with appropriate rules, regulations and charge admission fees of $5 per constituent.
    At the end of each Sundays festival, a grand prize drawing can be held to "shoot the bum of your choice", and win a free admission pass to next Sundays "Festival".
    It will be profitable for the City, and good "family fun" in the City Parks and Recreation Facilities.

    sundays festival profitable city family fun city parks recreation facilities
  • JCD aka... Dave0626 2012/06/12 19:31:42
  • Dave0626 JCD aka... 2012/06/12 20:32:59
    Dave0626
    +2
    Thanks, at least someone knows I'm only being sarcastic ...lol.
  • Mimosa 2012/06/11 20:05:50
    I am against these bans.
    Mimosa
    +3
    society caused homelessness, they should do something to end it, instead of placing yet more burdens on the unfortunate men, women, and children who have no home or means of support
  • ♒ßεllεchεvεllε®♒ 2012/06/11 19:55:16
    None of the above
    ♒ßεllεchεvεllε®♒
    +3
    well that's all fine and dandy, but cities/counties need to be providing SAFE alternatives if the bans are passed...with taxpayer blessings! a lot of homeless folk have mental issues and not many shelters are equipped for that.
  • ☂cinderella.dress.in.yellow☂ 2012/06/11 19:53:31
    I am against these bans.
    ☂cinderella.dress.in.yellow☂
    no camping in public what ?
  • Magnus ☮ RP ☮ 2012 ☮ 2012/06/11 19:18:47
  • ehrhornp 2012/06/11 18:49:01
    I am against these bans.
    ehrhornp
    The problem needs to be solved, not just moved.
  • Striker 2012/06/11 17:31:16
    None of the above
    Striker
    +5
    So now homelessness becomes illegal? How about we outlaw politicians instead?
  • lm1b2 2012/06/11 17:20:25
    I support the new bans.
    lm1b2
    Put the Druggies,Alcoholics in jail,mental ill in hospitals,and get the few who are homeless do to economics, help.!
  • Mimosa lm1b2 2012/06/11 20:07:56
    Mimosa
    +2
    Ah, but it was Ronald Reagan who put an end to mental hospital, when he turned them all out on the streets on California while he was Governor.
  • bob h. Mimosa 2012/07/18 22:33:33
    bob h.
    +1
    Yep, and what went around came around, in the form of Alzheimer's. Couldn't happen to a more deserving guy.
  • John Galt jr or Ron/jon 2012/06/11 17:20:12
    I am against these bans.
    John Galt jr or Ron/jon
    +5
    most of these people are there because they have no other choice...
    people choice
    http://webstation19.8k.com/ho...
  • lm1b2 John Ga... 2012/06/12 14:39:23
    lm1b2
    Thats not true,most are mentally ill,or drug addicts,very few are there because they have no choice!
  • John Ga... lm1b2 2012/06/12 22:31:10
  • lm1b2 John Ga... 2012/06/12 22:41:33
    lm1b2
    They must be different then ones in Ohio,and NYC,because everywhere else their are very few people who are truly homeless do to economics,most are druggies,alcoholics,and mental cases,and yes some are vets.
  • bob h. lm1b2 2012/07/18 22:38:51
    bob h.
    So all those stats and rising tent cities really don't count. is that it?
  • bob h. lm1b2 2012/07/18 22:36:35
    bob h.
    OK tell me; what are their choices?
  • Dagon 2012/06/11 16:43:30
  • lm1b2 Dagon 2012/06/12 14:39:56
    lm1b2
    +1
    Maybe yours did!
  • Dagon lm1b2 2012/06/12 16:25:29
  • lm1b2 Dagon 2012/06/12 18:10:20
    lm1b2
    +1
    I'm glad you enjoyed it as much as i did Dau!
  • Charge 2012/06/11 15:55:13
    None of the above
    Charge
    +1
    In interviews the city officials said that these laws were put in place to avoid situations created by groups like Occupy Wall Street; I guess they are homeless.
  • Cliff 2012/06/11 15:47:41
    None of the above
    Cliff
    +1
    Will defecating on police cars still be okay?
  • Horace 2012/06/11 15:45:07
    I am against these bans.
    Horace
    +4
    So basically this law wants to arrest all homeless people and toss them in jail for the crime of not having as much as others, to my mind that is sick. Everybody goes through times when they are not at their best and need a helping hand, not prison which should be reserved for those in society which have committed serious crimes. In these days of layoffs and bad economic times it easier and easier to find oneself, through no fault of ones own, homeless and I don't think people will stand for this law.
  • Gothpirate 2012/06/11 15:40:36
    I am against these bans.
    Gothpirate
    +3
    How will punishing the homeless better their quality of life
  • ~Adrien~ 2012/06/11 15:36:44
    I am against these bans.
    ~Adrien~
    +2
    They should be camping out on the state governor's lawn. . .
  • cate 2012/06/11 15:23:26
    I am against these bans.
    cate
    +4
    Then cities need to find a solution to help the people who are homeless.
  • U-Dog 2012/06/11 15:20:23
    I am against these bans.
    U-Dog
    +5
    I can understand cities wanting to get a handle on the problem of homeless people wondering their streets but to try and straight out ban the problem away makes about as much sense as a carpenter trying to build fine furniture with nothing but a box of hammers.

    Why not setup zones for the homeless where these people can get the charity they need from the community instead of just trying to sweep the problem under a rug like a lazyazz that really only wants to ignore the problem and or push it off on others?
  • DJPanicDC 2012/06/11 15:11:30
    I am against these bans.
    DJPanicDC
    +3
    They cut shelters and hospitals then they pass these BS laws as though these people are teens loitering at the connivance store and will go away. People have to eat, and everyone sleeps somewhere The saddest part is there are 26 abandon buildings per homeless person in this country, but they would are them for squatting
  • bob h. 2012/06/11 15:06:44
    I am against these bans.
    bob h.
    +4
    As a society, we don't even have enough class to be embarrassed. The tent cities are beginning to encroach on the golf courses, and no one sees this as a failure, meanwhile the GOP pres candidate, doesn't pay taxes.
  • Karen E bob h. 2012/06/11 15:49:37
    Karen E
    +2
    sorry bob i agree with all but your last sentence...............

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/07/24 10:42:59

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals