Quantcast

Are we a Democracy or a Republic ? Whats your opinion ?

Tudie BN 2012/05/05 22:09:55
Democracy
Republic
Other
Undecided
None of the above
You!
Add Photos & Videos
Welcome Friends to Tudies Questions ! Thanks for your reply ! : )

Add a comment above

Top Opinion

  • SEA Jay 2012/05/05 22:30:52
    None of the above
    SEA Jay
    +9
    Plutocracy (from Ancient Greek ploutos, meaning "wealth", and kratos, meaning "power, rule") is rule by the wealthy, or power provided by wealth. The combination of both plutocracy and oligarchy is called plutarchy

Sort By
  • Most Raves
  • Least Raves
  • Oldest
  • Newest
Opinions

  • Arizona... reaper 2012/05/06 04:54:54
    Arizona1950
    +2
    Whatever ... the point is there is a difference and we are a Republic.

    I also stand corrected in your description as I do realize that the former Soviet Union, was a republic, but not a democracy. We also have India, which is a democracy but not a republic. The US is both. N. Korea is neither.
  • Red Branch reaper 2012/05/06 22:12:51
    Red Branch
    All republics are democratic in nature. The Constitution guarantees ever state a republican form of govt.
    Republics can also be known as an indirect democracy, meaning that we elect officials to make the laws.
  • TheR 2012/05/06 00:42:55
    Other
    TheR
    +1
    It should be a Justocracy.

    http://www.sodahead.com/unite...
  • Temlakos~POTL~PWCM~JLA~☆ 2012/05/06 00:37:05
    Republic
    Temlakos~POTL~PWCM~JLA~☆
    +8
    A Republic is a multi-leveled government. In a republic, each level of government deals with the level immediately above and below. Ideally, the federal government should deal only with States, States with counties, counties with municipalities, and municipalities with with households.

    To be technical, ours is a *democratic* republic, in which the people directly elect representatives to higher levels of government. But the direct election of Senators threatens the republican scheme.
  • Tudie BN Temlako... 2012/05/06 00:42:12
    Tudie BN
    +4
    Thanks Temlakos !
  • Arizona... Temlako... 2012/05/06 01:34:30
    Arizona1950
    +3
    I found this and thought I would share ... it gives a great explanation in mho
    http://www.c4cg.org/republic.htm
  • Tim Arizona... 2012/05/06 03:00:36 (edited)
    Tim
    +1
    That site is full of crap; not necessarily in respect of the US, but in it's definitions of republics and democracies. Why? Because it's description of a republic is the same as the standard definition of a representative democracy, and it's definition of a democracy is limited to a democracy founded on direct rule by the masses or by elites.

    The reality is that a republic is a nation that has a governmental system that does not revolve around a monarch. The Soviet Union was a republic, but certainly not a free and fair democracy. China, Vietnam, North Korea, Cuba and others are the same - republics but not free and fair democracies.

    On the other hand, Britain, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, etc., are Constitutional Monarchies in which the power of the Monarch has been transferred to parliaments (usually of two houses like your congress). The parliamentary representatives are elected by the people in free, open and fair elections, and generally rule in accordance with the will of their peoples. Therefore, we are democracies but not republics. The monarch's role has been reduced to ceremonial and rubber-stamping duties.

    Your US is not ruled by a monarch and is, therefore, a republic. The members of your Administration and Congress are elected by the people in free, fair and open ...
    That site is full of crap; not necessarily in respect of the US, but in it's definitions of republics and democracies. Why? Because it's description of a republic is the same as the standard definition of a representative democracy, and it's definition of a democracy is limited to a democracy founded on direct rule by the masses or by elites.

    The reality is that a republic is a nation that has a governmental system that does not revolve around a monarch. The Soviet Union was a republic, but certainly not a free and fair democracy. China, Vietnam, North Korea, Cuba and others are the same - republics but not free and fair democracies.

    On the other hand, Britain, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, etc., are Constitutional Monarchies in which the power of the Monarch has been transferred to parliaments (usually of two houses like your congress). The parliamentary representatives are elected by the people in free, open and fair elections, and generally rule in accordance with the will of their peoples. Therefore, we are democracies but not republics. The monarch's role has been reduced to ceremonial and rubber-stamping duties.

    Your US is not ruled by a monarch and is, therefore, a republic. The members of your Administration and Congress are elected by the people in free, fair and open elections, to make laws and manage the national good on the people's behalf. That makes the US a representative democracy as well as a republic; or, more simply, a democratic republic.
    (more)
  • rocat Temlako... 2012/05/06 05:13:52
    rocat
    +4
    the change to elected senators...
    was a devastating blow-
  • Tink123 rocat 2012/05/06 14:20:48
    Tink123
    +2
    Very much so. Another shining example of how horrible "good intent" can actually turn out.
  • Red Branch rocat 2012/05/06 22:18:18
    Red Branch
    +1
    Devastating to the states and a massive power grab by the feds.
  • rocat Red Branch 2012/05/06 22:22:39 (edited)
    rocat
    +1
    a step toward mob rule pure democracy-

    the senate was intended to offset the popular vote-
    prevent us from becoming ...
    all about popularity-

    now all our reps in legislature must play to the media circus-
  • Old Salt 2012/05/06 00:17:43
  • jubil8 ... Old Salt 2012/05/06 01:30:21
    jubil8 BN-0 PON
    +1
    What do you think Dr. F. would say today? Would he say we've kept it, improved it, or FUBAR'd it?
  • Old Salt jubil8 ... 2012/05/06 01:38:44
  • jubil8 ... Old Salt 2012/05/06 01:51:45
    jubil8 BN-0 PON
    +1
    Sure. :)
  • jool 2012/05/06 00:13:29
    Republic
    jool
    +8
    We are a Republic! Don't screw with it.
  • Matt 2012/05/06 00:05:52
    None of the above
    Matt
    +4
    We are governed by a two party system that represents none of us.
    kleptocracy
  • Old Salt Matt 2012/05/06 00:21:04
  • Matt Old Salt 2012/05/06 13:15:28
    Matt
    Robbing from the "had" and redistributing it both upwardly and downwardly and most of all out of this country.
  • Savior 2012/05/05 23:55:16
    Other
    Savior
    +4
    democratic republic, but a republic nonetheless
  • Rebel [SHP] 2012/05/05 23:44:19
    Republic
    Rebel [SHP]
    +7
    How is this a poll?? America is a republic, it's always been a republic, since 1776................
  • Mark P. 2012/05/05 23:23:30
    Other
    Mark P.
    +4
    Democratic Republic.
  • Arizona... Mark P. 2012/05/06 01:35:25
  • NarcolepticGoat 2012/05/05 23:17:50
    Republic
    NarcolepticGoat
    +5
    I learned that in civics class!
  • Beccy 2012/05/05 23:12:49
    Democracy
    Beccy
    +3
    IT seems llike the citizens who scream the loudest get their way.
  • MisterD 2012/05/05 22:36:35
    Republic
    MisterD
    +6
    We are a Republic; which is a representative Democracy.
  • Arizona... MisterD 2012/05/06 01:35:52
  • SEA Jay 2012/05/05 22:30:52
    None of the above
    SEA Jay
    +9
    Plutocracy (from Ancient Greek ploutos, meaning "wealth", and kratos, meaning "power, rule") is rule by the wealthy, or power provided by wealth. The combination of both plutocracy and oligarchy is called plutarchy
  • VoteOut 2012/05/05 22:25:28
    Other
    VoteOut
    +6
    A sort of monetary monarchy
  • LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH 2012/05/05 22:16:03
    Undecided
    LADY LIBERTY SILLY WORDSMITH
    +4
    AT THIS TIME I DON'T KNOW, ANYMORE!
  • Striker LADY LI... 2012/05/05 22:49:44
    Striker
    +2
    Nor I - we are "supposed to be"...
  • darcie lamar 2012/05/05 22:14:27
    None of the above
    darcie lamar
    +5
    Politics of the Cayman Islands takes place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democratic overseas territory, whereby the Premier is the head of government, and of a two-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the Legislative Assembly. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.
    The Cayman Islands' physical isolation under early British colonial rule allowed the development of an indigenous set of administrative and legal traditions which were codified into a constitution in 1959. A new modern constitution, which devolved some authority from the United Kingdom to the Cayman Islands government, was passed by referendum on 20 May 2009. Subsequently, the islands are now largely self-governing.
    The Cayman Islands' political system is very stable, bolstered by a tradition of restrained civil governance with the United Kingdom. Public discussion revolves around public sector expenditure and social services, the pace of additional economic development, and the status of the large foreign national community on the islands.
  • Striker darcie ... 2012/05/05 22:52:24
    Striker
    +1
    Very interesting, but are you saying that's America today?
  • darcie ... Striker 2012/05/05 23:29:33
    darcie lamar
    +2
    No, I goofed. I thought this was a post from Tundi who lives in the Caymen Islands. My bad
  • Striker darcie ... 2012/05/06 02:04:45
    Striker
    +1
    LOL - it was interesting anyway, No Bad!

See Votes by State

The map above displays the winning answer by region.

News & Politics

2014/09/20 12:02:31

Hot Questions on SodaHead
More Hot Questions

More Community More Originals